View Full Version : 2012 EA Sports Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

08/08/2012, 10:19 PM
There's nowhere else, Tolka and Dalyer are in bad shapeWhat's that got to do with it? It's two league teams and games are played in both those grounds so doesn't matter what state they're in. It's only the league cup, not Europe so shouldn't matter what the grounds like once it's suitable for normal league games.

Cup finals should never be held at one of the teams involved home ground, and yes I did say that when we held it in 2010.

08/08/2012, 10:42 PM
Cup finals should never be held in a bucket stadium either. If it was going to be a neutral venue it would have to be somewhere like Flancare so as not to give either team any advantage, travel or otherwise.

I think Tallaght is best bet anyway to try and maximise the crowd because there won't be more than 4,000 at it anyway at a guess.

oriel
09/08/2012, 12:16 AM
Has the league cup final ever been at a neutral venue?

I was at one, 1985 or 86 in Tolka, Dundalk v Galway (Galway won)

Off topic slightly, I would love for the FAI Cup Semi's to go back to the late 80's format, of home & away.

09/08/2012, 12:57 AM
I see the final has been set for Tallaght. I don't doubt that stadium is the best in LOI outside Munster, but I cant see this as a fair venue for Drogs. It has been mutually agreed, but I dont understand that, its not like its the Setanta Cup Final (with us in 2011), the lge cup final will not attact as big of a crowd, and Tolka (albeit with its limitations) would have been a better and fairer option.

In 1987, both the FAI Cup and League Cup Finals were Rovers v Dundalk, and played at the same venue.

As for 2012, Drogheda already have 2 games at home to Rovers this year. This just evens up the score.

09/08/2012, 1:40 AM
As for 2012, Drogheda already have 2 games at home to Rovers this year. This just evens up the score.

Irrelevant! Atmosphere at United Park would be vastly better than in Tallaght which is what makes a cup final special, especially the Egg Cup..

Calcio Jack
09/08/2012, 8:53 AM
Has the league cup final ever been at a neutral venue?

Last time Rovers won it 1-0 thanks to a Mick Leech 30 yarder 1977 against Silgo ( who of course whinged that it was played in Dublin- some things never change),it was played in Dalymount... as for Oriels comment is he part of some sort of Louth boys support group !!

marinobohs
09/08/2012, 8:55 AM
There's nowhere else, Tolka and Dalyer are in bad shape...Tallaght gives us a slight advantage but what can you do?

Tolka Park, Dalyer and numerous other grounds are capable of hosting the EA Sports Cup final. Do you really believe the nonsense that SDCC stadium is the only one capable of hosting such a realitively minor event ?

If a neutral stadium was required the FAI would have no problem finding one. Unfortunately they would rather spend money renting from SDCC than give money to a LOI club (I presume they will have to pay rent for the fixture ?)

Dave_SRFC
09/08/2012, 9:53 AM
Tolka Park, Dalyer and numerous other grounds are capable of hosting the EA Sports Cup final. Do you really believe the nonsense that SDCC stadium is the only one capable of hosting such a realitively minor event ?

If a neutral stadium was required the FAI would have no problem finding one. Unfortunately they would rather spend money renting from SDCC than give money to a LOI club (I presume they will have to pay rent for the fixture ?)

You're rent comment is hilarious considering you wont have a pot to ****, where are you goin to rent when the dilapidated kip is gone?

Nailor
09/08/2012, 10:37 AM
There's no way it should have been in Hunky Dory park anyway, it is (arguably) the worst venue for away fans in the country, Tolka is falling apart at the seems, the seats on the Riverside stand are lethal, I guess Inchicore could have been a possability, but the two clubs have agreed on Tallaght, maybe Sellatanta had a say, I don't know.

09/08/2012, 10:55 AM
It's been in a finalist's home ground for years to maximise attendance. If Drogheda are happy to play it in Tallaght (or there was a draw made), I don't know why fans of other clubs are annoyed.

marinobohs
09/08/2012, 11:05 AM
You're rent comment is hilarious considering you wont have a pot to ****, where are you goin to rent when the dilapidated kip is gone?

I was referring to the fact that the money the FAI will be paying to rent SDCC ground would be better spent if given to a LOI club rather than a local authority (keeping the money in football).

No surprise that, like pretty much everything else, the point went way over your head.

09/08/2012, 12:09 PM
Dont think anyone is annoyed Schumi, it makes no difference to any of us bar the supporters involved really. For the League Cup it makes no 'fair play' difference where it is played as precedence for a finalist to be host is there, maximising atmosphere and experience is whats important. For the FAI Cup and maybe Setanta and their relative media exposure well then its best foot forward -Aviva, Tallaght, Thomand(?), Turners Cross, the Showgrounds(with a final stand) at a push Flancare. The rest dont cut it yet. There isnt a need to be all Tallaght centric, which isnt to do with Shams either just pragmatism. Inchicore would have been best choice i think this time, though of course if there are 6000 at the EA final in Tallaght then the FAI have been spot on choosing Tallaght. I like HD Park not for its asthetics but for the fact that even a small enough attendance generates atmosphere; As for the worst away section? again HD Parks is just good fun whenever ive been there - as much as it annoys to say Oriel is worse.

09/08/2012, 12:27 PM
There's much worse away sections than Hunky Dorys park. Call me crazy, but I don't mind it at all. I'll take it anyday over the away section in the Brandywell for instance.

marinobohs
09/08/2012, 12:33 PM
Ideally all Cup finals should be played at neutral venues (and yes, Bohs "benifited" more than most from home advantage due to Dalymount). The logic attributed to EA Sports Cup final at one of the finalists was to increase interest and maximise gate.

