View Full Version : Licences 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11

hoopy
14/02/2011, 2:03 PM
So it's take your chances time again going to Drogheda and hope the away 'stand' doesn't collapse on top of you?

14/02/2011, 2:07 PM
Ok now am worried, just heard that the FAI have given Galway til Monday now for their appeal. While I wish them all the best, I also hope they only get a fd licence coz I cant take the heartbreak of losing out again in one season.

marinobohs
14/02/2011, 2:08 PM
So it's take your chances time again going to Drogheda and hope the away 'stand' doesn't collapse on top of you?

.... unless they can get the local council to build them a stadium :rolleyes: Seriously, don't the FAI own Hunky Dory Park ? Maybe explains why they rate it "Premier" standard.

14/02/2011, 2:15 PM
Ok now am worried, just heard that the FAI have given Galway til Monday now for their appeal. While I wish them all the best, I also hope they only get a fd licence coz I cant take the heartbreak of losing out again in one season.

Monday would be five working days wouldn't it? Seems fair enough. As no new information can now be considered, supposedly, I'm not sure there's any grounds under the rules to overturn the decision or award only a First Division licence but the latter wouldn't really affect anyone else unduly, so I wouldn't rule it out,

14/02/2011, 2:21 PM
.... unless they can get the local council to build them a stadium :rolleyes: Seriously, don't the FAI own Hunky Dory Park ? Maybe explains why they rate it "Premier" standard.

United Park is grand. 2 entrances. Seats on both sides of ground. COvered terrace for away fans. Toilets/food all there. Whats the problem?

Strawberry
14/02/2011, 2:21 PM

My favourite away section in the country

hoopy
14/02/2011, 2:24 PM
United Park is grand. 2 entrances. Seats on both sides of ground. COvered terrace for away fans. Toilets/food all there. Whats the problem?

Is that what you call it;) I suppose it's different for clubs who fill it.

gilberto_eire
Usual fingerpointing going on over who is to blame for each clubs failings (oddly enoughly it's always with other clubs for some reason)

Galway didn't pay their players, Galway didn't deserve a license. End of story.

Any Galway fan giving out about the FAI can shut it after their lies held Dundalk back a few years ago as well

Congrats to Mons for their promotion

Applications were made to join a NEW league.

Let the last decade hate go, it's getting old.

Limerick just about scrapped a D1 license but you don't see anyone saying that was unfortunate(and that they shouldn't have got any)

WoodquayBoy
EVERY club has been given 5 days to appeal, not just United (and not sure if that means clubs can appeal against other clubs getting a licence, we could be here all month if that is the case!) But as previous poster said, it is all or nothing - Premier Licence or bust, is every sense

hoopy
14/02/2011, 2:26 PM
.... unless they can get the local council to build them a stadium :rolleyes:

I told you before, I'd much rather the FAI bought it and then sold it to us for a pound, just like Dalymount.

compo
14/02/2011, 2:30 PM
Bohs was never in doubt once the players were in agreement. Drogheda don't owe any players /clusb anything.

Presume Cork, Monaghan, Longford and Athlone gettinga premier licnse is a 'Pale' thing as well is it?

No, just good management.

White Horse
14/02/2011, 2:34 PM

Always enjoy my visits to United Park. I don't see what is wrong with the ground.

14/02/2011, 2:35 PM
Applications were made to join a NEW league.

Let the last decade hate go, it's getting old.

Limerick just about scrapped a D1 license but you don't see anyone saying that was unfortunate(and that they shouldn't have got any)

non-League fans thinking they can talk about LoI business :roll:

Always enjoy my visits to United Park. I don't see what is wrong with the ground.

Agreed (apart from the toilets, which are invariably disgusting).

