View Full Version : Licences 2011
Pages :
[
4]
14/02/2011, 11:27 AM
And out of the 5 largest cities in Ireland, only one will have any representation in the top flight.
Derry not one of the 5?
legendz
14/02/2011, 11:28 AM
Why award A licenses when this league is to be brought to an end? Good luck to the Mon's if they are invited to the Premier.
btid1
14/02/2011, 11:28 AM
But I am still shocked that Bohs and Drogs got a premier license, both should have been banished to the first division at least. Jokeshop!
Why?
Do Bohs owe any players money?
No.
Do Bohs meet the criteria set down for a premier license?
Yes.
14/02/2011, 11:30 AM
And out of the 5 largest cities in Ireland, only one will have any representation in the top flight.
Cough.
14/02/2011, 11:33 AM
No Belfast (http://goireland.about.com/od/preparingyourtrip/qt/towns20large.htm) team either. Shocking. Delaney out!
Fr Damo
14/02/2011, 11:36 AM
These FAI licences don't seem to be worth the paper they are on so what's the biggy??
As someone said earlier it all very well have a prem licence, it doen't mean will be invited into the premier division! On the flip side i guess if you don't have a Premier licence you na chance of playin in the 10 team top tier, so therefore my symapthies to all in Galway.
14/02/2011, 11:40 AM
Why award A licenses when this league is to be brought to an end? Good luck to the Mon's if they are invited to the Premier.
Presumably its a step towards a first division next year. Can't see why Fanad would oin for one year otherwise. I@m sure harps are delighted with that news...
14/02/2011, 11:41 AM
Dont think anyone saw this coming? It's mad. Drogheda in FD and Galway and Mons in PD would have been my preference travelwise but I'll take a trip to Monaghan in place of a trip to Galway. Cannot wait. Feel sorry for the Galway fans though, although fair play to Connor, best thing of his career.
New club in a championship...Fanad Utd from Donegal.
Edit: No mention of Tullamore and we all know castlebar have pulled out.
Yep Tullamore Town didn't apply for the A Championship this year. Sticking to LSL
carrickharp
14/02/2011, 11:44 AM
Presumably its a step towards a first division next year. Can't see why Fanad would oin for one year otherwise. I@m sure harps are delighted with that news...
Over the moon!!
Why award A licenses when this league is to be brought to an end?It's still there this year.
JC_GUFC
half the country. Northern section
Ah fu**'s sake - and with Castlebar pulling out it's evern worse... :mad:
Until the appeal is dealt with I'll hold back on saying what I really think about this decision...
Strawberry
14/02/2011, 11:46 AM
Lolway United
14/02/2011, 11:48 AM
absolutely gutted !!!!!! :(
Presume Cork, Monaghan, Longford and Athlone gettinga premier licnse is a 'Pale' thing as well is it?
With the amount of Dubs that went through our books in the last 2 seasons they might have thought we were inside the Pale ;)
passerrby
14/02/2011, 11:56 AM
I will not sit here and have the names of them fine people in licensing besmirched they are doing a fantasic job in fact everybody in the fai are a credit to the association.
blue til i die
14/02/2011, 12:07 PM
So the fixtures are out and now the licences are out, yet still teams dont know who they'll be playing :D Seems pointless getting the fixtures out before the licences :confused:
14/02/2011, 12:11 PM
"It's a faaarce" as a wise man once said. Nobody in the First is sure how many games we'll have either by the looks of things.
Mario
14/02/2011, 12:12 PM
Why?
Do Bohs owe any players money?
No.
Do Bohs meet the criteria set down for a premier license?
Yes.
Then the criteria are lacking!
Bohs have dragged the name of the league through the dirt and back again over recent months. And it will probably happen again when another winding up order comes in and / or when Zurich want their millions back.
Their should be a bringing the league into disrepute clause that the FAI can use to refuse teams such as Bohs premier license based on their behaviour over the previous 12 months. That should be part of the licensing criteria.
They do not deserve to be in the premier division!
14/02/2011, 12:13 PM
We will be home to St Pats first and away to Dundalk next apparently.....:D cant stop grinning!!!
14/02/2011, 12:14 PM
God I love this league. Barstoolers just don't know what they're missing.
legendz
14/02/2011, 12:15 PM
Is there a link to the list of licenses given out?
