View Full Version : Euro 2016 Qualifying

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15

Real ale Madrid
23/02/2014, 8:10 PM
Cracking Draw for the FAI coffers. Germany , Poland and Scotland are all probably sell outs.

23/02/2014, 8:10 PM
I wouldn't post on OWC. These people can not be reasoned with.You'd fit right in!

DeLorean
23/02/2014, 8:12 PM
Some discussion on the venue possibilities for the Scotland away game from the locals here:

Tartan Army: Scotland v roi on a Friday night (http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=149500)

davey
23/02/2014, 8:20 PM
Had a quick look at Tartan Army boards. They've been debating where the game should be played. Consensus seems to be Ibrox to avoid Celtic/Ireland love in. There was however a link to a bbc site which suggested that Hampden will be ready in late 2014. Whether this will be in time for our game remains to be seen. I'm sure the SFA will try and clarify this sooner rather than later. I'd prefer Hampden if possible to avoid debate that would inevitably occur here if there had to be a choice made between Ibrox/Parkhead.

On the draw itself - I like it! Germany aside, there are lots of very competitive games to be had. Could be close but hope we have enough about ourselves to get through. Poland are inconsistent but potentially a decent side, Scotland seem much improved under Strachan. Tbilisi will prove a tough place to get three points and Gibraltar will be a decent away trip.

The last two games are very tough though. Hope we have plenty of points on the board by then.

davey
23/02/2014, 8:22 PM
Who will you be supporting?

Ireland! Have lived in Glasgow for the past 10 years.

23/02/2014, 8:28 PM
The odds must put Ireland third in this group.

DeLorean
23/02/2014, 8:42 PM
Yes. Courtesy of Paddy Power! -

To win the group:

Germany 1/6
Poland 8/1
Ireland 9/1
Scotland 14/1
Georgia 275/1
Gibraltar 500/1

To qualify:

Yes
Ireland 4/5
Scotland 6/5

No
Ireland 10/11
Scotland 8/13

To win Euro 2016

Ireland 150/1
Scotland 150/1

Gather round
23/02/2014, 9:01 PM
I reckon Northern Ireland could get a Playoff place

27 teams progress, another 10-15 (fourth and fifth seeds) will feel they have an outside chance. Granted NI were rubbish in the current and previous tournaments, but if you win more games than lose, as we did in 2008 and 2010 then third place is very gettable. As indeed it is for the current FIFA-ranked 33rd country in Europe.

It really is amazing that England consistently get such easy groups, regardless of seeding

It really isn't as others have explained above. They could also have added that England's second seed Switzerland had an even better record in the current tournament.

Poland are probably marginally better than Austria and Sweden are probably marginally better than Scotland. Not much between those 4 teams imo

You do realise that Sweden managed 20 points in current qualifying to Scotland's 11? What else is your opinion based on?

I wouldn't post on OWC and I am not surprised about any of what you said. These people can not be reasoned with

Some of them do have a rather better understanding of how international football works than you've demonstrated in the last few posts...

Both Danny and Fly have been banned there for innocuous discussion activity which went against their grain. Tolerance is very low and paranoia levels are very high there. Access is restricted, many forums are locked and the 99% of posters are mild unionist to rabid unionist in persuasion

That's one analysis- another is that obvious trolls and wind-ups are tolerated more briefly on some sites than others. For the record, there is a modest annual fee (currently £5) to gain access to some areas of the site, eg archives for previous tournaments and travel arrangements for future away games. I understand something similar has been considered here, albeit set at a higher level.

It's true that most regular posters- like NI fans generally- are broadly unionist. Fancy that. What did you expect, a Polish-speaking caucus? Parity of esteem for embittered border culchie Nordic exiles?

Possibly you can 'arse lick at will and you will be tolerated, like a one or two ROI supporters there, but never really respected. Who respects a goody goody? Go ahead, join and post at will

Now now. I'm confident OWC would not merely tolerate and respect but welcome your own contribution, if it ever progressed from extended and self-important sneers?

23/02/2014, 9:36 PM
I expect the Pole will be happy with the draw, probably stocking the bar up already.
Not keen on drawing Scotland not least because they are ranked higher than us.
Under other circumstances I would like Scotland to qualify, but now that means
it is much harder for us to qualify, although as about half the third placed team can qualify
it is possible both Ireland and Scotland qualify.

As for Germany you might as well give them a free pass to the finals, the chances of them not
qualifying are pretty much zero. Well actually they are 100-1 on to qualify, so about a 99%
chance they will qualify.