Personally, enjoyed our FAI Cup Final wins at Lansdowne and RDS more than wins at Dalymount (and Tolka) given the novelty of a new/unfamiliar ground etc. Actually enjoyed our EA Sports Cup win at Waterford more than I would have at Dalymount for much the same reason.

Dave_SRFC
09/08/2012, 12:47 PM
I was referring to the fact that the money the FAI will be paying to rent SDCC ground would be better spent if given to a LOI club rather than a local authority (keeping the money in football).

No surprise that, like pretty much everything else, the point went way over your head.

Yeah yeah sure you did.

09/08/2012, 1:20 PM
Yeah yeah sure you did.
Facepalm moment - dont even bother with a retort mb

Dalymountrower
09/08/2012, 2:21 PM
Couldn`t give two hoots IF the FAI pay 15 k for the use of Tallaght for the League Cup, presumably they will squeeze the rental out of the two clubs`share of the gate receipits and I am sure that SDCC will use the money for a greater benefit to the community.
However,I do fervently hope that Stephen Kenny wins this trophy, and The Leinster Cup, to secure an extension to his three year contract .

placid casual
09/08/2012, 10:00 PM
All bohs fans secretly aspire to be Rovers fans, so wish them success in competitions they face.

adamd164
09/08/2012, 10:31 PM
However,I do fervently hope that Stephen Kenny wins this trophy, and The Leinster Cup, to secure an extension to his three year contract .
Yeah, I want Shamrock to win cos it'd be pretty funny if Kenny won the league cup and flunked in the league for the umpteenth time.

10/08/2012, 5:03 AM
All bohs fans secretly aspire to be Rovers fans, so wish them success in competitions they face.

I think a few of your own scrotes sprinted over to join the red and black ranks a few weeks ago after youse conceded the first of the four goals. I think they got the message that their sort werent welcome when we chased them away but i can see more future attempts to "jump the wall" as we've had to deal with this issue before... :) ;)

10/08/2012, 6:07 AM
There's much worse away sections than Hunky Dorys park. Call me crazy, but I don't mind it at all. I'll take it anyday over the away section in the Brandywell for instance.

The away section there is awful. The far third of the pitch and the near sideline has a terrible view, and the corners are mobile toilets.

10/08/2012, 8:37 AM
[QUOTE=mypost;1617745]

Cuyahoga
20/09/2012, 1:48 PM
Re the final on saturday - Does anyone know which set of supporters got which stand east or west.

placid casual
20/09/2012, 4:45 PM
stand, or sit wherever you want. there will be no-one there.
bout 2k at the most I'd say, with about 450 from drogs.

WindmillWarrior
21/09/2012, 12:44 PM
Re the final on saturday - Does anyone know which set of supporters got which stand east or west.

Drogs have the main stand. Rovers have the usual where their singing lot go. Word is, as of yesterday Drogs sold 800 tickets

bullit
22/09/2012, 2:03 AM
Drogs have the main stand. Rovers have the usual where their singing lot go. Word is, as of yesterday Drogs sold 800 tickets

Jaysus,going well ;D

22/09/2012, 5:48 PM
1-0 Drogs

22/09/2012, 6:48 PM
Congrats Mons.....ooops Drogs!

born2bwild
22/09/2012, 7:37 PM
Congrats Mons.....ooops Drogs!
Do you think there's any possibility that Mons will be back next year?

23/09/2012, 4:02 PM
doubt it. There is no appetite for it in the town so whats the point.

Cuyahoga
23/09/2012, 5:38 PM
stand, or sit wherever you want. there will be no-one there.
bout 2k at the most I'd say, with about 450 from drogs.
3,120 attendance according to the newspapers

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/09/2012, 5:58 PM
Yeah that's what they announced on Setanta as well

placid casual
23/09/2012, 7:34 PM
3,120 attendance according to the newspapers

Well i was there meself, and i wasnt planning on going, so that was an extra 1 anyway!

heartiest congrats to Drogs, a well organised unit, with hunger and desire. them and their crowd seemed to get the whole "cup final" spirit which was all too lacking in those in green & white, both on the pitch and in the stand.

If Mick Cooke doesnt win Manager of the Year ,it will be an absolute farce.

The Rovers teamsheet was enough to see where the problems lie. We need the chancer Glass and the kenny signings to leave at once.
they dont belong at Rovers.

dong
23/09/2012, 8:01 PM
Baraclough should get manager of the year when we win the league although he was fortunate in that he didn't have the fans turn on him as soon as we went through a sticky patch and always had the backing of the board.

23/09/2012, 9:00 PM
Baraclough should get manager of the year when we win the league although he was fortunate in that he didn't have the fans turn on him as soon as we went through a sticky patch and always had the backing of the board.

Huh ? You being serious ? What sticky patch ? One defeat all season, led the league more or less from the gun. Any fans who would turn on a manager in those circumstances, ...well.

Oh and the league isn't quite over yet. You should win it at this stage, but stranger things have happened. Pats win on Tuesday and we're six behind and still to play Sligo. I think realistically we've too much to do, but..........

L.T.F.C.
24/09/2012, 1:34 AM
doubt it. There is no appetite for it in the town so whats the point.
I am disgusted to hear that.

oriel
24/09/2012, 7:20 PM
I think Cook has done an amazing job at Drogs. Got in decent, hard working and not very big name players, look what he did with it. To win one of the 3 main trophies and to be in with a chance of Europe going into the last month is unreal. So fair play to him, and the young side he created.

We'll do our best for a 'Louth Cup Double', but I wouldnt hold out much hope, winning the other cup final of the play off would keep me happy.

redobit
24/09/2012, 8:45 PM

What. He's been a class act this season and probably the most professional manager we have ever had. He has given us no reason on or off the pitch to 'turn on him'.