View Full Version : 2011 UEFA European Under-19 Football Championship
Pages :
[
2]
Predator
07/07/2011, 11:25 PM
I never got the impression from Doolin that he was suggesting these 4 lads didn't want to play, I heard him say that he went with what he thought was the best team. But everyone is going to have a problem with some selection.Never? What about when he stated that he wanted players who want to play in the aftermath of the discussion of these three? The implication being that they don't want to play, of course.
DannyInvincible
08/07/2011, 1:41 AM
Has there been any explanation as to why Brady was beyond contact? I see some in the media are casting it as a snub with parallels being drawn to Stephen Ireland: http://www.thescore.ie/is-robbie-brady-the-new-stephen-ireland-doolin-unhappy-as-player-snubs-call-up-171111-Jul2011/
AlaskaFox
08/07/2011, 9:05 AM
If anyone's interested, we had a chat with John O'Sullivan about the upcoming tournament. Lovely fella, real honest and open.
http://greenscene.me/2011/07/interview-with-ireland-u19-star-john-osullivan/
08/07/2011, 9:16 AM
I find this quote very interesting;
“It was great to start playing with them, the reserves is much more about football, about playing football. Youth level is all about the physical aspect of it, everyone is out there trying to impress, while in the reserves you just get the ball and play.”
It doesn't say a lot for the academy system in England when the youth level is "all about the physical aspect of it". If anything the physical aspect should be what steps up when they move to the reserve level with the skills and footballing being the priority for the youths.
AlaskaFox
08/07/2011, 9:29 AM
Building strength must be one of the main things at youth level over there while the players are still growing, whereas by the time you get to reserves you're an adult. I'd imagine that's the reasoning behind it.
08/07/2011, 9:56 AM
That doesn't really sound like what he's saying though. He's seems to be suggesting the games themselves are a lot more physical at youth level. There's obviously going to be strenght programmes in a fully professional environment, although I don't really think younger players should be trying to build a lot of muscle while their bodies are still growing.
08/07/2011, 10:21 AM
nice comment there about how Andrews helps the younger lads out, even though he gets a lot of abuse from the fans
08/07/2011, 10:43 AM
It's gonna be hot out there.
The games should be streamed online?
08/07/2011, 10:54 AM
It's gonna be hot out there.
The games should be streamed online?
I do remember watching one of the games from the U17 championships online, think it was against the Swiss
<EDIT>
According to the tournament thread - http://foot.ie/threads/88939-U-17-Championships - it was actually the France game that was online
anyone care to do a "where are they now" on the squad from the championships? AlaskaFox?
AlaskaFox
08/07/2011, 11:19 AM
(Then in brackets)
Ger Hanley (Salthill Devon) - Mervue United
Gavin Carlin (West Bromwich Albion) - Notts County
Pauric Ormsby (Crumlin United) - University of Texas Scorpions
Richie Towell (Celtic) - Celtic
Johnny Dunleavy (Wolverhampton Wanderers) - Unattached
Mark Connolly (Wolverhampton Wanderers) - Bolton
Kallum Keane (Derby County) - Exeter
Gavin Gunning (Blackburn Rovers) - Blackburn
Shaun Timmins (Birmingham City) - Birmingham
Aaron Doran (Blackburn Rovers) - Blackburn
Conor Clifford (Chelsea) - Chelsea
Conor Hourihane (Sunderland) - Ipswich
John Sullivan (Crumlin United) - Shelbourne
Gearoid Morrissey (Ringmahon Rangers) - Cork City
Greg Cunningham (Manchester City) - Man City
Paul Murphy (Ipswich Town) - Waterford Utd
Darragh Satelle (Crumlin United) - Shamrock Rovers
Robert Brady (Manchester United) - Man Utd
AlaskaFox
08/07/2011, 11:19 AM
That doesn't really sound like what he's saying though. He's seems to be suggesting the games themselves are a lot more physical at youth level. There's obviously going to be strenght programmes in a fully professional environment, although I don't really think younger players should be trying to build a lot of muscle while their bodies are still growing.
