View Full Version : Promotion / Relegation Play - Offs 2012

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8

Real ale Madrid
30/10/2012, 8:47 PM
Makes for a great 2nd leg but Waterford should have put that to bed tonight.

Comic Book Guy
30/10/2012, 8:47 PM
Sick over that result. So many missed chances.

As well ye should, from the 2nd half you would have sworn that Waterford were the premier team. The chances squandered by Waterford were something else. First time seeing Sean Maguire and I was impressed. I hope you don't regret the missed chances Friday night, in some ways the pressure is off Dundalk but still you'd have to fancy Waterford.

Real ale Madrid
30/10/2012, 8:54 PM
Cracking game - great advert for both divisions.

dundalkfc10
30/10/2012, 9:41 PM
As well ye should, from the 2nd half you would have sworn that Waterford were the premier team. The chances squandered by Waterford were something else. First time seeing Sean Maguire and I was impressed. I hope you don't regret the missed chances Friday night, in some ways the pressure is off Dundalk but still you'd have to fancy Waterford.

As would most teams against 10 men, missing there 2 centre backs who happen be 2 of our best players..

Sending Off spoiled the game for Dundalk, Whatever Maher was thinking il never know stupid stupid man:devil:

Bigger crowd than was expected, good to see aswell...

Roll on Friday, Hope anyone staying in the Travel Lodge not from Dundalk is up for a loud night if we win

White Horse
30/10/2012, 9:58 PM
Relieved to get through that game with the scores still level. Foran not being fit, losing Burns early on, then having every decision go to Waterford.

11 v11 is tough, 10 v 11 is difficult, but 10 v 12 is almost impossible.

I was impressed with Waterford, though they will be disappointed not to have beaten a dejected Dundalk. I was surprised to see Dundalk claw their way back into the tie. Going behind this season normally guarantees a loss.

gormacha
30/10/2012, 10:09 PM

I'd be interested to hear a neutral's view on that, because I find it laughable. What decisions did you feel went against you?

oriel
30/10/2012, 10:10 PM
Im happy with the result as we played with 10 men for one hour, plus after 13 mins both our first choice centre halfs were out, as Foran was injured and Burns carried off at that stage. I think with 11 v 11 (hopefully) for 90 mins, and the fact that away goals do not count, I think we have nothing to fear about the return leg. Maybe if we have Burns back, possibly Foran, and if Griffen improves we can get the win.

Waterford were decent though, impressed with them, decent turn out too (100 ??) possibly 150, crowd was between 1,500 - 1,600, def an improvement on the 260 that turned up last Friday.

All square and all to play for on Friday night.

oriel
30/10/2012, 10:22 PM
I'd be interested to hear a neutral's view on that, because I find it laughable. What decisions did you feel went against you?

Obviously not neutral, but there was a period in the first half for 15 mins that we didnt get a single decision, hence the ironic cheers from the stand when we did get a free kick before HT. in saying that, you did not deserve to be behind at HT, but not beating 10 men for almost an hour and not finishing those chances might come back to haunt you on Friday.

HT and even stevens, going to be some return leg Id say.

30/10/2012, 10:23 PM

I was watching as a neutral and didn't see any bias. The straight red was a bit harsh alright but barr that I didn't see the ref do much wrong.

White Horse
30/10/2012, 10:29 PM

It was more fouls awarded and not warded from general play rather than one or two high profile decisions. Griffin and Rafter were being fouled constantly and hardly got a free all night. However, at the opposite end foul after foul were given for challenges.

I thought the red was harsh, the ref was delighted to get his red card out. However, I'm more annoyed with Maher for allowing himself to be put in that position.

We got out of jail tonight. The tie should be over and done.

bluewhitearmy
30/10/2012, 10:31 PM
I was watching as a neutral and didn't see any bias. The straight red was a bit harsh alright but barr that I didn't see the ref do much wrong.

Didnt think red was harsh at all being honest if you kick out like that its a red everytime, Maher is a clown.

gormacha
30/10/2012, 10:35 PM
The red was harsh? A player, unprovoked, kicks an opposition player, right in front of the ref. I don't think you'll ever see a more deserved red.

