View Full Version : 2011 UEFA European Under-19 Football Championship
Pages :
[
1]
DannyInvincible
05/07/2011, 3:23 PM
Ireland manager, Paul Doolin, has named his 18-man squad to compete with Greece, the Czechs and the Romanian hosts in the 2011 UEFA European Under-19 Football Championship group stages that begin on the 20th of July: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0705/doolinp_irelandu19.html
Matt Doherty - Wolves
Samir Carruthers - Aston Villa
John Egan - Sunderland
Kane Ferdinand - Southend United
Anthony Forde - Wolves
Jeff Hendrick - Derby County
Kevin Knight - N/A
Aaron McCarey - Wolves
Sean McDermott - Arsenal
Conor Murphy - Bray Wanderers
Sean Murray - Watford
John O' Sullivan - Blackburn Rovers
Anthony O'Connor - Blackburn Rovers
Joe Shaughnessy - Aberdeen
Connor Smith - Watford
Declan Walker - Wrexham
Eoin Wearen - West Ham United
Derrick Williams - Aston Villa
Predator
05/07/2011, 3:27 PM
Very different to the original qualifying squad. Let's hope they have a good tournament!
SwanVsDalton
05/07/2011, 3:29 PM
*lazy request* Anyone able to post up the original qualifying squad for a compare and contrast? *lazy request*
Predator
05/07/2011, 3:32 PM
Original Qualifying Squad
Sean Mc Dermott (Arsenal)
Aaron McCarey (Wolves)
Declan Walker (Wrexham)
John Egan (Sunderland)
Anthony O'Connor (Blackburn Rovers)
Sean McGinty (Manchester United)
Mark O'Brien (Derby County)
Shane Duffy (Everton)
Carl McHugh (Reading)
Daryl Horgan (Salthill Devon)
Shane Byrne (Leicester City)
Stephen McDonnell (Dundalk)
Jeff Hendrick (Derby County)
Liam Irwin (Bolton Wanderers)
Craig Walsh (Longford Town)
Patrick McEleney (Derry City)
Robbie Brady (Manchester United)
Michael Rafter (Colchester United)
SwanVsDalton
05/07/2011, 3:45 PM
Any ideas for all the changes? Simply too old? Though don't the age rules allow players to play a whole campaign ie qualifying and finals? Sorry I'm still too lazy to find out any of this for myself...
IsMiseSean
05/07/2011, 3:49 PM
Anyone know the reason why the two Man Utd boys and Shane Duffy are left out?
05/07/2011, 4:01 PM
Any ideas for all the changes? Simply too old? Though don't the age rules allow players to play a whole campaign ie qualifying and finals? Sorry I'm still too lazy to find out any of this for myself...
That was my understanding too. He used quite a few players since he took over 10 months ago. Here's who missed the cut.
Anton Rodgers - Chelsea
Carl McHugh - Reading
Ciaran Gallagher - Finn Harps
Craig Walsh - Longford Town
Daniel Devine - Aston Villa
Daryl Horgan - Salthill Devon
Eoghan Osbourne (Drogheda United)
Ethan Mannion - West Bromwich Albion
Gary Shaw - Bray Wanderers
Graham Burke (Aston Villa)
Liam Irwin - Bolton Wanderers
Mark O'Brien - Derby County
Matty Harriott - Sheffield United
Michael Harriman - Queen's Park Rangers
Michael Rafter - Unattached
Neil Byrne (Notts Forest)
Patrick McEleney - Derry City
Robbie Brady - Manchester United
Roberto Lopez (Bohemians)
Ryan Connolly - Derby County.
Sean McGinty - Manchester United
Selcuk Tidim FC - FC St. Pauli
Shane Byrne - Leicester City
Shane Duffy - Everton
Stephen Folan - Newcastle United
Stephen McDonnell - Dundalk
TrapAPony
05/07/2011, 4:04 PM
Wouldn't recent recruit Daniel Devine of Preston be underage for this too?
CraftyToePoke
05/07/2011, 4:05 PM
Michael Rafter - Unattached
Has Rafter left Waterford so? I think he signed there after leaving Colchester.
05/07/2011, 4:13 PM
Has Rafter left Waterford so? I think he signed there after leaving Colchester.
No he could still be at waterford, that list is where they were at the time of the squad announcements if you follow.
cornflakes
05/07/2011, 4:24 PM
Rafter has left Waterford (http://www.waterford-united.ie/blues-part-company-with-michael-rafter/)
05/07/2011, 4:28 PM
Anyone know the reason why the two Man Utd boys and Shane Duffy are left out?
