View Full Version : Cup Final

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10

hoopy
15/11/2010, 2:31 PM
Great day at the Aviva -excellent crowd, decent game good performances all round. Thought Sligo were the better team without really having the edge up front which always left the possibility shams might nick it. credit to both teams for 120 minutes of decent football.
Would hope that the spectacle of the day might encourage more to sample the delights of LOI but suspect many wont darken our turnstiles until "cup final 2012"

Oh, and congrats to all involved at Sligo on completing a cup double

Good assesment of the day. My only gripe and I may well be in a minority was that Ndo got MOTM. Thought all four centre halves were excellent.

15/11/2010, 2:34 PM
Alot of ****e is written on these boards between Rovers and Shams fans but truth is there is a healthy respect for Shams in Sligo. We are the same supporters that went out on the pitch at Milltown in 87.
From my experience, the niggle between supporters of the two Rovers is almost entirely message board-based. And apparently in Super Valu in Sligo town. Great atmosphere of mutual respect between the two sides, although it was a bit flat up where I was with the neutrals and curious observers.

It wasn't a vintage final by any means but I think it was a good advert for our football. Plenty of nerves and heavy touches but Boco, Ndo and Doyle stood out for me in particular - although Boco must have set a new record for shots drilled straight into the first man.

I wouldn't understate the achievement that was the attendance. To get 37k out (my brother tells me RTE put it at 41k - maybe that's including the 4000 stewards) at a game when both Arsenal and Chelsea are on the box is no small feat.

Well done to Sligo, they gave a beautiful display of technically excellent football and it would be hard to argue that they didn't deserve it on the day. A lot of people have questioned if Shamrock Rovers are part time only in name, but it showed very clearly in the fitness levels that Sligo were the full time team.
I wouldn't go that far. Sligo are better conditioned for obvious reasons, but they also gave Rovers the run-around for long periods. You see the same when teams play Barcelona and Spain (not suggesting Sligo are in the same league... yet) - Germany at the World Cup were out on their feet. Add to that Rovers have had a more intense run-in, both physically and emotionally, and you can see why this match might have been just one step too far. All credit to Sligo, though - they still had to do the job.

edit: also sincere congratulations to Sligo. I really hope yous hang on to Boco and Ndo stays fit so you can have a real go at the league and Europe next season. Your style of football would be a great advert for our league abroad.

dong
15/11/2010, 2:42 PM
Russell is up there with the best in the league as well. Lovely footballer who has really come into his own this season.
I think Ndo is right that we were blessed not to get too many injuries all year as our squad is tiny really when you compare it to what Shamrock Rovers have.

Jicked
15/11/2010, 2:58 PM
Hadn't heard Ndo say that, but I think he's right. We were running on fumes by the end of the game, and being without Twigg (who really shouldn't have played, he was left on in case we could fashion a one on one chance he could finish, but wasn't fit enough to really contribute) was just one injury too many. For those who've slagged off how we've played at the end of the season bear in mind that yesterday we were without Dan Murray, Pat Sullivan, Sean O'Connor, Robert Bayly, Aidan Price and had to play with our two front-men half fit (Twigg and Baker). A lot of players there who could have made a big difference, but that's football for you.

15/11/2010, 3:13 PM
Thought Twiggy played very well until the penalty. He physically dominated the Sligo centre halves and won everything in the air.

Jicked
15/11/2010, 3:27 PM
He put himself about pretty well in the aerial sense but I got the impression he was a guy playing with a few painkilling injections. It's not been many times this season he's failed to have a good chance in a game. MON said pre kick-off that neither he or Price was fit so he couldn't take a risk on playing two such players.

15/11/2010, 3:34 PM
As the cup was presented at 3hr 19min and about 50secs…what happened the guy in the blue jacket at the front?

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1084796Lid fell off and hit him on the head. Top of cup is slightly bent now

15/11/2010, 4:52 PM
Russell is up there with the best in the league as well. Lovely footballer who has really come into his own this season.
To be honest, I thought Russell was one of the worst players on the pitch yesterday. He showed a few nice flashes of play but most things he tried didn't come off for him I thought.

