View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2010/11
Pages :
[
14]
abbeyvale
16/05/2011, 1:38 PM
Prospect/Priory were just told that both Balla B and Prospect/Priory are been offerd the Boro Club as a nutural venue for the Play-off for this Thursday evening, that would be a great pitch to play the game on, hope both teams and the LDMC give it the ok,
Think having the game on Thursday is a bad decision as all junior clubs will be training, why not Wednesday evening in Jackman or The Boro
Who won when ye played each other in hte league?
up in prospect they won 3-1 in a game we definately should of got something from,they beat us 3-1 at home too but i wasnt there so dont know how it went so going by them results prospect will be slight favourites but its all on the day
lfc at heart
16/05/2011, 2:14 PM
up in prospect they won 3-1 in a game we definately should of got something from,they beat us 3-1 at home too but i wasnt there so dont know how it went so going by them results prospect will be slight favourites but its all on the day
its all on the day Lads, any of the 2 teams could win it. I dont think past results count, its a do or die game, it can go any way
very true, they will probably both be at full strenght given the significance of the game, a thing that probably couldn't be said for a lot of the season
gaidin
16/05/2011, 3:43 PM
Very true. In a game like this it will be the team that performs on the day and takes their chances that will win..Best of luck to both teams..
leather
16/05/2011, 4:29 PM
Prospect/Priory were just told that both Balla B and Prospect/Priory are been offerd the Boro Club as a nutural venue for the Play-off for this Thursday evening, that would be a great pitch to play the game on, hope both teams and the LDMC give it the ok,
Lads, have been informed that council will toss a coin for home advantage for this play-off match... boro pitch was offered but declined..dont know by whom...
Fairkop
16/05/2011, 4:30 PM
Think having the game on Thursday is a bad decision as all junior clubs will be training, why not Wednesday evening in Jackman or The Borowould not be too many now surely abbey bar a few premier clubs.
theboywonder8
16/05/2011, 4:41 PM
Lads, have been informed that council will toss a coin for home advantage for this play-off match... boro pitch was offered but declined..dont know by whom...
If both teams were in agreement why would it not go ahead in the boro?the boro would have got an auld twist as well out of it,it had to have been ldmc decision,it seems janesboro are not very popular down there for some reason?
lfc at heart
16/05/2011, 6:15 PM
If both teams were in agreement why would it not go ahead in the boro?the boro would have got an auld twist as well out of it,it had to have been ldmc decision,it seems janesboro are not very popular down there for some reason?
Yeah the LDMC said they tossed a coin for all the other playoff so they will toss a coin for this one, both Balla and Prospect were up for it been played there, sure look the LDMC havent shown commonsence all through the season why start now.
Well done to Wembley and hope it will be a good game Saturday Night.
WizardOnTheWing
17/05/2011, 6:51 AM
On the Prospect Wembley game, it was good to see Prospect play to the final whistle but we were just too good for them on the day and if it wasnt for Larry Sheehan in goals it could have been alot more. Larry made some fantastic saves through out the game and anyone who was at the game would know why he is on the Oscar Traynor panel.. Best of luck to Prospect in the Play-off.
leather
17/05/2011, 9:41 AM
Yeah the LDMC said they tossed a coin for all the other playoff so they will toss a coin for this one, both Balla and Prospect were up for it been played there, sure look the LDMC havent shown commonsence all through the season why start now.
Why am i not suprised by the LDMC... An offer made in good faith. good to see that coin tossing is back in vogue by a bunch of coin tossers
passandmove
17/05/2011, 11:04 AM
Well done to all at wembley,after the dissapointment of last season to come back and win the league is fantastic,hopefully we can round off a great season on saturday night.Have to admit denying sville is very sweet indeed,we certainly didnt forget the previous 1a thread which was closed down due to obvious attempt by somebody from sville at bad mouthing our staff and players,and looking at booster 03 comments over the last few weeks its makes it even sweeter.Best of luck to prospect on thursday night.
mulla
17/05/2011, 11:10 AM
Well done to all at wembley,after the dissapointment of last season to come back and win the league is fantastic,hopefully we can round off a great season on saturday night.Have to admit denying sville is very sweet indeed,we certainly didnt forget the previous 1a thread which was closed down due to obvious attempt by somebody from sville at bad mouthing our staff and players,and looking at booster 03 comments over the last few weeks its makes it even sweeter.Best of luck to prospect on thursday night.