According to his twitter feed, Duffy is in preseason training with Everton in Austria
CraftyToePoke
05/07/2011, 4:28 PM
Rafter has left Waterford (http://www.waterford-united.ie/blues-part-company-with-michael-rafter/)
Was the same story at Colchester, requested his contract be terminated - http://www.greenun24.co.uk/colchester-united/rafter_leaves_for_ireland_1_652469
Looks like the guy just didnt want it.
cornflakes
05/07/2011, 4:38 PM
Hope he doesn't regret it
Predator
05/07/2011, 6:43 PM
Anyone know the reason why the two Man Utd boys and Shane Duffy are left out?McGinty and Brady pulled out of the last squad to play for the United academy. I suspect this is their punishment. Duffy's exclusion could possibly be down to a disagreement.
According to his twitter feed, Duffy is in preseason training with Everton in AustriaBig season for him this year. All going well, he'll be in Noel King's next U21 side or better.
greendeiseboy
05/07/2011, 9:25 PM
[QUOTE=Predator;1505164]McGinty and Brady pulled out of the last squad to play for the United academy. I suspect this is their punishment. Duffy's exclusion could possibly be down to a disagreement.
McGinty was being touted by England early on. Hope this dosent come back to haunt Doolin because if he left him out of the biggest tournament of his career so far for the petty reasons above we might live to regret it.
liamoo11
05/07/2011, 10:37 PM
Best of luck to all involved. Ridiculous that brady, mcginty and duffy are not included. As usual doolin is treating the irish set up as his own personal club side just cause you dont get on with players you still need to pick the best footballers. How is McEleney not involved he has been excellent for Derry. Potentially we could lose McGinty, Duffy and MCEleney to other nations.
DannyInvincible
05/07/2011, 11:01 PM
Even if he wanted to - and I can't envisage that he does - Duffy cannot switch back to the IFA as he has appeared for both associations in competitive fixtures.
06/07/2011, 8:12 AM
United prospect Brady snubs Ireland's U-19 Euro's bid
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/united-prospect-brady-snubs-ireland-u19s-euro-bid-2813648.html
"Robert was called into the last squad and I could answer your question (about why he isn't in the squad) if I spoke to him. I tried to get in touch with him, but haven't been able to speak to him," Doolin said.
"I don't even know why. I couldn't even tell you. I tried to speak to him, I tried so many times before we went. The way it was, forget about it, we went to Poland and it was fantastic."
Another high-profile name who won't be involved is U-21 international Shane Duffy.
The Everton player has been involved in senior squads in the past and is highly rated by Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni, but Doolin has other ideas about the centre-half and has not selected him.
"I spoke to Shane after the first phase after we went to Croatia that I was looking at other players to see who was available," he explained.
"It's probably the manager's choice, some managers wouldn't pick what I picked, the results have shown that it was the right squad. I only want players who want to play."
06/07/2011, 8:24 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/united-prospect-brady-snubs-ireland-u19s-euro-bid-2813648.html
Brady captained the side in Bulgaria and was, says Doolin, initially called into the squad for the elite-phase tournament in Poland but repeated efforts to contact the midfielder came to nothing according to the manager who decided at that point to move on.
Duffy and Doolin, meanwhile, are rumoured to have had a falling out around the time of two friendly matches against Croatia in February while McGinty may be paying for staying with United for the FA Youth Cup final, possibly under considerable pressure from his club, when the Irish squad were heading to Poland.
Doolin was careful, indeed, to acknowledge there might have been mitigating factors in relation to one or more of the players, but he concluded he wants players “who want to play”, and pointed to the team’s rather remarkable record – they have lost one of 10 games, all abroad, since he took over, scoring 17 and conceding just five goals along the way – as evidence that those who have come in are well worth their places.
tommy_c12000
06/07/2011, 9:16 AM
Best of luck to the squad, pity the 3 best 19 yr old prospects aren't there. Not calling in McGinty seems a bit harsh. Punished for staying with his club to help them win the FA youth Cup seems excessive. Not sure of the circumstances regarding Brady but if Doolin is telling the truth probably deserves not to be in the squad. Its almost as if Doolin is trying to take a leaf out of Traps book and lay down a marker and make a name for himself. Its like a mirror image of the senior debacle. Its a shame really because in reality results in underage don't matter in my book. While it's nice to win, its about developing players and grooming them for the senior set up. Now we have our 3 best 19 yr old prospects out in the international wilderness. One or two player disputes is perhaps understandable but 3 cries of miss management
06/07/2011, 11:45 AM
Who says they're all disputes? He's had a look at a lot of players and gone with the ones who did the business. Brady, McGinty and Duffy missed the crucial games so shouldn't be automatic picks when the tournament comes around. This is the same reasoning that had us salivating over a midfield of Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid.