We are quoted 8/11 and 5/4 to qualify at different bookmakers.

Scotland 7/2 and 2-1

Poland 11/10

Can't delete that crap (the graphic, not my post :p)

23/02/2014, 10:56 PM
So how about them Scots...

23/02/2014, 10:57 PM
So how about them Scots...
Pure WUMs, the lot of them.

ArdeeBhoy
23/02/2014, 11:02 PM
How so?

Just hope we don't play them at that lower league ground in G51, that will take the edge off the occasion.

23/02/2014, 11:04 PM
How so?

Cos they wear skirts, dirty WUMs.

DannyInvincible
23/02/2014, 11:04 PM
In all fairness, that is pretty low.

Ah, don't worry yourself about GR and myself. I'll live. :)

ArdeeBhoy
23/02/2014, 11:06 PM
Tbf, seen Irish in kilts...

DannyInvincible
23/02/2014, 11:13 PM
How so?

Just hope we don't play them at that lower league ground in G51, that will take the edge off the occasion.

Would most Scotland-born Celtic fans primarily support Ireland or Scotland?

ArdeeBhoy
23/02/2014, 11:23 PM
Would most Scotland-born Celtic fans primarily support Ireland or Scotland?

Would say 60% Scotland, 40% Ireland.
The former figure has been on the rise in recent years.
But ironically a fair no.of the 'Scotland fans' would also support a united Ireland.

Or even want to keep the union with London FFS.

24/02/2014, 1:40 AM
I would be a strong supporter of Scotland qualifying normally but obviously not
at Ireland's expense.

Depending on how the group pans out it may be the case we could do the Scots a favour
or vice versa for example say we or the Scots are already qualified, or out of it,
The result of an essentially meaningless game for one team could determine whether
the other team finishes second third or forth.

For a similar reason we should be nice to the Germans who probably have it within their power
to determine who finished 2nd and 3rd if they chose to do so!!

Razors left peg
24/02/2014, 9:18 AM
Sorry to take this thread back on topic but I just seen the FIFA World rankings. I was surprised to see that Scotland are ranked so far ahead of us in 34th while we are 67th.How is that possible considering that we have qualified for a tournament recently? Although I suppose the rankings should be completely ignored when you see that Panama are ranked 32nd
Poland are 3 below us in 70th. Im still worried about them in games against us, we dont have anyone in the class of Levandowski.
The group is going to be ridiculously tight I think. I would imagine we are going to be going away to Poland in the last game needing a result to qualify

DeLorean
24/02/2014, 9:46 AM
The rankings are bizarre, they'd be funny if their repercussions weren't so damaging. Lewandowski actually has a tame enough record internationally, 18 in 60. Still a threat obviously.

Gather round
24/02/2014, 10:01 AM
We do, however, feel that he is fundamentally misguided in his belief that the IFA understands FIFA's own laws and regulations better than FIFA istelf

No, you've the wrong end of stick there Charlie. I've repeatedly made clear here my low opinion of IFA's understanding of FIFA rules and the like.

I just don't see the fundamental point of someone registering on a forum and spending over 75% of his time complaining about players democratic and legal right to choose what country they want to play for

Again, not so. I've no problem- as oft-repeated- about any eligibile player accepting caps for your team. I'm merely disappointed that some of them have amassed numerous games for NI's adult teams first. By the way, my reference to people wanting to take over NI above was to those who think it and its representative teams shouldn't exist. I wasn't suggesting you were one of them.

Well, bar that bit about Fly and myself being obvious trolls!

Naughty ;) As you remember perfectly well, at the time of your bans I suggested they were unjustified, and even offered that you use your powers of invincibility to re-register. Or change your name to Mervyn.

Sorry to take this thread back on topic but I just seen the FIFA World rankings. I was surprised to see that Scotland are ranked so far ahead of us in 34th while we are 67th

Your FIFA ranking (33 in Europe) is distorted and downplayed by

a) friendlies- they are 'worth' only 40% of qualifiers against the same teams, and in recent years you've played more of them than most. Which tends to reduce your average ranking points even if the games are won or drawn

b) low ranking of teams you've beaten recently: a win against Faeroes or Kazakhstan in worth only about 30% or 40% of one against say Croatia or Russia

As De Lorean says, the formula is pretty bizarre. Here are some examples:

Win v Spain at Brazil finals: 100% of possible ranking points

Germany in qualifier: about 62%

Serbia in friendly: about 21%

San Marino in qualifier: about 16%

TheOneWhoKnocks
24/02/2014, 10:14 AM
No, you've the wrong end of stick there Charlie. I've repeatedly made clear here my low opinion of IFA's understanding of FIFA rules and the like.