Fair play to Wembley indeed, but in reference to Booster i wouldn't think he represents the thougts of summerville and i would say half the stuff he posted was to provoke a reaction.
Hope ye can stay up next year as ye were imo miles ahead of the rest of the teams in 1a in terms of fitness,football and overall attitude, having said that i hope its a good game saturday night and the dines ruin yer chances of the double:)
passandmove
17/05/2011, 11:23 AM
Well i just wanted to give him a mention because he played a big part in our suceess....you cant beat motivation mulla!!!We know we are in for a tough game in the final,the two games we played against the dines in the league where of a high standard and i think we would all agree that dines are a lot better than the league table suggests,has the makings of a very good final so looking foward to it.
mulla
17/05/2011, 11:32 AM
Well i just wanted to give him a mention because he played a big part in our suceess....you cant beat motivation mulla!!!We know we are in for a tough game in the final,the two games we played against the dines in the league where of a high standard and i think we would all agree that dines are a lot better than the league table suggests,has the makings of a very good final so looking foward to it.
true nothin better than proving someone wrong
booster 03
17/05/2011, 4:25 PM
proving someone wrong?????? check my posts, iv said all season wembley were far better than anyone else in the league. if you have a problem with me, or any of my posts Passandmove, PM me and il be glad to discuss them in more detail!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
booster 03
17/05/2011, 4:27 PM
best of luck to balla in the play off!!!
proving someone wrong?????? check my posts, iv said all season wembley were far better than anyone else in the league. if you have a problem with me, or any of my posts Passandmove, PM me and il be glad to discuss them in more detail!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
it was me who said proving someone wrong booster and it was not directed at your good self.
balla v prospect on in shelbourne park thursday at 6.30
abbeyvale
17/05/2011, 10:31 PM
balla v prospect on in shelbourne park thursday at 6.30
Cant understand how a team can have home advantage in a one off game that so much depends on!!!!
I know how it came about with the toss of a coin, but surely to god, play-off finals should be played at a neutral venue?
Jackman Park, The Pike Club, The Fairgreen, The Boro, Carew Park, all have fine facilities and could have provided a decent pitch also..............there isnt even changing facilities or showers in Shelbourne Park......................typical.
allab
17/05/2011, 10:45 PM
Cant understand how a team can have home advantage in a one off game that so much depends on!!!!
I know how it came about with the toss of a coin, but surely to god, play-off finals should be played at a neutral venue?
Jackman Park, The Pike Club, The Fairgreen, The Boro, Carew Park, all have fine facilities and could have provided a decent pitch also..............there isnt even changing facilities or showers in Shelbourne Park......................typical.
its a joke bud, both teams were in agreement to play up in the boro but the LDMC wouldnt agree, not a bit fair on prospect with us having the home advantage
theboywonder8
18/05/2011, 7:46 AM
Because the ldmc prob wouldn't pay for the rent of those grounds,it should be on in jackman,after all it's the CLUBS that pay for the running of it.muppets is all they are.If it was a league final playoff would they have tossed a coin as well,if not then the same should apply to a delegation playoff.
gaidin
18/05/2011, 8:02 AM
Because the ldmc prob wouldn't pay for the rent of those grounds,it should be on in jackman,after all it's the CLUBS that pay for the running of it.muppets is all they are.If it was a league final playoff would they have tossed a coin as well,if not then the same should apply to a delegation playoff.
Didnt prospect play a relegation playoff final about 3 years ago against Cappamore or Caherconlish..I remember this was on in Jackman Park. Why the change this year?
Also, would it be possible for Balla to say their pitch is unplayable and "ask" boro to lend them their pitch? Would that be allowed?
leather
18/05/2011, 8:29 AM
where has the idea of rent come from.... facilities in Boro where offered in good faith , free of charge......also ldsl asked if they could play a few schoolboy finals in jackmann.... 150 euro per match was the reply....
lfc at heart
18/05/2011, 8:35 AM
where has the idea of rent come from.... facilities in Boro where offered in good faith , free of charge......also ldsl asked if they could play a few schoolboy finals in jackmann.... 150 euro per match was the reply....
