View Full Version : Promotion / Relegation Play - Offs 2012
Pages :
[
2]
Trainee
13/09/2012, 7:52 PM
Wasn't the A league scrapped as clubs kept giving out about costs, so I cant see 3 clubs paying costs to have a div 1 team. It will cost 100k+ to run the Div 1 team, so I cant see to many Premier teams willing to enter a second team.
Simple Solution for next year is have 1 league, Work on a structure that will suit the league and start again in 2014, remember licensing process was meant start on 1st Sept, so If a decision is not made soon Clubs could struggle with licencing deadlines
13/09/2012, 7:59 PM
Wasn't the A league scrapped as clubs kept giving out about costs, so I cant see 3 clubs paying costs to have a div 1 team. It will cost 100k+ to run the Div 1 team, so I cant see to many Premier teams willing to enter a second team.
How much does it cost to field an U19 side? I can't imagine anyone other than the two Rovers, Cork and possibly Pats would seriously be able to contemplate fielding a second side.
What sorts of crowds do the reserve teams in the lower Spanish tiers get? You could probably apply the same differential to a similar concept here (and then half it)...
Theres your true cross dressers!
14/09/2012, 2:28 AM
According to this, Barcelona B average over 10,000 so I guess about 1/8 of the senior team's attendance.
http://www.worldfootball.net/zuschauer/esp-segunda-division-2010-2011/2/
I don't think the attendances are officially counted but I think Rovers' U19 team easily gets what the Galway juniorsenior teams get. Over 1,000 at the LSC final too.
Wasn't the A league scrapped as clubs kept giving out about costs,
Not all clubs wanted to scrap it. The majority did and the league couldn't continue.
I don't think the attendances are officially counted but I think Rovers' U19 team easily gets what the Galway juniorsenior teams get
That would probably change if they're being charged a tenner in though.
Spudulika
14/09/2012, 9:17 AM
The issue over players moving between teams is very simple and (I'm not sure about LSL or other Junior leagues) we can take the lead from the GAA (or Rugby). Clubs will field Senior, Intermediate and Junior sides, however only a set number of players from the level above (I believe it's 10) can be named to play Junior or Inter, and if a player from a lower grade plays in 10 matches at Senior (having been called up) they are then ineligible for the lower grades.
Now, seeing as the LOI has a history with registration and not knowing card count etc, it is behoven to the FAI to govern this closely - ie turn on a computer, open a spreadsheet and monitor matches.
Sorry about the crossdressing reference, I probably over-egged it. In that community LOI supporters would be akin to the trainspotting, Lada enthusiast sub group who enjoy crochet and croquet on the side.
14/09/2012, 1:38 PM
Not all clubs wanted to scrap it. The majority did and the league couldn't continue.
That would probably change if they're being charged a tenner in though.
I doubt they'd be charged a tenner.
harps1954
14/09/2012, 2:23 PM
I doubt they'd be charged a tenner.
Why not? FAI rules state that €10 is the miminum adult admission price to a LOI game, so they would have to charge it. Also, it currently costs circ. €10,000 in affilation fees to play in the FD. Would the FAI also charge this to a reserve team, whose senior team would already have paid circ. €18,000 in affilation fees to play in PD?
Lots of thought would need to be put into this before any final decision is made. What the FD is fast turning into is what the 'A' league was up until it was scrapped.
14/09/2012, 2:24 PM
Really? That's a silly rule.
14/09/2012, 2:30 PM
New to the FAI are we?
harps1954
14/09/2012, 2:34 PM
This is the rule in the participation agreement. It doesn't state the amount, but it's currently €10 for adults.
