View Full Version : Promotion / Relegation Play - Offs 2012

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

07/11/2012, 7:35 PM
i heard on the grapevine that if Waterford fail in their appeal that their club motto will be "Why always us"

Isnt that motto just passed around between clubs from season to season? We had it for a few years, i know that much! ;)

Louth4sam
07/11/2012, 7:48 PM
I'm sorry, running over to the home crowd (who both cheered off your players as well as our own) throwing a banger at us, breaking a 16 year olds ankle and trying to get into us does constitute 'trouble-making' as far as I'm concerned, while your officials looked on an laughed at this, instead of telling then to cop on and go back. Those officials did try to start on us themselves too on the way out. Yea were worthy winners on the night, should have just went home and celebrated instead of having a go at a heartbroken crowd.

But then, you've always been like that.

Haha what a crock of shíte. We shared a stand with waterford fans with no segregation, why would anybody need to "run over to home crowd"? I was sitting right beside the Waterford fans ffs. Plus any source for this 16 year olds ankle being broken by a banger apart from he said she said??
Has anybody made a complaint to Dundalk FC or the FAI about the officials that tried to have a go at you? Might be a better way of getting you lot in to the premier?

White Horse
07/11/2012, 8:10 PM
Dundalk FC have told LMFM that all procedures in relation to the signing of Michael Rafter were correct. Dundalk FC are adamant that supporters have nothing to worry about about Waterford's protest over Rafters signing. Dundalk FC are completly confidant that Waterfords protest to the FAI over Michael Rafters signing will not be upheld. Dundalk FC say plans for Premier Division football next season are going ahead as normal.

Dundalk FC maintain all is in order.

oriel
07/11/2012, 8:15 PM
Good night now lads, hope it turns out well for the both of us, one way or another.

Yes I'd say you will have an excellent chance of coming first in next seasons seven team FD, while we look forward to a 5th season back in the top flight.

PS I heard there was more revelations about the game now, its come to light that Peter Cherrie whilst supporting breast cancer in his Pink GK top did not have a DFC crest on it (from orielweb)

WUFC are considering their options and will not be making a comment until their legal reps have had time to take in this latest development.

07/11/2012, 8:45 PM
I'm sorry, running over to the home crowd (who both cheered off your players as well as our own) throwing a banger at us, breaking a 16 year olds ankle and trying to get into us does constitute 'trouble-making' as far as I'm concerned, while your officials looked on an laughed at this, instead of telling then to cop on and go back. Those officials did try to start on us themselves too on the way out. Yea were worthy winners on the night, should have just went home and celebrated instead of having a go at a heartbroken crowd

This is what i was told - chinese whispers like

while running over to the home crowd (who both jeered off your players as well as our own) throwing a ham sanger at us, breaking 16 ankles while the officials looked on an laughed at this, instead of telling the cops. Those officials tried to start themselves too on the way out.
worthy winners just went home and celebrated instead of having a go at a heartbroken crowd.

bullit
07/11/2012, 9:13 PM
DundalkFC statement tonight-

http://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalk-fc-statement-6/

White Horse
07/11/2012, 9:36 PM
Rumours going around that Waterford are questioning Rafters birth certificate and are claiming he was actually born in Kenya and needs international clearance. Statement from their chairman expected tomorrow.

07/11/2012, 9:47 PM
So what part of the regulations do Waterford officials not understand then? Pro forms within the Pro window!

eelmonster
07/11/2012, 10:06 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qKVVDAKi_d4

There was never anything to worry about.

*phew*

bluewater
07/11/2012, 10:07 PM
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-klD0rNbK06M/UJm2Y-M8NRI/AAAAAAAAKgk/XL7VmQVDV04/s400/IMG_9672.JPG

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-snniCMNEp9M/UJm2aDNPZwI/AAAAAAAAKgo/DjIFmLgPvuY/s1600/IMG_9674.JPG

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-xZm6f5Ysq94/UJm2bUPd4HI/AAAAAAAAKg0/_XWMeX-RkrI/s1600/IMG_9678.JPG

bluewater
07/11/2012, 10:09 PM
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-gEmc4T_M-HU/UJm2eYpMp_I/AAAAAAAAKhA/EI7DCp4y0nQ/s1600/IMG_9684.JPG

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-kNro2YBSAS4/UJm2f4mfcnI/AAAAAAAAKhM/kenEDpM06-M/s1600/IMG_9686.JPG

celebrating in style yeah???