Leathers correct the Boro was offered free of charge for the game, but as I said the LDMC havent made logic decisions this year so why start now, my big concern for next season is will they cancel the soccer for the month of Dec and Jan as teams were on stand by for these months for this season and 99% of the games were off and any games that were on their pitchs were destroyed for weeks afterwards also most road were not driveable, hope the ldmc are reading this and learn form this season make a decision to knock soccer for those 2 months next season
yeah Prospect played a playoff n Jackman 3 years ago.
theboywonder8
18/05/2011, 9:22 AM
Didn't know ye were giving it free of charge,well if balla and prospect agreed why don't they just play it there then and they could split the fees between them,I'm presuming there will be linesmen for the game,but then again this is ldmc,if I was involved with any of the clubs I would be requesting them.
WizardOnTheWing
18/05/2011, 9:29 AM
The decision to have the Play-off in Balla's home ground is crazy, was looking through the Limerick Leader last night and the U12 cup final was played in Boro's home ground why cant the play-off go ahead there, this match is huge for both clubs and it would make sense to play it in a neutral venue and let the best team win...
Didn't know ye were giving it free of charge,well if balla and prospect agreed why don't they just play it there then and they could split the fees between them,I'm presuming there will be linesmen for the game,but then again this is ldmc,if I was involved with any of the clubs I would be requesting them.
i don't think there will be linesmen,watched a relegation game with dines b up in carew parks pitch and there were no linemen involved
candystripes
18/05/2011, 4:05 PM
balla b v prospect there are no linesmen down to do this game. g.clancy just down to ref it
think this is the first year play offs have not been played in jackman and a coin toss decides home advantage
which i think is a joke
theboywonder8
18/05/2011, 6:27 PM
balla b v prospect there are no linesmen down to do this game. g.clancy just down to ref it
think this is the first year play offs have not been played in jackman and a coin toss decides home advantage
which i think is a joke
Agree with you 100%.probably saving the pitch for the senior side,instead of letting the clubs who OWN it play there.
passandmove
18/05/2011, 6:29 PM
Totally agree lads very unfair on both the above teams to have such an important game devalued by a coin toss,be interesting to see if the premier relegation battle goes to a playoff will the same rules apply.......no chance!!!
18/05/2011, 6:42 PM
Agree with you 100%.probably saving the pitch for the senior side,instead of letting the clubs who OWN it play there.
Senior side have nothing to do with it. Its totally the LDMCs call. Limerick only use it on a Friday night most the time every second week so any other time it is free to be used. The U19 and A teams don't even use it and Limerick didn't use it for friendlies either. Its been like this for the last 4 years so don't see how that would suddenly change this year. Also it is the LDMC's pitch but Limerick are supplying the groundsman and paying for the use of it.
There would be no reason to not have the play offs in Jackman I don't think. It has been free all this week barr Friday, will be free then for the weekend and all next week and weekend so nothing to stop these games going on it.
nosebleds
18/05/2011, 8:53 PM
Senior side have nothing to do with it. Its totally the LDMCs call. Limerick only use it on a Friday night most the time every second week so any other time it is free to be used. The U19 and A teams don't even use it and Limerick didn't use it for friendlies either. Its been like this for the last 4 years so don't see how that would suddenly change this year. Also it is the LDMC's pitch but Limerick are supplying the groundsman and paying for the use of it.
There would be no reason to not have the play offs in Jackman I don't think. It has been free all this week barr Friday, will be free then for the weekend and all next week and weekend so nothing to stop these games going on it.
very good point ,joespring.
Fairkop
18/05/2011, 9:46 PM
all excellent points regarding this play off but as has been the case all season these complaints and references to problems with fixtures are at the door of one person on our esteemed council and there is only one way to change it.
xpskid
18/05/2011, 10:01 PM
all excellent points regarding this play off but as has been the case all season these complaints and references to problems with fixtures are at the door of one person on our esteemed council and there is only one way to change it.
