View Full Version : Promotion / Relegation Play - Offs 2012

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8

07/11/2012, 11:02 AM
Call it whatever you want, every team in that position would do the exact same.

Not sure this true. Seems like Waterford either actively went searching for some technicality, or knew before hand and said nothing

I've no issue either way and it seems clear cut to me that Dunadlk are fine.

blue til i die
07/11/2012, 11:17 AM
According to radio in waterford, club are confident registration was not done correctly.

Is it just the league of ireland that this happens in every year? :confused:

White Horse
07/11/2012, 11:19 AM

No, only when Waterford don't win a play-off.

GCdfc
07/11/2012, 11:34 AM
According to radio in waterford, club are confident registration was not done correctly.

How would they know if it was done correctly or not? Insider information from Mr. Delaney? The FAI sanctioned the signing and stamped it. If they screwed up it is their fault and not DFC's. Therefore, DFC shouldn't be penalised.

How come the the clubs DFC knocked out of the cups didn't protest?

I suspect that Waterford heard a rumour and there is many floating around the LOI. Instead of ignoring it like most sensible people would, the chairman who is currently in a position he can't hold after his outrageous pulling out of the league statement, decided to waste money lodging an appeal.

07/11/2012, 11:38 AM
How would they know if it was done correctly or not? Insider information from Mr. Delaney? The FAI sanctioned the signing and stamped it. If they screwed up it is their fault and not DFC's. Therefore, DFC shouldn't be penalised

Speaking from personal experience, this means feck all...

Anyway, the deadline they quote relates to transfers from Junior to Junior to clubs. The deadline for professionals was different. Can't see how waterford think otherwise?

White Horse
07/11/2012, 11:40 AM
Are we replaying the season? Bohs for the Cup!

oriel
07/11/2012, 11:58 AM
If their appeal fails and I`m sure it will, I think they should be given their wish of not playing in next seasons FD.

Relegate them to the A league for this.

Louth4sam
07/11/2012, 12:03 PM
Call it whatever you want, every team in that position would do the exact same.

Why wait until after the playoff? No problem with Waterford doing this if they feel it's their only chance of being promoted but makes them look pretty pathetic.

**FrOsTy**
07/11/2012, 12:05 PM
This is making us look silly and pathetic.

**FrOsTy**
07/11/2012, 12:48 PM
Does anybody else think that this is the perfect time for the FAI to give in and go for a 1 tier league. This **** up is completely down to them. It seems that Rafter was not eligible for Dundalk, but the FAI signed it off as been eligible. Now, that's not Dundalks fault, but nor is it fair to any other team in the league for one club to have different rules/advantages. The FAI have made a mjor boo boo here and I think it would be just of them to bring up Waterford, Longford, Wexford, Athlone, Finn Harps and a Galway club to the premier division and make a 3-5 year plan with no relegation in between. Let clubs sort themselves out. It will stop players demanding unsustainable wages and will allow clubs the chance to develop and give experience to U19 or youth players that are up and coming.

07/11/2012, 12:52 PM
Why wait until after the playoff? No problem with Waterford doing this if they feel it's their only chance of being promoted but makes them look pretty pathetic.
None of their concern until they got through to play ye in the play-off in fairness.

07/11/2012, 12:55 PM
It seems that Rafter was not eligible for Dundalk, but the FAI signed it off as been eligible.

It does not seem tht way to me, and it most certainly shouldn't be used as a backdoor route into the big league for Waterford

Louth4sam
07/11/2012, 1:08 PM
None of their concern until they got through to play ye in the play-off in fairness.

Well it is, if they knew about it pre playoff, it should have been brought up then. The fact they waited until after the playoff shows bad sportsmanship.
If Dundalk got all their points expunged they still would have been in the play off position but we may have had an option not to play Rafter in playoff if his contract is indeed void.

bluewhitearmy
07/11/2012, 1:28 PM
Between this and the Waterford chairman saying on the radio that he would be happy if a prem club went bust i hope they rot in the first division. Ye talk about the league being a joke and all that the only way the league will ever start to get respect is when things like promotion and relegation are only ever won on the pitch, something ye couldn't do and are now desperately looking for anything for ye to placed up there anyway.

