View Full Version : Cup Final

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10

Steodonn
11/11/2010, 5:04 PM
Is there tickets left for the Sligo end ?

If there is would any Sligo fans be able to sort me out with 2 tickets

11/11/2010, 6:25 PM
Finally got my tickets today. South stand upper section 516. Unreserved seating though... ah nuts.
Forza Rovers'!

11/11/2010, 6:28 PM
29,000 tickets sold according to RTE

robertob
11/11/2010, 8:04 PM
29,000 tickets sold according to RTE

Great!

I come across to Dublin from Berlin tomorrow... so hopefully it will be a good game. :-)

hoopy
12/11/2010, 8:13 AM
Were either reading different articles or youre off youre meds.

Heres the article:

Romauld Boco's journey to Sunday's FAI Cup final is more unusual than most -- but one thing the Benin international can boast about is plenty of is big-game experience.
The Sligo Rovers right winger played for the country of his mother at the African Cup of Nations before rejoining the north-westerners after a spell at Burton Albion.
His return sparked a run of form that saw the Bit O'Red storm to third in the final Airtricity League table, win the EA Sports Cup and reach the Aviva Stadium showpiece this weekend.
They've done it in some style too and, although he needed some convincing from manager Paul Cook to come back to the club, Boco claims their finish has exceeded expectations, reckons they can compete for the league next season and is very confident of success on Sunday.
"I had to think," he said. "Paul was asking me for a while and, when I saw how the team was playing, I said 'Okay'.
"I came and the deal was if we could finish in the top four and be in Europe, it would be a good season. Actually we've done a bit better. Since I've been back, we played 15 games and we didn't lose. I'm very happy with the way we play. I enjoy it.
"We used to kick the ball long and nick a goal -- you are not happy even when you win (when you play like that). We try to play good football; people enjoy it, we've got a lot of fans now who are coming every game, not just because we are doing well. When someone is paying for a ticket, it is to watch good football.
"We have started to compare to the other teams and are getting better and better. We might try to win the league next year," Boco continued.
"We are used to playing big games now. We're doing it for three years now, playing games under pressure. It's normal now.
"We'll give our best (on Sunday). We'll try to win that game and, if we lose, the best team will win. We are confident."
- Ruaidhri O'Connor
Irish Independent

Not taking the **** but it was in one of the rags and it's not in that article. Basically the same piece with the bit 'he's not sure that the best team won the league' added. Maybe a certain mischievous Bohs journo added that bit himself. Apologies to Boco if that's the case.

dublinred
12/11/2010, 8:18 AM
Going to be a huge crowd positive news for the league for once then Bohs all over the radio this morning could they not have waited until Monday.

12/11/2010, 8:32 AM
Hoops fan Doyle dedicated to Sligo cause (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/hoops-fan-doyle-dedicated-to-sligo-cause-2417322.html)

Scoring the winning goal against your home-town club in the FAI Cup final might put some people off going home for Christmas, but Eoin Doyle takes a different view on life.

Double can cap Rice redemption (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/double-can-cap-rice-redemption-2417425.html)

STEPHEN RICE is 90 minutes away from being a Double-winning captain. Not bad for a man who was sick of football just a few years ago.

punkrocket
12/11/2010, 9:05 AM
Steodonn

Is there tickets left for the Sligo end ?

If there is would any Sligo fans be able to sort me out with 2 tickets

Just talked to The FAI office, there's going to be a couple of booths set up on the day, one at the Herbert Rd side and the other outside the Berkley Court, if you're still stuck.

She went on to qualify this by saying that that's if it doesn't sell out first. Such confidence!
Should be a great crowd though

12/11/2010, 9:08 AM
Nice segment on Ireland AM this morning with the mascots and some fans from both clubs. Hopefully it'll be a decent day and with a big walk up crowd the attendance might push 40,000. Really looking forward to it now.

12/11/2010, 9:53 AM
It's kinda scary that the FAI may have gotten something right.

Jeebus
12/11/2010, 10:28 AM
Great!

I come across to Dublin from Berlin tomorrow... so hopefully it will be a good game. :-)

Fair play for travelling from Berlin, thats some commitment.

EISERN!! (or maybe not!!):D

redobit
12/11/2010, 10:42 AM
It's kinda scary that the FAI may have gotten something right.

... as long as the clubs get some of the gate receipts. Seeing as the prize money from last season has been cut dramatically.

Dublin Red
12/11/2010, 10:58 AM
Nice segment on Ireland AM this morning with the mascots and some fans from both clubs. Hopefully it'll be a decent day and with a big walk up crowd the attendance might push 40,000. Really looking forward to it now.

