View Full Version : Clare League 2010/11
First
13/09/2010, 12:38 PM
Yes, highlight of the game was Colum Treacy's 'Arshavin ssshhhhh' celebration after his 'thunderbolt' of a goal.
I thought he played very well yesterday , he'll be a great addition to his next club.
avenueC
13/09/2010, 12:44 PM
I thought he played very well yesterday , he'll be a great addition to his next club.
Ha ha..
Good win for avenue always a very hard place to go and win. Pitch looked great as well.
Are bunratty in trouble this season or will they survive.
Can't imagine nof paying anyone to play for them.
Ha ha..
Good win for avenue always a very hard place to go and win. Pitch looked great as well.
Are bunratty in trouble this season or will they survive. Can't imagine nof paying anyone to play for them.
Bunratty will be fine. Bossed the game at times yesterday.
Can any one confirm/deny that Davy wall is getting money to play for Newmarket?
Would this be a first in clare league ??
If he is or he isnt, whats the big deal?? im not a fan of players getting paid,but its NOF bizz if they are,
13/09/2010, 2:10 PM
If he is or he isnt, whats the big deal?? im not a fan of players getting paid,but its NOF bizz if they are,
Let that be the last post on it,move on to football lads.
Planners
13/09/2010, 2:12 PM
First - you'll be working for the Clare People next - your getting around -
I can see yourself and Joe side by side keeping us up to date on all the local sport and maybe getting the reports right for a change !!!
ginge lyndz
13/09/2010, 2:13 PM
edit: nevermind :)
13/09/2010, 2:18 PM
Lads,just for the record,about players getting paid.
Any time we allow this to be talked about the first thing that happens is that foot.ie gets an email or a registered letter from the club concerned saying they don't pay their players and threatining legal action if we don't remove it so for the moment we can't discuss it.
twofooted
13/09/2010, 2:45 PM
No offence taken - - - its an aging team and we have off loaded the dead wood :) - - couple of new fellows in and compared to the team 3 season ago it has improved immensley !! especially at the back where we now have an hugly improved selection :) - -
AVE beat us yesterday - wasnt at the match but hear that a draw would have been a fair result - ref a bit biased but as usual the " top" teams get the rub of the green !
Avenue were better than Rineanna yesterday but the Ref was poor,so much for the home team getting the benefit of the doubt.It was not seen yesterday.Rineanna tryed hard and really matched avenue in the first half but the introduction of Gary Flynn and general improvment proved too much for the Rineanna
First - you'll be working for the Clare People next - your getting around -
I can see yourself and Joe side by side keeping us up to date on all the local sport and maybe getting the reports right for a change !!!
Planners you know having to conform to someone's agenda wouldn't be my way.
By the way , who is Joe , I am looking for a career change , I have a box of crayons ready to go.
ginge lyndz
13/09/2010, 3:03 PM
Lads,just for the record,about players getting paid.
Any time we allow this to be talked about the first thing that happens is that foot.ie gets an email or a registered letter from the club concerned saying they don't pay their players and threatining legal action if we don't remove it so for the moment we can't discuss it.
Sure what exactly can they do? This site isn't a news site with articles saying this or that club are paying their players its a public forum, they couldn't sue me if I told somebody they pay their players out on the street no more than they could sue this site for me saying on here, no club should have the power to get things removed from here. If you don't want us to talk about it I won't but I think whether we like it or not it is a part of junior soccer and we should be allowed discuss it on here..........the place where everyone goes to discuss junior soccer.
McDonalds have awful food........................(just wondering will you have to delete that just in case McDonalds sue?)
Planners
13/09/2010, 3:49 PM
Joe o Murahurtigh { I know the spelling is wrong }
Benjy Riordan
14/09/2010, 9:25 AM
Lads, congrats to Padraig Sutton on being appointed as fourth official for the Champions league match between FC Cluj and Basel. It's great for Clare soccer that someone from the "clare soccer family" has reached that level.
A team of Irish match officials will take charge of a Champions League group stage match for the first ever time this Wednesday, signalling a major breakthrough for Irish referees.
Alan Kelly will become the first ever Irish referee to take charge of a Champions League group stage fixture when he leads a team of Irish officials for the Group E fixture between CFR Cluj (Romania) and Basel (Switzerland).
Six Irish match officials will be involved in the fixture - Kelly (Cork) will be assisted by Damien McGrath (Mayo) and Ken Hennessy (Cork), while Anthony Buttimer (Cork) and Neil Doyle (Dublin) will be the additional assistant referees, and Padraigh Sutton (Clare) will act as Fourth Official.
