View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

lankyboy26
28/02/2011, 10:42 PM
In fairness that was against a Dines side without a recognised keeper, so I wouldnt read too much into it

We haven't had a "recognised keeper" for most of the season pal. a win is a win

passandmove
01/03/2011, 5:22 PM
Great win again for us against the league leaders,tough game but overall i thought our lads deserved the 3 points,keeps our push for promotion on track.Hopefully we can put in a strong finish to the season and not get caught out like last year.

booster 03
06/03/2011, 11:57 AM
sville 2 dines 1... dines will be kickin themselves, should have won the game at a canter, hit the post and crossbar several times, also had 3 or 4 cleared off the line.

squirmy
06/03/2011, 1:59 PM
Balla were 3 nil up at half time. Went on to lost 4-3 to croom

2legged tackle
06/03/2011, 4:39 PM
Hibs 1-1 Prospect

lfc at heart
06/03/2011, 6:05 PM
what teams have Geraldines, Prospect and balla left to play

footymad
06/03/2011, 6:25 PM
View 1 Charleville 1
This was a good game of ball both teams knock it around very well. View took the lead after 20 mins a very well worked goal. Ville equalised before the break. View had the better of the second half and probably should have won it but the ville keeper pulled off a couple of very good saves.

candystripes
06/03/2011, 6:46 PM
balla b matches left :

away : summerville, wembly and shannon hibs
home : granville and geraldines

abbeyvale
06/03/2011, 8:27 PM
O'Neill's Div 1A P W D L F A Pts (Max Pts)
Summerville Rvs 18 13 2 3 41 17 41....(53)
Wembley Rvs 15 12 2 1 39 15 36....(57)
Croom Utd 17 10 2 5 37 25 32....(47)
Charleville 18 9 2 7 34 25 29....(41)
Fairview Rgs B 18 8 4 6 34 30 28....(40)
Granville Rgs 15 9 0 6 33 22 27....(48)
Shannon Hibs 17 8 2 7 26 21 26....(41)
Caherdavin Celtic 17 6 4 7 29 34 22....(37)
Geraldines 15 6 1 8 26 21 19.....(40)
Prospect Priory 17 4 5 8 27 40 17.....(32)
Ballynanty Rvs 17 4 2 11 19 43 14.....(29)
Janesboro B 22 1 1 20 6 56 4.....(4)

Results
Sun 06/03/11
Summerville 2-1 Geraldines,
Shannon Hibs 1-1 Prospect Priory,
Croom Utd 4-3 Ballynanty Rvs,
Fairview Rgs 1-1 Charleville,

Fixtures
Sun 13/03/11
Croom Utd v Geraldines, 11.00, G Clancy
Granville v Wembley Rvs, 11.00, T Duggan
Caherdavin Celtic v Prospect Priory, 11.00, J McNamara

lankyboy26
06/03/2011, 9:05 PM
View 1 Charleville 1
This was a good game of ball both teams knock it around very well. View took the lead after 20 mins a very well worked goal. Ville equalised before the break. View had the better of the second half and probably should have won it but the ville keeper pulled off a couple of very good saves.

Totally agree with you pal, great game of ball, 3rd time we've played ye this season and every time there's been nothing between the 2 teams. Was talking to the ref after the game and he said it was a great game of ball. Fair play to the ref over-all, thought he let things go and had a good game. Our keeper made some good saves alright, pity we didn't have him all season, he's very good. We could've snatched it at the end but that would've been harsh on ye

abbeyvale
07/03/2011, 11:18 PM
Wembley Rvs 15 12 2 1 39 15 36....(57)
Croom Utd 17 10 2 5 37 25 32....(47)
Granville Rgs 15 9 0 6 33 22 27....(48)
Caherdavin Celtic 17 6 4 7 29 34 22....(37)
Prospect Priory 17 4 5 8 27 40 17.....(32)

Results
Sun 06/03/11
Summerville 2-1 Geraldines,
Shannon Hibs 1-1 Prospect Priory,
Croom Utd 4-3 Ballynanty Rvs,
Fairview Rgs 1-1 Charleville,

Fixtures
Sun 13/03/11
Croom Utd v Geraldines, 11.00, G Clancy
Granville v Wembley Rvs, 11.00, T Duggan
Caherdavin Celtic v Prospect Priory, 11.00, J McNamara

Must win games this weekend for Granville & Croom, anything less than a win for Granville and their outside hopes for 2nd spot will be gone, a defeat for Croom will end their hopes.