Rasher
15/11/2010, 5:32 PM
Delighted Sligo won, they were the best side, worked harder but were handicapped without a striker. It's great to see Shamrock Rovers' bubble burst so soon after winning the league, they are the worst league champions I've ever seen.

I don't see any of the event junkies going to see any LOI matches after today. Aside from a decent atmosphere at the goals ends, I thought the game was pretty poor, it badly needed a goal, and the quality of the penalty shootout with the exception of Ciaran Kelly was awful. The new Lansdowne is all style and no substance, the upper tier was nearly something out of Hillsbrough and the lack of catering facilities is seriously bad up there. Also too many annoying kids running around the place and kicking seats but you would have expected that with €5 tickets

Jesus! You're one narky fúcker

Oldred
15/11/2010, 6:45 PM
Has anyone ever won the FAI cup before without conceding a goal including with a penalty shoot-out?

15/11/2010, 7:05 PM
Has anyone ever won the FAI cup before without conceding a goal including with a penalty shoot-out?

there has only being one penalty shootout ever before this and that was two years ago when bohs and derry drew two all after extra time so no is the answer!

hoops1
15/11/2010, 7:26 PM
Not just because of yesterdays result,but after a 90 min draw would a replay not be the better option.Another big gate,more exposure. Its not as if the league is the main event in a sporting week very often. Why not have seconds if possible.

Spudulika
15/11/2010, 7:51 PM
A brilliant day, great thinking by the FAI, well organised, good energy and two teams giving it a rattle, put a real smile on my face yesterday.

redarmyfaction
15/11/2010, 8:00 PM
Has anybody mentioned that when Sham's did get the ball, they did try to play a bit.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
15/11/2010, 8:49 PM
Not just because of yesterdays result,but after a 90 min draw would a replay not be the better option.Another big gate,more exposure. Its not as if the league is the main event in a sporting week very often. Why not have seconds if possible.

You're dead right. There would have been huge interest in a replay. The players wages for the extra week could come out of the gate receipts

It was a great occasion. Was saying it just before the penalties about what a great day it was (was resigned to defeat at that stage) and to win it obviously topped it all off. The amount of text messages I got after the game from people that I never thought would even know the game was on let alone would watch it was very surprising but also great to see. I don't expect any of them to start going to matches mind. MNS has done a huge amount to get peoples attention about the league. A great show on a great time (everything the old TV3 version wasn't)

Delighted for Cook and all the lads. Now the 3 or 4 months of worrying whether we can keep the squad together for next season begins

15/11/2010, 10:30 PM
Do/did the teams actually get a cut of the gate receipts?

15/11/2010, 10:41 PM
I'd guess it's the same as the Setanta Cup - gates minus rent for the stadium.

gufcfan
16/11/2010, 1:59 AM
Apologies if this has been spoken of already (the thread is 21 pages long at this stage), but does anyone know of a list of cup final attendances that can be accessed online?

Candystripe
16/11/2010, 3:33 AM
I'd guess it's the same as the Setanta Cup - gates minus rent for the stadium.

Unless things have changed the Att doesn't effect the money the teams get.

16/11/2010, 5:27 AM
Apologies if this has been spoken of already (the thread is 21 pages long at this stage), but does anyone know of a list of cup final attendances that can be accessed online?

I doubt that the FAI would be willing to disclose the names of all 36,101 of them, even if they had them all...

gufcfan
16/11/2010, 5:33 AM
I doubt that the FAI would be willing to disclose the names of all 36,101 of them, even if they had them all...

attendance

the act of being present (at a meeting or event etc.)

attendee

A person who attends (an event or function)

:p

But back on topic... I thought it was strange that I couldn't find any sort of a list online.

gufcfan
16/11/2010, 6:05 AM
Found a little snippet of info.