Five of the officials are graduates of the FAI Referees School of Excellence. Kelly, Doyle and Sutton graduated from the first Referee School of Excellence, which ran from 1998 to 2000, while McGrath and Hennessy graduated in 2002 and 2004 respectively.
mastermind1
14/09/2010, 10:12 AM
Ya congrats to padraic, in fairness to him he is a very good referee. Doesnt feel intimidated by sending players off for verbal abuse and sending players off in the usually tough away grounds.
First
14/09/2010, 11:18 AM
Ya congrats to padraic, in fairness to him he is a very good referee. Doesnt feel intimidated by sending players off for verbal abuse and sending players off in the usually tough away grounds.
Congrats to Padraic , good referee , handled Newmarket / Bunratty game last week very well . Has respect for players and will also engage with them rather than lecture, is also quick to point out when they are pushing their luck. This attitude reflects well as the players and managers respond positively from the way he handles the game.
Banner_balls
14/09/2010, 12:21 PM
Has anyone heard if CL midweek games are to be postponed?
Fixtures in Limerick for this evening are postponed due to fading light.
Planners
15/09/2010, 8:22 AM
Fixtures for the weekend ?
mastermind1
15/09/2010, 9:13 AM
Sunday 19/09/10
F.A.I. Junior Cup Clare/Kerry/Desmond Area First Round
Bunratty: Bunratty V Cratloe Forest
P.Sutton 11.00
Mounthawk Pk Tralee: Lisselton Rovers V Shannon Olympic A
Kerry Officials 1.30
Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Broadford United
P.Dunne 1.30
Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penalty’s if necessary.
Husquarna Maloney Garden Machinery Premier Division League
Fairgreen: Hermitage A V Tulla United A
M.O`Brien 10.30
Rineanna: Rineanna Rovers A V Bridge Celtic A
J.Stanford 11.00
McDonagh Pk: Newmarket Celtic A V Avenue United A
P.Gleeson 11.00
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Lifford
D.Hehir 11.00
avenueC
15/09/2010, 10:20 AM
Tough times in the village planners? Can't afford the price of the paper.
We will have a whip around for you , for your longstanding service to the cause
Planners
15/09/2010, 11:50 AM
No fear AC - - tough one sunday - will this decide your league ? :)
Should be a good game on Sunday, but it defiantely won't decide anything, long way to go yet and this years league looks a tough one.
Hopefully Newmarket's injured will be ok and Avenue missing Mastermind for the next 2 games is a loss to them.
Also does anyone know if the games tonight are going ahead?
MikeBassett
15/09/2010, 2:15 PM
Should be a good game on Sunday, but it defiantely won't decide anything, long way to go yet and this years league looks a tough one.
Hopefully Newmarket's injured will be ok and Avenue missing Mastermind for the next 2 games is a loss to them.
Also does anyone know if the games tonight are going ahead?
Apparently they are alright. 6.15 kick-offs according to claresoccer.net
Dubber
15/09/2010, 2:50 PM
First Div kicking off this weekend....who are the key signings for which clubs? olympic looking to bounce straight back up, who do you reckon will be challenging up there with them?
avenueC
15/09/2010, 3:12 PM
Title decider?? Not in the slightest.
Gonna be a close one this season , going to the last few games I reckon
Will be good to get bridge Celtic/rineanna/ Newmarket away games out of the way after 4 games. Nice fixtures indeed
Fairkop
15/09/2010, 3:41 PM
where can i find the premier league table
MikeBassett
15/09/2010, 4:10 PM
claresoccer.net/Premier/premier.html
The tables on the website are coming through from League Republic so that's why some work PCs mightn't be able to see the tables on the website.
Planners
15/09/2010, 4:22 PM
Gonna be a close one this season , going to the last few games I reckon
Will be good to get bridge Celtic/rineanna/ Newmarket away games out of the way after 4 games. Nice fixtures indeed[/QUOTE]
Early days indeed ! - -want to be careful though - last season ye got the away game done with early and ended up having to play the second half away :) as well - - - - 1 -0
POS P W D L F A GD PTS
1 Newmarket Celtic A 2 2 0 0 5 3 2 6
2 Hermitage A 2 2 0 0 4 2 2 6
3 Rock Rovers 3 2 0 1 5 4 1 6
4 Bridge Celtic A 2 1 1 0 4 2 2 4
5 Avenue Utd A 3 1 1 1 5 5 0 4
6 Tulla Utd A 3 1 1 1 4 5 -1 4
7 Bunratty A 3 0 2 1 5 6 -1 2
8 Bridge Utd A 2 0 1 1 2 3 -1 1
9 Lifford AFC 3 0 1 2 2 4 -2 1
10 Rineanna Rovers A 3 0 1 2 2 4 -2 1
avenueC
15/09/2010, 4:43 PM
your right there
it was 1-0 to avenue
then 1-1 in the away / away game
First Div kicking off this weekend....who are the key signings for which clubs? olympic looking to bounce straight back up, who do you reckon will be challenging up there with them?
