View Full Version : Clare League 2010/11
MikeBassett
13/10/2010, 7:18 AM
disagree fifa .. penalty kicks always favour keepers .. but it is still a miss if keeper saves !! going by your logic striking crossbar or post would not be a miss either as target has still been hit ...:confused:
Ya when you don't score a penalty it is a missed penalty, regardless whether it's saved or hits the post, if you don't score it's a miss
old git
13/10/2010, 9:55 PM
Tell me how does a penalty kick favour a keeper.. And how does hitting a post or crossbar mean you've hit the target.. Surely getting it over the line or hitting the net is the target..
because less pressure on keepers at penalty kicks .. penalty takers are always expected to score and keepers are expected to get beaten surely you cant miss from 12 yards out.. ;) make up your mind fifa pro your earlier post " Not really a miss when keeper saves it.. All a lad can do is hit the target.. " !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
A.P Hayes
13/10/2010, 11:37 PM
Have Killaloe a team in the Clare leagues folks ?
CousinSylDolan
14/10/2010, 6:39 AM
Have Killaloe a team in the Clare leagues folks ?
No. Derg Rovers were in the lg years ago and were from Killaloe but disbanded a few years back. I suppose Bridge Celtic (Bridgetown) are the nearest team to Killaloe now.
outleft
14/10/2010, 8:01 AM
Killaloe have a team in the North tipperary league, only started this season called Bridge United.
Predators
14/10/2010, 9:40 AM
Why have tulla utd A no game this weekend. Looks like Avenue aren't the team that we thought they were. Two games lost already. Think its called pressure.
mouldedstuds
14/10/2010, 5:06 PM
any word on oscar trayonr last night? any new faces on the scene
would hardly call losing 2 games pressure for avenue,,but 2 losses is not good so far but i cant recall medals being given out in october,,,, its gonna be a close league with a number of teams in contention right to the end.. Lifford have picked their form right up and rock are motoring nicely as well...
best of luck to all involved in fai this weekend
funkyplunket
15/10/2010, 10:20 AM
Dose anyone know the odds for the two all clare clashes in the FAI cup this w/d.I fancy Kilkishen to cause an upset, hear there back to full strenght with the hurling over so could give lifford a fright.They gave Avenue A and Newmarket A a scare in the cups last season and would love to put a couple of goals past their former keeper.
funkyplunket
17/10/2010, 1:56 PM
Lifford 0-1 Kilkishen celtic.what did i say
manalishi
17/10/2010, 6:47 PM
Newmaket 3 nil down came back to 3 all.Davy Wall hat trick
funkyplunket
19/10/2010, 11:06 PM
Dose anyone know the draw for the Fai Cup 3rd round.Only 4 clare teams left so best of luck to them
CousinSylDolan
20/10/2010, 6:18 AM
I'm hearing we will see draw Thurs...but it usually kept secret for a few days for some reason. Why the Fai cannot post it on their newly updated website is beyond me.
Planners
20/10/2010, 8:44 AM
its to make sure that one of the Limerick teams are in the shake up at the end on the tournament :)
mastermind1
20/10/2010, 10:20 AM
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQr84EYo64JsLTVkSjc8r-SzcMewC3jE9E1C_FjzJl1x3XTq8I&t=1&usg=__ZvBCLtsF8CRaR4rEdHlhQ0MQSo4= Oscar traynor friendly tonight against Limerick desmond shoul be a good workout, check out new players and new systems.
CousinSylDolan
20/10/2010, 10:21 AM
Best of luck...You might give us a report in the morning how ye get on.
CousinSylDolan
21/10/2010, 6:09 AM
Oscar Traynor Friendly
Result: Desmond League 1-2 Clare League (Gary Collins, Con Collins)
funkyplunket
21/10/2010, 9:56 AM
any update on fai 3rd round draw anyone
CousinSylDolan
21/10/2010, 11:19 AM
CLARE-DESMOND-KERRY
3rdROUND
Rock Rovers v Killarney Celtic
Castleisland V Kilcolman Rvs
Newcastlewest v Abbeyfeale Utd.
Knockaderry v Kileaney
Broadford Utd. v Castlegregory Rgs
Kilkeshen Clt. v Bunratty F.C.
Avenue Utd. v Rathkeale F.C.
Killarney Athletic v Listowel Clt.
mastermind1
21/10/2010, 11:25 AM
Oscar Traynor Friendly
Result: Desmond League 1-2 Clare League (Gary Collins, Con Collins)
Have to say it was an entertaining game and I thought we fully deserved the win, we will have to be more clinical though if we are to progress out of the group. Everybody put in a good shift and when we have a few of the other lads back i m sure we will be a match for any side in this competition
CousinSylDolan
21/10/2010, 11:34 AM
What was the team and subs?
funkyplunket
21/10/2010, 2:05 PM
CLARE-DESMOND-KERRY
3rdROUND
Rock Rovers v Killarney Celtic
Castleisland V Kilcolman Rvs
Newcastlewest v Abbeyfeale Utd.