14/02/2011, 12:17 PM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4931/
14/02/2011, 12:18 PM
Is there a link to the list of licenses given out?
Yeah, there's a picture here. (http://www.fishing4fun.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/lucky-dip_lightbox.jpg)
Doomofman
14/02/2011, 12:19 PM
We will be home to St Pats first and away to Dundalk next apparently.....:D cant stop grinning!!!
Looking forward to the trip up actually.. Hope that KFC is still open :P
Spudulika
14/02/2011, 12:20 PM
What are the odds on a reshuffled pack and 14 team Premier? :-) It would make sense. At this stage, would anyone be surprised?
14/02/2011, 12:24 PM
God I love this league. Barstoolers just don't know what they're missing.
And if they did know what they were missing, they'd stay rooted to the barstool.
Seems Drogs are the new Fingal. I have my wish.
Dan6189
14/02/2011, 12:26 PM
With the greatest respect to Galway fans: Monaghan have a bar in their ground :cool:
Brililiant, nice to see priority being given to the important things ha
monsexile
14/02/2011, 12:28 PM
Latest on Galway situation in second par here
http://monaghanunited.tv/?p=314
Surely they cannot simply conjure up a new tax clearance certificate in five days?
legendz
14/02/2011, 12:34 PM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4931/
Thank you!
Get in there Tralee. While some clubs are pulling out, Dynamos are showing a continued commitment in taking part in the A Championship. Hopefully this perseverance will pay off in the long-term. Fair play to FC Carlow as well.
eamo1
14/02/2011, 12:34 PM
Derry got punished for dual contracts to players by being sent down a division.
Cork also relegated for the antics of their Chairman(cant remember his name) at the time.
Bohs have outstanding debts of 4 million and stay up.
Galway Utd had debts to staff of Circa 10k, which btw i thought an agreement had been reached last week to pay them back, and they get flung down 2 division's????
CSFShels
14/02/2011, 12:36 PM
I think the most bizarre thing of all is that any announcement has given no reference to the fact that this has decreased the size of 1 division and meant a fixture reshuffle (possibly a complete 1 for the First Division) will be required.
14/02/2011, 12:38 PM
I will not sit here and have the names of them fine people in licensing besmirched they are doing a fantasic job in fact everybody in the fai are a credit to the association.
UCD are still an implosion or two away from Europe, so I say Delaney out! :)
CSFShels
14/02/2011, 12:38 PM
Cork also relegated for the antics of their Chairman(cant remember his name) at the time.
Galway Utd had debts to staff of Circa 10k, which btw i thought an agreement had been reached last week to pay them back, and they get flung down 2 division's????
Derry and Cork formed new clubs. If Galway had decided to do this they could have gotten a First Division licence too most likely.
OneForTheFuture
14/02/2011, 12:41 PM
And you don't think thats fair, do you?
14/02/2011, 12:45 PM
HOw many times lads? There's a HUGE difference between debts to creditors and 'football debts' to players and other clubs.
As long as their are payment plans in place, there's nothign wring with debt.
geezer
14/02/2011, 12:49 PM
Licencing committee would have no option in Galways case, They went by the book to be fair. We will file an appeal, Hopefully have "official" confirmation of a tax clearance cert not some email correspondence. Deals with players were also struck late for the independent committee.
there are 2 outstanding issues today as far as we know
1. Tax cert
2. Money due to former employee circa €1700 (not player or manager)
Spudulika
14/02/2011, 12:49 PM
HOw many times lads? There's a HUGE difference between debts to creditors and 'football debts' to players and other clubs.
As long as their are payment plans in place, there's nothign wring with debt.
How much are you into Harvey Normans for then?
peadar1987
14/02/2011, 12:51 PM
Cough.
Oops! 2 out of six then!
We had an Agreement with the revenue on Thursday(a large 5 figure payment made in jan) but the decision maker was not available to sign the Agreement on friday that has been rectified today.One of the creditors sent an email confirming his agreement subject to our cheque clearing which takes 3 day and the other creditor had to discuss the matter with his solicitor and only could give us verbal agreement.
