View Full Version : Cup Final

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10

13/11/2010, 3:10 PM
Best of luck to Sligo tomorrow. Going to the game and I'll be sickened if ye don't win it.

13/11/2010, 3:40 PM
Anybody who goes to the football and actually notices the facilities is a ****, plain and simple.
Most visitors to Jackman never notice facilities of any kind.

13/11/2010, 3:46 PM
Some Rovers stuff around Sligo Town:

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1181.snc4/150301_463265696493_614626493_5803607_7846502_n.jp g

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs471.ash2/74414_463265486493_614626493_5803602_7763060_n.jpg

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1125.snc4/148761_463264871493_614626493_5803592_2536740_n.jp g

13/11/2010, 3:51 PM
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs1125.snc4/148761_463264871493_614626493_5803592_2536740_n.jp g

OMG! Get out of that window Brian Cowen, you're meant to be the taoiseach FFS! (Far left)

13/11/2010, 4:01 PM
OMG! Get out of that window Brian Cowen, you're meant to be the taoiseach FFS! (Far left)That is actually meant to be him. It was originally an Arthur Guinness day window display, he used to have a pint of Guinness in front of him.

13/11/2010, 4:16 PM
Ah, there you go then!

fionnsci
13/11/2010, 5:54 PM
Just discovered that I can't go. I'm absolutely furious, it's the biggest loi event in years - bumper crowd cup final in the Aviva. Hugely disappointing.

White Horse
13/11/2010, 7:00 PM
Some Rovers stuff around Sligo Town:

Great to see a town getting behind their club.

Any pictures of Tallaght and south Dublin? Is it a sea of green and white?

D.24saint
13/11/2010, 8:28 PM
Any pictures of Tallaght and south Dublin? Is it a sea of green and white?

Yeah but only because the maldron hotels pre cup final green pint promotion went badly wrong,havent seen any flags in tallaght at all.

The Lep
13/11/2010, 8:52 PM
If I end up in Dublin tomorrow, what are my options, ticket wise?

Are they being sold at the stadium, I'd have thought not..?

There is info about it on the FAI site . Tickets available for the top tier level 5 and booths will be open on Shelbourne rd and northumberland ave. It could possibly be a sell out.

13/11/2010, 9:04 PM
BonnieShels talked to the FAI, and they say there'll be a stall selling tickets outside the Berkeley Court Hotel (http://maps.google.com/maps/place?cid=12197566464850596338&q=berkeley+court+hotel&hl=en&ved=0CFcQ-QswAA&ei=95feTP7AJcXHjgfK7PjVCA&sll=53.278866,-6.18048&sspn=0.130161,0.125351&ie=UTF8&ll=53.334897,-6.237102&spn=0,0&t=h&z=17), just on Lansdowne Road. That's where I'm planning on getting mine

Thanks Peadar but it was punkrocket that talked to the FAI. Never mind though the lep is here to the rescue.

Dublin Red
13/11/2010, 9:15 PM
No alcohol will be served in the stadium. (Unless your premium!!)

White Horse
13/11/2010, 10:03 PM
It could possibly be a sell out.

To all LOI fans, those are sweet words.

redobit
13/11/2010, 11:21 PM
To all LOI fans, those are sweet words.

It seems to have become a real LOI event, be great if the Cup FInal could be as popular at the end of every season.

placid casual
13/11/2010, 11:30 PM
I forecast a 2:0 win for the hoops.
A well dodgy peno, converted by turner and a twigg break away goal with 5 mins to go.
nice guys tend to finish second.

14/11/2010, 12:55 AM
I forecast a 2:0 win for the hoops.
A well dodgy peno, converted by turner and a twigg break away goal with 5 mins to go.
nice guys tend to finish second.

Turner penalty hitting the crossbar and adjudged to cross the line, ideally...

Though I think it'll be a tight goalless ET game..

bullit
14/11/2010, 1:18 AM
Paddy Powers go:

Shamrock Rovers 6/4 Draw 11/5 Sligo Rovers 7/4

Predict a draw,predict a cagey cup final match and Sligo getting a late extra time winner.

Whats the state of play with Sligo fans re: Turner?? Is he still a turncoat bolli* in their eyes, or is that forgotten??
Not trieing to kick somthing off here,just a question??

Strawberry
14/11/2010, 1:25 AM
Whats the state of play with Sligo fans re: Turner?? Is he still a turncoat bolli* in their eyes, or is that forgotten??
Not trieing to kick somthing off here,just a question??

He's not our favourite player in the league but I think we'll be too busy supporting our own players to worry too much about him

14/11/2010, 9:11 AM
Will it be possible to watch this on RTE site in England?

historynut
14/11/2010, 9:16 AM
It seems to have become a real LOI event, be great if the Cup FInal could be as popular at the end of every season.

