View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

passandmove
30/01/2011, 3:43 PM
It said on the radio that croom won 2 1

booster 03
30/01/2011, 4:27 PM
It said on the radio that croom won 2 1

Ya, 2-1 to Croom, we werent at the races at all, Croom, like last week were the better side, they went one up in the second half and we equalised bout ten mins to go, game got really stretched and we had a chance to go 2-1 up, Croom went up and got a winner with a minute to go, well deserved winner I might add.

kingofkillteely
30/01/2011, 5:06 PM
Caherdavin 4-2 Granville

Goals: P.Coffey, J.Benn(pen).
P.Coffey sent off.
Ref a disgrace for both teams. (J.Carey)
My man of the match for us: Neil Mc Gourty.

Every week somebody complains about this ref. He will cause a serious injury to a player one day unless the LDMC do something about him. I know only too well where your coming from Zizou (Pike B).

Goals4fun
30/01/2011, 7:30 PM
Every week somebody complains about this ref. He will cause a serious injury to a player one day unless the LDMC do something about him. I know only too well where your coming from Zizou (Pike B).

Lads, i am all for asking for better standard of reffing but can someone tell me the last time a ref 'caused a serious injury'...................if players are putting dangerous tackles in then they have to look at themselves and the clubs have to do the same.

kingofkillteely
30/01/2011, 10:12 PM
Exactly.

WizardOnTheWing
31/01/2011, 11:07 AM
There seems to be alot of talk around town that Wembley are making things diffucult for Bobby Gregg to get a tranfer, i just want to confirm that Wembley havent heard a thing from Bobby since November, we dont know if he wants a tranfer or just taking a break from the game. Im sure if he wanted a tranfer there would be no hassle with that, we would like him to be playing with us but if he would like to play elsewhere that wouldnt be a problem. At the end of the day its only Junior soccer and he can play anywhere he wants, its up to the player himself..

passandmove
31/01/2011, 5:39 PM
Lets just focus on the football wizardonthewing,enough rubbish was written about wembley on the previous 1a forum which resulted in it being closed down,big game sunday away to the runaway leaders summerville,a draw would be a good result for us.

abbeyvale
02/02/2011, 9:44 PM
Transfers news :

frank walsh :from parkville to balla b
damien conway :from balla a to balla b
spud : from balla a to balla b

Why???

lfc at heart
02/02/2011, 10:56 PM
Why???

from what I hear Balla B team were struggling, and they can still play for the A team as well, sure no harm, most teams are doing stuff like that and to be honest most teams outside of the premier division are struggling to field teams every week as well,

gaidin
03/02/2011, 8:37 AM
Why???

Because they wanted too?

Dont think they were getting much of a run out with the A team. They can go back up to A team for games when the B team arent playing.

allab
03/02/2011, 8:47 AM
Why???
not been regulars with the a team bud, they are going to be with the a team for the munster and fai but with the a team trying to bring in the minors too they said they'd drop down to play week in week out

Monster
04/02/2011, 12:06 AM
Can they play in the cup??

sorelooser
05/02/2011, 4:19 PM
Wouldn't it be great if common sense was used and fixtures on the bad pitches called off now

onetrickpony
05/02/2011, 6:54 PM
what time and where are wembley playing in morn. would ye think it'll go ahead

blueboy2
05/02/2011, 6:54 PM
Granville and Prospect is off

WizardOnTheWing
05/02/2011, 7:26 PM
Wembley are down to play Summerville at 11 in Portland sunday morning..I heard Portland was unplayable today at 12 so i doubt it will be played....