Grinder64
12/03/2011, 7:31 PM
Must win games this weekend for Granville & Croom, anything less than a win for Granville and their outside hopes for 2nd spot will be gone, a defeat for Croom will end their hopes.

This league is well over just the first and second to be decided.it would take a collapse from either team at this stage

Zizou
13/03/2011, 12:28 PM
Granville 1-5 Wembley
A game of two halves in a nutshell this.We were as good and better than our Premiership bound visitors for 40 minutes, matching them all over the park and taking the lead on the half hour. Good work by J.Benn on our right led to a ball into Raffis feet, he turned got his head up and slipped a beautiful pass into the near post, P.Coffey ran onto it hit it first time into the far corner past the helpless keeper. Great team goal. Then the turning point. With 3 minutes to the break we had a player given a straight red for a dreadful tackle in the centre of the park. We held on until half time, but tired legs and a serious effort by Wembley meant we were chasing shadows in the second half as they desevedly put us to the sword.
Well done to Wembley, a fine team and looking good now for promotion. Credit to our lads, who despite being down to 10 for 50 minutes gave it what they could. Injuries and suspensions have really cost us at a vital stage in the season.
My man of the match: Raffi.

WizardOnTheWing
13/03/2011, 2:42 PM
Zizou, i couldnt agree more with your stunning match report...A job in the Limerick Leader awaits you i think...We were very slow of the mark this morning and deserved to be 1 down..The tackle for the red card on Dillon was disgraceful and the Ref had no choice to send him off. That changed the game completly, and we took comlplete control in the second half cause of it.. Its looking like a 2 horse race at moment but its Junior soccer and anything can happen. Best of luck for the rest of the season Zizou.

Grinder64
13/03/2011, 3:59 PM
Zizou, i couldnt agree more with your stunning match report...A job in the Limerick Leader awaits you i think...We were very slow of the mark this morning and deserved to be 1 down..The tackle for the red card on Dillon was disgraceful and the Ref had no choice to send him off. That changed the game completly, and we took comlplete control in the second half cause of it.. Its looking like a 2 horse race at moment but its Junior soccer and anything can happen. Best of luck for the rest of the season Zizou.

Caherdavin 1 1 Prospect

francesco_1
13/03/2011, 4:35 PM
Caherdavin 1 1 Prospect

A brilliant equiliser for prospect from Dec mccormack with a volly from way out.

Zizou
13/03/2011, 6:11 PM

You wouldn't have that number for the Limerick Leader job would you? Could use the cash!!! :D
And tell Morgan watch his back stick next time I shoot!! ;)

WizardOnTheWing
13/03/2011, 6:46 PM
Ha Ha will do

abbeyvale
14/03/2011, 2:29 PM
Wembley Rvs 16 13 2 1 44 16 39....(57)
Croom Utd 17 10 2 5 38 25 32....(47)
Granville Rgs 16 9 0 7 34 27 27....(45)
Caherdavin Celtic 18 6 5 7 30 35 23....(35)
Prospect Priory 18 4 6 8 28 41 18.....(30)

Results
Sun 13/03/11
Croom Utd P-P Geraldines,
Granville 1-5 Wembley Rvs,
Caherdavin Celtic 1-1 Prospect Priory,

Sun 20/03/11
Geraldines v Granville, 11.00, R Broe
Charleville v Caherdavin Celtic, 11.00, D Power
Shannon Hibs v Croom Utd, 11.00, R Hennessy

passandmove
15/03/2011, 5:55 PM
Another good win recorded by our lads keeps the pressure on those around us,the sending off had a huge bearing on the game,i think half of barrys leg is still up in glenbrook after a dreadful tackle,second half huge improvement hopefully we start a bit quicker in our remaining games,best of luck to granville in for the remainder of the season.

abbeyvale
15/03/2011, 10:13 PM
Croom Utd 17 10 2 5 38 25 32....(47)
Granville Rgs 16 9 0 7 34 27 27....(45)
Caherdavin Celtic 18 6 5 7 30 35 23....(35)