11 Admission Charges
The minimum charge for admission to all matches under the jurisdiction of the Committee shall be determined at
the beginning of each season. Clubs may also offer group or family tickets on a promotional basis, which do not
conform to these minimum charges. Admission charges in all cases shall be the same for home and away
supporters.
blue til i die
19/09/2012, 2:20 PM
Nice of them to finally confirm this:
FIRST DIVISION PROMOTION/RELEGATION PLAY-OFF
Fri. /Sat. 19/20 October Third placed Club v Second placed Club
Fri. /Sat. 26/27 October Second placed Club v Third placed Club
Match against Premier team: Monday or Tuesday (October 29/30) with the return leg taking place on Friday November 2.
harps1954
19/09/2012, 3:18 PM
Nice of them to finally confirm this:
FIRST DIVISION PROMOTION/RELEGATION PLAY-OFF
Fri. /Sat. 19/20 October Third placed Club v Second placed Club
Fri. /Sat. 26/27 October Second placed Club v Third placed Club
Match against Premier team: Monday or Tuesday (October 29/30) with the return leg taking place on Friday November 2.
Apart from thd dates against the Premier Division clubs, the dates for the First Division play-off between 2nd and 3rd has been in the fixture list since the start of the season - can't see why you would say it's nice of them to finally confirm it when it was there all along.
Trainee
19/09/2012, 3:30 PM
Limerick will replace monaghan,
Am I correct in saying winner of 2nd v 3rd will be promoted as Monaghan will be in premier even if they loose the final
blue til i die
19/09/2012, 3:33 PM
Apart from thd dates against the Premier Division clubs, the dates for the First Division play-off between 2nd and 3rd has been in the fixture list since the start of the season - can't see why you would say it's nice of them to finally confirm it when it was there all along.
Probably because the fai wouldn't confirm it to clubs until recently. I'm aware it was in the fixtures.
adamd164
19/09/2012, 4:01 PM
Limerick will replace monaghan,
Am I correct in saying winner of 2nd v 3rd will be promoted as Monaghan will be in premier even if they loose the final
Eh!? Limerick (assuming they win the league) replace Monaghan.
The playoff then determines whether last in the premier stays or is replaced by 2nd/3rd in the First division.
Look at it this way: Monaghan are effectively going to come 'last' in the premier. They just won't be in the first division next year. Hence the first division will reduce in size by one team. (Though there'll probably be others allowed in, e.g. Cobh or Tralee or Galway United.)
Probably because the fai wouldn't confirm it to clubs until recently. I'm aware it was in the fixtures.
And people want the clubs to have more say in the running...
Club; Can you confirm the dates for the 1st divisin play offs
FAI; They're in the fixtures
Club; Yeah, but can you confirm?
FAI; Oh FFS...
blue til i die
19/09/2012, 4:22 PM
And people want the clubs to have more say in the running...
Club; Can you confirm the dates for the 1st divisin play offs
FAI; They're in the fixtures
Club; Yeah, but can you confirm?
FAI; Oh FFS...
Ok, ok, i left myself open to that, nicely done :cool:
What i meant was that clubs were told it might be changed to a one-legged match between the first division team, with the match with premier team being two-legged.
If we escape the play off & make the cup final (granted both long shots) that date for the 2nd leg of the final play off game will be moved from fri 2nd nov as the cup final is on sun 4th nov.
L.T.F.C.
20/09/2012, 6:21 PM
What? Are you serious? So you have to play a play-off final and then the cup final in the space of three days?
See, not an issue now...
08/10/2012, 7:46 PM
On yesterdays showing, Dundalk will be no push-over for either Waterford or Longford.
If they fancy it enough I reckon Dundalk could stay up.
Waterford were poor against us in Finn Park last week and then beaten at home by Mervue.
Longford lost their last 2 and have been gradually getting worse every week by the looks of things.
It'll be interesting either way.
08/10/2012, 8:16 PM
The one thing that will stand to Dundalk is playing top opposition week in week out. Either Waterford or Longford though could take a lot of confidence from getting through the first division play off also though.
08/10/2012, 8:25 PM
On yesterdays showing, Dundalk will be no push-over for either Waterford or Longford.