1990 Bray Wds 3 St Francis 0

Over £20,000 was taken at the turnstiles on the day as 25,000 supporters (the largest crowd since the '68 final) and neutrals were drawn by curiosity at the new cup final venue at Lansdowne and the potential of an upset.

red metal
16/11/2010, 8:03 AM

Without conceding a goal in the full competition! 1ST ROUND Athlone 0 Sligo Rovers 1. 2nd round Finn harps 0 Sligo Rovers 1. 3rd round Sligo Rovers 3 monaghan utd 0. semi Boh,s 0 Sligo Rovers 1.The final Sligo Rovers 2 Shamrock Rovers 0

16/11/2010, 8:54 AM
I've a notion it's only been done once in England, away back in the 1910s. It's a remarkable achievement; wasn't even aware Sligo had done it. I'd be surprised if too many teams had done it here. rsssf.com will probably help you out a bit in that regard.

Straightstory
16/11/2010, 8:54 AM
Delighted Sligo won, they were the best side, worked harder but were handicapped without a striker. It's great to see Shamrock Rovers' bubble burst so soon after winning the league, they are the worst league champions I've ever seen.

I don't see any of the event junkies going to see any LOI matches after today. Aside from a decent atmosphere at the goals ends, I thought the game was pretty poor, it badly needed a goal, and the quality of the penalty shootout with the exception of Ciaran Kelly was awful. The new Lansdowne is all style and no substance, the upper tier was nearly something out of Hillsbrough and the lack of catering facilities is seriously bad up there. Also too many annoying kids running around the place and kicking seats but you would have expected that with €5 tickets

Yes - narky F*cker. Begrudger of the year!

16/11/2010, 9:27 AM

Wikipedia have an incomplete list. search FAI Cup.
1940, 1945 and 1968 were bigger.

Rasputin
16/11/2010, 9:58 AM
Its been a rough rough few days.
Seeing Turner miss the peno and Tracksuit run up to him after it, gold absolute gold.

historynut
16/11/2010, 11:11 AM
GUFC as requested from Galvin & Desmonds Irish Handbook 1993/94.

1921/22 St James Gate v Shamrock Rovers 15000, Replay 10000
1922/23 Alton United v Shelbourne 14000
1923/24 Athlone Town v Fordsons 18000
1924/25 Shamrock Rovers v Shelbourne 23000
1925/26 Fordsons v Shamrock Rovers 25000
1926/27 Drumcondra v Brideville 25000 replay 10000 i
1927/28 Bohemians v Drumcondra 25000
1928/29 Shamrock Rovers v Bohemians 22000 Replay 15000(aprox) i
1929/30 Shamrock Rovers v Brideville 17000

1930/31 Shamrock Rovers v Dundalk 20000 Replay 10000
1931/32 Shamrock Rovers v Dolphin 32000
1932/33 Shamrock Rovers v Dolphin 22000 Replay 18000
1933/34 Cork v St James Gate 21000
1934/35 Bohemians v Dundalk 22000
1935/36 Shamrock Rovers v Cork 30946
1936/37 Waterford v St James Gate 24000
1937/38 St James Gate v Dundalk 30000
1938/39 Shelbourne v Sligo Rovers 30000 replay 25000
1939/40 Shamrock Rovers v Sligo Rovers

1940/41 Cork United v Waterford 30132 replay 13057
1941/42 Dundalk v Cork United 34298
1942/43 Drumcondra v Cork United 30549
1943/44 Shamrock Rovers v Shelbourne 34000
1944/45 Shamrock Rovers v Bohemians 44238
1945/46 Drumcondra v Shamrock Rovers 34248
1946/47 Cork United v Bohemians 20198 replay 5919
1947/48 Shamrock Rovers v Drumcondra 33812
1948/49 Dundalk v Shelbourne 28539
1949/50 Transport v Cork Athletic 27807 replay 21123 2nd replay ?