Ye don't deserve to be in the premier ye had your chance to earn it and didn't so shut up acting like its some massive injustice. If they had beaten Dundalk would they be going on about a one tier league so much, not a chance.

Partizan
07/11/2012, 1:48 PM
Latest statement from Waterford.

http://www.wlrfm.com/news-and-sport/waterford-sport/166580.html

GCdfc
07/11/2012, 2:12 PM
Totally clutching at non-existent straws assuming the transfer window closes on Feb 22nd. They are objecting about rule 34b. 34b refers to rule 33 so I have posted both.

RULE 33. REGISTRATION/TRANSFER PERIODS FOR PROFESSIONAL GAME
a) Players may only be registered during one of the two annual Registration Periods fixed by the Association. As an exception to this rule, a Professional whose contract has expired prior to the end of a Registration Period may be registered outside that Registration Period. Leagues are authorised to register such Professionals provided due consideration is given to the sporting integrity of the relevant competition. In case of just cause for termination of a contract, the Association may take provisional measures in order to avoid abuse and in accordance with FIFA regulations.
b) The first Registration Period shall begin after the completion of the season and shall normally end before the new season starts. This period may not exceed twelve weeks. The second Registration Period shall normally occur in the middle of the season and may not exceed four weeks. The two Registration Periods for the season shall be communicated to FIFA at least 12 months before they come into force.
c) Players may only be registered – subject to the exception as foreseen in paragraph 1 of this rule – if an application from the club is validly submitted to the Association during a Registration Period.
d) The provisions concerning Registration Periods do not apply to competitions in which only Amateurs participate.
e) An Amateur Player may be registered on a Professional Contract for the Professional Game during the Professional Registration Periods

RULE 34. REGISTRATION/TRANSFER PERIODS FOR AMATEUR GAME
a) The registration period for the Amateur game, other than the SFAI, shall be 1st June to the 31st of March inclusive for the winter season and 1st of December to the 30th of September inclusive for the Summer Season.
b) The two transfer periods for the Amateur game shall be 1st June to 30th September inclusive and the 1st December to the 31st of January inclusive with the exception of (c) below. However, an Amateur Player may be signed on a Professional Contract for the Professional Game during the Professional Registration Periods.

Source: http://www.fai.ie/agents_info/FAIRuleBook2011.pdf

07/11/2012, 2:16 PM
And there's absolutely no chance Rafter was signed on amateur terms?

srfc1928
07/11/2012, 2:24 PM
Waterford always seem to be cribbing about something.

GCdfc
07/11/2012, 2:24 PM
And there's absolutely no chance Rafter was signed on amateur terms?

Here is what dundalkfc.com say in his Rafters player profile: "He went on to join Tipperary club Saint Michael’s for a short spell, before arriving at Oriel Park where he penned a one-year deal in February."

Here is what is said about Shanahan who signed as an amateur: "Shanahan, who signed an amateur contract with the club, benefitted greatly from an FAI-FÁS course in Limerick, working under the tutelage of Trevor Lovell."

I'd be quite certain that if Rafter was an amateur it would say it. Sure he wouldn't have been able to afford all the food on an amateur contract! :p

07/11/2012, 3:05 PM
Well it is, if they knew about it pre playoff, it should have been brought up then. The fact they waited until after the playoff shows bad sportsmanship.
Or that they didn't know about it pre-play-off. A whisper or a rumour on the day, which Waterford decided to check into. Not impossible.

It does sound like sour grapes from Waterford, but at the moment, there's nothing in particular to suggest they haven't got a point either.

07/11/2012, 3:10 PM
Its fairly simple. If he's amatuer, Dundalk are done.

If he's pro, they're fine.

Surely this could've been checked in 5 minutes by the FAI?

07/11/2012, 3:53 PM

We would have missed out on all of this speculation then though. THE FAI - putting the fans first and keeping the offseason interesting!

Fermoy Blue
07/11/2012, 4:22 PM
Met Jeff McNamara today, he seems to think that it's SCHADENFREUDE if Dundalk go down over the registration of a player, we just thought it was a good laugh...

07/11/2012, 4:26 PM
Dundalk are absolutely grand here, no reason to worry.