Lads, it's the clubs who vote these guys In. Do something about it at this year's AGM!!!
theboywonder8
19/05/2011, 9:07 AM
It is the CLUBS pitch not the LDMC pitch.the match is going ahead tonight,would Limerick have not complained that there would have been a match on it the night before jofspring????
xpskid
19/05/2011, 9:11 AM
It is the CLUBS pitch not the LDMC pitch.the match is going ahead tonight,would Limerick have not complained that there would have been a match on it the night before jofspring????
I think there is a L.O.I requirement that no games are to take place on the pitch the day before or even 2 days before kick-off.
19/05/2011, 9:19 AM
The clubs never see any money from the renting of the pitch so always thought it was always the LDMCs pitch. Where does the money from renting it go barr the usual utility bills? Genuine question. And also the money that they make charging into Cup matches up there?
If xpskid is right then maybe matches cannot be played on it near a Limerick match but that still leaves loads of other days for games to go ahead. Pretty sure already this year though there was a match on in Jackman the day before a Limerick game.
streaker
19/05/2011, 10:04 AM
Lads lets be honest the ldmc hav,nt got a clue, maybe the do have a clue and they make these decisions just to get a reaction from the clubs and to let people who is boss, because all the hundreds of decisions they had to make the last few years i,d honstly say they got a hand full right and most importantly all the BIG decisions they made they got them all wrong they hav,nt got a clue....
lifegoeson
19/05/2011, 12:10 PM
How much money would the LDMC generate a season. From club fee's, renting to limerick, takings from gates for cup matches etc etc. Those on the council are they paid for giving us the service they do or are they saving whatever money they recieve for somthing. Do they not spend money on insurance, medals for competions, utilities in running jackman park, travel expenses to FAI meetings .. Are we talking the kind of money that you could actually do somthing good for some of our clubs or we talking a few euros that ya could not even buy a few jerseys with...
leather
19/05/2011, 12:40 PM
35,000 EURO in 2 year on fines alone. whom do they insure????? imagine fees would not be far behind 90 teams at xx euro per year... not sure but think price is around 300 per team. charged ldsl 100 per match for 2 matches this year,,, dont know the deal that they have with limerick, but did i hear that limerick pay groundsman...... to me it seems that they are more interested in accumilating cash than promoting football...
theboywonder8
19/05/2011, 1:02 PM
That's a massive amount of money for fines,don't know where it goes,but they are all togged out in new blazers,slacks,ties and winter jackets,so I presume they buy those out of it.
19/05/2011, 4:29 PM
35,000 EURO in 2 year on fines alone. whom do they insure????? imagine fees would not be far behind 90 teams at xx euro per year... not sure but think price is around 300 per team. charged ldsl 100 per match for 2 matches this year,,, dont know the deal that they have with limerick, but did i hear that limerick pay groundsman...... to me it seems that they are more interested in accumilating cash than promoting football...
The last I heard a few years back Limerick where paying around €500 per match and ya Limerick are also paying the groundsman for the up keep of it. He is Limericks groundsman. Think you are right, its about €300 per team to enter the league. Then you have your red card fines and fines for accumulating a certain amount of yellow cards.
lifegoeson
19/05/2011, 6:48 PM
would they not need insurance for when players are playing in jackman park in cups, or on the club house/meeting room. 35000 thats alot of money for fines alone
I suppose they have to pay for all the paperwork in registering players for teams as well.
xpskid
19/05/2011, 7:11 PM
Balla "B" beat Prospect 8-1. Blown up early.
lfc at heart
19/05/2011, 7:58 PM
we were shocking to night, no excuses, they totally destroyed us, best of luck for next year Lads, well done, the best team won on the night.
if fairview b,pike b, and balla b finish 1st 2nd 3rd next year does that mean 4th and 5th go up
we were shocking to night, no excuses, they totally destroyed us, best of luck for next year Lads, well done, the best team won on the night.
best of luck to ye'reselves next season too hopefully ye can bounce straight back up next year
abbeyvale
19/05/2011, 10:14 PM
if fairview b,pike b, and balla b finish 1st 2nd 3rd next year does that mean 4th and 5th go up
I'd imagine so....................its really only a 9 team league when you think about it.