Results
Sun 13/03/11
Croom Utd P-P Geraldines,
Granville 1-5 Wembley Rvs,
Caherdavin Celtic 1-1 Prospect Priory,

Sun 20/03/11
Geraldines v Granville, 11.00, R Broe
Charleville v Caherdavin Celtic, 11.00, D Power
Shannon Hibs v Croom Utd, 11.00, R Hennessy

If Croom fail to win this Sunday, then Summerville & Wembley surely wont be caught

Big Mack
20/03/2011, 12:35 PM
Geraldines 4 - 5 Granville

Strange game, very little intensity but lots of goals.............. Thomas O Grady sent of for punching a granville player........Granville scored the winner with seconds remaining

Zizou
20/03/2011, 12:52 PM
Geraldines 4-5 Granville
The single weirdest game of my life. Where to start. We were quick out of the blocks, a Cian Collins cross flew straight into the far corner to get us off to a flyer. The Dines went straight up the field and equalised. We then regained the lead when our left full had a long range effort drift in over their keepers head again. After that we pulled away, a poor defensive header fell straight into P.Coffey's feet and he rounded the keeper. 3-1. Then great work from Cian Collins on the right and a one two with Liam Quinn who crossed first time for Coffey to sweep home from 6 yards. Goal of the game. 4-1. Then it all went nuts from our point of view. Dines got one back before half time, then had a man sent off within seconds of the re-start, after which they immediately scored twice more to level matters. The game died a death after that, until the last kick of the game. A ball into the box was beaten away by the keeper to Coffey on the byline who smashed it into the post, it bounced out, hit the centre half in the chest and trickled in. All over 4-5, crazy crazy game. Credit to the Dines who kept at it despite the odds and almost got a deserved point.
My man of the match: Czech.

twohalves
20/03/2011, 4:26 PM
Result: March 20th - Charleville 3-1 Caherdavin

abbeyvale
20/03/2011, 6:08 PM
Croom Utd 18 11 2 5 39 25 35....(47)
Charleville 19 10 2 7 37 26 32....(41)
Granville Rgs 17 10 0 7 39 31 30....(45)
Shannon Hibs 18 8 2 8 26 22 26....(38)
Caherdavin Celtic 19 6 5 8 31 38 23....(32)
Geraldines 16 6 1 9 30 26 19.....(37)

Results
Sun 20/03/11
Geraldines 4-5 Granville,
Charleville 3-1 Caherdavin Celtic,
Shannon Hibs 0-1 Croom Utd,

Tue 29/03/11
Croom Utd v Geraldines, 6.15,

Sun 03/04/11
Prospect Priory v Summerville Rvs, 11.00,
Granville v Croom Utd, 11.00,
Ballynanty Rvs v Geraldines, 11.00,
Shannon Hibs v Wembley Rvs, 11.00,

lankyboy26
21/03/2011, 1:32 PM
Charleville 3 Caherdavin 1

Caherdavin started this game really well and deservedly went 1-0 up inside 10 minutes when the ball broke kindly for the Caherdavin midfielder in the box and he smashed it into the roof of our net. Caherdavin should've added another goal or two but our goalie made some fine saves. We were very poor in the first half but just before half-time we won a corner, which we took quickly, our winger drilled in a low cross which was met firmly by our centre-half and placed into the corner. 1-1 at half-time and we were very lucky not to be losing. Second half was a totally different story, we started well and a good through ball put our striker through on goal but he was cynically brought down in the box, the caherdavin defender lucky to escape with only a yellow. Penalty was converted to make it 2-1. Caherdavin pushed hard for an equalizer but we defended very well and with 10 minutes to go we made it 3-1 with a very good strike from our striker from outside the box. In fairness to Caherdavin they never gave up and nearly made it 3-2 near the end. Final score 3-1

lankyboy26
21/03/2011, 1:36 PM
Looks like it's gonna be a real scrap between 3 teams for the other relegation spot - ( Geraldines, Prospect, Ballynanty ). Caherdavin are 9 points clear of Balla and should be safe. Can't believe Geraldines are down there

Super Rovers
21/03/2011, 1:59 PM
I think there is something wrong with that table abbeyvale. Looking at it wembley should have 41 points aswell. Not sure if there is an error with the draws been losses

