View Full Version : 2012 EA Sports Cup

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

04/04/2012, 1:46 AM
I have no doubt whatsoever in my mind that within a month there will be 4 or 5 of our u-19's in the senior setup, which also worries me considering how young most of our squad is in the first place.

The likes of Gary Merritt, Martin Redmond, Shaun Patton, Stephen Rodden and Shane McGinty have all had first team appearances and those type of players will no doubt be amongst the first team for the rest of the season too with possibly 2 or 3 of said players being first team regulars.

04/04/2012, 9:24 AM
Should be able to offer them competitive games in the league tbf. The Division is probably going to be hoss again next year. (assuming Harps don't get promoted!)

We've four or five under 19s involved in the senior setup this year, as well as two or three fairly regulars who only came up last year and are probably going to have a look at at least two of the four over agers I'd say.

It's much easier to introduce young players into an experienced side, when you've already a team with 2 19 year old centre backs, a 20 year old keeper and a 20 year old left back it's not going to help the new lads coming in.

In 2004 we introduced 4 or 5 young lads into the squad but they came in with a top side that won the league.

marinobohs
04/04/2012, 3:44 PM
Tell the truth, you'd love one. ;)

One ? we need several at this stage :sick:

eL Bettor
06/04/2012, 5:15 PM
Last 16 fixtures to be played Mon/Tues 9th / 10th April

Limerick - Cork
St Pats - UCD
Derry - Finn Harps
Sligo - Monaghan
SD Galway - Shamrock Rovers
Shelbourne - Bray
Drogheda - Bohemians
Longford - Dundalk

Any early indications of team news on these games much appreciated as I try to get one over on the bookies!!
I thought Monaghan were certs to play a weakened team but not so, according to Roddy ....
http://www.northernsound.ie/sports-details.php?nid=2048

06/04/2012, 11:46 PM
i'd say it'll be longford's 2nd team most likely. Can not see him risking the main men, and I think a few of our subs are pretty dirt.

Saying that I doubt Dundalk's second string would be much better?

07/04/2012, 12:41 AM
I hope to god Scully gives a few under 19s a run and lets them try play football. After tonights performance a few senior players need a kick up the hole and a few u19's deserve their chance to prove themselves.

fc hammer
07/04/2012, 12:51 AM
I hope to god Scully will be gone by Monday. We are going nowhere with that bluffer.

bullit
07/04/2012, 12:52 AM
Hard to know what side SmcC will put out against Longford.
Did i fall on me head a while back or do i remember a rule in this competition that basicaly says that clubs have to put out a certain amount of 1st team squad players in Leauge cup matches or something like that:confused:

07/04/2012, 6:23 AM
As long as they have a squad number they're first team. Don't remember hearing a rule existed. Certainly most clubs play 'experimental' teams

For Pats, Buckley has said there'll be a 'mix & match' kinda team

sheao
07/04/2012, 12:15 PM
I would imagine some of our u19's will get a run out for this. We could be using thema whole lot more this season because at least with them they give their all for the club.

bullit
07/04/2012, 8:38 PM
Monday fixtures and betting

Derry City 2/9 Draw 9/2 Finn Harps 8/1 (2pm ko)

SD Galway 11/1 Draw 5/1 Shams R 1/6 (3pm ko)

Shelbourne 8/15 Draw 12/5 Bray W 5/1 (3pm ko)

St.Pats.Ath 8/15 Draw 12/5 UCD 5/1 (3pm ko)

Limerick 7/5 Draw 11/5 Cork 8/5 (4pm ko)

Sligo R 1/6 Draw 5/1 Mons 11/1 (6.30 ko)

----------
Tuesday fixtures and betting

Longford T 11/10 Draw 11/5 Dundalk 21/10 (8pm ko)

Drog.U 4/6 Draw 12/5 BohemianFC 7/2 (8pm ko)

(pp betting)

07/04/2012, 10:01 PM
Dundalk are quite generous at 21/10 we'll probably be playing our second choice team. Dundalk may be too I guess but almost double our odds seems a bit high.

bullit
07/04/2012, 11:08 PM
I will be holding off on having a bet on any of these matches until i see the team sheets or get a tip from somebody.