1950/51 Cork Athletic v Shelbourne 38912 replay 22010
1951/52 Dundalk v Cork Athletic 26479 replay 20753
1952/53 Cork Athletic v Evergreen United 17396 replay 6000
1953/54 Drumcondra v St Patricks Athletic 20000
1954/55 Shamrock Rovers v Drumcondra 33041
1955/56 Shamrock Rovers v Cork Athletic 35017
1956/57 Drumcondra v Shamrock Rovers 30000
1957/58 Dundalk v Shamrock Rovers 27000
1958/59 St Patricks Athletic v Waterford 22000 replay 22800
1959/60 Shelbourne v Cork Hibs 32308

1960/61 St Patricks Athletic v Drumcondra 22000
1961/62 Shamrock Rovers v Shelbourne 32000
1962/63 Shelbourne v Cork Hibernians 15000
1963/64 Shamrock Rovers v Cork Celtic 35500 replay 23600
1964/65 Shamrock Rovers v Limerick 22000 replay 19436
1965/66 Shamrock Rovers v Limerick 26898
1966/67 Shamrock Rovers v St Patricks Athletic 12000
1967/68 Shamrock Rovers v Waterford 39128
1968/69 Shamrock Rovers v Cork Celtic 28000 replay 18000
1969/70 Bohemians v Sligo Rovers 16000 replay 11000 2nd replay 22000

1970/71 Limerick v Drogheda 16000 replay 15000
1971/72 Cork Hibernians v Waterford 22500
1972/73 Cork Hibernians v Shelbourne 12500 replay 11000 ii
1973/74 Finn Harps v St Patricks Athletic 14000
1974/75 Home Farm v Shelboune 10000
1975/76 Bohemians v Drogheda 10400
1976/77 Dundalk v Limerick 17000
1977/78 Shamrock Rovers v Sligo Rovers 12500
1978/79 Dundalk v Waterford 14000
1979/80 Waterford v St Patricks Athletic 18000

1980/81 Dundalk v Sligo Rovers 12000
1981/82 Limerick United v Bohemians 12000
1982/83 Sligo Rovers v Bohemians 8500
1983/84 UCD v Shamrock Rovers 8000 replay 6500 iii
1984/85 Shamrock Rovers v Galway United 7000
1985/86 Shamrock Rovers v Waterford United 11500
1986/87 Shamrock Rovers v Dundalk 8569
1987/88 Dundalk v Derry City 21000
1988/89 Derry City v Cork City 20100 replay 13000
1989/90 Bray Wanderers v St Francis 29000

1990/91 Galway United v Shamrock Rovers 15257
1991/92 Bohemians v Cork City 17000
1992/93 Shelbourne v Dundalk 11000

All matches from 1921/22- 1988/89 at Dalymont Park, replays i at Shelbourne Park, ii Flower Lodge, iii Tolka Park
1989/90-1992/93 at Landsdowne Road

bluemovie
16/11/2010, 2:46 PM
Fair play to the FAI and all involved for getting such a large crowd on Sunday. It's baffling how the same organisation can offer cup final tickets for €10 with great success and then three days later charge €50 for the dross that will be a weak side versus Norway.

There was an argument put forward in the past that the cup final should be a little earlier in the season, but I think Sunday's attendance benefitted from it being the last match of the year. As an example, a busload went up from Waterford because of the cheap tickets and because our season was over so they were looking for something to do. I'm sure that was the same for plenty of others. There was a good bit of publicity around it and they were lucky with the weather.

I didn't go myself, but the atmosphere sounded great on TV. The match itself was fairly good even if it was lacking in chances. I think the league has done well out of MNS, European games and high profile friendlies (even the Man U debacle) because barstooler friends of mine were texting me about the match and recognise the likes of Ndo and Twigg now. I've always thought that the way to promote the league (especially to kids) is to make stars out of the top players.

gufcfan
16/11/2010, 3:36 PM
Wikipedia have an incomplete list. search FAI Cup.
1940, 1945 and 1968 were bigger.
Googling it was no help at all unfortunately.

GUFC as requested from Galvin & Desmonds Irish Handbook 1993/94.

Excellent, very interesting historynut.

robertob
16/11/2010, 4:28 PM
Hope you have a nice day. Come back next year!