Knockaderry v Kileaney
Broadford Utd. v Castlegregory Rgs
Kilkeshen Clt. v Bunratty F.C.
Avenue Utd. v Rathkeale F.C.
Killarney Athletic v Listowel Clt.
Well at least one clare team is def gonna go through.Which one tough?Bunratty wont find it too easy against kilkishen, as lifford found out last w/d, and at least Avenue and rock have home advantage in der game's so hopefullf we'l have 3 teams in next round
leather
21/10/2010, 2:12 PM
Were the 2 lads who used to play with Pike Playing(Eade & Nabbs)..?
mastermind1
22/10/2010, 10:15 AM
Neither are on the squad this year, Dont know the reasons behind them not beig selected but I think someone mentioned earlier that Nabs has a bad knee problem. CousinSyl the team was Jason Casey, Matty Nugent, David Russell, Con Collins, Simon Cuddy, Gary McNaboe, Damien O Rourke, David McCarthy, Eoin Glynn, Trevor Maxwell and Gary Collins. Subs were John Healy ad Kyle McCarthy.
Must say I am surprised that Newmarket only have one representative there.
Considering the run around some players still there got in last years final it makes you wonder is anyone watching Clare football.
I guess it must be a work in progress.
A.P Hayes
23/10/2010, 7:54 PM
No. Derg Rovers were in the lg years ago and were from Killaloe but disbanded a few years back. I suppose Bridge Celtic (Bridgetown) are the nearest team to Killaloe now.
Cheers lads , pity really enough people in K/loe Ballina to keep two teams going.
gaiscíoch
26/10/2010, 9:01 AM
Any reports from weekend games.. 2 sent off in rineanna was it a typical Darby game.. Also great win for lifford v tage.. They are going ahead in the town darby's
Derby....
CousinSylDolan
27/10/2010, 10:00 AM
MJC 3rd Round Draw
Rock Rovers v Avenue B or Rhine
Cratloe v Bridge Utd B
Avenue A v Newmarket A
Planners
27/10/2010, 12:13 PM
[QUOTE=fifa pro;1416537]Any reports from weekend games.. 2 sent off in rineanna was it a typical Darby game..
Good win for the Reds in the MJ - should go on and win it now !! - - - ref seemed a bit one sided to me although i only saw the last 30 mins - but in that time he must have given out 5 yellow cards to rovers - heard he arrived late and with no flags , reports have it that the visiting team were aware of this which is a bit strange !!
I suppose this is going to be your " typical darby" and always throws out a tough game but the lads can shake hands at the end of the game and leave it there till the next day :)
out red
27/10/2010, 3:30 PM
[QUOTE=fifa pro;1416537]Any reports from weekend games.. 2 sent off in rineanna was it a typical Darby game..
Good win for the Reds in the MJ - should go on and win it now !! - - - ref seemed a bit one sided to me although i only saw the last 30 mins - but in that time he must have given out 5 yellow cards to rovers - heard he arrived late and with no flags , reports have it that the visiting team were aware of this which is a bit strange !!
I suppose this is going to be your " typical darby" and always throws out a tough game but the lads can shake hands at the end of the game and leave it there till the next day :)
Not strange at all planners we got a phone call off the league at 10.30 to say he was running late we were told tommy austin had also been informed.
obi-1 kenobi-0
27/10/2010, 3:37 PM
[QUOTE=Planners;1416998]
Not strange at all planners we got a phone call off the league at 10.30 to say he was running late we were told tommy austin had also been informed.
Who was the ref?
Planners
27/10/2010, 4:28 PM
Dave mccarty - would have considered him a good ref
sorry out red - not aware of that - thanks - in hind-sight fair play to him , alot of refs may not bother - good man dave !
Planners
27/10/2010, 4:29 PM
sure wit a ref doing 2 games every sunday and with odds available they are getting very biased and i'd say it's no coincidence
are you suggesting match fixing ?
onetrickpony
27/10/2010, 5:37 PM
To suggest match fixing would be crazy i can honestly say while refs can be poor i wouldn,t think any of them set out to completely screw. rock seem to be the team in form of late would ye think they,ll put a halt to bridge c good league form over the wkn
Planners
28/10/2010, 9:29 AM
i persume your talking about AVE v NOF - - AVE kicked their ass the last time 5-0 - - same again IMO
Alot of really good refs out there but in fairness there has been alot of sending offs this year.. Maybe they are just getting too much abuse this year..I personally don't think you should be allowed bet on these matches.. I'm not saying it happened but lifford at 7/1 to beat Tulla a few weeks ago..and 5/2 to beat tage last week.. lads could make alot of money by losing..
Anyway I wouldn't read too much into form yet.. Along way to go... But should be a cracking game Sunday..
You are assuming the bookie is stupid. Plus the fact you are alluding to refs being complicit in your fantasy is dangerous grounds to be putting out there in the public forum.
Most of your posts are only looking for confrontation as they were in your previous guises on here.
First
28/10/2010, 10:00 AM
i persume your talking about AVE v NOF - - AVE kicked their ass the last time 5-0 - - same again IMO
Your'e right Avenue will relish this game after the hammering they gave Newmarket in the League game.