From speaking to him, I don't think that's what he meant. Must be my fault for transcribing it that way :D
08/07/2011, 11:43 AM
Pauric Ormsby (Crumlin United) - University of Texas Scorpions
If I ever go back to a centre of higher learning, that's where I want to go.
08/07/2011, 11:53 AM
From speaking to him, I don't think that's what he meant. Must be my fault for transcribing it that way :D
Fair enough. Thanks for the clarification.
Hopefully they can go on and win the tournament.
Predator
08/07/2011, 11:59 AM
Duffy's dad seems a total helicopter parent. Doolin's comment was probably laid squarely at Brady and, perhaps, McEleney too. Unless he knows something we don't, Duffy is just not in the team because Doolin is sticking with the winning team.That doesn't really explain Duffy's omission from the second qualifying squad that went to Poland, which, from what I've heard, is allegedly down to a previous training ground disagreement. In fact, Duffy was instead included in King's U21s to play Cyprus and was the youngest of that group. Doolin's comment was quite reckless. It was said in the context of questions regarding Brady, McGinty and Duffy and serves to paint them as lacking interest in playing for Ireland. It takes two to tango and I don't believe that it's simply a case of players not wanting to play for Ireland.
DannyInvincible
08/07/2011, 3:05 PM
That's true. I mean there'd even be a difference between not wanting to play for Ireland and not wanting to play for Doolin, although there's no suggestion there that Duffy snubbed him or anything.
faigirl
08/07/2011, 6:00 PM
as far as I have heard he has been a casualty of the first teams overspending last season, basically, according to a someone I was talking to recently the first team spent a lot last season and they expected to be promoted because that didn't happen the club had to make serious cuts.
He is a good player and a nice lad hopefully he gets somewhere soon
Welcome.
Any idea why he was released? I thought he had been doing well also.
No, nice trip to have though, enjoy.
CraftyToePoke
09/07/2011, 3:16 AM
as far as I have heard he has been a casualty of the first teams overspending last season, basically, according to a someone I was talking to recently the first team spent a lot last season and they expected to be promoted because that didn't happen the club had to make serious cuts.
Seems harsh and inconsistent with the way that club are spending money at present, some big signings with more en route and a manager who last week said of the finances that there was no limit, promotion was the goal and all financial resources were available in order to achieve it. Also I believe Leicester redeveloped their training academy recently, spent considerably on that too.
I think maybe more likely the club can now buy answers to its first eleven problems and although two academy lads look like they will be involved with the first team this season, other lads who maybe looked longer odds to make first team players were let go as the club doesnt at present desperately need to develop its talent. Maybe Knight was in that category.
But I hope to see him at a good club soon too.
09/07/2011, 3:39 AM
Seems harsh and inconsistent with the way that club are spending money at present, some big signings with more en route and a manager who last week said of the finances that there was no limit, promotion was the goal and all financial resources were available in order to achieve it.
That's easy for a Limerick fan to say!
CraftyToePoke
09/07/2011, 3:54 AM
That's easy for a Limerick fan to say!
We are coming CD, we are coming. Soon, Limerick / Shams will be a Premier Division fixture again. Proper order too.
mark12345
10/07/2011, 1:14 AM
[QUOTE=cestlavie;1506237]
Have to say that nothing surprises me about people who work for FAI.
Overall, the structures are a complete joke. The emerging talent system is a joke. The coaches are also Jokes. The vast majority of the FAI coaches only start snooping about Kennedy Cup teams a number off months before the Kennedy Cup just to be seen to be doing something. [/QUOTE
On a related but not so related topic. I have to agree that those in the FAI (collectively) are a joke. Why so? Well all I have to do is turn on the Copa America and take a look at Chile, Uruguay, Ecuador, Venezuala, all countries with less resources (financially) than Ireland, yet ones who play the game light years ahead of us.
The ball control, the picking of a pass, the movement off the ball. Chile can turn defence into attack with an array of passes that is almost Barcelonaesque.
How did those players get so good? How were they coached as youngsters in comparison to our kids?