Could it be possible to promote the final as a League of Ireland day out, distributing tickets to all clubs and all said supporters attending in own club colours as in the Rugby League Challange Cup final at Wembley. It is seen as the ultimate day out in Rugby League circles wether your team is competing in the final or not. That's how there are capacity attendences. Very unlikely if just dependent on the crowds of the 2 finalists.

robertob
14/11/2010, 9:49 AM
Fair play for travelling from Berlin, thats some commitment.

EISERN!! (or maybe not!!):D

Thanks mate. Sitting here in Dublin in an Internet Cafe right now and can't wait for the game. So hopefully the crowd will big and the game great.

Btw, (Eisern) Union Berlin is a very likeable club, but I'm actually from Rostock, (my flight just went from Berlin) and I'm Hansa Rostock fan. :)

Buller
14/11/2010, 9:55 AM
Cmon rovers!!!!!!!
Absolutely buzzing!!!!!!!!! Cant wait!
Cmon rovers!! ;)

hedderman
14/11/2010, 9:56 AM
Will it be possible to watch this on RTE site in England?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/1113/faicup_sligorovers_shamrockrovers.html

Says its available worldwide online so you should be able to watch it. Alas, the FAI doesn't seem to have been able to find a buyer outside RTE for the worldwide rights so they're stuck with them :p

Dublin Red
14/11/2010, 10:04 AM
Heading off to the pub now! UP THE ROVERS!!!!!!! - Bring the cup back west... where it belongs!!

Straightstory
14/11/2010, 10:59 AM
Thanks mate. Sitting here in Dublin in an Internet Cafe right now and can't wait for the game. So hopefully the crowd will big and the game great.

Btw, (Eisern) Union Berlin is a very likeable club, but I'm actually from Rostock, (my flight just went from Berlin) and I'm Hansa Rostock fan. :)

Hope you have a nice day. Come back next year!

14/11/2010, 12:21 PM
Anecdotal evidence suggests the hangover effect is going to have an effect on attendances.

passerrby
14/11/2010, 12:21 PM
regardless who wins really hope its a great day for the game dont give the hacks anything else to talk about other than the great event and the great football

14/11/2010, 1:58 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/1113/faicup_sligorovers_shamrockrovers.html

Says its available worldwide online so you should be able to watch it. Alas, the FAI doesn't seem to have been able to find a buyer outside RTE for the worldwide rights so they're stuck with them :p

Is it just my computer or is that a crap lead from RTE, stalled - just commentary?

eidt - got it better now
http://www.rte.ie/sport/livestreaming/soccer.html
this is bettr than from the sport page

14/11/2010, 2:11 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF653/472250.jpg

Paedohorse!

14/11/2010, 2:18 PM
Fupping dart. Wearing my bit o red though.

14/11/2010, 2:28 PM
Just spotted Marthino II with his sign on the telly, some on sligo :D

14/11/2010, 2:31 PM
Player profiles look great tbf to RTE

Connolly really is a ****

14/11/2010, 2:33 PM
Excellent - the wife is away, and the net is working. Cue two and a half hours or so of indulgence and non-productvity!

Philly
14/11/2010, 2:36 PM
Already a better atmosphere than anything Aviva has had so far!

14/11/2010, 2:47 PM
Here now. Place is hopping.
Come on Sligo.

northwestexile
14/11/2010, 2:53 PM
rte website keeps stalling on me, must be a lot of people watching. Does anybody have a link to watch the game?

14/11/2010, 2:59 PM
Here now. Place is hopping.
Come on Sligo.

14/11/2010, 3:05 PM
Trap's here!

14/11/2010, 3:13 PM
Connolly was a poor choice for this(or any game for that matter)

Kelly should be in charge of it

14/11/2010, 3:13 PM
Why isn't Alan Kelly reffing this game? Have to agree with Rico that Connolly is being petty, not helping the flow of the game.

Edit: I see Dunny beat me to the punch.

Hibs4Ever
14/11/2010, 3:16 PM
Ref is woeful

Sligo easily the better team so far

monkey9
14/11/2010, 3:19 PM
Kelly can't do the final every year!!

14/11/2010, 3:21 PM
Why not have the best ref in the league for the cup final?

14/11/2010, 3:27 PM
Looks great on TV, especially the pre-match lineup and stuff. RTE and FAI have managed everything very well this weekend.

14/11/2010, 3:28 PM
rte website keeps stalling on me, must be a lot of people watching. Does anybody have a link to watch the game?

http://www.rte.ie/sport/livestreaming/soccer.html
working for me
the one on the sport page stalls

Twiggy shud have passed it twice, and the ref really messed up at the start not giving Sligo advantage

FAI giving away 11 + 1 tickets in the comp - jesus!!!

The Lilywhites
14/11/2010, 3:29 PM
Easily the worst ref I've seen in the league this year and he gets the cup final?!

14/11/2010, 3:30 PM
The FAI have done well this weekend but the choice of Tom Connolly was woeful. I expect a red card to be shown in this yet.

14/11/2010, 3:38 PM
36,000 in attendance.

14/11/2010, 3:38 PM
36000 at it.

14/11/2010, 3:39 PM
36,000 announced as (presumably estimated) attendance on RTE.