I think the only argument about Drogheda's ground is that it clearly doesn't meet licencing, which other clubs have raised and spent (and been given for free) a lot of money in meeting. But as a ground, it's generally grand.

marinobohs
I told you before, I'd much rather the FAI bought it and then sold it to us for a pound, just like Dalymount.

wasn't that when you were lecturing us about owing money to Brian Shelley ? Guess your recall of history is somewhat selective :rolleyes:

At the time dalymount was virtually worthless but the value increased dramatically when we got rid of the crowd that were renting :o

marinobohs
14/02/2011, 2:38 PM
EVERY club has been given 5 days to appeal, not just United (and not sure if that means clubs can appeal against other clubs getting a licence, we could be here all month if that is the case!) But as previous poster said, it is all or nothing - Premier Licence or bust, is every sense

Are any club appealing ? and if so on what basis ? i would have thought that the facts were fairly clear - criteria is met of not. presumably saying that you will adhere to criteria next week/month/year is not a basis for appeal (or are the fudge pots acooking already ?)

14/02/2011, 2:42 PM
I don't see that Galway have a case for appeal tbh, with no new stuff allowed.

That said, the licencing committee fudged last season to give us an extra week to sort out the takeover and tax clearance etc with Tom Coughlan (although it didnt happen in time in the end).

If they'd done the same for Galway it sounds like they'd have gotten the licence. So they have a right to feel aggrieved, and may claim there's precedence for that.

compo
14/02/2011, 2:44 PM
Derry and Cork formed new clubs. If Galway had decided to do this they could have gotten a First Division licence too most likely.

Not in Cork's case. While the old company, Cork City FC Investments Ltd went into liquidation, the underage teams continued to operate. FORAS obtained a 1st Division licence and, while the underage teams, under liquidator's supervision/permission saw out their season, the LOI team was forced to adopt a temporary alteration to the operating name. Subsequently, FORAS obtained the assets of the old company from the liquidator, including the intellectual property, permitting us to once again operate under the correct name. The FAI have confirmed to us that they see us as the same club which entered the LOI in 1984.

14/02/2011, 2:47 PM
The committee may have had the discretion to do that, not sure how they have or did last year either, but the precedent isn't binding on them. The appeals almost never succeed

WoodquayBoy
14/02/2011, 2:50 PM
Re; Marinobohs - That was said with tongue in cheek, but there you go, a 'whoosh' moment.
Criteria was clearly not met, as the licence was not awarded. What we are hoping is that documentation to be provided this week confirms verbal commitments outlined in the original application, and therefore is not new evidence, but merely confirmation of what was said in application (in response to micls).

legendz
14/02/2011, 2:51 PM
I'm surprised Waterford United weren't granted a Premier licence, thought they'd have met the criteria. It's a pity at least 16 clubs didn't get the PD licence, it'd have strengthened the case for clubs looking for an expanded Premier.

MMVIII

United Park is class. Any man who complains about the state of a clubs toilet shouldn't be allowed near a football game.

Anyways, commiserations to the Galway fans. Couldn't imagine what it'd be like to play in the A championship. Who knows, it could be a blessing in disguise. Build the club from the ground up with the right people involved. Or am I a dreamer?

hoopy
wasn't that when you were lecturing us about owing money to Brian Shelley ? Guess your recall of history is somewhat selective :rolleyes:

At the time dalymount was virtually worthless but the value increased dramatically when we got rid of the crowd that were renting :o

You did owe money to Shelley didn't you, and you were handed Dalymount on a plate by the FAI(finally you admit it). As I'm right on both counts what's your point?

WoodquayBoy
14/02/2011, 2:56 PM
Not in Cork's case. While the old company, Cork City FC Investments Ltd went into liquidation, the underage teams continued to operate. FORAS obtained a 1st Division licence and, while the underage teams, under liquidator's supervision/permission saw out their season, the LOI team was forced to adopt a temporary alteration to the operating name. Subsequently, FORAS obtained the assets of the old company from the liquidator, including the intellectual property, permitting us to once again operate under the correct name. The FAI have confirmed to us that they see us as the same club which entered the LOI in 1984.
In their 2010 season guide, they have Cork City FORAS Co-op as being formed in 2010, with no history of previous games, honours etc. Maybe that confirms what you said, that bascially Cork City took annual leave, a new club was formed and took its place, and then bowed out when the new club bought the old one and folded the new one. Or something like that!

