View Full Version : Setanta Cup 2012
Pages :
[
5]
06/03/2012, 6:58 PM
Statement from Rovers about the incidents (http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1482-club-statement-on-reports-from-glentoran-game)
askmehoop
06/03/2012, 7:26 PM
Statement from Rovers about the incidents (http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1482-club-statement-on-reports-from-glentoran-game)
no statement can make up for the actions of sligo fans sh*tting on a bus of opposition fans
It can't no.
Better that they deny it ever happened maybe?
06/03/2012, 7:32 PM
no statement can make up for the actions of sligo fans sh*tting on a bus of opposition fansWhere does it say it does? Club are offering to pay cleaning, replace the stuff stolen and make a donation to charity. What else can we do, go back in time and stop it from happening?(maybe mypost has a time machine on his spaceship we could borrow?) We can only try and stop things happening again at future games.
At least we're not denying something happened like other fans/clubs would do.
06/03/2012, 7:48 PM
Could offer some compensation for their loss perhaps?
askmehoop
06/03/2012, 7:51 PM
Where does it say it does? Club are offering to pay cleaning, replace the stuff stolen and make a donation to charity. What else can we do, go back in time and stop it from happening?(maybe mypost has a time machine on his spaceship we could borrow?) We can only try and stop things happening again at future games.
someone from sligo already made a donation last night
askmehoop
06/03/2012, 7:52 PM
Where does it say it does? Club are offering to pay cleaning, replace the stuff stolen and make a donation to charity. What else can we do, go back in time and stop it from happening?(maybe mypost has a time machine on his spaceship we could borrow?) We can only try and stop things happening again at future games.
would be hard to deny it happened when theres a pile of sh1te on the floor and personal items have been stolen
You just edited that to put in sh1te instead of crap? That's priceless.
shellyriver
06/03/2012, 8:15 PM
would be hard to deny it happened when theres a load of c**p on the floor and personal items have been stolen
What imbecilic nonsense. You're a one man trollathon.
The matter's under investigation by the club and the cops, the car-park is wide open for anyone to get in. How these pond-lifes managed to break into a load of buses is another question etc etc. I have my reservations about this - it could well be dog s@@@te on his/her/their shoe and wiped on the floor etc.
If anything these buses are usually parked near the away fans, so that the home fans are farthest away, so it is unlikely to be fans. They've paid in and there for football.
The club, as a gesture, have said what they will do, I mean what more can they do? I mean the Showgrounds club house and dressing rooms were often broken into, stuff stolen and set partially ablaze, and as sick as that is, is the Club to blame for the s***t t***ts like that do, no of course not. I hope the Kneuks who did are caught, but I doubt it.
There are many bunch of knutters from Shinner wannabe hardmen, bad minded fools and kack-handed petty criminals who could have done this.
The club or the vast,vast perponderance of its fans can hardly be attacked as a result of this Sectarian Schizz storm in a tea-cup, any right-minded person can see that.
Hoop-head, it is plain as a pike-staff, that you want to believe that every Sligo Rovers fan, did or condoned this act, that is nonsense and says more about you really.
askmehoop
06/03/2012, 8:19 PM
What imbecilic nonsense. You're a one man trollathon.
The matter's under investigation by the club and the cops, the car-park is wide open for anyone to get in. How these pond-lifes managed to break into a load of buses is another question etc etc. I have my reservations about this - it could well be dog s@@@te on his/her/their shoe and wiped on the floor etc.
If anything these buses are usually parked near the away fans, so that the home fans are farthest away, so it is unlikely to be fans. They've paid in and there for football.
The club, as a gesture, have said what they will do, I mean what more can they do? I mean the Showgrounds club house and dressing rooms were often broken into, stuff stolen and set partially ablaze, and as sick as that is, is the Club to blame for the s***t t***ts like that do, no of course not. I hope the Kneuks who did are caught, but I doubt it.
There are many bunch of knutters from Shinner wannabe hardmen, bad minded fools and kack-handed petty criminals who could have done this.
The club or the vast,vast perponderance of its fans can hardly be attacked as a result of this Sectarian Schizz storm in a tea-cup, any right-minded person can see that.