liamoo11
06/07/2011, 12:46 PM
Who says they're all disputes? He's had a look at a lot of players and gone with the ones who did the business. Brady, McGinty and Duffy missed the crucial games so shouldn't be automatic picks when the tournament comes around. This is the same reasoning that had us salivating over a midfield of Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid.
That is a crazy comparison. Brady and McGinty were first choice in the under 19 qualifiers not just this season 2010/11 but also 2009/10 when they were playing a year above their age group. Since then Brady has been on the fringes of the first team squad at utd and played under 21 for ireland and McGinty has played reserve football for utd and won an FA youth cup with utd. Of course these players should be going to the tournament.
Its not Mcgintys fault that the fa youth cup final was on at the same time as the qualifiers. Mcginty is under age next season for under 19 as well. Why does Doolin have to act the hard man just pick the best players that are available. Duffy has subbed up regularly for everton and played under 21 for ireland and been involved with the senior panel but is not good enough for Doolin. Its a joke
Any one know who Kevin Knight has joined he seems to have left Leicester.? He played under 17 this season so has 2 more years under 19 after this tournament.
06/07/2011, 1:50 PM
How is McEleney not involved he has been excellent for Derry.
McEleney refused a call up more than once. The first time he withdrew from the first stage qualifiers in circumstance which became controversial, the second time he was on standby and refused a late call up to met in Dublin before a departure to Cyprus.
Doolin is well within the boundaries of managerial rationality to select players who want to play. McEleney is a valuable player for Derry and getting valuable first team football football. In a sense, it's only natural that he feels more bound to his club rather than spend weeks away with the youth team.
06/07/2011, 3:43 PM
That is a crazy comparison. Brady and McGinty were first choice in the under 19 qualifiers not just this season 2010/11 but also 2009/10 when they were playing a year above their age group. Since then Brady has been on the fringes of the first team squad at utd and played under 21 for ireland and McGinty has played reserve football for utd and won an FA youth cup with utd. Of course these players should be going to the tournament.
Its not Mcgintys fault that the fa youth cup final was on at the same time as the qualifiers.
It's not the players who replaced them's fault either. Who, exactly, of the defenders who kept 3 clean sheets from 3 in the qualifying tournament should McGinty and Duffy replace? Nobody's acting the hard man. Doolin has shown loyalty to the players who showed up and won qualification for the tournament. Most people would call that admirable.
DannyInvincible
06/07/2011, 3:54 PM
I think it's fair enough, all things considered. Similar to Nigel Worthington's conundrum as NI boss, I don't think the status of dual nationals should dictate such players' selection for fear their sensibilities might be offended by non-inclusion, they take the huff and decide to switch allegiance to another association. Their status can't be allowed to hold managers ransom, if you will, no matter what fans think. The squad should be chosen on merit and it appears that it has been, although it is unfortunate to hear talk of possible player-manager disagreements. And whilst McGinty certainly had good reason to play in an FA Youth Cup final for his club, as CD points out, you can't really punish the players who came in and replaced McGinty. They actually did the job and qualified. Why should they necessarily be dropped?
Predator
06/07/2011, 6:34 PM
If Doolin is suggesting that Shane Duffy does not want to play for Ireland, he would need to get his head checked. This is a kid who faced the wrath of NI fans for switching to the FAI, a kid who nearly died on the pitch playing for Ireland and who worked his ass off to come back from that injury, even helping Doolin's very own U19 squad in the qualification for this tournament and he played for Noel King's U21s after that. Fair enough, the lads he has brought in have performed admirably and should be rewarded, but I don't think it's in any way helpful to publicly criticise and alienate arguably the most talented and highly valued U19 players.
DannyInvincible
06/07/2011, 6:51 PM
Yeah, the Duffy absence is what disappoints me primarily. Fair enough, if Brady was beyond contact, what can a manager do? And if McGinty chose not to play on a previous occasion with others coming in and doing the job in his place, the replacement has a very sound claim to keeping his place. If Duffy has been left out of this squad and prior squads due to a personal grudge of Doolin's or some disagreement with the manager, it just appears petty on Doolin's and implies a possible failure of man-management. Duffy has never struck me as a Stephen Ireland-type, for example, so it's not like Duffy could be accused of not wanting to play for Ireland.
