View Full Version : 2011 UEFA European Under-19 Football Championship

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

Predator
26/07/2011, 5:57 PM
Well done to the boys. Reminiscent of WC 2002. Knockout game against Spain without our captain (and others).

26/07/2011, 5:58 PM
Is that right? Spain next? Makes sends, runners up play winner of other group.

I don't think the other group has finished yet so potentially Spain might not win group.

But I could well be wrong, and indeed often am. ;)

26/07/2011, 5:59 PM
Ireland are very poor but i honestly put a lot of it down to negativity from doolin(trying not to lose as opposed to trying to win).they showed in patches previously that they can actually play some nice football.

Predator
26/07/2011, 6:01 PM
Noel King was at some of the games, wasn't he? It'll be interesting to see if he's able to take any of these lads to Sligo in two weeks time, or else for the Hungary game on September 1.

Jicked
26/07/2011, 6:24 PM
Did you see them against Greece?
I wouldn't say they are awful but the lump it forward football is frustrating to watch. They were playing a Romanian team who threw everything at them, who had nothing to lose and went at it relentlessly, considering all that, the Irish lads did well to get through to the semi final.

Have you ever seen a Paul Doolin side before?

26/07/2011, 6:33 PM
I have only seen them play the Czech Rep, I didn't see them trounce Italy or beat Greece.
The pertinent point is that we didn't have to win this game. If the shoe was on the other foot (i.e. we had to win), I think we would have seen a completely different game.

the bear
26/07/2011, 6:48 PM
I have only seen them play the Czech Rep, I didn't see them trounce Italy or beat Greece.
The pertinent point is that we didn't have to win this game. If the shoe was on the other foot (i.e. we had to win), I think we would have seen a completely different game.

was that a shameless plug for this website geysir?

26/07/2011, 6:53 PM
Well spotted Bear, no flies on you.

swinfordfc
26/07/2011, 9:45 PM
Well done to the Under 19's ..... not often a irish side get to a european semi final so good luck to them against a tough spainish side

sheao
26/07/2011, 10:00 PM
Congrats to all involved with the u19 side
Good to see an Irish side getting to the latter stages of an international tournament .

26/07/2011, 10:00 PM
Congratulations to the lads on reaching the semi finals. Best of luck against Spain, who surprisingly lost 3-0 to Turkey

liamoo11
26/07/2011, 10:20 PM
Great win well done to all the players

26/07/2011, 11:12 PM
Yeah thought we played well in bursts and but for the final third of the pitch it wasn't a bad performance. Liked the look of Carruthers and the lad on the left wing whose name escapes me.

In the end we were comfortable enough despite Romania having a few chances during their purple patch in the second half.

Well done to all involved!

What's the schedule situation for the Spain match?

DannyInvincible
27/07/2011, 4:13 AM
Didn't get to see the game unfortunately but was delighted to hear they made it through.

What's the schedule situation for the Spain match?

I believe it's on at 6:45 on Friday evening. The semi-final between the Czechs and Serbia will be on at 4:45.

27/07/2011, 6:23 AM
That's grand so. Cheers Danny.
I foresee a divorce soon enough. I have watched or been at at least one match each day since Friday night last.

Yard of Pace
27/07/2011, 11:25 AM
That's grand so. Cheers Danny.
I foresee a divorce soon enough. I have watched or been at at least one match each day since Friday night last.

To quote Slaven Bilic, "with the greatest respect to women, football is the most beautiful thing in the world".

I wouldn't worry about it.

27/07/2011, 3:16 PM
Hasn't Slaven already been through a messy divorce a few years ago

Bonnie is alright as long as he doesn't say it out loud, that he prefers football to intimacy with Mrs Shels.

Sullivinho
27/07/2011, 3:31 PM
To quote Slaven Bilic, "with the greatest respect to women, football is the most beautiful thing in the world".

That's an odd thing for a man natively surrounded by Croatian women to say...

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/__wLlYH0RaJw/SFy69pnq1bI/AAAAAAAACVo/oL4m_5okqfs/s400/croatian_girl.jpg

..but they do play some nice football over there too.

faigirl
27/07/2011, 4:48 PM
Does anyone know if rte are showing the semifinal??

27/07/2011, 4:54 PM

yes...

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0727/under19.html

27/07/2011, 5:02 PM

I wouldn't worry about it.

That would be an annulment in that case.

Actually screw it... she gets Lorenzo, I get sport.

AlaskaFox
28/07/2011, 10:00 AM
Spain preview:
http://greenscene.me/2011/07/2011-euro-u19-championship-preview-spain/

rebelmusic
28/07/2011, 11:05 AM
Eh..ignore this post

faigirl
28/07/2011, 3:36 PM
the preview of the spain team is pretty scary! They have some outstanding players it seems. Hope we can put on a performance like Greece, or the first 65 minutes against the Czech's.

28/07/2011, 5:51 PM
Did Turkey not beat Spain 3-0?

Thanks all of you for all the TV tips. I didn't get to see it but will see the SF tomorrow.