I think the only argument about Drogheda's ground is that it clearly doesn't meet licencing, which other clubs have raised and spent (and been given for free) a lot of money in meeting. But as a ground, it's generally grand.

But thats my point, how does it 'clearly' not meet licensing? Think it ticks all the boxes for supporters anyway

Re; Marinobohs - That was said with tongue in cheek, but there you go, a 'whoosh' moment.
Criteria was clearly not met, as the licence was not awarded. What we are hoping is that documentation to be provided this week confirms verbal commitments outlined in the original application, and therefore is not new evidence, but merely confirmation of what was said in application (in response to micls).
But if they were willing to consider that, surely they would have given ye a conditional licence, like Limerick while waiting for confirmation?

I'm surprised Waterford United weren't granted a Premier licence, thought they'd have met the criteria. It's a pity at least 16 clubs didn't get the PD licence, it'd have strengthened the case for clubs looking for an expanded Premier.

Henderson doesn't have the required coaching badges

14/02/2011, 2:59 PM
United Park is class. Any man who complains about the state of a clubs toilet shouldn't be allowed near a football game.

Anyways, commiserations to the Galway fans. Couldn't imagine what it'd be like to play in the A championship. Who knows, it could be a blessing in disguise. Build the club from the ground up with the right people involved. Or am I a dreamer?

You're not the only one......

14/02/2011, 3:03 PM
But thats my point, how does it 'clearly' not meet licensing? Think it ticks all the boxes for supporters anyway
1500 covered seats. (And I know we don't meet that either).

I've no problems with United Park, by the way, other than standing by that they could do with at least cleaning the **** off the jacks floor, fixing the light and maybe using a bit of air freshener once in a while. We want people to go to games, not pick up plague.

Edit - actually, sorry - forgot the FAI seated the terrace. That doesn't bring it up to 1500 though, does it?

MyTown
14/02/2011, 3:04 PM
As we were the first real beneficiaries of the Licencing criteria back in 2007 we have to take the rough with the smooth.

A few posters here are very much enjoying dancing on our graves. So naturally enough I'll be keeping a close eye out for their clubs results on and off the field.

The 'A' Championship is a non-runner (as an option for Galway United) in my view now that there are two "established" First Division teams in Galway

So after the 35 years or thereabouts it seems it's over-and-out for us. I'm very sad as the club was a big part of my life. The reality is that it never really commanded enough broad support in Galway and in recent years Connacht Rugby has mopped up the floating vote.

Thanks to the very few who did their level best to keep things going - often at great personal cost to themselves.

WindmillWarrior
14/02/2011, 3:07 PM
1500 covered seats. (And I know we don't meet that either).

I've no problems with United Park, by the way, other than standing by that they could do with at least cleaning the **** off the jacks floor, fixing the light and maybe using a bit of air freshener once in a while. We want people to go to games, not pick up plague.

Edit - actually, sorry - forgot the FAI seated the terrace. That doesn't bring it up to 1500 though, does it?

I think there are enough seats. There are 1,500 seats on the home terrace. And 350/400 in the main stand.
Doubt theres anything in the licencing criteria about **** on the floor :D

14/02/2011, 3:07 PM

Ah, it easily does when 2 stand combined

monsexile
14/02/2011, 3:09 PM
Coming to the creeping realisation that Galway will escape on appeal. The reasons for not getting a licence seem to be awfully temporary.