05/02/2011, 8:37 PM
Granville and Prospect is off

How did they manage that. For some reason they do not want our game to be called off till tomorrow.

onetrickpony
05/02/2011, 9:31 PM
cheers lad. ldmc need to start calling games off night before not fair on lads. In clare all games cancelled today at 4

allab
06/02/2011, 12:08 PM
balla 2 charleville 1

abbeyvale
06/02/2011, 1:18 PM
balla 2 charleville 1

What was the Balla line up bud? and who scored?

lankyboy26
06/02/2011, 1:37 PM
Ballynanty 2 Charleville 1

Balla went ahead after 5 minutes with an excellent header from their striker. We dominated the whole first half from then on but couldn't score, hit the cross-bar with a header and missed 2 one-on-ones. 2nd half we equalized when our centre-half went up for a free kick and was left unmarked to score. We should've pushed on and won the game comfortably as we had most of the possession. Gave the ball away in midfield then and got caught on the break, good strike by Balla midfielder for the winner. We need to start taking our chances or there'll be many more days like today (playing well and losing)

candystripes
06/02/2011, 4:05 PM
Ballynanty 2 Charleville 1

Balla went ahead after 5 minutes with an excellent header from their striker. We dominated the whole first half from then on but couldn't score, hit the cross-bar with a header and missed 2 one-on-ones. 2nd half we equalized when our centre-half went up for a free kick and was left unmarked to score. We should've pushed on and won the game comfortably as we had most of the possession. Gave the ball away in midfield then and got caught on the break, good strike by Balla midfielder for the winner. We need to start taking our chances or there'll be many more days like today (playing well and losing)

you must have been watching a different game than me pal because balla b dominated most of the first except the last 10 mins. plus charleville keeper should have been sent off in the first half, which would have changed the game.
charleville did dominate most of the second half thou. but balla missed 2 or 3 great chances and battled well in the second half. draw probably would have been a fair result but its about time we got a bit of luck and a well needed 3 points

lankyboy26
06/02/2011, 4:14 PM
you must have been watching a different game than me pal because balla b dominated most of the first except the last 10 mins. plus charleville keeper should have been sent off in the first half, which would have changed the game.
charleville did dominate most of the second half thou. but balla missed 2 or 3 great chances and battled well in the second half. draw probably would have been a fair result but its about time we got a bit of luck and a well needed 3 points

I wasn't watching actually, I was playing! No way should our keeper have been sent off, we had a defender there and he would've cleared it. A definite yellow though. Yere a lot better than the first time we played ye. Yere A players made a big difference. I don't remember ye having any chances to be honest, but the 2 chances ye did have ye scored, whereas we didn't take our chances. story of our season. Pitch was in great nick in fairness. even though we lost it was an enjoyable game to play in, no bad tackles or anything

allab
06/02/2011, 5:17 PM
What was the Balla line up bud? and who scored?
ken meehan in goals(normally centre back) kerley,ryan,whelan,ryan back 4.. conway,power,spud,lee in midfield, walsh and sheehan up front..subs used were o connell,wallace and griffin, frank walsh got the first and mark griffin got the winner,

abbeyvale
07/02/2011, 9:18 AM
O'Neill's Div 1A P W D L F A Pts
Summerville Rvs 15 12 1 2 35 11 37
Wembley Rvs 13 10 2 1 35 12 32
Croom Utd 15 9 1 5 32 21 28
Fairview Rgs B 17 8 3 6 33 29 27
Charleville 15 8 1 6 27 20 25
Granville Rgs 14 8 0 6 28 20 24
Shannon Hibs 15 7 1 7 23 19 22
Caherdavin Celtic 16 6 3 7 27 32 21
Geraldines 13 6 1 6 23 14 19
Ballynanty Rvs 15 4 2 9 15 35 14
Prospect Priory 14 3 4 7 22 33 13
Janesboro B 22 1 1 20 6 56 4

Sun 13/02/11
Wembley Rvs v Croom Utd, 11.00, R Broe
Prospect Priory v Ballynanty Rvs, 11.00, K Gorman

passandmove
07/02/2011, 3:02 PM
What a joke the LDMC are,summerville lads told us that they rang on saturday morning to say the pitch was completly waterlogged,they rang again saturday evening only to be told on both occasions that the referee had to call the game off,so sunday morning both sets of players and managers turn up and wait around in the freezing cold knowing full well that their would be no game,referee arrives and straight away calls the game off,complete disgrace this council will ruin junior soccer the way things are going.

lankyboy26
07/02/2011, 4:10 PM
What a joke the LDMC are,summerville lads told us that they rang on saturday morning to say the pitch was completly waterlogged,they rang again saturday evening only to be told on both occasions that the referee had to call the game off,so sunday morning both sets of players and managers turn up and wait around in the freezing cold knowing full well that their would be no game,referee arrives and straight away calls the game off,complete disgrace this council will ruin junior soccer the way things are going.