If they fancy it enough I reckon Dundalk could stay up.
Waterford were poor against us in Finn Park last week and then beaten at home by Mervue.
Longford lost their last 2 and have been gradually getting worse every week by the looks of things.
It'll be interesting either way.
We've an awful lot of injuries at the moment but most of them are likely to be back for the play offs. Not too optimistic all the same. It's hard to get out of a run of bad form.
08/10/2012, 10:21 PM
It's hard to get out of a run of bad form.
Like conceding 14 goals in 3 games and none scored....yeah Longford/Waterford should be terrified:/
Peter Collins on MNS thought Waterford were already through to play Dundalk in the play offs and didn't seem to realise there's a first division play off first! I don't think any of the 3 teams will fear each other on current form.
harpin
09/10/2012, 9:13 AM
Peter Collins on MNS thought Waterford were already through to play Dundalk in the play offs and didn't seem to realise there's a first division play off first! I don't think any of the 3 teams will fear each other on current form.
He looked like he'd had a very big session at the weekend
El-Pietro
09/10/2012, 11:00 AM
Peter Collins should stick to the motor "sports". He sounds like an car engine these days.
The Muffler
10/10/2012, 11:21 PM
Can't see anyone but Waterford going up. Saw both Longford and Waterford 3 times each and I wouldn't fear Longford in the slightest. No pace in the team and the strikers aren't up to much. Waterford will have Sean Maguire to tear the shreds out of that awful Dundalk defence. The only hope for Dundalk is their decent attackers in Rafter and Gary Shanahan and that terrible pitch they somehow play on.
L.T.F.C.
11/10/2012, 3:13 AM
Any of these on TV?
Partizan
11/10/2012, 3:34 PM
Any of these on TV?
Nope. WLR will be covering them by live radio commentary. www.wlrfm.com
11/10/2012, 4:51 PM
The only hope for Dundalk is their decent attackers in Rafter........and that terrible pitch they somehow play on.
Rafter??? Are you for real? and the pitch thing wont make a damn difference as ye need to be half decent to play ball on it and we are muck.
If we play waterford they ae due a play-off win against us, unless we can get Jeff McNamara out of retirement (he'd still be better than Conlon at 40+ yrs of age...)
harps1954
15/10/2012, 3:36 PM
Longford/Waterford will be at home against Dundalk in the second-leg of the play-off final (draw took place today). Setanta are showing the first-leg of the final live and have the option to show the second-leg as well - they will make a decision after the game in Oriel Park if they are going to show the second leg at Flancare/RSC.
adamd164
15/10/2012, 5:46 PM
That's swung the balance even more in favour of the first division team. I think Dundalk will go down to be honest.
bluemovie
15/10/2012, 6:59 PM
It's going to be very difficult to call. We finished 8 points clear of Longford in the end, but we must have the worst record in play-offs in world football and our record in knockout games against Longford is just as bad! Also, extreme inconsistency has been a problem for us this year so I'm not sure can we put four (or even two) good performances together.
Longford are in shocking form, but that will count for little. I think it'll be really tight and could even be decided by a 180th minute goal or penalties (one thing we have a good record in). As for Dundalk, losing 7-0 in Tallaght isn't, in my opinion, as bad as losing at home to Salthill (as Longford have done) or losing at home TWICE to Mervue (as the Blues have done). I can definitely still see them beating either First Division team.
culloty82
19/10/2012, 12:47 PM
Best of luck to you, bluemovie, nothing against Longford, but would be perfect to have three Munster teams in next season's Premier.
bullit
19/10/2012, 1:17 PM
Best of luck to you, bluemovie, nothing against Longford, but would be perfect to have three Munster teams in next season's Premier.
I know we are bottom of the Prem,but we're not done just yet.
We haven't gone away you know :)
horton
19/10/2012, 3:07 PM
You had to quote your eejit TD didn't ye?
culloty82
20/10/2012, 8:32 PM
In fairness, bullit, could only deal with one play-off at a time!:D Looks like you'll be hosting Waterford at any rate, 0-2 the final score in Flancare.