08/04/2012, 12:02 PM
I think UCD are decent value at 5/1 to beat a second string Pats side

dong
08/04/2012, 12:48 PM
I think UCD are decent value at 5/1 to beat a second string Pats side

Second string or "mix and match"?

08/04/2012, 3:55 PM
You know, I'd almost be tempted to stick a few quid on a Derry - Harps draw at 9/2.

08/04/2012, 4:39 PM
Second string or "mix and match"?

I don't think anyone who started Friday will start Monday. The mix and match bit may be u19s (as the Leisnter Senior Cup was)

We'll see

09/04/2012, 12:04 AM
You know, I'd almost be tempted to stick a few quid on a Derry - Harps draw at 9/2.

Aye, you lot are in form and we aren't. And we are struggling with injuries as well.

09/04/2012, 12:57 AM
Aye, you lot are in form and we aren't. And we are struggling with injuries as well.

Exactly my thoughts, could be a famous victory, or could be more horrible embarrassment for Harps fans. Either way, we'll make a bit of noise and enjoy our short trip up the road.

Finlay Harp
09/04/2012, 8:09 AM

You have been talking to Alex Ferguson again Kevin about the mind games. I have been watching us against you boys for to long now to take it that because you have a few injuries we have the upper hand. Not should you have Dobbin the horse in nets and widow Twinkie up front will I take a win for granted. Still would be nice to finally get one over you at Brandywell.

09/04/2012, 11:20 AM
See Finlay, not wonder we always win. You boys just lie down, even before the match is played.

Felix and Pizza will have them fired up I'd say.

09/04/2012, 12:08 PM
Look at the Derry lads pretending the League cup isn't their main priority every year

09/04/2012, 12:13 PM
Look at the Derry lads pretending the League cup isn't their main priority every year

We don't need to prioritise it, we just win it.

FFS we even won it when we had Robertson in charge!

monkey9
09/04/2012, 12:26 PM
Thank fook there's a match to go!!! Bored numbless on this bank holiday. I won't even mind getting wet!!

09/04/2012, 1:47 PM
Derry 3 up Molloy, Farren and Paddy McEleney with the goals.

Harps were on top until Molloy's goal but seem to have fallen apart ever since.

Fester
09/04/2012, 2:10 PM
Rovers 1 up

monkey9
09/04/2012, 2:58 PM
Pat's one up. Decent strike from Sean O Connor. He rattled the crossbar minutes before.

Fester
09/04/2012, 3:04 PM
Limerick 1 up against Cork

Fester
09/04/2012, 3:33 PM
Derry beat Finn Harps 4 - 0 FT

09/04/2012, 3:44 PM
Derry beat Finn Harps 4 - 0 FT

And surprise, surprise, some of the Derry fans beat a supporters bus with stones on the way out...........

09/04/2012, 3:45 PM
Salthill with yet another Red card. Madness. Tony Mannion must be going nuts.

Fester
09/04/2012, 4:29 PM
Bray 1 up

09/04/2012, 4:44 PM
Some wee Derry lads pelted the bus with stones leaving the Brandywell, wouldn't call them Derry fans, more a group of 10 year old scumbags out to cause bother.
Needless to say the bus driver was a legend and revved good and hard and went straight for them, they soon ran off out the gate and up the road.

thomas72
09/04/2012, 5:16 PM
Limerick 3 cork city 0

COrk are dire delighted for the three youngsters who scored

09/04/2012, 5:23 PM
Cork are very poor at the back and in most other positions too. Shane Duggan probably the only standout player for them when he came. They need to bring in more quality if they are to stay up.

We kept it on the ground and played some good football. Delighted to see Cian Collins and Barry Sheedy from our under19's get a run.

09/04/2012, 7:37 PM
Sorry to hear that lads, were they the three wee lads that were hanging about?