Saw second half of Rovers in Copenhagen last night in O'Hara's in Pto Pollensa. Very impressed, but what a great chance missed to bag an away goal.

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 7:37 PM
Did Turkey not beat Spain 3-0?

They did, although it must be remembered that Spain were already confirmed top of their group and qualified for the semi-finals. They may well have put out a "second string". I'm not sure, mind.

Saw second half of Rovers in Copenhagen last night in O'Hara's in Pto Pollensa. Very impressed, but what a great chance missed to bag an away goal.

You should have seen the chances Sligo missed this evening in Ukraine. Three absolute sitters and two goals disallowed. Painful.

AlaskaFox
28/07/2011, 8:23 PM
Turkey beat Spain 1.5. They rested six players.

28/07/2011, 8:39 PM
Turkey beat Spain 1.5. They rested six players.

Would Spain 1.5 not be better than Spain 1.0?

This was on the UEFA site tonight...
http://www.uefa.com/uefa/management/legal/news/newsid=1652768.html

What could they possibly trying to say?

AlaskaFox
28/07/2011, 9:06 PM
Would Spain 1.5 not be better than Spain 1.0?

I had Spain A.5, but it looked stupid and made no sense :D

28/07/2011, 10:17 PM
Spain are in line for the women's u17 Euro ladies title later this week as well. The little ladies play just like Barca.
It's all getting tediously predictable.
Our team have done astonishingly well to get this far.
Belarus, with a basic but cohesive, disciplined, hard working and skillful team, were a minute away from putting Spain (1/10 favs) out of the u21 semi final.
So who knows how this semi final game will pan out.

DannyInvincible
28/07/2011, 11:12 PM

Yeah, I think that's been up a few days. I didn't think such would be newsworthy and, secondly, the big photo of our players in training below the headline would nearly have you think we're under suspicion or something.

29/07/2011, 7:19 AM
Precisely what I initially thought.

pateen
29/07/2011, 2:23 PM
Anyone have TV links for this game for the expats who cant get rte :)

29/07/2011, 2:57 PM
Anyone have TV links for this game for the expats who cant get rte :)

all here: http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=124030&part=sports

Cuyahoga
29/07/2011, 3:39 PM
Its on tonight at 6.45 rte2 .

29/07/2011, 4:18 PM
It's on Eurosport as well. Probably will have international access on their website.

DannyInvincible
29/07/2011, 4:22 PM
I'm just about to stick the Czech Republic-Serbia game on. Sounds like it's a crazy game. It was 3-2 to the Czechs with 28 minutes gone after them having been 3-0 up by the 19th minute. It's approaching half time now.

Links here if interested: http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=124029&part=sports

29/07/2011, 4:52 PM
They should point those microphones far away from the dugout.

DannyInvincible
29/07/2011, 5:00 PM
Things have calmed down a bit. Beleive it or not, they've just passed an unprecedented half an hour without even a goal.

That Romanian summer evening sunset does provide a lovely backdrop behind the main stand, however.

faigirl
29/07/2011, 5:04 PM
the Czech coach can be heard from Ireland when the tv is turned off!

DannyInvincible
29/07/2011, 5:10 PM
Ireland starting line-up:

1 Aaron McCarey (GK)
3 Derrick Williams
4 John Egan (C)
5 Anthony O'Connor
6 Jeffrey Hendrick
7 Samir Carruthers
8 John O'Sullivan
10 Conor Murphy
11 Anthony Forde
15 Sean Murray
18 Joseph Shaughnessy

And the subs: 16 Sean McDermott (GK), 9 Kevin Knight, 12 Kane Ferdinand, 14 Eoin Wearen, 17 Declan Walker, 19 Connor Smith.

DannyInvincible
29/07/2011, 5:24 PM
I think the flood-lights have just gone out in the other game and the Serbia manager is making an issue of it but I think the ref's saying there's still plenty of evening light to play the last five or so minutes. If we get past Spain somehow, it looks like it'll be the Czechs again in the final. Still 3-2 up.

DannyInvincible
29/07/2011, 5:30 PM
4-2 to the Czechs right on 90 minutes. Pretty much seals their place in the final.

RTÉ coverage has just started with Peter Collins, Noel King and Johnny McDonnell.

29/07/2011, 5:38 PM
I hate that bleedin anthem.

Fixer82
29/07/2011, 5:40 PM
Ah good oul Noel King. Every time I see him I think of the Aprés Match imitation of him ;)

29/07/2011, 5:41 PM
I hate that bleedin anthem.

The Spanish one?

How can ya get gee'd up with no bloody words!!!!

29/07/2011, 5:52 PM
First ten minutes Spain are dominating but Ireland look comfortable. McCarey just claimed well from a corner, which is good to see because he's been a bit dodgy on those the past two matches.

29/07/2011, 5:52 PM
Lol, Egan even runs like his Da!

29/07/2011, 5:59 PM
They've composed themselves well. Carruthers and Hendrick getting there feet on the ball well. Murray has the full back ****ting himself already.

29/07/2011, 6:06 PM
Fantastic piece of tracking back there by Carruthers. I can see why they're raving about him.