How was I looking?

cornflakes
12/11/2010, 12:49 PM
Looking forward to going now, just hope the stadium isnt full of disinterested epl fans just coming to have a look around the ground

12/11/2010, 1:28 PM
How was I looking?

I thought all the Sligo lads wearing Halloween masks was a funny touch.

Those were masks right?

Right?!?!

Oh sweet Jesus...

dublinred
12/11/2010, 2:05 PM
Does anyone know if the bars are fully open on the pleb levels was thinking of heading in early rather than the usual last minute dash from Jurys, they were open for the Airtricity game but not serving beer for the ireland games.

peadar1987
12/11/2010, 2:28 PM
Where are tickets available on the day? I know somebody said it earlier, but I haven't been able to find it!

12/11/2010, 2:31 PM
Punkrocket said it...

Just talked to The FAI office, there's going to be a couple of booths set up on the day, one at the Herbert Rd side and the other outside the Berkley Court, if you're still stuck.

She went on to qualify this by saying that that's if it doesn't sell out first. Such confidence!
Should be a great crowd though

12/11/2010, 2:39 PM
As it stands would it be the biggest crowd for a League of Ireland game in 20 years?

Cuyahoga
12/11/2010, 2:40 PM
How was I looking?
Were you the Sligo Mascot ,you looked dreadful compared to Hooperman !

12/11/2010, 2:44 PM
As it stands would it be the biggest crowd for a League of Ireland game in 20 years?

Most probably though the pedants would say that it is not a League game and doesn't count as an LOI game and is a cup game.
Most certainly the biggest crowd for a game between 2 LOI clubs in a long long time.

peadar1987
12/11/2010, 2:54 PM
Most probably though the pedants would say that it is not a League game and doesn't count as an LOI game and is a cup game.
Most certainly the biggest crowd for a game between 2 LOI clubs in a long long time.

It's looking likely that it will be almost double the average attendance for the entire league combined!

What's the story with money, are the gate receipts split between the two clubs? They're looking at a €150-200,000 windfall if they are. I'm sure Bohs would love to be in a similar situation!

12/11/2010, 2:57 PM
How could anything or anyone* look dreadful compared to that grinning imbecile?

* Except maybe Willie O Dea.

danthesaint
12/11/2010, 3:09 PM
Bringing a slovenian, a dutch bloke and a few barstoolers to this. hope the weather alrite for it.

Cuyahoga
12/11/2010, 3:14 PM
How could anything or anyone* look dreadful compared to that grinning imbecile?

* Except maybe Willie O Dea.
You obviously havent seen Benny the Bull - the worst mascot in the history of Mascots.

Fester
12/11/2010, 3:28 PM
Bringing a slovenian, a dutch bloke and a few barstoolers to this. hope the weather alrite for it.

Bring a few barstolls to the game myself. 2 have never been to a LOI game ever. (hope there are a few goals).

poster
12/11/2010, 3:39 PM
Does anyone know if the bars are fully open on the pleb levels was thinking of heading in early rather than the usual last minute dash from Jurys, they were open for the Airtricity game but not serving beer for the ireland games.

They'll be open. You're not allowed bring the drink in with you though to the "arena". FIFA law.

Jicked
12/11/2010, 3:51 PM
Are you sure? They'll be open for ordinary fans and not just the middle tier/premium seats?

poster
12/11/2010, 4:05 PM
Are you sure? They'll be open for ordinary fans and not just the middle tier/premium seats?

Person who works at Lansdowne told me..:confused: Suppose you could call the reception to make sure.

Fivesilver
12/11/2010, 6:18 PM
Starting to feel the nerves now. Have to be up before 4 in the morning to make the flight, then a few hours' stopover in London. COME ON THE BIT O' RED! :pray:

Delighted with the crowd estimates. Hopefully we get a game that persuades even a small percentage of the day-trippers back.

12/11/2010, 9:19 PM
Can't wait for this the crowd is looking healthet and I myself will be bringing a polish barstooler with me.

gufcfan
13/11/2010, 2:30 AM
What's the latest on the ticket sales?

Good to hear they are going well. Planned to go originally but can't make it. Should be tuning in to RTÉ for it. With all due respect to Bray and Mons, I was ashamed the last night watching the playoff match, as there was company around. The state of the place... They thought it was a video of a junior game or something.

bullit
13/11/2010, 3:49 AM
What's the latest on the ticket sales?

Good to hear they are going well. Planned to go originally but can't make it. Should be tuning in to RTÉ for it. With all due respect to Bray and Mons, I was ashamed the last night watching the playoff match, as there was company around. The state of the place... They thought it was a video of a junior game or something.