Predator
06/07/2011, 7:11 PM
Even if Doolin was disappointed by the attitude of Brady and McGinty for not turning up, to voice that disappointment in such an acerbic tone is just stupid and unhelpful. Had he not qualified with the other players, I don't think he'd have been so smug.
Whatever happened between Doolin and Duffy, it should have been dealt with and both parties should move on. But I suppose it's fashionable in Irish management to hold a grudge.
liamoo11
06/07/2011, 7:49 PM
It's not the players who replaced them's fault either. Who, exactly, of the defenders who kept 3 clean sheets from 3 in the qualifying tournament should McGinty and Duffy replace? Nobody's acting the hard man. Doolin has shown loyalty to the players who showed up and won qualification for the tournament. Most people would call that admirable.
I am not knocking the players the best of luck to them I will be cheering them on and hopefully we can win the competition. If we compare this side to the 98 side that won the championship it would be the equivalent of leaving out keane, Dunne and Gavin.
This is not club football where you you stamp your authority on things and reward hard graft over a season. This is a one off tournament with the chance to win a title for the country. Showing an 18 year old who you will never manage again who is boss by denying him a chance to win a tournament is petty.
Brady played in an under 17 european championship with cliffords age group 3 years ago and has always played for ireland including this season at under 19 and 21 along with mcGinty and duffy helping them get past the first qualifying round for these championships. That is hardly the act of a kid who does not want to play for ireland. Where is the loyalty there from Doolin?
McGinty and duffy should replace Shaughnessy and Williams who they were ahead of in the first qualifying stage. I doubt many in the squad are happy to see Brady and the others left out as it reduces the opportunity to win the championship. Doolin needs to man manage better and keep the hard man stuff for when he goes back to club football
06/07/2011, 7:57 PM
Well I'd say the players who convincingly won their qualification group, spent a couple of weeks together learning the systems and bonding would be the best prepared to win the tournament. You're convinced Doolin is trying to show everyone who's boss but really he's just rewarding form. The Brady situation is different since there appears to be a problem from the player's end.
liamoo11
06/07/2011, 8:39 PM
Well I'd say the players who convincingly won their qualification group, spent a couple of weeks together learning the systems and bonding would be the best prepared to win the tournament. You're convinced Doolin is trying to show everyone who's boss but really he's just rewarding form. The Brady situation is different since there appears to be a problem from the player's end.
I have to respect your opinion but I cant agree. All I will say is if we were picking on form then McEleney would be a definate. The man is lighting up the league with derry I dont think there is a more gifted footballer in the league. He has also played games for the last 2 months unlike all the others other than Murphy from bray
06/07/2011, 8:50 PM
He's also rejected call-ups in the past in order to play for his club, who have some crucial games coming up.
DannyInvincible
06/07/2011, 8:55 PM
Speaking of Paddy McEleney, his team-mate, James McClean, who seems loyal to the IFA, had this to say to the Derry Journal recently (http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/james_is_flying_high_at_brandywell_1_2792575):
“I honestly felt that not just me, but a few of the players at Derry City would have been good enough to be called into the [NI] squad [for the Carling Nations Cup] after so many senior players had dropped out.
“However, the manager opted to select players from Irish League clubs instead. Personally, I believed that Gerard Doherty, Shane and Patrick McEleney, or even myself, had a chance of getting called up as we had been playing well with Derry at the time but we were not considered.”
It's not necessarily a conclusive indication that he'd entertain the idea of a switch, but it would be unfortunate if Paddy McEleney was considering a switch to the IFA. Although, as I've said, such a threat shouldn't force Doolin's hand, nor is it all that relevant considering he also has his club commitments, which are probably a better explanation for his absences.
CraftyToePoke
06/07/2011, 9:07 PM
Speaking of Paddy McEleney, his team-mate, James McClean, who seems loyal to the IFA, had this to say to the Derry Journal recently (http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/james_is_flying_high_at_brandywell_1_2792575):
“I honestly felt that not just me, but a few of the players at Derry City would have been good enough to be called into the [NI] squad [for the Carling Nations Cup] after so many senior players had dropped out.
“However, the manager opted to select players from Irish League clubs instead. Personally, I believed that Gerard Doherty, Shane and Patrick McEleney, or even myself, had a chance of getting called up as we had been playing well with Derry at the time but we were not considered.”