Hoop-head, it is plain as a pike-staff, that you want to believe that every Sligo Rovers fan, did or condoned this act, that is nonsense and says more about you really.
not at all, but if the shoe was on the other foot you could be sure sligo and many other fans would tar every rovers fan with the same brush
askmehoop
06/03/2012, 8:20 PM
You just edited that to put in sh1te instead of crap? That's priceless.
again i entertain your dull existence. how nice
shellyriver
06/03/2012, 8:27 PM
not at all, but if the shoe was on the other foot you could be sure sligo and many other fans would tar every rovers fan with the same brush
Paranoia - thankfully it's not contagious. However, because Shams are routinely referred to as many as SŁŁM I can sympathise with your desire to drag everyone down, this type of schizz is mantra from heaven for you:}
askmehoop
06/03/2012, 8:33 PM
not paranoia, its the general reaction you get when going to back water towns like sligo. as for dragging you down, or trying. your clubs desperate attempt to distance themselves from those responsible is laughable, what about the sligo supporters that spat on paddy kavanagh, suppose that didnt happen, they were scum that just happened to be in the sligo end
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/03/2012, 8:44 PM
Truest words written on here in a while I have to say
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/03/2012, 8:54 PM
The whole incident is disgraceful. I don't really know how anyone can say for sure that it wasn't Rovers fans who were involved unless they know who actually it was in which case they should tell the police. All it takes is one or two scumbags to ruin the reputation of all the other supporters of the club (I suppose what I would say is that I wouldn't call whoever did this "real" supporters of the club as they are ruining the name of the club).
There was over 2000 people there last night and we had nearly 1000 in Tolka on Friday (seemed like it was 50/50 the support) and the name of the club is being ruined by these 2 incidents.
If away fans who bring buses down to Sligo can't park their bus in the club car park then it will stop people coming to the games and we'll lose out on revenue from them as well. I know Shams had problems up in Derry and boycotted a game. The security company who are supposed to be looking after the "event" should be sacked and someone group of people who will actually patrol the grounds needs to be found
bullit
06/03/2012, 8:58 PM
There are many bunch of knutters from Shinner wannabe hardmen,
:confused: What would this attack have to do with the shinners?? (I take it that you are refering to members of Sinn Fein ?)
askmehoop
06/03/2012, 9:05 PM
:confused: What would this attack have to do with the shinners?? (I take it that you are refering to members of Sinn Fein ?)
anyone but themselves it would seem are responsible
DannyInvincible
07/03/2012, 1:08 AM
Some sheit puns there folks haha
Diarrhoeally need to point that out?
Spudulika
07/03/2012, 2:50 AM
The whole incident is disgraceful. I don't really know how anyone can say for sure that it wasn't Rovers fans who were involved unless they know who actually it was in which case they should tell the police. All it takes is one or two scumbags to ruin the reputation of all the other supporters of the club (I suppose what I would say is that I wouldn't call whoever did this "real" supporters of the club as they are ruining the name of the club).
There was over 2000 people there last night and we had nearly 1000 in Tolka on Friday (seemed like it was 50/50 the support) and the name of the club is being ruined by these 2 incidents.
If away fans who bring buses down to Sligo can't park their bus in the club car park then it will stop people coming to the games and we'll lose out on revenue from them as well. I know Shams had problems up in Derry and boycotted a game. The security company who are supposed to be looking after the "event" should be sacked and someone group of people who will actually patrol the grounds needs to be found
It takes a few clowns (in any club or area) to destroy the rep of the rest. The meeja will hype this to the heavens (love the Indo slant on this) and use it to hammer the league. Fully agree that the security company should be punished, I don't know about sacked as it's the first offence. But it should put them on their toes.
Nothing good will come out of other club fans glorying in the stupidity of events at another club, when you fall off the tigers back.....
marinobohs
07/03/2012, 1:50 PM
....just as if the shoe was on the other foot you could be sure that yourself and many other hoops would be on here telling us (again) how Shams are not responsible for actions of one/few people outside the ground ? (or indeed inside the ground, on the pitch, on someone elses pitch ........)
askmehoop
07/03/2012, 2:26 PM
....just as if the shoe was on the other foot you could be sure that yourself and many other hoops would be on here telling us (again) how Shams are not responsible for actions of one/few people outside the ground ? (or indeed inside the ground, on the pitch, on someone elses pitch ........)
of course Rovers are responsible for what goes on in the ground, thats just a stupid comment. outside, rovers have a limited responsibility as its up to the Garda to control the public(case in point, your shower of knackers up in Longford or was that the Longford board that was forced to use pepper spray on them?). Idiots that attend our games are dealt with by the club in the correct manner, dispite what you and others may think.
horton
07/03/2012, 2:31 PM
Can everyone just stop biting on what askmehoop says? Lets not turn this thread into another b!tchfest, it's been done before.