I agree though that ye got out of jail, and it could indeed cost us dear.

oriel
30/10/2012, 10:44 PM
100% a red card. Just saw it from a clear angle (recorded it)

bullit
30/10/2012, 10:54 PM
Was a red card all night long.Just happy to be still in the tie and hope to be in the RSC for the return on Friday night.
Dundalk played their get of jail free card tonight in what i thought was a thourgouly absorbing match.

30/10/2012, 10:55 PM
Relieved to get through that game with the scores still level. Foran not being fit, losing Burns early on, then having every decision go to Waterford.

Ah here lads, the ref was not against yous. That is completely wrong.

30/10/2012, 11:35 PM
To be fair I only saw a quick replay of it and thought he just barely flicked out at the Waterford player but obviously not.

bluemovie
31/10/2012, 12:15 AM
Was a red card all night long.Just happy to be still in the tie and hope to be in the RSC for the return on Friday night.
Dundalk played their get of jail free card tonight in what i thought was a thourgouly absorbing match.

Yeah I thought it was a highly entertaining game. Cracking we didn't win it, but I'd have bitten someone's hand off for a draw at the start of the night. Still leaves it fifty-fifty for Friday, but I'm hopeful we can do it. Cherrie was outstanding, but we still should've taken more of our chances. I have to say, what Maher did was one of the most stupid things I've ever seen in football. So needless. One up with Waterford's heads maybe dropping a little and it was pretty unprovoked. He gave Higgins a decent kick too right in front of us and, more importantly, the ref. Crazy and could've cost Dundalk worse. I thought Griffin was quiet for Dundalk (relieved at that), but Shannon and Rafter caused us problems. Didn't have much in midfield though. Dempsey, Phelan and Maguire were excellent for us, but Seanie can definitely play better. We've had a good spread of goalscorers in the three play-off games (White, Burns, Higgins, Phelan, Ryan) which is a good thing, but I'm hoping Maguire or Dempsey are due a goal on Friday. Peter Keegan is a big loss. Jarred his knee badly on the surface so his season is over. Hopefully, Higgins will be ok. Some of ours are starting to look a little tired especially after the Longford second half on Friday with ten men. It looks like it could be another belter at the RSC. Just hoping we don't regret those missed chances.

GCdfc
31/10/2012, 7:49 AM
He gave Higgins a decent kick too right in front of us and, more importantly, the ref.

Mahar was an idiot. However, he connected with Higgins shin pad and Higgins looked like he was just after being shot in the back of the head the way he fell. Not much contact at all. Although it was a red card.

patrickccfc
31/10/2012, 8:57 AM
that was a very good game to watch last night.. thought waterford were brilliant and if they play the same way on friday i can only see one winner

El-Pietro
31/10/2012, 10:24 AM
Well, putting aside the technically correct if slightly inflammatory use of the possessive pronoun ( ;) ), Burns is doing well. I thought he was out of his depth at the start of the season, but he's grown into it as the year went on. His distribution isn't up to much, but he's fantastic in the air, is fully committed in the tackle, and reads defensive situations well. He'll need to develop a good bit yet to play at Premier level, but I think he's capable of that development. In any other year, he would probably have won Young Player of the Year.
yeah don't think we're expecting much from him. No one up here is even sure what the deal with him is, hes on loan with you right? He'd be a bit down the pecking order for us, especially with Kalen ahead of him, along with the more experienced players.

maybe another season of seasoning (pardon the pun) will suit him

bluemovie
31/10/2012, 10:47 AM
No one up here is even sure what the deal with him is, hes on loan with you right?

No he's signed fully with us (at least I'm 99.9% sure of that). I think the initial story when we were getting him was that it was to be on loan purely because we had been linked with loaning players from Cork, but he actually signed permanently with us in pre-season. He's a good lad with the capability to improve. You get the odd blunder like when he miskicked up in the air last night and put us under pressure - had a similar one in Flancare when Bermingham had the penalty claim. He's very strong, good in the air and does well with an experienced defender alongside him. Definitely not lacking in courage or heart. He's still very young so there's planty of room for improvement.