It's not necessarily a conclusive indication that he'd entertain the idea of a switch, but it would be unfortunate if Paddy McEleney was considering a switch to the IFA. Although, as I've said, such a threat shouldn't force Doolin's hand, nor is it all that relevant considering he also has his club commitments, which are probably a better explanation for his absences.
Does add a little to the Worthington regime being part of the problem though.
faigirl
06/07/2011, 10:31 PM
Up until this comment I could follow your point but to suggest that Williams be dropped for McGinty is beyond belief, he is playing week in week out Villa reserves, he was also outstanding in the elite phase too. It is clear you have not seen this lad play. There is more to selection than individual players, the spirit of the team has to be right too and if there are players there who think they are above certain selections or games then they are definitely going to effect the overall performance. I do not know why these lads are not in but I think that Doolin has already shown enough, by qualifying when the last manager couldn't, that he has the credentials to make the right decisions for the team.
The original qualifying team got through the easiest phase of the tournament, this bunch of lads, bar two new inclusions, got through the elite phases, they beat Italy convincingly and have demonstrated a want and desire to play and succeed. I think it is disrespectful to their achievements to say the best players have been left out of the squad, hopefully they will have the doubters eating their words (as you were when you criticised the selection for the elite phase!).
06/07/2011, 11:07 PM
Duffy's dad posted this on ybig.ie: http://www.ybig.ie/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=30857&PN=2&title=doolin-names-u19-squad-for-uefa-finals
shane is a son of mine,i cant talk for robbie or sean but for doolin to talk to the papers and that he [only want people that want to play for ireland in his team] refering to shane is not on,since shane switched to the republic he has loved every minute of it,he has met some of the nicest people in football while given the chance to play there,as far as the FAI are concerned they saved his life for god sake,how can doolin come out with coments like this....if he didnt like shanes style of playing thats fair enough,but to come out and say that shane didnt want to play for ireland is a joke.let me give you e.g of doolin tactics,back in april doolin took the 19s to cyprus for 2 friendlies,remembering this is april and the young lads had a long hard season,he made the lads do bleep tests..for anyone who does not know what that is ,its something players have to go through at the start of pre-season not the end of a season...i will be shouting for the lads all the way and hopefully they do something special and bring it home with them...but as far as doolin talking about shane like that really is not what i would expect from a manager.
boovidge
06/07/2011, 11:34 PM
why can't the FAI hire some competent staff?
DannyInvincible
06/07/2011, 11:35 PM
Enjoyed this duo of comments in relation to Brady's omission:
Bizarre and made even more so given Doolin lives about 500 yards from Brady's home in Dublin.
Brady used to nic-nak+egg his gaff as a kid,blacklisted ever since
SwanVsDalton
07/07/2011, 9:40 AM
I wouldn't necessarily be afraid of that of a McEleney switch, think McClean is just pointing out Worthington's continual blind spot when it comes to DCFC players.
liamoo11
07/07/2011, 1:44 PM
Up until this comment I could follow your point but to suggest that Williams be dropped for McGinty is beyond belief, he is playing week in week out Villa reserves, he was also outstanding in the elite phase too.
I think it is disrespectful to their achievements to say the best players have been left out of the squad, hopefully they will have the doubters eating their words (as you were when you criticised the selection for the elite phase!).
Fair enough I didnt mean to be disrespectful to williams I was simply pointing out that if McGinty was good enough to be a first choice in 2009/10 season for the under 19s and again at the beginning of 2010/11 and has had a good club season winning an fa youth cup then it seems unfair he has been droped for missing a tournament because of the Fa youth cup final. The previous season williams and devine were in an Fa youth cup for villa against cliffords chelsea. Im sure they would have had to miss out on international football if there had been a clash.I hope williams, devine , burke and drennan at villa all get a chance with villa this season and have great careers.
I absolutely did eat my words and admitted to it after they qualified and I hope I do again. I just think it is terrible that doolin has now created the impresssion that duffy, mcGinty and Brady and McEleney do not want to play for their country which is something that is likely to follow them for the rest of their careers
07/07/2011, 3:02 PM
Well, McEleney had opportunities to demonstrate that he wanted to play for Ireland at this level and failed to do so. That doesn't mean he has turned his back on Ireland.
If there is a 'stigma' likely to follow, that depends on the attitude of the players. It is rare that a 'stigma' affects the fortunes of a player with a genuine interest in playing for his country. Two players in particular who had problems at youth level, Ireland and Stokes, were given every and some opportunity respectively, to alter their image.