You can be sure I will. However this wasn't actually the first time for me in Ireland and I've seen already some LOI games live on the ground in the past . Sadly the League is now over and I have to wait till March to come back to Ireland.

I think it was a brilliant Cup Final. Big loud crowd, a very good game despite the lack of goals, dramatic finish, nice headlines in the newspapers next day... so all in all an amazing day. I think all LoI fans can be proud about their League. That was good advertising and it shown again why LoI football is so unique and special - in my mind. The passion of supporters, players an staff (fantastic stuff by Paul Cook when he encouraged the supporters just few minutes before the teams came out of the tunnel), the warm atmosphere in the stadium and the most important thing: main focus is sport!

So it's actually not so easy for me to explain what I really mean (due to the language barrier) but I hope you understand it.

Btw, I had two German mates with me to the final. They had no LoI football experience so far but both were really stunned by the good quality of football (they never thought Irish football could be nice to watch ;) ) and the wonderful atmosphere in the stadium.

Still few words to the game: I've never ever seen before a team like Sligo who has won so well deserved! They were brilliant, but just had not the luck in front of the goal. But Joseph Ndo... what an amazing player. If you love football you must love Ndo. If I would live in Sligo (nice City, indeed ;) ) I would buy a season ticket just to watch him. Really fallen in love since I've seen him the first time for St. Pats some years ago. In the Cup Final Boco was fantastic and Doyle made an unbelievable good job as well.

Some of my pictures: http://img3.imageshack.us/slideshow/webplayer.php?id=glens7.jpg

Fivesilver
16/11/2010, 4:34 PM
Oh man - I'm so used to hearing Irish people talk crap about our own league, you don't know how happy your post just made me feel. (Of course, I'm in a general state of insane happiness since Sunday afternoon anyway)

Straightstory
16/11/2010, 4:51 PM
Yes - lovely post, robertbob. Glad you enjoyed the occasion.

Rasputin
16/11/2010, 5:17 PM
robertop could we possibly have some sort of exchange program where we send our Irish barstoolers over to Germany and we get Germans like you in exchange who actually appreciate football and what it is to support a team.

gufcfan
16/11/2010, 5:35 PM
Great post robertob.

Great to see scenes like this in Irish football.

http://i54.tinypic.com/24o34uu.jpg

And for the record... Sligo is a town, not a city. ;)

Anyway, well done Shligo.
http://foot.ie/%60http://i54.tinypic.com/24o34uu.jpg

Fivesilver
16/11/2010, 5:45 PM

Sligo is the home of the Bit o' Red - all that matters.

Thanks for the pic and the congrats, though - see you in Terryland.

16/11/2010, 5:57 PM
Great post robertob.

The town/city thing seems to be a uniquely Irish phenomenon - it's a peculiar piece of madness that we only have 6 cities, one of which doesn't even count. Sure in America the word "City" kicks in at around 30 people. There are farms in the States that have greater legal standing than the likes of Sligo and Dundalk.

redarmyfaction
16/11/2010, 6:29 PM
Great post robertob.

A small town too ,just like Galway.

gufcfan
16/11/2010, 7:15 PM
The town/city thing seems to be a uniquely Irish phenomenon - it's a peculiar piece of madness that we only have 6 cities, one of which doesn't even count. Sure in America the word "City" kicks in at around 30 people. There are farms in the States that have greater legal standing than the likes of Sligo and Dundalk.

A small town too ,just like Galway.
Maybe this is the wrong place for that arguement... :)

24 years ago, another goalkeeper saved 4 penalties in a row in the Champions League Final: Barcelona vs Steaua [Romanian commentary]

Taken from http://www.reddit.com/r/soccer/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osGXE2Aje5Q

peadar1987
16/11/2010, 7:42 PM

They also call football "soccer" and some mad sport "football", and crisps "chips", and trousers "pants", and pants "briefs". What do Americans know about using the right word for stuff?! ;)

DaveyCakes
16/11/2010, 8:42 PM
Btw, I had two German mates with me to the final. They had no LoI football experience so far but both were really stunned by the good quality of football (they never thought Irish football could be nice to watch ;) ) and the wonderful atmosphere in the stadium.