Ah that's a bit harsh now! The Balla lads were sayin on Saturday night that the pitch in Shelbourne Park was unplayable. It was perfect Sunday morning

WizardOnTheWing
07/02/2011, 6:29 PM
Different situation Lankyboy, Shelbourne park is sand based portland isnt..I passed Shelbourne saturday and there was alot of surface water on it but come sunday it had all gone. Portland was unplayable saturday and sunday and more than likely unplayable today.

champs09
09/02/2011, 12:36 PM
can anyone tell me have the boro b pulled out? if so, is their 3 teams relegated from 1a (including boro b) and 3 teams being promoted from 1b

gaidin
09/02/2011, 12:39 PM
can anyone tell me have the boro b pulled out? if so, is their 3 teams relegated from 1a (including boro b) and 3 teams being promoted from 1b

Boro B have pulled out. My guess is that only 2 teams will be relegated, Boro B and one other...Looking like Prospect or Balla B.

champs09
09/02/2011, 1:34 PM
i heard that 2 teams not including boro b will be relegated because if only boro b and one other team go down it will leave 1b short a team as boro b have pulled out and will not be joining 1b

da General
09/02/2011, 1:53 PM
What a joke the LDMC are,summerville lads told us that they rang on saturday morning to say the pitch was completly waterlogged,they rang again saturday evening only to be told on both occasions that the referee had to call the game off,so sunday morning both sets of players and managers turn up and wait around in the freezing cold knowing full well that their would be no game,referee arrives and straight away calls the game off,complete disgrace this council will ruin junior soccer the way things are going.Last Sat morning Hospital rang the LDMC to say there pitch was not playable as we have not played them at home yet we were contacted to see if the match could be moved into the the Pike field and that pitch was not playable match was called off last sat at 2pm the day before the match. Just hearing other stories in relation to the LDMC and it just makes me angry with some of the stuff they can get away with.

09/02/2011, 1:55 PM
For the last few years when teams have pulled out of divisions they have brought up more from the division below. Meaning Boro B + 1 relegated from 1A. Two up from 1B and then they would bring 3 up from 2A to 1B.

At the end of last season they had planned to bring up 3 from 3A for a similar reason. Killmallock and Weston promoted and we (Caherdavin B at the time) where told we where going up to 2B also.

blueboy2
09/02/2011, 4:37 PM
i heard that 2 teams not including boro b will be relegated because if only boro b and one other team go down it will leave 1b short a team as boro b have pulled out and will not be joining 1b
Only one team going down and the Boro B will be back in football next season.
Anyway there will be another few teams gone out of the leagues before the seasons over with walkovers and other things.

champs09
09/02/2011, 5:18 PM
thanks for clearing that up.

will the boro b be allowed to play in 1b next year or will they have to re-apply and start again in the lower leagues?

blueboy2
09/02/2011, 10:04 PM
thanks for clearing that up.

will the boro b be allowed to play in 1b next year or will they have to re-apply and start again in the lower leagues?
They can stay in 1 B if they choose to or else they can apply to go in to a lower league.

gaidin
10/02/2011, 12:45 PM
They can stay in 1 B if they choose to or else they can apply to go in to a lower league.

I think if a team pulls out of a league they should be punished by dropping down at least 2 divisions rather than 1. So Boro B for me should at least have to go to 2A and not 1B.

leather
10/02/2011, 12:56 PM
boro b were thrown out of the league because of 2 walkovers...they did not pull out...

old git
10/02/2011, 2:34 PM
boro b were thrown out of the league because of 2 walkovers...they did not pull out...

more or less the same thing ??? if they struggling to field team how many more walkovers would they give before season finishes

sorelooser
10/02/2011, 5:55 PM
Wembley vs Croom. If croom win there right back in it and the run they are on at the moment they could definitely get something out of it

lfc at heart
10/02/2011, 11:41 PM
I think if a team pulls out of a league they should be punished by dropping down at least 2 divisions rather than 1. So Boro B for me should at least have to go to 2A and not 1B.

sure there would be no logic in doing that, the Boro B would be beating teams in 2a by big scores every week, no team would want that.

