View Full Version : Promotion / Relegation Play - Offs 2012
Pages :
[
8]
deiseach
09/11/2012, 1:37 PM
It has all the hallmarks of looking through dustbins for rubbish, and personally speaking I lost a lot of respect for your fine club in this latest attempt to 'save' yourself as you keep saying. The other plan was to threaten to pull out of the league if you had lost the play off. You had ample chances to 'save' yourself on the pitch during 2012 and in the first leg of the play off. Time to move on from this and plan your future. At least you will start as firm favourites in next seasons FD, another year is not the end of the world, we had 7 seasons in the FD before coming up in 2008.
Thanks for the pep talk. Any sage tips on preparing for a seven-team First Division next season? Those years in the division should have given you some insigh . . . oh.
If Dundalk had an improperly registered player, then they weren't beaten fair and square.
eelmonster
09/11/2012, 1:44 PM
If my auntie had balls ... she'd be from Drogheda. Can see this thread running on needlessly for another few pages.
09/11/2012, 2:33 PM
I heard from a Bray fan this week that the club has dramatically reduced its debt. They are still in debt but nothing that should see them drop out. Every year we hear Bray are fooked but they end up being fine so id expect no difference this time.
bluewhitearmy
09/11/2012, 2:40 PM
Thanks for the pep talk. Any sage tips on preparing for a seven-team First Division next season? Those years in the division should have given you some insigh . . . oh.
People keep saying 7 team division where has it been confirmed that it will be 7 teams? We know they are looking for other teams so their is a good chance it will be more.
09/11/2012, 2:49 PM
People keep saying 7 team division where has it been confirmed that it will be 7 teams?
Exactly. It will probably be five.
If Dundalk had an improperly registered player, then they weren't beaten fair and square.
But its quite clear we didn't have any players improperly registered.
All will be confirmed middle of next week by the FAI and Waterford's appeal will be flatly rejected.
The Lilywhites
09/11/2012, 3:03 PM
But we didn't. This is the most embarrassing objection made in the LOI and that's saying quite something. There is no basis for it whatsoever. None.
09/11/2012, 3:13 PM
Some craic if Dundalk are found guilty and relegated. Maxi will have a field day.
09/11/2012, 3:53 PM
But its quite clear we didn't have any players improperly registered.
All will be confirmed middle of next week by the FAI and Waterford's appeal will be flatly rejected.
But we didn't. This is the most embarrassing objection made in the LOI and that's saying quite something. There is no basis for it whatsoever. None.
I think MR A' point is if Waterford are right then you didn't win fair and square so that's why thy have objected as they believe they are or at least believed at the time of objecting they were right.
For them to think they were right and not object would be stupid on their part. It was in their eyes worth a punt.
It's seems in this case they were wrong which is fair enough, they will have to accept that and move on.
deiseach
09/11/2012, 4:25 PM
People keep saying 7 team division where has it been confirmed that it will be 7 teams? We know they are looking for other teams so their is a good chance it will be more.
And you're basing this idea that there'll be "a good chance" on what? I haven't seen a single name mentioned with a straight face.
The Lilywhites
09/11/2012, 4:45 PM
I think MR A' point is if Waterford are right then you didn't win fair and square so that's why thy have objected as they believe they are or at least believed at the time of objecting they were right.
For them to think they were right and not object would be stupid on their part. It was in their eyes worth a punt.
It's seems in this case they were wrong which is fair enough, they will have to accept that and move on.
It's nonsensical though. It's like Dundalk picking something from the sky and objecting against a Pats player after they beat us in the cup semi.
A quick read of the rule they refer to would tell them there is no case, yet it was blown up into some big story the league could do without.
Over on their forum someone believed Rafter was ineligible for a couple of friendlies after the Dundalk statement. He must be on their management committee.
I totally agree, and the nonsense people are saying like 'every other club would do the same in Waterfords position' But would they really ? They obviously sat down as a club after losing the play off and spent a huge amount of time thinking up what they could do next. And this is what they came up with, a horrible nasty below the belt attack, and for 500 euro, they obviously considered it was worth it.
I'm also hearing a lot (in fact the more I ask the more I find) of Waterford fans are disgusted and embarrassed by their clubs dirty tricks action in this.
Complete bitterness.
blue til i die
09/11/2012, 10:08 PM
I totally agree, and the nonsense people are saying like 'every other club would do the same in Waterfords position' But would they really ? They obviously sat down as a club after losing the play off and spent a huge amount of time thinking up what they could do next. And this is what they came up with, a horrible nasty below the belt attack, and for 500 euro, they obviously considered it was worth it.
I'm also hearing a lot (in fact the more I ask the more I find) of Waterford fans are disgusted and embarrassed by their clubs dirty tricks action in this.