A German friend of mine came over and said pretty much the same thing.

Oldred
16/11/2010, 8:51 PM
Maybe this is the wrong place for that arguement... :)

24 years ago, another goalkeeper saved 4 penalties in a row in the Champions League Final: Barcelona vs Steaua [Romanian commentary]

Taken from http://www.reddit.com/r/soccer/

But was he unbeaten all the way through the competition?

oriel
16/11/2010, 9:51 PM

As per a post on our forum, I believe Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers and Athlone Town all won the FAI Cup with clean sheets.

redobit
16/11/2010, 9:54 PM
Just wondering if anybody picked up a '2010 Cup Final Badge' on the day of the game.

WAs talking to a lad on the train home who had one and he said he got it of a guy selling them outside the stadium. He thought he was a Shams fan as he had mostly merchandise for them for sale.

If anybody knows where I could get one it would be much appreciated.

16/11/2010, 10:11 PM
I didn't go myself, but the atmosphere sounded great on TV. The match itself was fairly good even if it was lacking in chances. I think the league has done well out of MNS, European games and high profile friendlies (even the Man U debacle) because barstooler friends of mine were texting me about the match and recognise the likes of Ndo and Twigg now. I've always thought that the way to promote the league (especially to kids) is to make stars out of the top players.

Exactly, MNS is great, great to see top LOI players getting recognition and exposure weekly. Sure Twiggy and the Ndo etc are well known at this stage

The atmosphere from the cup final sounded great too - too bad Im in London, missed a great end of season in the LOI:mad:

gufcfan
17/11/2010, 5:03 AM
A couple of days late but anyway...

http://i53.tinypic.com/6pqclj.jpg

17/11/2010, 9:48 AM
Cheers for that; I always thought one had hit the post for some reason.

Amazingly, the keeper (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helmuth_Duckadam) never played again, though wiki doesn't mention the story I've heard before about him refusing to give up the Mercedes (I think?) the players won for winning the final, and as a result having his hands broken by the secret police. It's hinted at here (http://www.goldenfoot.com/acm-on-line/Home/News/articolo6559.html).

17/11/2010, 10:07 AM
Just wondering if anybody picked up a '2010 Cup Final Badge' on the day of the game.

WAs talking to a lad on the train home who had one and he said he got it of a guy selling them outside the stadium. He thought he was a Shams fan as he had mostly merchandise for them for sale.

If anybody knows where I could get one it would be much appreciated.

Yes I bought one outside the ground for 4 euro was 3 for a tenner unfortunately I only bought the 1 to remember the day by.

marinobohs
17/11/2010, 11:14 AM
Cheers for that; I always thought one had hit the post for some reason.

Amazingly, the keeper (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helmuth_Duckadam) never played again, though wiki doesn't mention the story I've heard before about him refusing to give up the Mercedes (I think?) the players won for winning the final, and as a result having his hands broken by the secret police. It's hinted at here (http://www.goldenfoot.com/acm-on-line/Home/News/articolo6559.html).

Stu, I think the story was that a delighted Real Madrid fan gave him a mercedes as they had beaten Barca. the club president Chaeuchescus son (??????) demanded it be handed over to "the club" (ie club pres) and when the keeper suggested it was given to him personally the police wee sent round to "persuade" him of the error of his ways (persuasion resulted in hands been broken).

Not sure how true story was and I think the official line was that he retired due to arthritis in his hands.

robertob
17/11/2010, 2:09 PM
robertop could we possibly have some sort of exchange program where we send our Irish barstoolers over to Germany and we get Germans like you in exchange who actually appreciate football and what it is to support a team.

Yeah that would be a great idea! However we have here in Germany many "barstoolers" as well. German football is not that glory like it maybe seems.

Btw, okay I understand: Sligo is just a town... but a nice town, indeed. ;)