Dalymountrower
07/03/2012, 2:42 PM
Can everyone just stop biting on what askmehoop says? Lets not turn this thread into another b!tchfest, it's been done before.
A few dozen posts and nothing positive said yet about the Setanta cup!
I am a big fan of the competition, it is the one sporting contest that brings together all classes and creeds of sports followers on this Island and bar a few minor incidents , it has been a real success. eg we got great welcomes in Coleraine a few years ago and in Crusaders the other night. 6/700 Derry fans go to Linfield and no trouble to speak of, Drogheda fans socialising with Linfield fans when they were in the final etc etc.
Far bigger news than some Knackers breaking into coaches, or robbing handbags, its as as if this doesnt happen every day of the week in Phibsboro, Tallaght, Cranmore etc.
08/03/2012, 7:37 AM
Where does it say it does? Club are offering to pay cleaning, replace the stuff stolen and make a donation to charity. What else can we do, go back in time and stop it from happening?(maybe mypost has a time machine on his spaceship we could borrow?) We can only try and stop things happening again at future games
"The common denominator in crowd trouble is Shamrock Rovers fans"....
....even when the nearest Shamrock Rovers fan is 200 kilometres away from crowd trouble.
citybone
08/03/2012, 9:41 AM
"The common denominator in crowd trouble is Shamrock Rovers fans"....
....even when the nearest Shamrock Rovers fan is 200 kilometres away from crowd trouble.
Why did you bring that up?
Nobody was linking Shamrocks to trouble (in this instance) as far as i can see. Your just defending something that nobody accused you of.
marinobohs
08/03/2012, 9:57 AM
A few dozen posts and nothing positive said yet about the Setanta cup!
I am a big fan of the competition, it is the one sporting contest that brings together all classes and creeds of sports followers on this Island and bar a few minor incidents , it has been a real success. eg we got great welcomes in Coleraine a few years ago and in Crusaders the other night. 6/700 Derry fans go to Linfield and no trouble to speak of, Drogheda fans socialising with Linfield fans when they were in the final etc etc.
Far bigger news than some Knackers breaking into coaches, or robbing handbags, its as as if this doesnt happen every day of the week in Phibsboro, Tallaght, Cranmore etc.
...Anyhow, I always had a gra for SETANTA Cup and remember a slight twinge of envy in the first few seasons when Bohs decided not to compete (AKA did not qualify:p).
Admititedly the ever changing format has not helped and the Monday night date/time is awful but trips to Linfield, Glentoran, Portadown etc have all been enjoyable and incident free off the pitch.
I think this years format is best so far, and while crowds are still very disappointing I would hope some LOI/IL format remains (anyone recall the Tylers All Ireland Cup ? Think it was early 80's ?)
Dalymountrower
08/03/2012, 10:43 AM
...Anyhow, I always had a gra for SETANTA Cup and remember a slight twinge of envy in the first few seasons when Bohs decided not to compete (AKA did not qualify:p).
Admititedly the ever changing format has not helped and the Monday night date/time is awful but trips to Linfield, Glentoran, Portadown etc have all been enjoyable and incident free off the pitch.
I think this years format is best so far, and while crowds are still very disappointing I would hope some LOI/IL format remains (anyone recall the Tylers All Ireland Cup ? Think it was early 80's ?)
I remember the Blaxnit Trophy and without wanting to send askhishoop into orbit, that competition featured the biggest football riot ever in Dublin ( there was actual hand to hand fighting as opposed to the Landowne England match ) Rovers v Coleraine, Dalymount Park ( 1969). Surprised that the competition struggled on for a few more years after that.
poster
08/03/2012, 1:17 PM
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/soccer_irish/91410/ Shams will need a few more coming in the gate if someone like McCormack is on 2k p/w.
Nailor
08/03/2012, 1:41 PM
A random figure plucked out of his arse. There's no-one at Rovers on that kind of cash per week or anything like it. But it sounds good for the 'prayin for the Hoops to fook up' brigade.
08/03/2012, 1:53 PM
Sportsnewsireland would be the same website that copies articles off club websites and puts their own writer's name on them. It's trash.
There's no way he's on anything close to 2k a week. He's not even a first team player and he's supposedly getting twice as much money as any other player in the league.