07/11/2012, 10:12 PM
Look at them all, planning their next ankle-breaking assault.

bullit
07/11/2012, 10:14 PM
504-2 to Dundalk aggretate score over three legs :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaGUr6wzyT8

bullit
07/11/2012, 10:22 PM
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-klD0rNbK06M/UJm2Y-M8NRI/AAAAAAAAKgk/XL7VmQVDV04/s400/IMG_9672.JPG

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-snniCMNEp9M/UJm2aDNPZwI/AAAAAAAAKgo/DjIFmLgPvuY/s1600/IMG_9674.JPG

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-xZm6f5Ysq94/UJm2bUPd4HI/AAAAAAAAKg0/_XWMeX-RkrI/s1600/IMG_9678.JPGThe steward in the 1st pic looks realy worried !! Go way the fook yous Bitters !!! LOL

NeverFeltBetter
07/11/2012, 11:06 PM
The Waterford United club look pretty bitter/stupid in this whole episode. Did they just have bad information, or not read the rules properly before throwing away 500 euro?

07/11/2012, 11:07 PM
I suppose they'll say that it was do or die; E500 quid for a chance to avoid folding is worth it.

Though it's hard to disagree with those say they've heard that line before.

07/11/2012, 11:33 PM
Are Waterford United due a fine for allowing all those spectators into the playing area??

07/11/2012, 11:55 PM
I don't really see anything wrong with what Waterford are doing, even if they are only clutching at straws. If I were a Waterford fan I'd want them to be exploring every possibility of changing the current situation.

Didn't Limerick make a similar challenge at the end of last season? In our case, we were arguing that a player ruled ineligible was actually eligible, and that Harps 0-0 result with Mons should have stood, instead of the 3-0 win Mons were actually awarded.

Or is there a difference in principle between the two complaints (apart from the 'results on the pitch should be what count' argument, which I don't buy into in this case)?

08/11/2012, 12:01 AM
Surely the difference is that Limerick's appeal was based on facts and actual ambiguity as opposed to just a wild guess.

NeverFeltBetter
08/11/2012, 1:03 AM
Yeah. There really doesn't seem to be, barring some outright lying from Dundalk, anything in this at all. It seems bizarre that Waterford would pay 500 euro to even look into this, unless they really were acting on bad information. Could they withdraw the appeal?

L.T.F.C.
08/11/2012, 1:38 AM
And what way was that???

I was at the game, apart from the few mindless idiots who ran onto the pitch after each goal and the two bangers/ONE FLARE which went off, there was no trouble.
Shir apart from the planes crashing into buildings on 9/11, there was nothing to report on that day.

Fermoy Blue
08/11/2012, 7:34 AM
Yeah. There really doesn't seem to be, barring some outright lying from Dundalk, anything in this at all. It seems bizarre that Waterford would pay 500 euro to even look into this, unless they really were acting on bad information. Could they withdraw the appeal?

Nah, the info was ok and some of it came from within the Dundalk camp, sticking point seems to be that St. Michaels never released the player...Curiouser and Curiouser!!

JC_GUFC
08/11/2012, 7:46 AM
The ironic thing is that based on last season's performances Michael Rafter would have been the first player Waterford would have liked to see playing for Dundalk!

Maybe the FAI will re-open the Jeff McNamara case and find in favour of Waterford there. Seems more likely than them winning this case.

Louth4sam
08/11/2012, 8:35 AM
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-gEmc4T_M-HU/UJm2eYpMp_I/AAAAAAAAKhA/EI7DCp4y0nQ/s1600/IMG_9684.JPG

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-kNro2YBSAS4/UJm2f4mfcnI/AAAAAAAAKhM/kenEDpM06-M/s1600/IMG_9686.JPG

celebrating in style yeah???