Stephen Mulcahy (for whoever asked earlier) has been a little disappointing, but had a good game away to Longford last week. He actually disrupted things for us in midseason. We had a settled team, but needed to strengthen the squad. Paul O'Brien seemed to want to squeeze him in anywhere so he played (poorly) at right back, centre mid and even (terribly) at right wing. I think he was suffering from lack of games and being moved around. Is he best at centre half? If it hadn't been for the away leg in Longford, I'd have classed him as a major disappointment. We were surprised he was picked ahead of Carey and Mernagh, but it was obviously wth Crawley in mind. The other two like to attack whereas Mulcahy just sat there and did a great job keeping Crawley as quiet as possible. I was happy to see him picked again on Friday, but he only lasted ten minutes before picking up a hamstring injury.

El-Pietro
31/10/2012, 10:49 AM
yeah hes a centre half, has occasionally played at right back for us.

bullit
31/10/2012, 3:18 PM
Is the PM function no longer available on this site ??

31/10/2012, 3:32 PM
It is, yeah. Click on "Notifications" at the top of the screen.

blue til i die
31/10/2012, 5:51 PM
No he's signed fully with us (at least I'm 99.9% sure of that). I think the initial story when we were getting him was that it was to be on loan purely because we had been linked with loaning players from Cork, but he actually signed permanently with us in pre-season.

I was 99% sure it was a loan deal...

adamd164
31/10/2012, 7:25 PM
On the red card, it was stone wall. He kicked out, full stop. It wasn't part of a passage of play, the ball was gone, he just kicked out at another player.

Guinney
31/10/2012, 8:15 PM
We were lucky to escape with a 2-2 draw. Cherrie kept us in it (not for the first time) and Waterford missed some good chances. McDonnell a player who largely underperformed all season came on at half time and was really up for it and made a great strike for the goal. Our defence was woeful. Missing both Foran and Burns was a massive blow and to be honest if we had both fit I'd be alot more optimistic.

Even though I am biased, the ref was still awful. Give us advantage at the wrong times. He gave us nothing fouled and got nothing especially Mountney who was fouled at least 3/4 times and he didn't get anything. That said Maher was a fool for what he done. To be honest I looked away for a second and missed the incident but the general consensus from the people around me said it was a straight red. Maher is a player a like or liked, but he really let the fans, the players and also himself down in this occasion.

gormacha
31/10/2012, 9:02 PM
What baffled me about Maher's sending off was that he lashed out when there had been no obvious provocation. I could understand it if someone was pulling or dragging at him, or if it followed a niggly foul. You could even get your head around it the game was tetchy, but I don't think there was a bad tackle in the 90 minutes. Is he prone to that kind of behaviour?

bullit
31/10/2012, 9:05 PM
It is, yeah. Click on "Notifications" at the top of the screen.
Thanks, i know ;) I just thought that some where having a personal chat here!! Peter Cherries cat had kittens but several got injured during birth,just want to get that out there.Everyone PM me if you want the full details:rolleyes:

31/10/2012, 9:28 PM
Thanks, i know ;) I just thought that some where having a personal chat here!! Peter Cherries cat had kittens but several got injured during birth,just want to get that out there.Everyone PM me if you want the full details:rolleyes:
Oh no :(

bullit
31/10/2012, 9:31 PM
Oh no :(
The internet wont survive :(

bluemovie
31/10/2012, 11:13 PM
Thanks, i know ;) I just thought that some where having a personal chat here!!

Yes, because what this site really needs is less posts :rolleyes:

I was 99% sure it was a loan deal...

Nope. Checked it out. Definitely signed permanently.....until 10pm Friday night anyway!

A lot of our players seem to be suffering the effects of last night - Dempsey and Higgins in particular, while Keegan is gone.

bullit
31/10/2012, 11:34 PM
Yes, because what this site really needs is less posts :rolleyes:

The site seems to be going well enough.However;i was having joking time K ?
Waterford supporters hateing on the Dundalk's all of a sudden :p

I commented and i'm sorry i did,maybe thats the underlying problem with this site;

DON'T HAVE A SENSE OF FOOKING HUMOUR ?PISH!!! **** OVER THERE >>>>> here<<<<<<

JC_GUFC
01/11/2012, 9:29 AM
It was an entertaining match and even at 11 v 11 and 1-0 down it looked like Waterford would have enough to get a result.
However their defence was all over the place and I wouldn't have much faith in them keeping a clean sheet.
I guess a lot depends on whether or not Burns and Foran are fit.
I could see a 1-1 draw and decided on pens.