The total owed is less than €16k.The trust are only a fortnight into running the club and have worked their butts off to sort out the mess left by he who cant be named.
14/02/2011, 1:18 PM
Looking forward to the trip up actually.. Hope that KFC is still open :P
Sure is! But save room for the Mondogs! :D
gufc2000
14/02/2011, 1:19 PM
Still hasn't sunk in for me yet, all along it seemed like we'd scrape over the line and a new era commence. The whole thing is just one big mess. How Delaney can save Drogheda and put them in the Premier after all thats gone on is a joke. Bohs the same way. Derry and Cork last year were just relegated one division, and Derry are back already.
We're paying for the mistakes of 2007 and 2008, the Board and management got too ambitious, and followed the trend of other LOI clubs by trying to buy success. The worst thing about it all is that we won nothing, and had 2 relegation battles. At least those before us had some great memories to look back on.
Don't know where this leaves the playing side of things. Connor will surely leave, not that I'd blame him.
Their should be a bringing the league into disrepute clause that the FAI can use to refuse teams such as Bohs premier license based on their behaviour over the previous 12 months.
If this were the criteria we wouldn't have a league!
Oh Bohs were bold and therefore do not deserve a licence!!
Grow up FFS.
Bohs do not have any outstanding operational/football debts and therefore qualify for a license.Galway do and therefore don't qualify.End of!
its all temporary of course, Bohs problems are far, far deeper than this licensing committee looks at. Still a long road ahead of them before they're safe
And nutsy paying 2 keepers isn't a good sign that he's wised up either
14/02/2011, 1:47 PM
Sounds like ye just ran out of time. It's unfortunate but they're very strict on having it all done by the time of the meeting. Having said that, dropping out altogether is a harsh price to pay. A First Division Licence would have been fairer but under the rules it's all or nothing.
We had an Agreement with the revenue on Thursday(a large 5 figure payment made in jan) but the decision maker was not available to sign the Agreement on friday that has been rectified today.One of the creditors sent an email confirming his agreement subject to our cheque clearing which takes 3 day and the other creditor had to discuss the matter with his solicitor and only could give us verbal agreement.
The total owed is less than €16k.The trust are only a fortnight into running the club and have worked their butts off to sort out the mess left by he who cant be named.
marinobohs
14/02/2011, 1:48 PM
Then the criteria are lacking!
Bohs have dragged the name of the league through the dirt and back again over recent months. And it will probably happen again when another winding up order comes in and / or when Zurich want their millions back.
Their should be a bringing the league into disrepute clause that the FAI can use to refuse teams such as Bohs premier license based on their behaviour over the previous 12 months. That should be part of the licensing criteria.
They do not deserve to be in the premier division!
Yes, indeed there should be a "some on FOOT.IE don't like them so they shouldn't get a licence" clause. And Bohs did not drag anything through the gutter two former players initiated legal action not the club (never let the facts get in the way of a good moan).
Best of luck to Galway if they decide to appeal, don't think anyone saw that (rather draconian) decision coming. i presume licencing committee explain rationale to clubs so unless there was different treatment for clubs (in application of rules not silly soundbite) then difficult to argue with the outcome. if, as suggested here, Galways problems are days from resolution it is fair to ask why this was not expidited as deadline was known.
Yeah- the criteria for D1 and premier are in many cases the same (and rightly so). So it seems to me like Galway will either win and stay in the premier or lose and end up in the A Championship. Maybe they'll be fudged into D1, but that wouldn't really make any sense.
Which is all pretty hard on Monaghan, who are now in limbo...
gutted for Galway. Best of luck in your appeal. That club has such potential.
Delighted for Monaghan all the same. Good club and good people like MagicMe. Deserve your chance at the premier if you get it.
Also delighted that Shams put their problems behind them and secured a Premier license again this year. I look forward to our continued rivalry.
El-Pietro
14/02/2011, 1:59 PM
overrated
edit: the mondogs I mean
Usual fingerpointing going on over who is to blame for each clubs failings (oddly enoughly it's always with other clubs for some reason)
Galway didn't pay their players, Galway didn't deserve a license. End of story.
Any Galway fan giving out about the FAI can shut it after their lies held Dundalk back a few years ago as well
Congrats to Mons for their promotion