The quote from McGuinness is gas too. A man well-known for his love of clubs.
redobit
08/03/2012, 2:24 PM
The biggest positive has to be the cash. For a game from last Monday night clubs would get: €10,000 for each of the defeated quarter finalists. Performance bonuses will be paid for winning (€2,000). 2,200/1,500/etc fans of which all were paying customers. Not bad for practically a nights work at the start of a season for any LOI club. When is the money paid over. Is it increments or a lump?
askmehoop
08/03/2012, 2:58 PM
The biggest positive has to be the cash. For a game from last Monday night clubs would get: €10,000 for each of the defeated quarter finalists. Performance bonuses will be paid for winning (€2,000). 2,200/1,500/etc fans of which all were paying customers. Not bad for practically a nights work at the start of a season for any LOI club. When is the money paid over. Is it increments or a lump?
i'd imagine its a lump sum when the competition is over
08/03/2012, 7:36 PM
yep 100% correct bout tyler cup bein early 80s..
Jeebus
09/03/2012, 10:28 AM
The biggest positive has to be the cash. For a game from last Monday night clubs would get: 10,000 for each of the defeated quarter finalists. Performance bonuses will be paid for winning (2,000). 2,200/1,500/etc fans of which all were paying customers. Not bad for practically a nights work at the start of a season for any LOI club. When is the money paid over. Is it increments or a lump?
There was a small payment received by each club at the launch a few weeks back, not sure when the rest is paid.
Sportsnewsireland would be the same website that copies articles off club websites and puts their own writer's name on them. It's trash.
There's no way he's on anything close to 2k a week. He's not even a first team player and he's supposedly getting twice as much money as any other player in the league.
The quote from McGuinness is gas too. A man well-known for his love of clubs.
"This fan run business model where clubs spend within their means appears to be the way to go League of Ireland clubs"
The assumption that a club will never spend beyond their means just because they are "fan run" is completely bogus imo.
sundance kid
09/03/2012, 1:34 PM
The assumption that a club will never spend beyond their means just because they are "fan run" is completely bogus imo.
Bohs have already proven this.
askmehoop
09/03/2012, 2:53 PM
Bohs have already proven this.
Doesnt matter if the club is run by the fans or an elected committee. Bohs being the prime example of how fans can really f**k up a club (not a dig at bohs fans).To suggest that any rovers player is on that money is laughable and typical of what is classed as journalism in this country i.e make s**t up. If the board were stupid enough to throw money around like that then MON would probably be still in charge. we have improved every year, on and off the pitch, since the supporters took charge of Rovers(bar first year obviously). i completely trust those in charge to run Rovers in a manner that will only benefit the club. Can others say the same?
Not Brazil
09/03/2012, 4:58 PM
The Derry Chairman doesn't hold back on the actions of some of their supporters on Monday night.
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/derry-chairman-furious-after-windsor-vandalism-1-3608116
askmehoop
09/03/2012, 6:41 PM
The Derry Chairman doesn't hold back on the actions of some of their supporters on Monday night.
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/derry-chairman-furious-after-windsor-vandalism-1-3608116
Few idiots with too much to drink no doubt, always enjoy trips to the Brandywell and have had a couple of pints before and after games with Derry fans. These clowns dont realise its the club they claim to support that have to pay the bill
ger121
10/03/2012, 10:36 AM
Very honest statement from their chairman. Pity more clubs aren't as forthcoming when there are incidents involving their "fans"
Fester
20/03/2012, 8:40 PM
Cliftonvile 2 v 0 Shams into ET
Fester
20/03/2012, 8:44 PM
Bohs 0 v 2 Crusaders FT
Derry City 3 v 1 Linfield FT
askmehoop
20/03/2012, 8:44 PM
Cliftonvile 2 v 0 Shams into ET
thats all we need with the shels game on friday
Fester
20/03/2012, 8:50 PM
thats all we need with the shels game on friday
Could be a second string team out for rovers. But not sure!
askmehoop
20/03/2012, 8:56 PM
Could be a second string team out for rovers. But not sure!
its a strong enough side tbh, not a full starting 11 but more then capable of beating Cliftonville. hopfully a kick up the arse for some
Fester
20/03/2012, 8:58 PM
Sligo get another injury time goal FT Glentoran 1 v 1 Sligo Rovers
Trainee
20/03/2012, 9:18 PM
Rovers won 3-1 on penos
askmehoop
20/03/2012, 9:25 PM
3-1 rovers. all over
Fester
20/03/2012, 9:25 PM
Crusaders, Derry, Sham & Sligo Rovers all thru.
Anyone know if the draw for the semis is made already?