14/02/2011, 3:10 PM
I think there are enough seats. There are 1,500 seats on the home terrace. And 350/400 in the main stand.
Doubt theres anything in the licencing criteria about **** on the floor :D
So licencing will allow you rack up E4m of debt and leave people's **** all over the floor. Until these two vital additions are made to licencing, our league will never go forward. :D

Ah, it easily does when 2 stand combined
1500 seats in the terrace alone per the ever-reliable wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunky_Dorys_Park). So yeah, disregard.

WoodquayBoy
14/02/2011, 3:11 PM
But if they were willing to consider that, surely they would have given ye a conditional licence, like Limerick while waiting for confirmation?

That's what worries me. Anything I say or post is done with great hope, but if I stop and think about it, I'll turn into a blubbering wreck as it looks like my beloved club is gone.

14/02/2011, 3:16 PM
Coming to the creeping realisation that Galway will escape on appeal. The reasons for not getting a licence seem to be awfully temporary.
Doubt it. As micls pointed out they'd have issued a conditional licence if they could let it slide for a few days. They'll have warned Galway of what they had to have in and when by. The appeals are mostly pointless. We'll see though, wouldn't mind seeing them in the First if that were possible.

14/02/2011, 3:21 PM
That's what worries me. Anything I say or post is done with great hope, but if I stop and think about it, I'll turn into a blubbering wreck as it looks like my beloved club is gone.

I get it, I really do :)

Just don't give up. Even if it is the A championship, get GUST fully in charge, it's a year down there and then ye'l be ready for the first the year after. It's ye're club. Who cares if there are other clubs in Galway, ye can ensure ye're one is still around in 5/10 or 50 years time.

WoodquayBoy
14/02/2011, 3:28 PM
I get it, I really do :)

Just don't give up. Even if it is the A championship, get GUST fully in charge, it's a year down there and then ye'l be ready for the first the year after. It's ye're club. Who cares if there are other clubs in Galway, ye can ensure ye're one is still around in 5/10 or 50 years time.
Cheers. Yeah, that has to be the focus now (or at least when the decision appeal is announced). That said, it was hard enough fighting certain vested interests within the local scene in Galway when we were in the top flight, it will be very difficult to do so when 2 clubs are ahead of us in the pecking order. Look at Cobh - went from First Division to A Championship, and while there are clearly great people working with the club, it is about the players putting the club back where it belongs. I saw their play-off leg against Salthill Devon in Drom and they were miles off a woeful Devon team, and that is the fate I fear - we'd end up with a soocial club for the die-hards. Still, baby steps and all that. Serves us right for appointing a man convicted of an astonishing piece of financial fraud in charge of the club, as we now lie in the bed he made for us.

geezer
14/02/2011, 3:40 PM
It feels like St Valentines day massacre....

Mario
14/02/2011, 4:04 PM
And Bohs did not drag anything through the gutter two former players initiated legal action not the club (never let the facts get in the way of a good moan).

Bohs draged the league through the gutter by generating acres of negative publicity for themselves and the league by not honouring the legal playing contracts they had with their players!

These players were left for months on end with no wages including over the christmas period, then had to go down the legal route before being paid off and laid off.

Aren't there strict employment law regulations around laying staff off and then hiring replacement staff later on lower wages to ensure people are not messed around with by employers?

Hhhhmmmm, I am surprised to see so many new signings coming on board so quickly at Bohs following the recent lay offs or is the football industry exempt from these rules?!

14/02/2011, 4:07 PM
lol ^^

14/02/2011, 4:08 PM
Aren't there strict employment law regulations around laying staff off and then hiring replacement staff later on lower wages to ensure people are not messed around with by employers?
The players weren't laid off. That's why the players could hold on for (in theory) their full contract. The nature of working as a footballer means you can't be made redundant.

bluemovie
14/02/2011, 4:08 PM
And out of the 5 largest cities in Ireland, only one will have any representation in the top flight.

Derry not one of the 5?

Cough.

But they're in the United Kingd.....oh now I see!