11/02/2011, 12:19 AM
sure there would be no logic in doing that, the Boro B would be beating teams in 2a by big scores every week, no team would want that.

Was only a few years ago Boro B where down in 2A. They won that division but certainly weren't wining every week by big scores. They hadn't got the players this year so thats a reason they are gone. If they are down two divisions they might not attract players as good as they could have in 1A so I don't think they would rack up big scores. The difference in quality of the better teams in divisions isn't that big between 1A to 2A.

leather
11/02/2011, 7:23 AM
boro b had upwards of 25 players signed...for what ever reasons they did not get it together this year.... i imagine it will be 1 b next season but you never know what the wise men in jackmann will decide.

lfc at heart
11/02/2011, 8:11 AM
Was only a few years ago Boro B where down in 2A. They won that division but certainly weren't wining every week by big scores. They hadn't got the players this year so thats a reason they are gone. If they are down two divisions they might not attract players as good as they could have in 1A so I don't think they would rack up big scores. The difference in quality of the better teams in divisions isn't that big between 1A to 2A.

thats not the reason they are gone, Boro B had a full squad of players, they are gone because they were helping out the A team who were struggling, I hope the boro B bounce back it would be a shame to not have the Boro in both premier and D1A

The difference in quality of the better teams in divisions isn't that big between 1A to 2A.

dont agree with you on that

11/02/2011, 9:35 AM
thats not the reason they are gone, Boro B had a full squad of players, they are gone because they were helping out the A team who were struggling, I hope the boro B bounce back it would be a shame to not have the Boro in both premier and D1A

dont agree with you on that

I didn't mean it as in they didn't have enough players signed but i meant it as in players weren't available for games (helping out the A team) so they gave walkovers and got some heavy beatings.

I see no reason why the top teams in 1B and 2A couldn't beat some of the teams in the bottom half, at least, of 1A. So outside of the top few in 1A there isn't much difference. Look at Dromore a few years ago, they got promoted from 1B and 1A in consecutive seasons. If there was that big a difference they would have struggled as soon as they stepped up to 1A. The same goes all the way down the divisions i.e Prospect B in Division 4 could play comfortably at least three divisions higher with the squad they have. A lot of teams have started in low divisions and worked all the way up because if your a good team your a good team. The division you are in doesn't neccissarily represent the team assembled. In a lot of cases fitness is usually the big difference from the top divisions right down to the bottom (obviously the quality in player too but not all the time).

gaidin
11/02/2011, 2:16 PM

Well it would punish teams for pulling out / being thrown out. Also your saying Boro B would beat teams by big scores in 2A. What makes you say that when they couldnt field a team in 1A this year.

gaidin
11/02/2011, 2:18 PM
boro b had upwards of 25 players signed...for what ever reasons they did not get it together this year.... i imagine it will be 1 b next season but you never know what the wise men in jackmann will decide.

Its a pity they couldnt get it together because they were one of the better teams in 1A last year..Management change occur or somethign like that?

blueboy2
11/02/2011, 6:19 PM
I think myself that the Boro B will stay in 1B if they drop them down to a lower league the L.D.M.C. will have to sort out whos going up and whos going down in the other leagues and that means changing the fixtures and that wont happen.

passandmove
11/02/2011, 7:06 PM
Agree with you soreloser big game for us against croom sunday,they beat us in the league already and they have beaten summerville in their last two games so we know we face a huge battle to get 3 points sunday.

mundener
12/02/2011, 7:31 AM

boro b did win the leauge a few years back by 1 point in 2a but in my opinion cals won the leauge that year..... boro won it by default. 2nd last game of season player went down inj in injury time when they were losing 2-1 game called off, nothing wrong with the player. they won the objection against killfinane and won the leauge...... the standard in 2a has improved since then and if im not mistaken boro b that year were only winning games by the odd goal so to think you would win by big scores in 2a is a stupid comment.