Yep looks like Dundalk v Waterford for a replay of the 1997 play off (and the meangingless one from 2006). Even though I think we absolutely deserve to finish bottom, and I will also admit that if Mons has survived, such was our decline, I think we would have been auto relegated. I
In saying that, I still think the standard between PD and FD will be just enough to save us. From all reports, this years FD is one of the worst standard of all time, then again this DLK side is probably the worst I have seen play in the PD.
We'll see how it pans out, we've been going through the motions in the league since it was obvious we couldnt escape, 20 mins or so v Pats in the semi final offered some hope, if Foran/Burns are fit we'll be tight enough at the back, and I just get the feeling that Griffen will spring into action and get the goals to save us.
I dont know that much about Waterford apart from Frost and Dempsey, Im sure they will be well up for it (baring a collapse in the second leg v Longford), also not sure the home/away thing that much of an advantage, if you're good enough you should be able to get past any side over two legs.
Looking forward to the game now, certainly a nice change from the torture of recent months.
adamd164
20/10/2012, 11:35 PM
Think Waterford will be promoted at a canter tbh.
oriel
21/10/2012, 12:28 AM
Think Waterford will be promoted at a canter tbh.
You're obviously basing your opinion on the DLK team that played last night in Cork minus 7 regulars, granted we have been poor this season (and I've been around long enough to see some even poorer Cork teams, a sheet collection in 1982 in oriel park for Cork Utd springs to mind), but I think we'll see a different DLK side in the play offs.
We'll see what happens, quietly confident, not sure why but I think we will stay up, playing against better teams for the past 8 months will count for something.
bluemovie
21/10/2012, 12:59 AM
Absolutely over the moon after that win tonight! Really couldn't have wished for anything better. Not engaging in discussion with oriel, etc yet :D cos this tie is still alive. Longford obviously HAVE to score first on Friday, but even if they went one up in the dying minutes, we'd be bricking it. Darragh Walshe really should have scored a third at the end tonight to finish the tie, but we're not through yet. We'll probably need to score at the RSC, but I'd imagine one goal would see us through. Seriously on a massive high after the game tonight. I'd have taken a one goal defeat like so it's only our nightmarish past with play-offs that has me still worrying. Roll on Friday!!!
NeverFeltBetter
21/10/2012, 1:24 AM
Away goal rule in effect?
bluemovie
21/10/2012, 10:52 AM
No it doesn't count so any 2 goal win for Longford would bring it to extra time. Penalties if necessary.
Let debate start BM, you'll be in Oriel Park on Tues week and live on Setanta too, no way will you throw away a 2-0 lead. Should be a decent play off final to be honest.
bullit
24/10/2012, 9:18 PM
DundalkFC have set fairly reasonable prices for next Tuesdays home leg of the playoff :
http://www.dundalkfc.com/playoff-match-ticket-prices-announced-poster/
Playoff build up begins :
http://www.dundalkfc.com/playoff-kierans-runs-rule-over-opponents/
http://www.dundalkfc.com/playoff-replay-harps-heartbreak-november-2007/
corkery
24/10/2012, 10:09 PM
I really hope it's not Longford that comes up, that place is just not a proper away trip, the stadium is in the middle of nowhere and the away fans go out in that gammy open stand and it's always cold. Waterford be a nice handy trip for Cork too.
bullit
25/10/2012, 6:14 AM
I really hope it's not Longford that comes up, that place is just not a proper away trip, the stadium is in the middle of nowhere and the away fans go out in that gammy open stand and it's always cold. Waterford be a nice handy trip for Cork too.
Hey dude we're right here!! Dundalk !
We dont give a toss what you think!! Stick in your slaveenn hole
25/10/2012, 7:06 AM
I wouldn't worry about that. No chance now.