Complete bitterness.
Are you for real? Get a grip. :rolleyes:
I believe the appeal came from previous correspondence from FAI where Jan 31st was stated by the FAI, not Feb 22nd as is now believed to be the date. If that is the case, I dont see any team that wouldn't appeal.
From a man who has put tens of thousands of euro of his own money into a football club, you don't think that going on that correspondence that €500 wasnt worth what they believed was a problem with a players registration? You're talking sh*te.
White Horse
09/11/2012, 10:34 PM
From a man who has put tens of thousands of euro of his own money into a football club, you don't think that going on that correspondence that €500 wasnt worth what they believed was a problem with a players registration? You're talking sh*te.
Don't lose hope.
They are still another 200 or so players in the Premier Division whose registration can be appealed. One of them must contain an uncrossed t, an undoted i, a spelling mistake, or a coffee stain.
Not forgetting the novenas being said in Waterford for a fellow club to go bust.
There's a certain irony in the fact that Dundalk may well have finished bottom if Monaghan hadn't dropped out.
NeverFeltBetter
10/11/2012, 12:41 AM
Wishing such a misfortune on another club is jaw-dropping.
The Lilywhites
10/11/2012, 7:40 AM
If he's so flush with cash how come your players went without wages during the season?
Dundalk miss one week and it's everywhere - in part due to the club being open and honest about it - and Waterford miss more and not a word.
Look after your own house before you go looking for problems in others.
10/11/2012, 10:54 AM
At this stage it seems that Waterfords decision has some merit. Not in getting the play-off overturned but in getting themselves a profile from where they have an audience to highlight the folly of the 1st division set up. If it wasnt their initial intention there is a lot of talk about the appeal and why the long shot. It may influence decisions even if under the weight of the CEO. Everyone just after the 2nd leg were lauding Waterford, their facilities, support etc and how its a shame that they werent in the Premier Divsison now they are being vilified for doing whatever it takes. It is sad that the culture of LoI has so many 'legal' issues. Dundalk lost out on promotion regardless of player registration issues to Kilkenny, demoted due to restructuring, missed promotion due to a fancy DVD so we know all about the gut wrenching disappointment. We struggled on but got there in the end. 2 of the clubs the that went up at out expence are now gone as you all know so Waterford beware.
As an aside the Jeff McNamara signing was legal but morally questionable, that loophole was exploited by us and then subsequently closed but it was opppertunistic on our behalf in desperation too at the time.
jinxy lilywhite
10/11/2012, 12:58 PM
Still thinking about this and still wondering how desperate a club like Waterford must be to lodge this appeal.
But if I could add something else to it is you are not good enough to be in the premier league. You could not even win the first division to qualify. Overall u r only the 13th best team in the league.
you either have a choice which to wallow in self pity hoping a club pulls out or some other crap or accept your faith, move on and concentrate on winning the first
jinxy lilywhite
10/11/2012, 1:04 PM
That's true but they never fulfilled their fixtures so we`ll never know.
You're talking sh*te.
Not bitter then ?
Dont worry, only a few more sleeps then you'll have it officially confirmed, as rejected.
Do keep us all updated on your next move though.
blue til i die
10/11/2012, 4:05 PM
If he's so flush with cash how come your players went without wages during the season?
Dundalk miss one week and it's everywhere - in part due to the club being open and honest about it - and Waterford miss more and not a word.
Look after your own house before you go looking for problems in others.
After all that, I do wish Dundalk all the best in the future, your second leg performance was worthy of staying in the premier division, and fair play to Rafter after not having a great spell with us, two clinical finishes. Best of luck. I dont blame WUFC for making the appeal, but wouldnt like to see any team demoted off the pitch.
patrickccfc
10/11/2012, 5:18 PM
when is this all gona be settled once and for all? would be a joke to be honest for dundalk to go down due to a technicality
bullit
10/11/2012, 5:28 PM
when is this all gona be settled once and for all? would be a joke to be honest for dundalk to go down due to a technicality
This i hope
....Dont worry, only a few more sleeps then you'll have it officially confirmed, as rejected.
Do keep us all updated on your next move though.
Monday with all going well.
bluewhitearmy
10/11/2012, 9:37 PM
And you're basing this idea that there'll be "a good chance" on what? I haven't seen a single name mentioned with a straight face.
The fact that if they want they will fudge it up to get the numbers up.
deiseach
11/11/2012, 9:58 PM
The fact that if they want they will fudge it up to get the numbers up.
I don't think 'fact' means what you think it means.
Never realised that Waterford's play off record so was so abysmal.
http://statsthatarepointless.wordpress.com/2012/11/13/play-off-woes-for-waterford-and-joy-for-others/
13/11/2012, 5:56 PM
Harps is almost as bad if it weren't for actually beating Waterford in 2007.