:mad:
Stay on your stool and please dont go anywhere near a LOI ground or the Aviva lest you be ashamed.
Epic 2 week after we survive post!
F.U.2.:shout:

gufcfan
13/11/2010, 4:45 AM
Having been a LOI fan since before my teens, I feel I can pass comment on the state of things in the LOI without paying heed to barstooler comments.

bullit
13/11/2010, 4:59 AM
Having been a LOI fan since before my teens, I feel I can pass comment on the state of things in the LOI without paying heed to barstooler comments.
That comment ****"s me off almost as much as your previous one.
Horse racing might be your game???

Enruoblehs
13/11/2010, 7:56 AM

In all fairness, that could mean that you have been a LOI fan for six months :)

Rasputin
13/11/2010, 8:43 AM
You obviously havent seen Benny the Bull - the worst mascot in the history of Mascots.
Maybe its just me but Larry Murphy in a vaguely homoerotic costume doesnt do it for me either.

D.24saint
13/11/2010, 10:40 AM
are the premium tickets on sale on the day,might head up to the fancy pants level:party:

gufcfan
13/11/2010, 10:58 AM
In all fairness, that could mean that you have been a LOI fan for six months :)
Shut it smartarse! And for the record, I have been a fan for 7 months, not 6 months... so THERE.

hedderman
13/11/2010, 11:56 AM
Aah, "barstooler." The word to use when you when you don't agree with someone's opinion on the League. For the record, I brought a few "barstoolers" to Richmond Park for a City match in late 2009 and they were distinctly unimpressed with the facilities. Anyone who thinks infrastructure doesn't have an impact on the perception of the league is living in la la land.

Straightstory
13/11/2010, 12:17 PM
Cup Final not even mentioned on the cover of today's Irish Times Sports section. Some typically pompous and self-important piece by Tom Humphries on TG4 given prominence instead. Hope there's a huge crowd so that these creeps feel some shame about their lack of coverage.

gufcfan
13/11/2010, 12:36 PM
If I end up in Dublin tomorrow, what are my options, ticket wise?

Are they being sold at the stadium, I'd have thought not..?

peadar1987
13/11/2010, 12:55 PM
If I end up in Dublin tomorrow, what are my options, ticket wise?

Are they being sold at the stadium, I'd have thought not..?

BonnieShels talked to the FAI, and they say there'll be a stall selling tickets outside the Berkeley Court Hotel (http://maps.google.com/maps/place?cid=12197566464850596338&q=berkeley+court+hotel&hl=en&ved=0CFcQ-QswAA&ei=95feTP7AJcXHjgfK7PjVCA&sll=53.278866,-6.18048&sspn=0.130161,0.125351&ie=UTF8&ll=53.334897,-6.237102&spn=0,0&t=h&z=17), just on Lansdowne Road. That's where I'm planning on getting mine

pixiehead
13/11/2010, 12:58 PM

Bennys gonna get yet!!!!!! He'll get you down the underground maze just like the minotaur he is and then you'll take back what you said about him!!! Terry the tiger and Paddy the panther will nibble on your Legs and freddy the fox will eat your arms! While Rocky the seagull finishes your slim pickings. Lilly the panther.....she'll just rob your wallet.....and not even hooperman can save you.............

Rasputin
13/11/2010, 1:35 PM
Bennys gonna get yet!!!!!! He'll get you down the underground maze just like the minotaur he is and then you'll take back what you said about him!!! Terry the tiger and Paddy the panther will nibble on your Legs and freddy the fox will eat your arms! While Rocky the seagull finishes your slim pickings. Lilly the panther.....she'll just rob your wallet.....and not even hooperman can save you.............
And hooperman will bring you up to the wicklow mountains and....

Rasputin
13/11/2010, 1:36 PM
Aah, "barstooler." The word to use when you when you don't agree with someone's opinion on the League. For the record, I brought a few "barstoolers" to Richmond Park for a City match in late 2009 and they were distinctly unimpressed with the facilities. Anyone who thinks infrastructure doesn't have an impact on the perception of the league is living in la la land.
Anybody who goes to the football and actually notices the facilities is a ****, plain and simple.

peadar1987
13/11/2010, 2:02 PM
Anybody who goes to the football and actually notices the facilities is a ****, plain and simple.

I'd tend to agree, but just because is shouldn't make a difference doesn't mean it doesn't

13/11/2010, 2:28 PM
And hooperman will bring you up to the wicklow mountains and....

....console, sympathise and rehabilitate you by instilling the famous Hooped courage and fight the impossible fight.. :fighter2: :good:

peadar1987
13/11/2010, 2:31 PM
....console, sympathise and rehabilitate you by instilling the famous Hooped courage and fight the impossible fight..

And then kick you in the shin and rob your wallet

13/11/2010, 2:34 PM
Well hes not a charity. Think of it as consultancy fees ;)