Again, not so. I've no problem- as oft-repeated- about any eligibile player accepting caps for your team. I'm merely disappointed that some of them have amassed numerous games for NI's adult teams first. By the way, my reference to people wanting to take over NI above was to those who think it and its representative teams shouldn't exist. I wasn't suggesting you were one of them.

Naughty ;) As you remember perfectly well, at the time of your bans I suggested they were unjustified, and even offered that you use your powers of invincibility to re-register. Or change your name to Mervyn.

Your FIFA ranking (33 in Europe) is distorted and downplayed by

a) friendlies- they are 'worth' only 40% of qualifiers against the same teams, and in recent years you've played more of them than most. Which tends to reduce your average ranking points even if the games are won or drawn

b) low ranking of teams you've beaten recently: a win against Faeroes or Kazakhstan in worth only about 25% or 40% of one against say Croatia or Russia

I assume you have a problem with Alex Bruce, Johnny Gorman and Oliver Norwood playing for NI after representing other countries then? I haven't even mentioned the myriad other British born players with completely frivolous links to NI that have declared in the last several years. That's the problem though. Why exercise any rationale when you can just beat a dead horse and portray it as a black and white issue where we are the bad guys, you are the put-upon good guys and there are no grey areas whatsoever.

Gather round
24/02/2014, 10:36 AM
I assume you have a problem with Alex Bruce, Johnny Gorman and Oliver Norwood playing for NI after representing other countries then?

Indeed, Alex Bruce playing for us is absurd. You'll notice I specified adult teams above: Norwood played for England only up to U-17, Gorman in your U-16. I cut the younger guys a lot more slack whichever team they move to or from.

I haven't even mentioned the myriad other British born players with completely frivolous links to NI that have declared in the last several years

Assuming you mean players like Maik Taylor, he qualified under the rules as they were at the time, which given your comments above I'd have assumed you accepted. His previous links to NI were admitted and nil, rather than frivilous and exaggerated. What's the problem?

Why exercise any rationale when you can just beat a dead horse and portray it as a black and white issue where we are the bad guys, you are the put-upon good guys and there are no grey areas whatsoever.

Do you read what others write? My attitude as regularly repeated here is basically the opposite of what you suggest. I've criticised the NI FA, teams and fans on here on numerous occasions.

Shall we move on to which are the strongest/ weakest groups? Here are the aggregated points that they each gained in current WC qualifying*:

Group A (Netherlands etc.) 89

Group G (Russia) 87

Group F (Greece) 84

Group C (Spain) 83

Group B (Bosnia) 80

Group E (England) 79

Group I (Portugal) 78

Group D (Germany) 77

Group H (Italy) 76

* teams in the five-team group last time have been gifted two notional wins each against Gib

24/02/2014, 10:36 AM
I assume you have a problem with Alex Bruce, Johnny Gorman and Oliver Norwood playing for NI after representing other countries then? I haven't even mentioned the myriad other British born players with completely frivolous links to NI that have declared in the last several years. That's the problem though. Why exercise any rationale when you can just beat a dead horse and portray it as a black and white issue where we are the bad guys, you are the put-upon good guys and there are no grey areas whatsoever.

Jesus wept, let's not go down this road again. There is an Eligibility Rules thread for this.

DeLorean
24/02/2014, 11:11 AM
Depending on how the group pans out it may be the case we could do the Scots a favour

We do owe them one

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cA5vwZxVzqw

24/02/2014, 11:59 AM
I've booked Georgia this morning, its not cheap to get there but the real fans do this sorta stuff.

Looking forward to meeting my old friend Edward, or Eddie as crosby calls him when i get there.

I think Georgia away is a tricky fixture, one that I think is best played at the end when nothing for them to play for, however its our first competitive game under O'Neill and keane and the lads will be really fired up, so aside from being the last fixture away I think it's coming at the perfect time. We could have a nice collection of points come summer time next year, which we would need heading into the last 2 games. We need at least a 2 point cushion before those games at the very least, 4 would be better.

DannyInvincible
24/02/2014, 12:01 PM
For a similar reason we should be nice to the Germans who probably have it within their power
to determine who finished 2nd and 3rd if they chose to do so!!