Thanks for posting these Bluewater, I will pass them on to the club and hopefully we can track down these children and get their parents to ground them or stop their pocket money. :)

deiseach
08/11/2012, 9:52 AM
I was sitting beside the Dundalk fans and apart from the flare there wasn't any trouble that I could see. I had to walk through them to leave and there was no aggression whatsoever. The photos posted in previous pages are pretty unedifying but could any Blue say with a straight face that none of us would have acted the same had the roles been reversed? And much the same could be said of the appeal. There isn't a club in the league, nay, the world that wouldn't do the same thing. We saw how collegiate the clubs were when it was decided to keep the 12-team Premier Division to ensure "there is something to play for right up until the end of the season (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/first-division-clubs-fume-at-fai-decision-to-keep-12team-premier-league-3234965.html)", i.e. woe betide the club that gets relegated to that! It's a dog-eat-dog world.

Kiki Balboa
08/11/2012, 10:05 AM
At the end of the day, Waterford did not earn the right to play in the premier league as they lost on the pitch. They can throw all the rules, regulations and bureaucracy around but do not deserve to play at a higher level.

El-Pietro
08/11/2012, 10:07 AM
There's actually a John Delaney Cup? That's a real thing? Mother of god...
his dad had a stand named after him in Turners Cross recently. sickening.

08/11/2012, 10:11 AM
his dad had a stand named after him in Turners Cross recently. sickening.

Really? Hadn't heard that. The St Anne's End or the Derrynane Side?

Spudulika
08/11/2012, 6:47 PM
No reason why a club, if they have a shred of evidence, shouldn't put in an objection/request for clarification, I'd be disappointed in Dundalk if the shoe was on the other foot not doing so. It looks like everything is in order and the club will stay up, with whatever that means for the future. It just leads more public/media/general attention to the idiocy that is a 7 team league. There can be no argument valid enough to block it apart from nest feathering or shortsightedness. Anyway, that's never going to happen with our football authorities and their members.

As for the clowns running to celebrate in front of opposition supporters, nothing we haven't seen before and nothing that will be dealt with in any decent way because clubs are afraid to lose followers. But from the photos, they're young enough to learn how to behave normally, just don't see how it can be done.

jinxy lilywhite
08/11/2012, 7:15 PM
so whats happening? have the FAI rejected Waterford's objection, have they pulled it or has it still to be reviewed?

White Horse
08/11/2012, 7:48 PM
so whats happening? have the FAI rejected Waterford's objection, have they pulled it or has it still to be reviewed?

Being discussed early next week, according to reports.

bullit
08/11/2012, 8:46 PM
Our lads that wrecked & burned the Rsc last Friday V any estate rats from Waterford inner city in ultimate Street Countdown!

Our No.1 man here(prob not eligible though :rolleyes:)

http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_l9kgluXR9Z1qchcfwo1_500.jpg

08/11/2012, 10:13 PM
It's fairly obvious to anyone with an ear to the ground that Waterford will be in the Premier next year.

This whole farce just seems like such a shabby way of going about it.

08/11/2012, 10:18 PM
It's fairly obvious to anyone with an ear to the ground that Waterford will be in the Premier next year.

The least they could do is make a DVD

08/11/2012, 10:28 PM

Have Limerick gone bust?

oriel
08/11/2012, 10:42 PM
Was told by a jouranlist earlier today that Waterford's claim is dead in the water, next weeks FAI discussion will be a formality to reject their claim,but ofcourse they will probably spend more money to appeal that.

White Horse
08/11/2012, 10:59 PM
Was told by a jouranlist earlier today that Waterford's claim is dead in the water, next weeks FAI discussion will be a formality to reject their claim,but ofcourse they will probably spend more money to appeal that.

Wait until the licensing process starts, that is when I expect Waterford to be at their most dirty.

09/11/2012, 3:51 AM
Have Limerick gone bust?

Not yet there's a good six months of Premier in us then BOOM!!

The general concensus for awhile has been that honest John would sort them out with a dose of fudge.

Not even necessarily at Dundalks expense, couple of Premier clubs are funked

SMorgan
09/11/2012, 7:32 AM
Rumours going around that Waterford are questioning Rafters birth certificate and are claiming he was actually born in Kenya and needs international clearance. Statement from their chairman expected tomorrow.

lol I heard Waterford has strong evidence that he's actually Messi in disguise...

GCdfc
09/11/2012, 8:34 AM
lol I heard Waterford has strong evidence that he's actually Messi in disguise...

He looked like him for his two goals.

If someone else scored would they be moaning about him?

madblaa
09/11/2012, 9:42 AM
No reason why a club, if they have a shred of evidence, shouldn't put in an objection/request for clarification, I'd be disappointed in Dundalk if the shoe was on the other foot not doing so. It looks like everything is in order and the club will stay up, with whatever that means for the future. It just leads more public/media/general attention to the idiocy that is a 7 team league. There can be no argument valid enough to block it apart from nest feathering or shortsightedness. Anyway, that's never going to happen with our football authorities and their members.

As for the clowns running to celebrate in front of opposition supporters, nothing we haven't seen before and nothing that will be dealt with in any decent way because clubs are afraid to lose followers. But from the photos, they're young enough to learn how to behave normally, just don't see how it can be done.

First level-headed response I've seen from a Dundalk fan, as I said somewhere else, given the situation, any club in Ireland, including Dundalk would be doing the same, it's about the very survival of our club.

madblaa
09/11/2012, 9:46 AM
Bray in trouble, decent club, would hate to go up at their expense, but, again,survival.

GCdfc
09/11/2012, 9:46 AM
First level-headed response I've seen from a Dundalk fan, as I said somewhere else, given the situation, any club in Ireland, including Dundalk would be doing the same, it's about the very survival of our club.

Nah, it's about the survival of your chairmans ego.

White Horse
09/11/2012, 10:30 AM
Bray in trouble, decent club, would hate to go up at their expense, but, again,survival.

Ye are like ghouls in Waterford.

Louth4sam
09/11/2012, 10:40 AM
First level-headed response I've seen from a Dundalk fan,

You expect other fans to be level headed when you want other clubs to be relegated/ go out of existence so your club can be "promoted" on a technicality?? I met a lot of Waterford fans after the game and in the town last Friday night and they were a sound bunch. I'm really glad I did or otherwise I'd be basing my opinion of the club on your opinions and that of your classless chairman.

09/11/2012, 10:53 AM

http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mbcom3pyrl1rh9qmto1_400.gif

Ezeikial
09/11/2012, 11:32 AM
No reason why a club, if they have a shred of evidence, shouldn't put in an objection/request for clarification, I'd be disappointed in Dundalk if the shoe was on the other foot not doing so.

The ony 'evidence' is the knowledge that Rafter played as a amateur for St Michaels in February before signing later that month for Dundalk.

Waterford sought clarification from the league and were told that Rafter was signed on a professional contract before the professional dealine and that therefore all was in order.

Obviously it is their perogative if they do not accept this clarification from the FAI and want to lodge an appeal, but it is clear to all involved that this is a wasted exercise.

L.T.F.C.
09/11/2012, 12:01 PM
What is the story with Bray?

09/11/2012, 12:50 PM
What is the story with Bray?
Death by a thousand cuts it seems, but I haven't heard anything to suggest they're going to pull out/wind up.

oriel
09/11/2012, 1:08 PM

I do not accept this. You were beaten fair and square on the pitch. You even beat your main rivals many times in the league and still couldn't finish ahead of them. Its pure bitterness and god knows the lenghts you went, timewise to trawl through registrations to find a glimmer of hope of trying to save yourself over a technicality, only for this to be officially rejected next week, and I think at this stage WUFC are probably admitting as much.

It has all the hallmarks of looking through dustbins for rubbish, and personally speaking I lost a lot of respect for your fine club in this latest attempt to 'save' yourself as you keep saying. The other plan was to threaten to pull out of the league if you had lost the play off. You had ample chances to 'save' yourself on the pitch during 2012 and in the first leg of the play off. Time to move on from this and plan your future. At least you will start as firm favourites in next seasons FD, another year is not the end of the world, we had 7 seasons in the FD before coming up in 2008.