09/04/2012, 9:00 PM

I heard they were 9 foot tall with flaming red hair, laser beams coming from their eyes and lightening bolts coming from their arse. At least 400 of them too.

09/04/2012, 9:15 PM

They came from the green gate at the bottom of the car park if that's any good to you? There was 4 or 5 of them with another few kicking a football about behind the gate. No more than about 10 years old.

Wouldn't worry too much about it, seriously thought the bus driver was going to go straight into the gate after them. Great craic altogether.

horton
09/04/2012, 9:16 PM
Some wee Derry lads pelted the bus with stones leaving the Brandywell, wouldn't call them Derry fans, more a group of 10 year old scumbags out to cause bother.
Needless to say the bus driver was a legend and revved good and hard and went straight for them, they soon ran off out the gate and up the road.
Wouldn't be the first time a DL reg has been spotted driving like a nutter in Derry:p Seriously though, that's how many times a supporters bus has been attacked since the season started? something needs done about it by our board!

monkey9
09/04/2012, 9:23 PM
Our match against UCD was decent enough. It was great to get to a game on Easter Monday. Both sides played some good football, tried to pass it around. St Pat's well deserved to win in the end!

09/04/2012, 9:59 PM
I heard they were 9 foot tall with flaming red hair, laser beams coming from their eyes and lightening bolts coming from their arse.

Is that not Glenn Fitzpatrick?

Finlay Harp
09/04/2012, 10:44 PM
Is that not Glenn Fitzpatrick?

Must have been a Sligo fan busting for a sheite on the bus floor trying to stop the bus. Long way to go for a crap all the same!

El-Pietro
10/04/2012, 7:42 AM
were ****ing shockingly bad. getting worse every game.

Spudulika
10/04/2012, 8:47 AM
El-P, question out of the blue, but not stirring. Does Tommy have the support of the Cork crowd? I ask as I see him as a good manager, with a good squad who are just not getting the breaks, or able to just kick on a little. I hope ye stick with him as I can see Cork settling mid-table by October.

El-Pietro
10/04/2012, 11:27 AM
El-P, question out of the blue, but not stirring. Does Tommy have the support of the Cork crowd? I ask as I see him as a good manager, with a good squad who are just not getting the breaks, or able to just kick on a little. I hope ye stick with him as I can see Cork settling mid-table by October.
At the end of the day the buck stops with him, but yeah I think hes got our support for the most part. I think people see this as the players letting him down. He was visibly frustrated with them in Limerick yesterday

sullanefc
10/04/2012, 11:28 AM

Can't speak for all Cork City fans, but my own opinion, and that of other fans that I have spoken to, would be supportive of Tommy. Most fans would put the blame on some of the 'experienced' players that are not performing. Dan Murray (slow & unmotivated), Colin Healy (poor), Danny Murphy (inconsistent), McNulty (prone to mistakes), Duggan & Morrissey (out-muscled in midfield).

So the players are not performing, but at the end of the day, Tommy Dunne assessed his squad at the end of last season, made signings, is picking the team, and is setting the tactics and motivation. If the team doesn't perform, the buck inevitably stops with him, as much as we can blame the players.

Spudulika
10/04/2012, 5:58 PM
Thanks guys for the responses, again, I'll state clearly I'm not stirring, just wondering how the CCFC supporters view it, I know the work he has done in Cork is massive and the work the supporters do for and in the club is likewise. It just seems, to an outsider, that it's one of those situations that will click overnight. When I saw Colin Healy signing I thought it was great, likewise Murray and Murphy are two very solid players. I'm pretty certain the players won't need motivation for Friday night!

10/04/2012, 6:03 PM
likewise Murray ............. very solid players.

Absolutely finished from what I've seen of him.

MMVIII
10/04/2012, 6:25 PM
Absolutely finished from what I've seen of him.

How are people only copping on to this now? Whatever 'ability' he once may have had is most certainly gone and has been as such for the last three or four years.

eL Bettor
10/04/2012, 7:01 PM
Anybody got the Drogs v Bohs starting lineups please and thanks?