14/02/2011, 4:15 PM
Hope Galway get sorted. Always the 1st away fixture I look for since I started college down there. Be waste to have such a good ground not used in Premier.

14/02/2011, 4:20 PM
I see Limerick's condition is that they have to provide security for their budget by Thursday. Presumably in the form of a guarantee.

Sounds like a bit of horseplay from worried John and his merry band of lackies to be honest.

If we get kicked out of the League on some nonsense considering how well ran the club is I'll actually be able to walk away and not really give a toss, amazed how non annoyed I am by the whole thing.

With regards to all the other nonsense surely the sensible thing (i know, i know, bear with me) to do would be to bump monaghan up to the premier with drogheda (lol btw) and have galway and cobh take their places in the first.

Terry-Lander
14/02/2011, 4:24 PM
After 30+ years of ups and downs with this club today is the lowest ever.
Thanks to those who are not celebrating our aparent demise.
Gutted beyond words

bluemovie
I'm surprised Waterford United weren't granted a Premier licence, thought they'd have met the criteria.

Henderson doesn't have the required coaching badges

Yeah that's part of it. Supposedly cos our referee's facilities aren't big enough (I think you need separate ones for female refs/assisatnts) and we don't have a separate first aid room as far as I know. Wasn't a problem before - we always got a Premier licence - so not sure if it's true. We have 3000 covered seats because the FAI wanted that, we have a second entrance because they wanted that, we have a kids academy and are setting up a ladies team because they wanted that. It wouldn't have made a difference to which division we were in, but I'm still surprised as to where the priorities lie. Could we have presented them with a plan for a bigger refs room to fob the FAI off?

I have to say I was shocked about Galway and surprised about others. I thought they'd be ok. I was just expecting it to be between Mons and Drogs for the last spot. From any outsider's view it really is crazy. For various reasons the teams who came 4th and 8th in the top flight won't be in the league at all next year, but the 9th and 10th premier teams will be in the top flight as well as 1st and 3rd in the first division. The teams who came 2nd and 4th in the first stay in the first, but the team who came 5th mightn't be in the league at all and we don't know how many teams will be in the first division or how many times they'll play each other. Luckily they published the fixtures in December!!! Y'know the thing that happens from March to November where we play loads of games - does that really have any bearing on what happens?

Flexy
Is the reason not obvious?

Galway owe money to three players.Bohs owe money to none.Simple really!
How can BOHS say they dont owe Money to anyone. You needed the FAI to BAIL you out, yous didnt pay your players, yous couldnt honour your players contracts. Your financial state is a joke. THe FAI are a joke, the LEAGUE is a joke. Cork werent bailed out, Derry werent bailed out, Shels werent, Shamrock Rovers werent, and you still get a licence. Feel sorry for Galway fans and rest of the clubs in the league.

14/02/2011, 4:27 PM
Galway confirm appeal: http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4936/

14/02/2011, 4:29 PM
How can BOHS say they dont owe Money to anyone. You needed the FAI to BAIL you out, yous didnt pay your players, yous couldnt honour your players contracts. Your financial state is a joke. THe FAI are a joke, the LEAGUE is a joke. Cork werent bailed out, Derry werent bailed out, Shels werent, Shamrock Rovers werent, and you still get a licence. Feel sorry for Galway fans and rest of the clubs in the league.

hmmm, you'd want to read his post again there Flexy and see if you get it at the second time of reading. You also might provide a bit of proof that the FAI bailed Bohs out while youre at it as it goes against all media reports and releases. And also chill out. Theres a good lad.

14/02/2011, 4:30 PM
Galway confirm appeal: http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4936/

seems pretty cut and dry from this

'Nevertheless, the FAI have also confirmed to ExtraTime.ie that no new material may be submitted in the appeal. If that is the case, then it looks unlikely that Galway will be in the Premier Division next year.'

I mean if you say now that they didn't deserve to fail, than why fail them in the first place?