Just thought there has this tie moved from the worst pitch to the best pitch?!

bluemovie
01/11/2012, 11:08 AM
The site seems to be going well enough.However;i was having joking time K ?
Waterford supporters hateing on the Dundalk's all of a sudden

I commented and i'm sorry i did,maybe thats the underlying problem with this site;

DON'T HAVE A SENSE OF FOOKING HUMOUR ?PISH!!! **** OVER THERE >>>>> here<<<<<<

I was going for smiley-faced rolling eyes rather than cross-face rolling eyes. It's all just a case of emoticon-based confusion so don't be so cold :snowman: , take a chill pill :pill: and we can all get along :rainbow:

As for hating Dundalk all of a sudden....fifteen years going strong!!

01/11/2012, 4:50 PM
Reading back over some of the match comments I thought twas dreadful stuff altogether, particularly at 11 v 11.

The amount oftimes a Waterford defender went one touch, BANG.

Peter White sliding around on the surfacemissing everything.

Dundalk incapable of doing anything.

McLoughlin reffing. :bulgy: (The absolute standout for me watching on telly was Packie Holden taking a jump and a miss at a high ball midway through the first half. Free out. Baffling.)

Was really hoping Dundalk would win this because I like the club and I would have liked to have seen the Waterford chairmans bluff called.

Having seen Dundalk play though I reckon they're a lost cause unless they somehow manage to learn some basic defending and how to supply Griffin

gormacha
01/11/2012, 6:41 PM
Was really hoping Dundalk would win this because I like the club and I would have liked to have seen the Waterford chairmans bluff called.

Are you sure that's the reason you want to see Waterford lose? There are four others I can think of. <gets tin hat>

01/11/2012, 6:46 PM
Are you sure that's the reason you want to see Waterford lose? There are four others I can think of. <gets tin hat>

Peter White, that terrible old headed winger, the big ginger steward and????

For the record I really like John Frost, lovely bloke.

bullit
02/11/2012, 4:10 AM
Reading back over some of the match comments I thought twas dreadful stuff altogether, particularly at 11 v 11.....

I've watched it back a couple of times(also watched it in Oriel) and although it was a bad game skill wise and quality wise the match ebbed and flowed and it was enjoyable.

Hard to call what way it will end,but hi no suprise that i'm going for a Dundalk win,Baz Conlon with a hatrick!

Betting with PP is Waterford 11/10 Draw 11/5 DundalkFC 11/5

02/11/2012, 12:32 PM
Dundalk better win or else.

http://www.metalsucks.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/18291168.jpg

02/11/2012, 2:37 PM
You'll shoot a Derry fan?

I salute your killing style.

02/11/2012, 4:04 PM
any links for tonights match?

02/11/2012, 4:11 PM
any links for tonights match?
There should be a couple up here by kick-off: http://www.wiziwig.tv/broadcast.php?matchid=178464&part=sports

02/11/2012, 6:23 PM
If your with eircom you can watch setanta online for free at eircom sports hub but if not theres a stream here - http://www.thefirstrow.eu/

NeverFeltBetter
02/11/2012, 6:56 PM
Waterford pressing hard in the early minutes, two serious chances already.

corbyeire
02/11/2012, 7:05 PM
thanks for the links lads

02/11/2012, 7:35 PM
Cracking goal. Have to say though its been against the run of play. Waterford haven't created much but looked more like taking the lead. Despite the commentary going on about Maguire all the time I think the back 4 have done much better against him tonight than Tuesday.

NeverFeltBetter
02/11/2012, 7:51 PM
Maguire booked for diving in the penalty area. He exaggerated the fall but still looked a foul to me.

02/11/2012, 8:13 PM
Barring a miracle it looks like thats that for Waterford this season…………and possibly beyond?

cornflakes
02/11/2012, 8:17 PM
so we're down to six teams in the first next year?