I hate play-offs.
**FrOsTy**
13/11/2012, 8:51 PM
Hearing this will be put to bed tomorrow. Club going to Abbotstown tomorrow to settle it. Speaking to a club official today they are still 100% confident and behind the merit of the decision which baffles me.
Hoping we can just draw a line under this tomorrow and get on with securing players for next year and winning this league.
13/11/2012, 9:14 PM
Hearing this will be put to bed tomorrow. Club going to Abbotstown tomorrow to settle it. Speaking to a club official today they are still 100% confident and behind the merit of the decision which baffles me.
Hoping we can just draw a line under this tomorrow and get on with securing players for next year and winning this league.
I take it the threat to pull out is a non-runner too then?
gotaroundbetter
13/11/2012, 10:25 PM
I take it the threat to pull out is a non-runner too then?
Off to Media School with Blue's Chairman so :). I'm sure he meant ' I'm personally not interested in funding the club in a 7 team first division', but even then clarified it by saying IF it was a 7 team division, so the accusations of pram's and rattles are a bit disingenuous. If he was to walk away the club could fold as a consequence, but I suppose it's not until a club hits that kind off wall, that you find out the metal of the fan's and any potential investors. so whatever tomorrow brings try to be nice children. :p
14/11/2012, 2:47 PM
FAI statement:
Waterford United protest dismissed
An FAI Disciplinary Committee has dismissed the protest by Waterford United that Dundalk player Michael Rafter was ineligible to participate in the second leg of the Promotion-Relegation Play-Off Final on November 2.
The Disciplinary Committee today heard submissions from Waterford United and Dundalk as well as the Airtricity League before reaching its decision.
The Disciplinary Committee decided that the rules regarding registration and transfer of players allow for their movement from the amateur game to the professional game within the professional registration periods. The Disciplinary Committee ruled that Michael Rafter’s transfer to Dundalk complied with the rules and therefore he was eligible to play in the fixture on November 2, 2012.
The Disciplinary Committee was comprised of chairman Barry Collins, John Kane and John Coughlan.
Dundalk won the Promotion-Relegation play-off 4-2 on aggregate to retain their place in the Airtricity League Premier Division for the 2013 season.
Waterford United have the right to appeal the decision to the FAI Appeals Committee as per FAI Rule 156.
ENDS
As expected. Now waiting for Waterford to pull out of the league as promised :clown:
White Horse
14/11/2012, 2:51 PM
Will it end there though?
Probably not. I'm sure they have more good money to throw after bad and appeal. Good news for the other 1st division teams next season as a result. Waterford who would have been hot favourites to win (if they go against what they said and stay in the league) will have less money to spend on the squad.
14/11/2012, 2:57 PM
You would think so. Hardly any point in appealing unless they have further evidence.
NeverFeltBetter
14/11/2012, 3:15 PM
If Waterford appeal this I would be very surprised. Fair enough, they though they had a case the first time, but it's been cleared up and the objection rejected. What possible new info or change of mind can they expect?
Nothing less than chancing their arm on this. They obviously thought it was worth it. Time to move on now.
deiseach
14/11/2012, 5:49 PM
So was Mitt Romney :rolleyes: Without having any particular insight, I'd say it's more a case that it was well worth the gamble. The gap between the two divisions is vast enough to make gamblers of us all. C'est la vie.
jinxy lilywhite
14/11/2012, 7:06 PM
Waterford's dreams smashed, just like the cheap, tacky crystal they make!!!
gotaroundbetter
14/11/2012, 8:31 PM
Waterford's dreams smashed, just like the cheap, tacky crystal they make!!!
What you mean? The cheap tacky crystal now made in Slovenia the Czech Rep. and such like . I suppose world news takes a while filter through where you are :D
bullit
16/11/2012, 4:56 AM
What you mean? The cheap tacky crystal now made in Slovenia the Czech Rep. an suppose world news takes a while filter through where you ared such like . I :D
Sorry, We only get "WaterfordUtd supporters are a pack of crying nonces" news round these here parts ;) The Israel to our Palestine.
Be good out there
gufcfan
16/11/2012, 5:10 AM
From where I'm sitting, John O'Sullivan has only succeeded in making himself and his fellow clubmen look like muppets, with this and the pulling out of the league talk.
Not trying to have a pop at Waterford, just saying how it looks.
deiseach
16/11/2012, 11:04 AM
From where I'm sitting, John O'Sullivan has only succeeded in making himself and his fellow clubmen look like muppets, with this and the pulling out of the league talk.
Not trying to have a pop at Waterford, just saying how it looks.
I'd hate to see what you'd say if you were trying to have a pop at Waterford :cool: