View Full Version : Promotion / Relegation Play - Offs 2012
Pages :
[
3]
El-Pietro
25/10/2012, 10:42 AM
I really hope it's not Longford that comes up, that place is just not a proper away trip, the stadium is in the middle of nowhere and the away fans go out in that gammy open stand and it's always cold. Waterford be a nice handy trip for Cork too.
Longford is one of my favourite away trips. Away fans last year were in the main stand under the roof.
L.T.F.C.
25/10/2012, 12:17 PM
Anyone going from Dublin to the game and would like to offer a lift? :P
25/10/2012, 12:18 PM
Longford is one of my favourite away trips. Away fans last year were in the main stand under the roof.
Agreed, easily one of my favourite trips too. Last time we were down, we were put under the main stand too. Would love to see them come up. Besides, Waterford is wile far away.
Couldn't see either of them beating Dundalk though, I reckon.
Fermoy Blue
25/10/2012, 1:00 PM
Agreed, easily one of my favourite trips too. Last time we were down, we were put under the main stand too. Would love to see them come up. Besides, Waterford is wile far away.
Couldn't see either of them beating Dundalk though, I reckon.
Good point perhaps a solution would be to promote both teams, let Dundalk be and tell the Candystripes to feck back into the Irish League:o
25/10/2012, 1:28 PM
Longford is one of my favourite away trips too. Proper stadium. Lovely ground, don't care how far out of the town it is. If Harps get our new ground to be half as good I'll be delighted.
25/10/2012, 1:33 PM
Longford is one of my favourite away trips too. Proper stadium. Lovely ground, don't care how far out of the town it is. If Harps get our new ground to be half as good I'll be delighted.
It's a couple of miles outside. It's hardly in Sarajevo.
El-Pietro
25/10/2012, 1:48 PM
if i was a home fan the fact that its out of town might bother me, but sure I'm coming all the way from Cork anyway...
25/10/2012, 2:45 PM
It's a couple of miles outside. It's hardly in Sarajevo.
The club got something like 13 acres out there in a swap for their old office in town back in the late 80s or early 90s apparently. No loans secured on it now either, other than directors' loans.
bluewhitearmy
25/10/2012, 2:55 PM
Nothing against any of the other 2 but i would love if Dundalk could stay up would love to visit there again next season. Could definitely see Waterford beating them though.
Is there a real chance that if Dundalk were to beat them that Waterford would pull out i wonder.
corkery
25/10/2012, 10:54 PM
if i was a home fan the fact that its out of town might bother me, but sure I'm coming all the way from Cork anyway...
I know we're coming all the way from Cork but there's no pubs near the place so it has no match day atmosphere for away fans. I agree, if I were a home fan I'd likely not go to as many games, like Cork in Bishopstown.
25/10/2012, 11:08 PM
I know we're coming all the way from Cork but there's no pubs near the place so it has no match day atmosphere for away fans. I agree, if I were a home fan I'd likely not go to as many games, like Cork in Bishopstown.
Well maybe if your lot brought more fans some budding entrepreneur might think about opening a bar there :p
26/10/2012, 12:02 PM
We just drink in the car park. Classy bunch, us. :)
26/10/2012, 4:13 PM
Drinking is precisely what the bus journey is for.
27/10/2012, 9:40 AM
2 very poor teams in a very poor play-off I can actually see dundalk staying up.
adamd164
27/10/2012, 11:46 AM
But Dundalk are also very poor :O
SPXcyan
27/10/2012, 12:07 PM
not as poor as us, believe us :0
adamd164
27/10/2012, 12:49 PM
Maybe neither team will win?
28/10/2012, 8:19 AM
The standard of the first division this season was bog standard at least dundalk have been playing against some good passing teams this season. If dundalk can sort out their defence they will do it.
But Dundalk are also very poor :O
Adam, you'd love it wouldnt you.
By all reports there will be some crowd up on Tuesday night, huge interest in the game, I think 8 mths exp in playing in PD and Mark Griffen will be the difference, so we'll see.
29/10/2012, 8:15 AM
Waterford seem to have a nack for stepping it up for the bigger games. That and Sean Maguire. I can see it going all the way to penalties.
El-Pietro
29/10/2012, 8:17 AM
possibly, though you could argue that Waterford will have the confidence that comes from winning games while Dundalk have gotten used to losing and it may be hard for them to raise their game. Its all very interesting from a neutal POV to be honest. I'd have been tempted to head down to the RSC for the second leg but I'll be away.
gormacha
29/10/2012, 8:42 AM
Too close to call, this one.
Dundalk playing in a significantly better standard of football all year is a huge advantage, and although their form has been poor, the gap suggests they should still be favourites. Griffin is a better player than we will have faced all season.
As has been said earlier, Waterford do seem to play better in the big games (cf. Limerick and Longford), but we are ridiculously inconsistent. We're also carrying a couple of important suspensions (Frost and Long). And, whilst I don't want to play down the huge talent of Seani Maguire, he has never played in a game of this magnitude, and has gone off the boil since his hattrick against Longford a month ago. That said, he's capable of being unplayable, so its hard to tell. I really think our lack of experience in several positions may cost us dear.
Trainee
29/10/2012, 10:46 AM
I Would have Waterford slight favourites as winning is a habit, It will be close and if Waterford score first Dundalk players heads may drop due to lack of confidence
I think Waterford will get a draw tomorrow night and they will just shade 2nd leg on Friday
bluemovie
29/10/2012, 1:14 PM
Let debate start BM, you'll be in Oriel Park on Tues week and live on Setanta too, no way will you throw away a 2-0 lead. Should be a decent play off final to be honest.
We can talk now :D I still see Dundalk as favourites especially given the hit our defence has taken for tomorrow (Mulcahy out with a hamstring, Long and Frost suspended). As I've said before, losing 7-0 in Tallaght is nowhere near as bad as losing 4-0 at home to Mervue. When we're bad, we're very, very bad. That said, spirit in the camp is really good. We had a better squad last year, but were all over the place. There's real fight and pride in the current team.
Gary Dempsey has shown real leadership in the run-in and when Maguire is on top form, he's unplayable. Longford kept him reasonably quiet, but at the same time, he did well in the build-up to the first goal in Flancare, created a sitter at the end that Darragh Walshe missed, set up the goal in the RSC and only a great save from Hyland denied him a goal at the end. They're arguably the only real Premier Division standard players we have, but Peter White, Peter Higgins and even Packie Holden have played out of their skins. I'm not sure if that'll be enough for us and I fully expect Rafter to score tomorrow having been such a tumour for us last season.
29/10/2012, 2:58 PM
I hope to feck Waterford go up, for travel above all else next season.
longfordjames
29/10/2012, 3:24 PM
Im Dublin based, wouldnt mind going to this. I finish in DCU at 6 is there any public transport that would get me there on time? Thanks
patrickccfc
29/10/2012, 4:40 PM
would be great for the munster area to have 3 teams in the premier.. waterford always a good away trip plenty of city fans with a great atmosphere.. how has stephen mulcahy been doing for ye?
oriel
30/10/2012, 10:01 AM
Looking forward to this tonight, the club have reduced prices for all adults for all areas to a tenner. Plus most schools are off tomorrow, so should be a decent crowd up. good previews at below link. Waterford fans note the bar will be open at 6, I cant imagine any issues with entrance, away gate is just next door, and there will be a hot food stall in your area. If its raining, I'd suggest going to the stand instead of away terrace (uncovered) as its the same price tonight, €10
http://www.dundalkfc.com/tonights-the-night-your-playoff-preview-in-one/
GCdfc
30/10/2012, 10:29 AM
The FAI should change the way these games are played. Tuesday night is crap.
The first leg should be toss of a coin to decide who plays at home. The ticket income split 50-50 between the two clubs. The second leg should be played before the Cup final. Make the day a double header. It would generate greater interest.
mcgonigle
30/10/2012, 10:33 AM
The FAI should change the way these games are played. Tuesday night is crap.
The first leg should be toss of a coin to decide who plays at home. The ticket income split 50-50 between the two clubs. The second leg should be played before the Cup final. Make the day a double header. It would generate greater interest.
I was told that all 3 clubs involved in the play-offs wrote to the FAI asking to have this game moved to the bank-holiday Monday. The FAI said no, not even sure if they gave a reason. Can't think why they would deny this request!
marinobohs
30/10/2012, 11:52 AM
best of luck to both Dundalk and Waterford tonight. Waterford are due a chance in the Premier but I would have concerns regarding Dundalk surviving if they return to the graveyard, and would hate to see the club go under.
very tight to call and first goal may be (even more) vital than usual.
bluemovie
30/10/2012, 12:18 PM
Is it true that Dundalk are signing Gary Twigg on amateur forms for tonight? ;)
gormacha
30/10/2012, 1:08 PM
how has stephen mulcahy been doing for ye?
He hasn't had a huge amount of games - quite a few sub appearances, and maybe eight starts (open to correction on precise number).
He was very poor for most of them, which can probably be put down to lack of game time over a long period, but he had really started to come into his own recently, and by all accounts was outstanding in the first playoff game against Longford, although I wasn't at it myself. To keep Carey and Mernagh out of the fullback spot means the management must have been seeing something good from him in training. And sure enough, just as he starts to play well and holds down a starting spot, he pops his hamstring...
El-Pietro
30/10/2012, 1:52 PM
Is it true that Dundalk are signing Gary Twigg on amateur forms for tonight? ;)
even if they did he couldn't play. ill take my whoosh if its due
El-Pietro
30/10/2012, 1:53 PM
He hasn't had a huge amount of games - quite a few sub appearances, and maybe eight starts (open to correction on precise number).
He was very poor for most of them, which can probably be put down to lack of game time over a long period, but he had really started to come into his own recently, and by all accounts was outstanding in the first playoff game against Longford, although I wasn't at it myself. To keep Carey and Mernagh out of the fullback spot means the management must have been seeing something good from him in training. And sure enough, just as he starts to play well and holds down a starting spot, he pops his hamstring...
hes not injured again is he?
gormacha
30/10/2012, 2:39 PM
hes not injured again is he?
He is. Although it's at the minor end of the scale. It's a hamstring pull, but not a tear, I understand. He was subbed off after about 15 minutes of last Friday's home game against Longford. He's only listed as "doubtful" for tonight, so it can't be that bad, but I'd say his confidence will have taken another hit.
El-Pietro
30/10/2012, 3:03 PM
the poor guy, hes a quality player, but hes had some pretty serious injuries. How about our other centre half, Craig Burns? hows he getting on?
gormacha
30/10/2012, 3:22 PM
the poor guy, hes a quality player, but hes had some pretty serious injuries. How about our other centre half, Craig Burns? hows he getting on?
Well, putting aside the technically correct if slightly inflammatory use of the possessive pronoun ( ;) ), Burns is doing well. I thought he was out of his depth at the start of the season, but he's grown into it as the year went on. His distribution isn't up to much, but he's fantastic in the air, is fully committed in the tackle, and reads defensive situations well. He'll need to develop a good bit yet to play at Premier level, but I think he's capable of that development. In any other year, he would probably have won Young Player of the Year.
CrowdedHouse
30/10/2012, 4:37 PM
All the best to Waterford - mind that plastic pitch
born2bwild
30/10/2012, 6:00 PM
Yis probably have it anyway but here it is just in case...
http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/149877/1/watch-dundalk-fc-vs-waterford-united.html (http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/149877/1/watch-dundalk-fc-vs-waterford-united.html)
LFC-Zulu
30/10/2012, 6:11 PM
Waterford XI: Holden; Carey, Burns, Breen, Mernagh; Higgins, White, Dempsey, Phelan; Maguire, Keegan.
Dundalk XI: Cherrie, Shields, Osborne, O’Brien, Burns, Shannon, Reilly, Maher, Mountney, Rafter, Griffin.
gufcfan
30/10/2012, 7:04 PM
Yis probably have it anyway but here it is just in case...
http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/149877/1/watch-dundalk-fc-vs-waterford-united.html (http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/149877/1/watch-dundalk-fc-vs-waterford-united.html)
http://streams.coolsport.tv/kiwi2.html
Seems to be better, less delay.
30/10/2012, 7:34 PM
Looks like Magure has McLoughlin in his pocket
Trainee
30/10/2012, 8:08 PM
2 -1 waterford, If Dundalk are not careful it could be over after tonight
30/10/2012, 8:12 PM
Is this the worst Dundalk team of all time??
30/10/2012, 8:15 PM
Looks like Magure has McLoughlin in his pocket
Looks like Maguire has the whole back 4 in his pocket.
born2bwild
30/10/2012, 8:24 PM
Is this the worst Dundalk team of all time??
Maybe not...
They had Quigley, Jayo, Gaynor and Kearns last year and did nearly as badly
30/10/2012, 8:31 PM
Looks like Maguire has the whole back 4 in his pocket.
I'd fancy Tobey Maguire to do a job on them to be honest
gormacha
30/10/2012, 8:38 PM
Sick over that result. So many missed chances.
Partizan
30/10/2012, 8:42 PM
2-2 FT
I would have taken that at the start but in the context of the game (Dundalk down to 10 men and our numerous missed chances) the game and the tie was there for the taking.
Pitch and conditions were awful. Its all to play for in the RSC on Friday.