21/03/2011, 2:30 PM
Looks like it's gonna be a real scrap between 3 teams for the other relegation spot - ( Geraldines, Prospect, Ballynanty ). Caherdavin are 9 points clear of Balla and should be safe. Can't believe Geraldines are down there

Geraldines have 3 games in hand so I would think they will get enoughpoints to avoid relegation.

mulla
21/03/2011, 3:36 PM
Geraldines have 3 games in hand so I would think they will get enoughpoints to avoid relegation.

hopefully that will be the case but they have lost the last 4 or 5 games i think, a bit more luck for them and the table could make different reading, 2 massive games coming up, croom away and balla at home,at least 1 win badly needed i think

abbeyvale
21/03/2011, 4:43 PM
I think there is something wrong with that table abbeyvale. Looking at it wembley should have 41 points aswell. Not sure if there is an error with the draws been losses

Wembley's tally doesn't add up............I copied and pasted it a while back from Limericksoccer.com, and updated weekly from there, so not sure.

Your a Wembley man, surely you know how many points your team should have!!!!!!

Super Rovers
21/03/2011, 4:50 PM
living in london now so havent been involved with wembley for 2 years. wasnt given out just use this site to check up on results from back home

whistleblower
21/03/2011, 7:08 PM
Are there no games this weekend?

WizardOnTheWing
21/03/2011, 8:05 PM
Wembley's tally doesn't add up............I copied and pasted it a while back from Limericksoccer.com, and updated weekly from there, so not sure.

Your a Wembley man, surely you know how many points your team should have!!!!!!
ley
The correct table is on the wembley website www.wembleyrovers.com (http://www.wembleyrovers.com) wembley have only won 12 and drew 3 that brings it to 39 points

abbeyvale
21/03/2011, 10:42 PM
ley
The correct table is on the wembley website www.wembleyrovers.com (http://www.wembleyrovers.com) wembley have only won 12 and drew 3 that brings it to 39 points

Yes, the Limericksoccer website is now updated, as well as my table below.

abbeyvale
21/03/2011, 10:43 PM
Wembley Rvs 16 12 3 1 44 16 39....(57)
Croom Utd 18 11 2 5 39 25 35....(47)
Charleville 19 10 2 7 37 26 32....(41)
Granville Rgs 17 10 0 7 39 31 30....(45)
Shannon Hibs 18 8 2 8 26 22 26....(38)
Caherdavin Celtic 19 6 5 8 31 38 23....(32)
Geraldines 16 6 1 9 30 26 19.....(37)

Fixtures
Tue 29/03/11
Croom Utd v Geraldines, 6.15,

Sun 03/04/11
Prospect Priory v Summerville Rvs, 11.00,
Granville v Croom Utd, 11.00,
Ballynanty Rvs v Geraldines, 11.00,
Shannon Hibs v Wembley Rvs, 11.00,

WizardOnTheWing
22/03/2011, 8:45 AM
Perfect Abbeyvale

22/03/2011, 9:53 AM
Are there no games this weekend?

No games because of the John Giles Walk of Dreams.

lankyboy26
22/03/2011, 5:47 PM
If Geraldines lose to Croom and Balla they are in serious trouble. They keep losing, bad habit to get into at this stage of the season. Really surprised they are struggling because they have some of the best players in the league

abbeyvale
22/03/2011, 7:45 PM
If Geraldines lose to Croom and Balla they are in serious trouble. They keep losing, bad habit to get into at this stage of the season. Really surprised they are struggling because they have some of the best players in the league

Whatever about the Croom game for The Dines, but they mustn't lose away to Balla "B", if they do, then they are pulled right back into it. If the Dines win away to Balla "B" they'll be at least 8pts clear of the drop (maybe more if they get something away to Croom) with 4 games to go and I can't see them being caught from that.

So the anything picked up away to Croom for the Dines would be a bonus in my eyes.