How do you reckon we go about it? Gift them a few goals? :rolleyes:

DannyInvincible
24/02/2014, 12:06 PM
I've booked Georgia this morning, its not cheap to get there but the real fans do this sorta stuff.

Thank God for that; at least we have one real fan on here!

Looking forward to meeting my old friend Edward, or Eddie as crosby calls him when i get there.

Isn't he Eduard?

24/02/2014, 12:10 PM
Basically there are 3 back to back fixtures in our group scheduled, and in 2 of them we get Gibraltar.
Just how lucky can O'Neill get?:rolleyes: along with getting the weakest team from pot 3. who really are a pot 4 team
When we get to the stiff back to back finale in Oct 2015, a point should do. Scotland will have risen up just enough to scuttle Poland's feint hopes in the penultimate game and by the time we get to Poland, it will be a dead rubber game for them.

DeLorean
24/02/2014, 12:20 PM

All jokes aside it's a pretty big ask the way the fixtures are set out to make the Georgia one. Fair play to you. A month later we'll be in Germany and a month after that it's Scotland away.

24/02/2014, 12:22 PM
Paul's got loads of money. He lives in London where there's a direct flight to everywhere and he's got no kids.

He doesn't get that much respect from me :)

24/02/2014, 12:28 PM
got no kids?! or got no kids!?

Either way, I didn't know Paul was a shirker.
Sympathies Paul, I hope you can carry that cross with requisite manbag style.

back of the net
24/02/2014, 12:56 PM
I've booked Georgia this morning, its not cheap to get there but the REAL FANS DO THIS SORTA STUFF.

hahaha - i laughed myself silly at this statement which was followed by crying due to the fact that it was made

Paul - what a hero you are!

24/02/2014, 1:18 PM
Thank God for that; at least we have one real fan on here!

Isn't he Eduard?

Exactly, I'm the only thing that gives credibility to foot.ie on the away trips ;)

I was anglocising DI ; ) :P

DeLorean
24/02/2014, 1:24 PM
Celtic Warriors Face Battle to Reach France (http://pogmogoal.com/the-blog-reel/celtic-warriors-face-battle-to-reach-france/17806/)

24/02/2014, 1:25 PM
Paul's got loads of money. He lives in London where there's a direct flight to everywhere and he's got no kids.

He doesn't get that much respect from me :)

Stutts you always try and excuse yourself, or shirk as geysir put it better. The responsibility you should be shirking is that of your kids and to your wife ; )

It's no excuse, and I definitely don't have as much money as you do! Especially after buying you pints in the past! Kids or no Kids!

On a serious note in case anyone is looking Istanbul has probably the best times as the stop over, but not the cheapest, ukranian airlines-if you fancy that ;-) - are probably slightly better and around the same price. BOTN You obviously didnt realise I was joking....

24/02/2014, 1:48 PM
got no kids?! or got no kids!?

Either way, I didn't know Paul was a shirker.
Sympathies Paul, I hope you can carry that cross with requisite manbag style.

SvD might explode after seeing the manbag ref. All we need is a reference to Termonbarry, skud_missile and space cadets and we have the full set of memes.

DannyInvincible
24/02/2014, 5:41 PM
A batsh*t crazy discussion from the Nolan Show on BBC Radio Ulster earlier today on whether or not Windsor Park should host a Euro 2016 qualifier on a Sunday: http://audioboo.fm/boos/1944961-ni-should-quit-euro-2016-rev-david-mcilveen-opposes-first-windsor-park-home-fixture

"NI should quit Euro 2016" - Rev David McIlveen opposes first Windsor Park home fixture

The draw for the 2016 European Football Championships was made yesterday and it will see Northern Ireland play at Windsor Park on a Sunday for the first time in their history. The match against Finland is scheduled to be played in March 2015. With football being played around the world on a Sunday should Northern Ireland be any different? We hear from Rev David McIlveen, Belfast Telegraph's Sports Editor Jim Gracey and we take your calls.

SwanVsDalton
24/02/2014, 5:53 PM
McIlveen is a broadcaster's dream. Nolan's put about at least two extra zeroes on the end of his salary from his ilk alone.

24/02/2014, 5:54 PM
Wowsers!

Gather round
24/02/2014, 6:44 PM
A batsh*t crazy discussion from the Nolan Show on BBC Radio Ulster earlier today on whether or not Windsor Park should host a Euro 2016 qualifier on a Sunday

Self publicising cleric and one supporter: Verily ye shalt follow the whole truth of the Book of Leviticus. Or at least the bits we've cherry-picked

Everyone else: Live and let love, baby, it's a free country.