The FAI are responsible for putting the systems in place to coach our kids. But all we produce is hoofball artists. When are things going to change?
Paddy Garcia
10/07/2011, 7:25 AM
Whatever the rights and wrongs of these players inclusion, the role of these managers is also to build long term positive relationships with all players. This seems to be missed and is clearly not evaluated or deemed part of their success criteria (ironic Given it was all Givens claimed!!).
Seems more like who can best mirror a 1950's Jesuit.
10/07/2011, 12:46 PM
On a related but not so related topic. I have to agree that those in the FAI (collectively) are a joke. Why so? Well all I have to do is turn on the Copa America and take a look at Chile, Uruguay, Ecuador, Venezuala, all countries with less resources (financially) than Ireland, yet ones who play the game light years ahead of us.
The ball control, the picking of a pass, the movement off the ball. Chile can turn defence into attack with an array of passes that is almost Barcelonaesque.
How did those players get so good? How were they coached as youngsters in comparison to our kids?
The FAI are responsible for putting the systems in place to coach our kids. But all we produce is hoofball artists. When are things going to change?Basic lesson in economics for that man please. Venezuela is one of the biggest oil producers in the world, for example. Exactly what resources does the FAI (or Ireland) have right now?
The rest of the debate has been conducted elsewhere recently.
Let's have a look at the U19s later in the month and see if anything has changed. I don't think we beat Italy 3-0 by playing hoofball.
I don't think anyone here (pro-, anti- or neatral towards the FAI) wouldn't love to see a more sophisticated football culture here, but easier said than done I reckon. I'm neutral - because I'm reserving opinion until I understand exactly what the development ethos is in Ireland (now, not 5 years ago) and that's why I think a Q&A session with Koevermans would be interesting.
I can't comment on the standard, but this year's LOI is unfolding as a thriller. The teams' forthcoming European games will be interesting to benchmark progress. Remember there are around 10 LOI developed players in or around the national team at this point in time.
AlaskaFox
14/07/2011, 12:09 PM
Kicked off our tournament preview today with Czech Republic:
http://greenscene.me/2011/07/2011-euro-u19-championship-preview-czech-republic/
Sullivinho
14/07/2011, 1:32 PM
The tournament will be broadcast on Eurosport. Czech Republic vs Ireland airs on saturday 23rd at 5:00pm.
AlaskaFox
14/07/2011, 1:37 PM
The tournament will be broadcast on Eurosport. Czech Republic vs Ireland airs on saturday 23rd at 5:00pm.
http://greenscene.me/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/eurou192011fixtures.png
DannyInvincible
14/07/2011, 2:30 PM
DannyInvincible
14/07/2011, 3:26 PM
On-topic this attempt, if I'm lucky. I'm guessing our other games will be streamed somewhere even if Eurosport aren't showing them? Do UEFA stream under-age games without commentary on their site? I know FIFA streamed the Irish games from the Under-17 Women's World Cup last year.
I don't suppose RTÉ are bothered. Didn't they broadcast the final live in 1998? I think I remember watching it live anyway with Hamilton commentating.
14/07/2011, 3:40 PM
Effing typical. I leave for holidays at lunchtime on 23rd!
14/07/2011, 3:56 PM
I see England didn't make it to this level.
The betting looks open enough
3/1 Spain
13/2 Turkey, Czech rep.
9/1 Romania, Irl, Belg, Greece
15/1 Serbia
Spain are also 3/1 to be Euro 2012 champions.
14/07/2011, 3:57 PM
Effing typical. I leave for holidays at lunchtime on 23rd!
1pm?
14/07/2011, 5:12 PM
Around then, but won't arrive until game is over.
DannyInvincible
14/07/2011, 5:44 PM
I see England didn't make it to this level.
The betting looks open enough
3/1 Spain
13/2 Turkey, Czech rep.
9/1 Romania, Irl, Belg, Greece
15/1 Serbia
Spain are also 3/1 to be Euro 2012 champions.
Serbia were pretty clinical in qualification. Surprised at those odds.