the demoted clubs will always fancy themselves to go back up,turnpike look strong,it will be tough for the promoted clubs, big step up, from one devision to another,id say avenue, sporting, turnpike and olympic for the run in,
best of luck to all of them..
studsup
15/09/2010, 8:33 PM
lads i was watchin rineanna b and tulla b earlier on. it was a comical performance from PD. For the neutrals it's very entertaining watching him but it must be extremely frustrating for the two sides (for obvious reasons). At one stage a rineanna player clearly passed(almost rolled) the ball back to the tulla player for a free and the tulla lad let it run under his foot, PD roared at the rineanna player ''14 if you boot the ball away again you'll have a yellow card up your nostrils". Then a player got a kick (which resulted in an injury to him) but his momentum carried him just over the sideline, PD stopped the game a minute later ordering the inj player to get back off the pitch, the player didnt move. ''I'll make him move now so I will" and PD ran down and was told the player had a broken toe, PD said the player rolled himself back onto the pitch and made a big scene and dished out the yellow card anyway to the frustration of manager and player, player told him to f*** off then and was shown a red. While the name and number were being taken an onlooker shouted ''hang up the boots ref'', PD looked up immediately and accused the rineanna manager of sayin it and ordered him out to the road. Needless to say this really annoyed the manager as PD was adamant that the manager said it, eventually he believed the manager and sent out the onlooker. Crazy, nonsensical rubbish that does be goin on, he really does know how to get under peoples skins.
its funny ok,are refs able to tell fans/neutrals to leave the game there watching,surely atleast fans/neutral or if not players and officials are able to give there veiw on incidents, or the opinion of the man in charge, what would happen if the person had been charged to get in??? just curious of the rules there,
Banner_balls
16/09/2010, 7:48 AM
Prego Menswear First Division League Cup Section B
Mountshannon Celtic P-P Bridge United B
How amateur is the Clare League? How is it that a pitch can be double booked in this day of age?
I’m sure Mountshannon and the Bridge had players who had to leave work early to accommodate the 6:15 Kick Off.
Was it dark before the other 6:15 games finished?
mouldedstuds
16/09/2010, 2:22 PM
lads any chance you would just meet up for a drink and get it sorted :love2:.. only joking...
anyone want to predict who will win all the divisions.....
here's mine.. premier : rock.... 1st : olympic... 2nd : moher 3rd : bunratty or olympic b.
anyone any taughts:ball:
good to see a rock rovers representative here to keep circus pony company,
ye'll need a decent keeper before ye win any league
twofooted
16/09/2010, 3:25 PM
Last Nite was a crazy,Match officials need the help for both players and managers during a match but when a "person" comes to a game with a attitude similar to "PD" it is very hard.He was making offside decisions from 60 yards away and his commuication was a disgrace.I hate to say this but he comes to matchs looking for a confrontation.In every aspects of the game he finds faults evidence of which could be seen before kick off when he wanted the match kicked off at 6.10.If a game is fixed for 6.15 it kicks off at that time.Both teams were told to get into position at 6.10 whick is wrong
mouldedstuds
16/09/2010, 5:40 PM
rocks keeper will be grand.. dont you worry
I know you are Eric. No fear of you at all
Lads am I moaning too much or have I a right to give out..??? My problem is this after 6/8 weeks of very hard pre season putting in the training and all that goes with it, staying off the drink on a saturday night so you can be at your best for sunday morning match we turn up to our first game of the season this morning itching to go and as we were standing up to get our boots checked the REF tells us who is wearing a large knee brace that he has a knee injury and will not be able to run and keep up with the play and that if he is calling frees from 50/60 yards that we are not to " give out ". We as players have to put up with this say nothing so as not to rock the boat. All I ask for if they are not fit to be able to get around the pitch be honest and step aside for that week. If it was a cup final this morning I am sure they would step aside but because it only an old league match who cares??? They keep telling us we must respect the refs but it has to come from both sides!!!!!!!.
Wolverine
19/09/2010, 7:05 PM
5-0,no one saw that coming today.we played a lethal passing game today on a beautiful surface. But once again the referreing was pretty poor.and who said gary Flynn will be warming the bench, another belter today. Everybody played for each other.