Their only problem would come if they'd ever done anything to annoy the FAI, or if Waterford had some powerful ally within the FAI somehow.

:neutral:

eelmonster
07/11/2012, 4:33 PM
Dundalk are absolutely grand here, no reason to worry.

Their only problem would come if they'd ever done anything to annoy the FAI, or if Waterford had some powerful ally within the FAI somehow.

:neutral:

http://www.stmichaelsfc.com/info.php3

Rafter's former club, where a certain CEO of the fudge factory is honorary life president. His office is on the grassy knoll.

L.T.F.C.
07/11/2012, 4:34 PM
The fact they waited until after the playoff shows bad sportsmanship.

And??

Louth4sam
07/11/2012, 5:04 PM
Is that the way you'd like to see the league go? Clubs actively trying to screw each other when it doesn't work out for them on the pitch?

07/11/2012, 5:46 PM
Is that the way you'd like to see the league go? Clubs actively trying to screw each other when it doesn't work out for them on the pitch?

Well if Dundalk were breaking the rules knowingly or not then its not really screwing them over is it? Surely if Waterford didn't objected it would be them screwed over.

If Dundalk didn't break any rules then its Waterford who are just down 500euro.

I see no problem with this, objections happen all the time in football.

07/11/2012, 5:47 PM
Well honestly....whos giving Waterford this crap? oh wait http://www.nationalist.ie/sport/soccer/st-michael-s-bring-john-delaney-cup-back-to-tipperary-town-1-4186307

07/11/2012, 5:56 PM
There's actually a John Delaney Cup? That's a real thing? Mother of god...

Guinney
07/11/2012, 6:07 PM

If I won that trophy that I'd accidentally go down the same lines as Sergio Ramos and drop the trophy

http://mit.zenfs.com/210/2011/04/aD5X.jpg

07/11/2012, 6:08 PM

Not at all narcissitic is our John!

07/11/2012, 6:21 PM
I hear there is a name change on the way for the first division next season

"The John Delaney National Reserve First Division 2013"

07/11/2012, 6:28 PM
I hear there is a name change on the way for the first division next season

"The John Delaney National Reserve First Division 2013"
EA Sports Cup to renamed the John Delaney "Get To That ****ing Bar" Shield.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/11/2012, 6:47 PM
Its fairly simple. If he's amatuer, Dundalk are done.

If he's pro, they're fine.

But then the FAI wouldn't have got whatever fee they charged Waterford to lodge an appeal

Ezeikial
07/11/2012, 6:54 PM
Met Jeff McNamara today, he seems to think that it's SCHADENFREUDE if Dundalk go down over the registration of a player, we just thought it was a good laugh...

Ah the famous Jeff McNamara affair".

All life (and LOI) is a circle it seems -

Friday, May 30th, 1997
The news has just broken at 11am that Waterford United have lost their appeal to the FAI Council over the Jeff McNamara affair. According to FAI Treasurer Brendan Menton, who informed the club, stated this morning that the Blues had not proved their points, and that Dundalk were totally correct in playing the Linfield striker. Blues chairman Bertie Rogers says the club may take legal action.

Thursday, May 29th, 1997
The Jeff McNamara affair came before the FAI Council today - in a two-hour hearing at Merrion Square this afternoon, both Waterford United and Dundalk stated their respective cases about the appearance of the Linfield striker in Dundalk's line-up during the promotion play-offs. Waterford and their solicitors gave their side of the story through two points...
(1) McNamara was not an amateur player because amateurs can not go on loan to other clubs - only players on a contract can do this, and as the player himself said he was contracted to Linfield, he therefore could not be an amateur...
(2) McNamara was signed by Dundalk on April 30th - no other league in Europe has a system where players can be signed before the last two games of the season, and still be elligible to play. Waterford tried, and failed, to sign somebody else in similar circumstances a couple of weeks beforehand, but found that they were not allowed to.
The hearing began at 1:30, concluding at 3:30. Waterford United Chairman Bertie Rogers was in upbeat mood afterwards, and felt that the Blues had stated their case well. He added that if the Blues' appeal is turned down, then they will seek a tribunal.
A decision is expected in the coming days.

http://akilduff.tripod.com/blues/oldnews3.html

madblaa
07/11/2012, 7:00 PM
Or that they didn't know about it pre-play-off. A whisper or a rumour on the day, which Waterford decided to check into. Not impossible.