As far as I know it isn't on this week, Newmarket have a tough away fixture against Bridge United.
The circuspony
28/10/2010, 10:44 AM
Refs are doing their best this year ......even if it comes up short sometimes. Match fixing my backside.
Best of luck to Avenue in their munster senior league game this weekend. They were the best team last year and it will be interesting to see how they get on against the bigger teams.
League is wide open at the moment, hopefully this winter wont be as bad as last so we'll be able to play a few more league games before christmas. I have my doubts though.
Planners
28/10/2010, 2:58 PM
Anyone know when the oscar traynor game is fixed for ?
CousinSylDolan
28/10/2010, 3:32 PM
Anyone know when the oscar traynor game is fixed for ?
Home to Limerick on Nov 14th.
plasticpitch
29/10/2010, 7:09 AM
Dave mccarty - would have considered him a good ref
sorry out red - not aware of that - thanks - in hind-sight fair play to him , alot of refs may not bother - good man dave !
glad to see dave back reffing. we need his experience in the league.
mouldedstuds
01/11/2010, 2:36 PM
Any report Davey from the game vs blarney
Heard ye were very unlucky against a strong senior side.
Rock ticking along nicely in the league.
Rock may be on top but long season ahead and the league appears to be wide open.
Any reports from the games at the weekend?
Forum is gone very quiet!
avenueC
02/11/2010, 1:17 PM
avenue / blarney
avenue played some great stuff against an excellent senior side,.their keeper made 3 great saves in first hr to keep them in it, john healy pulled off one great save late one., davey an pa were savage in the middle an the rest of the lads really gave it their all..
mattie got sent off for 2nd yellow early in extra time and blareny had one chance that jon saved.. down to pens and we lost 3-2
speaking to their managaement after they said they were lucky and relieved to get thru and thoroughly underestimated avenue,,
but we'd rather lose that then next week,,.,
Planners
02/11/2010, 2:34 PM
QUOTE=0030;1419510]Rock may be on top but long season ahead and the league appears to be wide open.
Any reports from the games at the weekend?
Forum is gone very quiet![/QUOTE]
Long season is right - rovers had a good win over Tulla - 4-3
I think the absence of FIFA PRO might increase the desire to comment on this thread - he was a nightmare
Buzzer
02/11/2010, 3:05 PM
Any predictions for this weekends fixtures?
Husquarna Maloney Garden Machinery Premier Division League
Bridge United A V Rinnanna Rovers A
Lifford V Newmarket Celtic A
Tulla United A V Hermitage A
F.A.I. Junior Cup 3rd Round Clare/Kerry/Desmond Area
Avenue United V Rathkeale
Rock Rovers V Killarney Celtic
Kilkishen Celtic V Bunratty
Munster Junior Cup Third Round
Cratloe Forest V Bridge United B
Wolverine
02/11/2010, 7:57 PM
Excellent match reports on the avenue/ rock games in the Clare people today. They didn't leave out anything!!!.maybe next week.
mastermind1
03/11/2010, 9:14 AM
Any report Davey from the game vs blarney
Heard ye were very unlucky against a strong senior side.
Rock ticking along nicely in the league.
Think the Avenue C report there is spot on. Think it was the best Avenue performance in my time at the club. From 1 to 16, management and supporters, everybody put in a great shift. Russ was a colossus at the back and Mikey Mahoney had their LOI full back in knots and taught the lad was gonna get sick the amount of times he was turned inside out. Saying that they were a decent team, people that saw the game were saying it was the best 0-0 they had seen. Anyhow we will be trying to repeat that performance come sunday when again we will host a very decent side in Rathkeale.
mouldedstuds
03/11/2010, 10:14 AM
Good reports from the avenue boys.
Any other clubs have reports.
Best of luck to all clare sides this weekend in munster and fai action.progression to latter stages of these competitions is a must and with the county side reaching the final last season it would be nice to promote the club scene as well
Predators
03/11/2010, 11:04 AM
Rinnanna Rovers to win. Bridge Utd not going well at all. (Is there trouble in the camp)
Lifford on a good run at the moment but no better team than newmarket to stop that run.
Tulla Utd conceding alot of goals but can see a draw here.
Any predictions for this weekends fixtures?
Husquarna Maloney Garden Machinery Premier Division League
Bridge United A V Rinnanna Rovers A
Lifford V Newmarket Celtic A
Tulla United A V Hermitage A
F.A.I. Junior Cup 3rd Round Clare/Kerry/Desmond Area
Avenue United V Rathkeale
Rock Rovers V Killarney Celtic
Kilkishen Celtic V Bunratty
Munster Junior Cup Third Round
Cratloe Forest V Bridge United B
mastermind1
03/11/2010, 12:01 PM
Agree with mouldedstuds there, it would be great to see a team from clare doing really well in munster and fai competitions. The standard of the premier this year is very high I think, Anyone agree/disagree? Lots of goals being scored aswell so thats always a good thing