07/07/2011, 4:10 PM
Good point about Ireland and Stokes.
Mark O'Brien didn't make the squad either I think. He's supposed to be very good I thought.
A team good enough to beat Italy 3-0 must be decent enough though.
faigirl
07/07/2011, 7:12 PM
Fair enough I didnt mean to be disrespectful to williams I was simply pointing out that if McGinty was good enough to be a first choice in 2009/10 season for the under 19s and again at the beginning of 2010/11 and has had a good club season winning an fa youth cup then it seems unfair he has been droped for missing a tournament because of the Fa youth cup final. The previous season williams and devine were in an Fa youth cup for villa against cliffords chelsea. Im sure they would have had to miss out on international football if there had been a clash.I hope williams, devine , burke and drennan at villa all get a chance with villa this season and have great careers.
I absolutely did eat my words and admitted to it after they qualified and I hope I do again. I just think it is terrible that doolin has now created the impresssion that duffy, mcGinty and Brady and McEleney do not want to play for their country which is something that is likely to follow them for the rest of their careers
As far as I remember in 2009/2010 McGinty was first choice for the Under 17's (captain) and he played only a few games for the under 19's, and just because a player did well last season doesn't mean he will this season. I actually think McGinty is a good player and if anything he should be in ahead of one of the peripheral players who are in to cover the left back position, as he has played left back for the Manchester united academy last season, however like I said Williams is outstanding and as fas as I knew he was in ahead of others at the start of the campaign but he was injured.
As far as the other lads, it seems clear from Duffy's dad's post that the lad obviously has his own ideas about how a manager should treat/manage the boys, this may have contributed to why he isn't in. If I had the chance to play for my country I would do a bleep test every day if that guaranteed my selection- buts that just me. I had thought previously that Duffy and Brady were going to be selected for the under 21's and that's why they are not in. I never got the impression from Doolin that he was suggesting these 4 lads didn't want to play, I heard him say that he went with what he thought was the best team. But everyone is going to have a problem with some selection.
As for your question earlier I heard that Kevin Knight has been approached by a number of clubs in Scotland, I hope he gets somewhere as he is a good lad and he had a good season with Leicester last year.
Anyway I am off to pack my suncream for Romania...anyone else going?
cestlavie
07/07/2011, 10:05 PM
I wish this team all the best. Its a shame that the lads being spoke about on here not been picked, Doolers would need to cop himself on. I think he has done a great job on getting us to the Finals but once again Ireland will be at a major tournament without some of its best players.
Have to say that nothing surprises me about people who work for FAI.
Overall, the structures are a complete joke. The emerging talent system is a joke. The coaches are also Jokes. The vast majority of the FAI coaches only start snooping about Kennedy Cup teams a number off months before the Kennedy Cup just to be seen to be doing something.
I have still to see many players emerge from these systems. We need to start asking the FAI some serious questions about these structures. Pointless and a complete waist of time and resources.
I would advise anybody on here with talented youngsters or potential players for the future Dont let these loosers wreck their prospects.
Lets hope we dont see defections to the North from both sides of the border.
CraftyToePoke
07/07/2011, 10:09 PM
Welcome.
As for your question earlier I heard that Kevin Knight has been approached by a number of clubs in Scotland, I hope he gets somewhere as he is a good lad and he had a good season with Leicester last year.
Any idea why he was released? I thought he had been doing well also.
Anyway I am off to pack my suncream for Romania...anyone else going?
No, nice trip to have though, enjoy.
07/07/2011, 10:22 PM
Duffy's dad seems a total helicopter parent. Doolin's comment was probably laid squarely at Brady and, perhaps, McEleney too. Unless he knows something we don't, Duffy is just not in the team because Doolin is sticking with the winning team.
DannyInvincible
07/07/2011, 10:46 PM
Lets hope we dont see defections to the North from both sides of the border.
I don't think there's too much to worry about. Irish nationality doesn't admit anyone an entitlement to declare for the IFA.
cestlavie
07/07/2011, 11:09 PM
I wouldnt be too sure about that.
Your 100% when you say that but alot of people have been born in the North who live in the south especially in places like Donegal, Altnagalvin Hospital in Derry has seen hundreds if not 1000's of births from people from across the border.
DannyInvincible
07/07/2011, 11:21 PM
Like Shay Given, of course. :p
Sure, I know well. I know quite a few of them.