We were tipped off after the game. To those of you who are rightfully ****ed off with us, don't tell me your club wouldn't do the same thing in the same situation, I'm sorry guys, this is about survival.

I cannot see us surviving in a seven team league, NONE of you could, and I don't think any team in it will. I can only hope the FAI see sense and put all of this bull**** to bed an merge the two divisions, it was most of the clubs want, sort out relegation by having a type of A Championship as a lower division.

I'm just a fan, and I hate all this, but it is what it is!

07/11/2012, 7:05 PM
Ahh Johns plan b swung in to action after full time?

madblaa
07/11/2012, 7:10 PM
There was nearly 3000 at the game, and it was on Setanta Sports, I'm sure yea have a few enemies too! And after the way their fans behaved at the game, maybe someone said, "meh, I'm ratting them out"!

Ezeikial
07/11/2012, 7:15 PM
We were tipped off after the game. To those of you who are rightfully ****ed off with us, don't tell me your club wouldn't do the same thing in the same situation, I'm sorry guys, this is about survival.

Although I think that the complaint/appeal/whinge (delete as you see fit) does not reflect well on the club, there is no reason for others to be " ****ed off" - the chances of this being successful are next to nil and I understand that Waterford have already been told this by the FAI.

Dillonman
07/11/2012, 7:15 PM
There was nearly 3000 at the game, and it was on Setanta Sports, I'm sure yea have a few enemies too! And after the way their fans behaved at the game, maybe someone said, "meh, I'm ratting them out"!

And what way was that???

I was at the game, apart from the few mindless idiots who ran onto the pitch after each goal and the two bangers/ONE FLARE which went off, there was no trouble.

White Horse
07/11/2012, 7:18 PM
And after the way their fans behaved at the game, maybe someone said, "meh, I'm ratting them out"!

Well I was at the game with my young kids cheering on our team to the end, the way fans should behave.

madblaa
07/11/2012, 7:22 PM
I'm sorry, running over to the home crowd (who both cheered off your players as well as our own) throwing a banger at us, breaking a 16 year olds ankle and trying to get into us does constitute 'trouble-making' as far as I'm concerned, while your officials looked on an laughed at this, instead of telling then to cop on and go back. Those officials did try to start on us themselves too on the way out. Yea were worthy winners on the night, should have just went home and celebrated instead of having a go at a heartbroken crowd.

But then, you've always been like that.

madblaa
07/11/2012, 7:23 PM
@White Horse Correct.

bullit
07/11/2012, 7:23 PM
Jaysus,the bitterness is deep you :rolleyes:.

madblaa
07/11/2012, 7:25 PM
Good night now lads, hope it turns out well for the both of us, one way or another.

madblaa
07/11/2012, 7:25 PM
Jaysus,the bitterness is deep you :rolleyes:.

What's bitter about asking fans to behave? I accept we lost fairly.

Dillonman
07/11/2012, 7:29 PM
I'm sorry, running over to the home crowd (who both cheered off your players as well as our own) throwing a banger at us, breaking a 16 year olds ankle and trying to get into us does constitute 'trouble-making' as far as I'm concerned, while your officials looked on an laughed at this, instead of telling then to cop on and go back. Those officials did try to start on us themselves too on the way out. Yea were worthy winners on the night, should have just went home and celebrated instead of having a go at a heartbroken crowd.

But then, you've always been like that.

Jaysus seems to be alot of making stories up in Waterford lately.

Lats week it was a young lad had a banger thrown at his leg and he got burned, this week its his ankle was just broken!

jinxy lilywhite
07/11/2012, 7:30 PM
i heard on the grapevine that if Waterford fail in their appeal that their club motto will be "Why always us"

I dont know whether to laugh or cry over this but its one of the main reasons why i love this league. The lengths that any club will go too to get one over on another is mind boggling

Ezeikial
07/11/2012, 7:32 PM
What's bitter about asking fans to behave? I accept we lost fairly.

Nothing wrong there.

But your allegations are a little bizarre - paticularly that club officials "started" on you.

Did you witness the attack on the 16 year old that resulted in the broken ankle?