But your 100% correct in saying that if they lose BOTH games, then its gonna be squeeky bum time for themselves, Prospect & Balla "B"

allab
22/03/2011, 9:20 PM
cup result
balla b 2 fairview b 0

Fairkop
22/03/2011, 9:24 PM
a lot of hype about dines preseason,strong team,new players arriving with a new high profile manager,so whats happened here lads?its been a major disappointment surely and they still have a job on their hands to preserve div 1 status.

booster 03
22/03/2011, 9:46 PM
a lot of hype about dines preseason,strong team,new players arriving with a new high profile manager,so whats happened here lads?its been a major disappointment surely and they still have a job on their hands to preserve div 1 status.

dont think they'l have much bother stayin up, as regarding the hype, I saw a few of their games early on in the season where they lost a few games by the odd goal, which set them back clearly, 3 or 4 keepers they've been using too which really doesnt help a team, It can unsettle a team i think. In sayin that from the game I saw a few weeks ago against sville, they have some excellent young players, and keeping them for next season I have no doubt they will be in the top end of the table.`

footymad
22/03/2011, 9:47 PM
cup result
balla b 2 fairview b 0

Ya Balla deserved their win to be fair. They were the better team in the first half could have been 3 up at the break but for some fine goalkeeping, View were very sloppy kept giving the ball away and balla took the lead after 20 mins and it was 1 nil H-T. View were the better team in the second half had all the ball and had a lot of chances but could have had 14 players on the pitch and still would'nt have scored. Balla looked like they ran out of steam after their first half performance but kept plugging away and got their second with 20 to go with their only chance of the second half but a good headed finish to be fair. Balla deserved it over all best of luck in the rest of the cup.

Zizou
23/03/2011, 8:35 AM
Having been involved in the last game Geraldines played, what struck me straight away was that despite having a half dozen very impressive young players i.e Eoin O Sullivan, Christy O Neill and the centre half lad, Jack(not sure of 2nd name), they were frankly all over the place positionally and seemed to have no real formation. They also lacked a bit of experience in the centre of the park someone to not only win ball, but set the tempo. We were 4-1 up after 15mins despite the fact that player for player they were every bit as strong as ourselves. With one or two 28-30 year olds and a bit more discipline they would do fine. But as for rest of this season I think they may be in trouble. I hope they survive as they have great potential and as I said some excellent young players. But as Alan Hansen once said ' You win nothing with kids'! We know he was wrong on that occasion but in Junior Football it happens to be true.

gaidin
23/03/2011, 1:53 PM
Whatever about the Croom game for The Dines, but they mustn't lose away to Balla "B", if they do, then they are pulled right back into it. If the Dines win away to Balla "B" they'll be at least 8pts clear of the drop (maybe more if they get something away to Croom) with 4 games to go and I can't see them being caught from that.

So the anything picked up away to Croom for the Dines would be a bonus in my eyes.

But your 100% correct in saying that if they lose BOTH games, then its gonna be squeeky bum time for themselves, Prospect & Balla "B"

I can see the Dines beating Balla and will stay up. For me it has to be Balla for the drop. 4 points behind with 4 or 5 games left. They need to win at least 3 and hope Prospect dont pick up any points.

van der wheil
23/03/2011, 2:37 PM
Ya Balla deserved their win to be fair. They were the better team in the first half could have been 3 up at the break but for some fine goalkeeping, View were very sloppy kept giving the ball away and balla took the lead after 20 mins and it was 1 nil H-T. View were the better team in the second half had all the ball and had a lot of chances but could have had 14 players on the pitch and still would'nt have scored. Balla looked like they ran out of steam after their first half performance but kept plugging away and got their second with 20 to go with their only chance of the second half but a good headed finish to be fair. Balla deserved it over all best of luck in the rest of the cup.

Game was lost on the sideline - starting lineup not only baffled me but every other Fairview man in the ground.Best defender or player for that matter of fact on the bench??Moving wayne bolger out wide???Well done too Balla though as they were full value for there win aganst a toothless fairview

allab
23/03/2011, 3:19 PM
Best defender or player for that matter of fact on the bench??

shane madden?

lankyboy26
23/03/2011, 4:01 PM

Ya I reckon if Balla lose to Geraldines then Balla are as good as gone and Dines will be safe. It would take a monumental collapse from Prospect for them to go down then, although Prospect have to play Summerville, Charleville and 2 other games (not sure who else they've got left).

As for promotion, it's all over, and has been for a few weeks. The only question is now who is gonna win the league? We will have a big say in it anyway as we have to play both Summerville and Wembley!

lfc at heart
23/03/2011, 4:14 PM
Prospect have to play Summerville, Charleville, Wembley and geraldines