DUP & TUV: Not available (translation: well, obviously Dave's too crazy to share a studio with, but we'll cover our backwoods by calling for a postponement just in case).

Nolan: [during pause in discussion] Will everyone shut the fcuk up, don't ye realise this show is about me, me me?

Meanwhile, Nolan's career while forging ahead as SvD says is hanging on a knife edge: will his Ma and sometime co-host wee Audrey realise he's as gay as Vlad Putin before Stephen hits Holywood to take over from Letterman and Jerry Springer?

24/02/2014, 7:25 PM
By saying mates in mayo...they are in mayo they wouldn't know how its pronounced.I know a few lads in Dundalk who know how phisboro is pronounced...:D

A wildly inaccurate assumption on my Roscommon geography based on information that was not relevant to Termonbarry's placement in this fair isle.

I know a couple of lads in Dundalk who can pronounce Termonbarry alright. :)

But again we digress. After digesting the group now for over 24hours I am confident enough to think that the shoot-out between us and Poland and Scotland won't materialise. 2nd in comfort.

Scotland's results seemed to get good with a new manager plus the fact that they were already eliminated so there was no pressure on them to perform. Is it likely that they'll have such a sustained rate of results in the next campaign. Naw!

ArdeeBhoy
24/02/2014, 7:32 PM
Self publicising cleric and one supporter: Verily ye shalt follow the whole truth of the Book of Leviticus. Or at least the bits we've cherry-picked

Everyone else: Live and let love, baby, it's a free country.

DUP & TUV: Not available (translation: well, obviously Dave's too crazy to share a studio with, but we'll cover our backwoods by calling for a postponement just in case).

Nolan: [during pause in discussion] Will everyone shut the fcuk up, don't ye realise this show is about me, me me?

Meanwhile, Nolan's career while forging ahead as SvD says is hanging on a knife edge: will his Ma and sometime co-host wee Audrey realise he's as gay as Vlad Putin before Stephen hits Holywood to take over from Letterman and Jerry Springer?
Fascinating.
Not.

DeLorean
24/02/2014, 8:20 PM
Looks almost certain to be Celtic Park for our game:

The Scotsman: Parkhead clash for Strachan & O'Neill (http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/euro-2016-parkhead-clash-for-strachan-and-o-neill-1-3317326)

legendz
24/02/2014, 8:56 PM
You're unlikely to get perfection in a draw so have to make the best of what you've got. I think we've got a great draw. We've a test again against one of the best teams in the world. We've two other teams then in Poland and Scotland who should ensure a packed Aviva. It's an interesting draw.

A lot of other groups don't look as interesting but after a campaign of the Week of Football, and the opportunity to see more international football, we'll get more accustomed to the game across the continent.

24/02/2014, 10:03 PM
I think scotland will be trickier than everyone thinks and Poland showed against england and evenour friendly they will be very tough to beat.
Classic Paul "I'm the only one who called it right" guff.

I think everyone realises Scotland are a threat given they got 6 points from Croatia and are rejuvenated under Strachan. I think everyone thinks Poland are potentially dangerous to an ordinary team like us. I reckon they're probably better than us if they get their act together. I think we need to be bang on top of our game to beat either.

24/02/2014, 10:06 PM
Stutrs I dont think anyone has said that.

Am I not allowed to have (share)an opinion anymore in case I come back like all the other times I was right and say I told you so! :P

24/02/2014, 10:14 PM
Interesting to see that none of the posters who jumped to Gather Round's defense earlier had any comment to make on this hyperbolic trolling nonsense.
Unlike you Preacher Os, they can probably see the absurd side of the nonsense :)

24/02/2014, 10:19 PM
Stutrs I dont think anyone has said that.

Am I not allowed to have (share)an opinion anymore in case I come back like all the other times I was right and say I told you so! :P
Some have said 4th place is as likely as 2nd. I think most people recognise they're tough. That's why everyone thinks it's a tough draw. Then you say it'll be trickier than everyone thinks! But the consensus is it's tough. Unless you think it'll be trickier than tough?

24/02/2014, 10:34 PM
Everyone?
I don't think it's a tough draw, it's a normal draw. Poland are one of the weakest teams we could have got.
WC 2014 was a few degrees tougher. Getting the Czech Rep and Germany was tough. Getting Netherlands and Portugal was tough.