View Full Version : Conor Sammon F Alloa Athletic b.1986

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

01/02/2011, 12:52 AM
I can't say I have spent a lot of time watching him, but it dose seem pretty bizarre. It's not as if his form at Kilmarnock was hugely noteworthy. In fact, according to Wikipedia he has only scored 33 goals in his entire senior career (over 6 years), and about half of them were in the LOI (mostly for UCD). It's not like he's just a kid either. I can only assume there is a lot more to his game than goals, but it's pretty rare for a striker to get plucked from obscurity like this unless they score a barrel load.

Anyway despite my disbelief I also wish him well!
It's actually 50 - the more detailed table seems to have been kept more up to date.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conor_Sammon#Career_statistics

Sammon was never a huge goalscorer in the LOI, although part of that was because he was a member of a UCD team that created few chances and a disastrous Derry side. He took his time to start scoring at Kilmarnock but clearly he's got the knack now.

CraftyToePoke
01/02/2011, 1:14 AM
However, the flip side is it makes his record before the start of this season look incredibly bad! It seems he scored only 1 league goal in each of his first 2 SPL seasons, on the back of just 3 in his last LOI season.!

There is an interview earlier on this thread with his manager in Scotland about the service he has had this season, and the lack of it prior to that. Maybe something to do with the goals arriving this year.

01/02/2011, 7:46 AM
Delighted for the lad. Only seen him play a couple of times for UCD and to be honest he didn't look anything out of the ordinary. Certainly not a player destined for the Premiership. However I hope he goes on to become a regular and a full international. Don't know if he has represented Ireland at any level.

01/02/2011, 8:23 AM
If I remember rightly, Kevin Doyle hadnt a significant number of goals to his name for Cork City either before he moved to Reading.

01/02/2011, 8:52 AM
I thought he had around 20.

Maybe martinez knows more than we do he seems fairly cute in the transfer market.

Played u21 i think

01/02/2011, 12:22 PM
Doyle had something like 20 in half a season with Cork before moving to Reading?

Sammo's played 21s and 23s (that silly LoI team).

I don't think he'll make much of an impact for Wigan this season. But the way he improved at Killie is I think - as mentioned before - down to his work rate and attitude. Wouldn't be surprised to see something like Wigan relegated and Sammo starting to knock them in in Division One for them.

In the meantime, just looking forward to what I think is only the fourth player to play for UCD and to play in the English top flight. :)

Ceirtlis
01/02/2011, 12:25 PM
If I remember rightly, Kevin Doyle hadnt a significant number of goals to his name for Cork City either before he moved to Reading.

He spent alot of time playing on the wing for Cork. The season he left he had scored a fair few while playing up front.

Mixed feelings about Sammon going to the Prem to be honest. Hopefully he gets games but he might have had more playing time at Derby.

01/02/2011, 12:32 PM
Doyle had something like 20 in half a season with Cork before moving to Reading?

Didn't I answer that already :p

01/02/2011, 3:08 PM
Daniel McDonnell: "Good addition to Conor Sammon story in today's Sun...Nigel Clough and a doctor turned up uninvited at Wigan's stadium to try and hijack move."

http://twitter.com/#!/McDonnellDan/status/32445505250263040

01/02/2011, 3:28 PM
Didn't I answer that already :p
I added in the "in half a season" bit. Not sure if it's right though.

The Sun reporting that the deal was E700k with up to E500k in add-ons (presumably caps, staying up, etc)

01/02/2011, 3:40 PM
Interview with him on Wigan's site: http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10429~2281784,00.html
According to the preview on skysports.com, he can't play tonight: http://www.skysports.com/football/match_preview/0,19764,11065_3284263,00.html

For Wigan, new signing Conor Sammon can not play against the Baggies after the Kilmarnock striker's arrival on transfer deadline day came too late to see him feature in the squad.

02/02/2011, 9:29 AM
someone needs to have a word with the webmaster on fai.ie: http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101519:busy-january-transfer-window-for-irish&catid=1:senior-men&Itemid=8

Former UCD and Derry City striker Conor Sammon completed a transfer to Derby County from SPL side Kilmarnock.

Sammon's prolific run of 18 goals in 27 matches for Killie made him a transfer target for a number of clubs and he settled on a move to the English Championship club.

So. Much. Fail.

02/02/2011, 12:45 PM
That's what happens when you put John Delaney in charge of a website.

02/02/2011, 2:20 PM
Jaysus. At least Errortel usually corrects its mistakes within half a day or so. Well done to the FAI for achieving the impossible - lowering the bar for Irish soccer news sites.

02/02/2011, 2:26 PM
Still not available to buy in fantasy football. Want to sell Anelka and buy Sammon. Not happy... :mad:

SwanVsDalton
02/02/2011, 2:28 PM
Still not available to buy in fantasy football. Want to sell Anelka and buy Sammon. Not happy... :mad:

Have to wait till Saturday to unleash my triple threat of Torres, Van Persie and Sammon.

irishfan86
02/02/2011, 6:24 PM

Derby aren't in the Premier League so...

04/02/2011, 9:11 AM
He's in now, priced at E5m. :D So out goes the injured Andy Carroll, in comes Sammo.

04/02/2011, 9:28 AM
Robbie Keane's 4.8m, a better purchase IMO
mind you, I'm having my worst ever season in Fantasy Football, so probably best not to take my advice

04/02/2011, 9:33 AM
Sammo's worth more than Robbie Keane?!

Love it.

Colbert Report
05/02/2011, 5:07 PM
We should start a thread on fantasy football. I swapped Odemwingie out for Saha last night and made him my captain. 42 points from Saha today! Very pleased with myself. I also have Robert Huth.