AlaskaFox
17/07/2011, 10:40 AM
Greece preview:
http://greenscene.me/2011/07/2011-euro-u19-championship-preview-greece/
liamoo11
17/07/2011, 11:25 AM
Unneccessary inflamatory article in the indo today critising Doolin and been derogatory to the players left in the squad. Whatever the rights and wrongs now is not the time to discuss it with the tournamant about to start
AlaskaFox
17/07/2011, 11:29 AM
Unneccessary inflamatory article in the indo today critising Doolin and been derogatory to the players left in the squad. Whatever the rights and wrongs now is not the time to discuss it with the tournamant about to start
Who is it by?
liamoo11
17/07/2011, 11:31 AM
john o brien
17/07/2011, 11:50 AM
john o brien
independent.ie/sport/soccer/player-unrest-remains-a-sore-point-that-refuses-to-go-away-2823620.html
17/07/2011, 12:30 PM
independent.ie/sport/soccer/player-unrest-remains-a-sore-point-that-refuses-to-go-away-2823620.html
from that article:
It is a shame, of course, that Ireland's progress to a major championship finals for the first time at any level since 2002 should be blighted by chatter about player disharmony and managerial fall-outs.except for the UEFA U17 Championships in 2008
There's quite a long article in the magazine section of the Sunday Independent debating the level of interest in the Irish soccer team, compared to rugby and golf (seriously, golf) in the national psyche, where John Delaney's salary is quoted as €420,000. Elsewhere in the same paper, it's mentioned as €450,000. Whether it is or it isn't, or if he deserves it is a debate for another day, but some level of consistent reporting would help!
Paddy Garcia
17/07/2011, 1:06 PM
from that article:
except for the UEFA U17 Championships in 2008
And the girls U17 world cup - very entertaining it was too.
ArdeeBhoy
17/07/2011, 11:19 PM
http://greenscene.me/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/eurou192011fixtures.png
Look out for the Boston Celtics jacketed one. He may be our only fan travelling specially??
DannyInvincible
18/07/2011, 1:38 AM
There's quite a long article in the magazine section of the Sunday Independent debating the level of interest in the Irish soccer team, compared to rugby and golf (seriously, golf) in the national psyche
Golf? That's ridiculous. We're all far more crazy about horse racing.
faigirl
18/07/2011, 7:27 AM
Look out for the Boston Celtics jacketed one. He may be our only fan travelling specially??
You wont be alone, I know a few who are traveling, we should all meet to celebrate the lads victory!!!
18/07/2011, 8:42 AM
I'll be there and 4 others in our group. Ryanair/Wizzair via Luton tomorrow night.
ArdeeBhoy
18/07/2011, 11:11 AM
Fair play. You should make double figures then....
18/07/2011, 2:01 PM
Fair play. You should make double figures then....
There will be family members there too. We had about 100 fans in Turkey in 2008 for the U17s but my 2 mates and me were the only ones without connections to the players.
CraftyToePoke
18/07/2011, 4:43 PM
There will be family members there too. We had about 100 fans in Turkey in 2008 for the U17s but my 2 mates and me were the only ones without connections to the players.
Good stuff and fair play to ye for making the voyage. Will you be doing a report on here of the games and performances?
18/07/2011, 7:49 PM
Good stuff and fair play to ye for making the voyage. Will you be doing a report on here of the games and performances?
Will do.
Disappointed to be missing limrick v monaghan though.
DannyInvincible
18/07/2011, 8:10 PM
Anyone have any idea if the game on Wednesday will be televised/streamed somewhere?
CraftyToePoke
18/07/2011, 9:33 PM
Will do.
Disappointed to be missing limrick v monaghan though.
Good man. Understandable about Limerick Vs Monaghan also, I havent ruled out a crafty Ryanair for that one myself yet.
faigirl
18/07/2011, 9:41 PM
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101910:irish-u19-captain-targets-strong-start-at-uefa-championships&catid=4:under-19&Itemid=12
very good interview here by John Egan, sounds like the team have the right attitude.
I will be there Wednesday, me and the other family members supporting our boys