05/03/2011, 3:54 PM
Sammon on the bench today VS Man City, it's on ESPN

Sullivinho
05/03/2011, 4:48 PM
Sammon on the bench today VS Man City, it's on ESPN

Freeview weekend too. Nice.

05/03/2011, 5:23 PM
Is that just a one off thing?

Sullivinho
05/03/2011, 5:35 PM
Fairly rare I'd say, but they've done it before alright.

05/03/2011, 5:41 PM
Do wigan have the most gingers in the PL? Ginger warfare.

Yard of Pace
05/03/2011, 6:16 PM
Here comes the fish!

IsMiseSean
05/03/2011, 6:36 PM
Created a great chance at the end, unlucky not to finish it!

DannyInvincible
05/03/2011, 6:38 PM
Came on after 83 minutes and showed a few good touches for the brief time he was involved. Was played through in stoppage time but missed by a lick of paint shooting across goal. In fairness, he had a defender close to his side and it was from a fairly tight angle with Hart at the near post.

05/03/2011, 7:39 PM
i only saw a few runs, but for a big lad, he doesn't look lanky, and he has pace and strength. for a guy his size thats a great thing to have.

AlaskaFox
15/03/2011, 8:36 AM
Sammon eager to build on impressive Wigan debut (http://www.tribalfootball.com/articles/sammon-eager-build-impressive-wigan-debut-1507121)

tommy_c12000
21/03/2011, 3:44 PM
http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10429~2321078,00.html

02/04/2011, 3:26 PM
About to come on against Spurs with 25 minutes to go. 0-0 and Wigan have been the better side.

02/04/2011, 3:28 PM
hows mccarthy doing?

02/04/2011, 3:36 PM
Doing his usual steady job. Had one hairy moment when he was caught in the edge of possession on the edge of his own box but otherwise solid. Lennon's come on for Spurs and now Wigan are hanging on.

Noelys Guitar
02/04/2011, 3:49 PM
Should have scored there. Gets into some great scoring positions.

02/04/2011, 3:54 PM
McCarthy and Sammon just linked up beautifully but Di Santo didn't anticipate the cross. Could've been the goal.

Noelys Guitar
02/04/2011, 3:56 PM
McCarthy and Sammon just linked up beautifully but Di Santo didn't anticipate the cross. Could've been the goal.

That would have been a great goal. Sammon looks right at home in the Premiership.

03/04/2011, 3:34 PM
He does, doesn't he? MOTD commentator says he should have scored, but he hit the shot, hard, crisp and low, maybe a bit too straight. Gomez made a comfortable save but it wasn't a bad effort. Good low cross a few minutes later. Fair play to him.

Teleghraph this morning described McCarthy as "increasingly impressive" or something like that.

03/04/2011, 3:46 PM
He overhit his first touch a fraction and was stretching when he hit the shot. Looking back on Di Santo's chance, I think if he'd got his foot around it a touch more it was a certain goal. Unlucky.

Lenny82
03/04/2011, 5:46 PM
With Wigan looking more and more likely to be relegated, I can't help but feel that this would be good for Sammon. A big club like Wigan would be sure to return to the Premiership while at the same time, gives Sammon a great chance of starting regularly and McCarthy would be snapped up by top Premier League club!

03/04/2011, 6:10 PM
I don't agree about Wigan being a big club. They're the smallest side in the Premier League next to Blackpool and seem to go into every season (barring Bruce's last season) with a "relegate me" sign on their chests. Like Reading and Watford, they've been punching above their weight for a long time and I think relegation would more or less do for them. They have a lot of ambitious young players who won't want to play in the Championship, and I believe a large number of first-team players are out of contract this year.

The one thing they do have is (despite his meddling in McCarthy's international career) is arguably the best young manager in the league who hasn't really got the credit for what he's done. I think Ollie is a shoe-in for manager of the year if Blackpool survive but Martinez's achievement has to be up there. Inherited a squad that was struggling and had to immediately offload the higher earners/biggest players. He's made some amazing signings for practically no money and hasn't complained about it once. I think the league would be worse off without them.

I think the ideal scenario for Sammon is that Wigan stay up and are forced to sell Rodallega. That'd leave him, Moses and Di Santo scrapping it out for two places and I'd fancy him to ease out Di Santo easily.

03/04/2011, 10:32 PM
I am just waiting to read, "and Conner leapt like a salmon to head home the winner".

AlaskaFox
04/04/2011, 10:35 AM
I am just waiting to read, "and Conner leapt like a salmon to head home the winner".

Take that kind of stuff to ybig's fish pun thread.

TrapAPony
08/04/2011, 3:43 PM
Wigan's fishy striker Conor Sammon needs to start finding the net

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/apr/08/wigan-relegation-conor-sammon-roberto-martinez

TiocfaidhArmani
08/04/2011, 4:10 PM
Wigan's fishy striker Conor Sammon needs to start finding the net

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/apr/08/wigan-relegation-conor-sammon-roberto-martinez

Would help if he was getting a start, he's not had one!

08/04/2011, 4:13 PM
I think "squandered" is a bit harsh. If you want to see squandering, watch Nicklas Bendtner.

16/04/2011, 12:53 PM
Sammon included in the Scottish PFA team of 2011: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11781_6873452,00.html

theworm2345
15/05/2011, 4:06 PM
Sammon on at half time for Wigan, great chance to get his first PL goal or even make himself a Wigan hero.

theworm2345
15/05/2011, 4:27 PM
Scores, great touch and a wonderful finish. Couldn't quite tell but it looked like he made a clover with his hands during his celebration.