Lads am I moaning too much or have I a right to give out..??? My problem is this after 6/8 weeks of very hard pre season putting in the training and all that goes with it, staying off the drink on a saturday night so you can be at your best for sunday morning match we turn up to our first game of the season this morning itching to go and as we were standing up to get our boots checked the REF tells us who is wearing a large knee brace that he has a knee injury and will not be able to run and keep up with the play and that if he is calling frees from 50/60 yards that we are not to " give out ". We as players have to put up with this say nothing so as not to rock the boat. All I ask for if they are not fit to be able to get around the pitch be honest and step aside for that week. If it was a cup final this morning I am sure they would step aside but because it only an old league match who cares??? They keep telling us we must respect the refs but it has to come from both sides!!!!!!!.
an d i bet you paid 3 to 5 euro to play today, to give to him........
mastermind1
20/09/2010, 12:24 AM
Think you ll find that I played along with Gary flynn today but in fairness to him he was very good today as were all our players. Referee was shocking today, seriously I m ****ED OFF WITH THE STANDARD OF REFEREEING AT THE MOMENT, got booked early today for shouting at the referee to come on and get the decision right and second booking was for a DIVE.newmarket are a better team than what we saw today but we showed way more hunger and fight. Was that Davy Walls debut today?
Play_On
20/09/2010, 12:18 PM
Was watching the game yesterday. Must say avenue were very impressive. But to say the standard of referring was shocking is a total farce. In fairness you got a yellow in the first have for abusing the referee and your second one was for a blatant dive. Your conduct after this was a disgrace calling him a w***** to his face. In fairness Ref was excellent yesterday maybe your saying he's shocking because he didn’t allow ye to bully him like the other refs in clare. Two sending offs in two games for you and its all the refs fault?? come off it you should concentrate on playing ball and stop acting like a pre madonna.
mouldedstuds
20/09/2010, 1:56 PM
I thought avenue were as impressive as Newmarket were woeful
Super all round performance even after macarty was red carded.
Davy wall doesn't look fit or up to the pace of it.
Both teams missing players but you would fancy avenue at this very early stage
Refs are not taking any abuse this season and rightly so. It might stop all the mouthers .. Eventually
LegendStriker10
20/09/2010, 2:38 PM
Was watching the game yesterday. Must say avenue were very impressive. But to say the standard of referring was shocking is a total farce. In fairness you got a yellow in the first have for abusing the referee and your second one was for a blatant dive. Your conduct after this was a disgrace calling him a w***** to his face. In fairness Ref was excellent yesterday maybe your saying he's shocking because he didn’t allow ye to bully him like the other refs in clare. Two sending offs in two games for you and its all the refs fault?? come off it you should concentrate on playing ball and stop acting like a pre madonna.
Another ref on another day might have even sent mccarthy off for the abuse and dissent for the 1st yellow card.
I thought avenue were as impressive as Newmarket were woeful
Super all round performance even after macarty was red carded.
Davy wall doesn't look fit or up to the pace of it.
Both teams missing players but you would fancy avenue at this very early stage
Refs are not taking any abuse this season and rightly so. It might stop all the mouthers .. Eventually
Avenue were impressive but at this early stage of the season I wouldn't read too much into it. Newmarket yesterday had one of those days, alot of silly mistakes cost them and in the second half improved the performance which should have yielded a couple of goals at least.
Davy Wall , I thought done well considering he has been out of action for 4/6 weeks and working his way back after an injury.
As for the sending off, it was deserved and it is good to see the refs clamping down on the abuse. I thought the ref handled the game well yesterday.
avenueC
20/09/2010, 4:33 PM
great to beat the 'auld enemy' but 1 win doesnt win the league,both teams will be there or there about come the end of the season.
in terms of the refs clamping down it is a good thing but some refs should know when a player is frustrated and a player is abusive,, a player can be very frustrated and swear to no one in particular but some refs see that as a personal attack, good refs know when this occurs an lets the player blow some steam,
obviously not condoning refs getting personal stick..
bridge celtic going well, nice and quiet under the radar,,,
rubadubdub
20/09/2010, 4:40 PM
Any reports from Olympic's FAI match against Lisselton yesterday?
It's an impressive scalp beating them on their own patch.
mouldedstuds
23/09/2010, 10:10 AM
Sunday 26/09/10
Munster Junior Cup Preliminary Round
Lees Road: Avenue United A V Corofin Harps
J.Murray 2.00
Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Connolly Celtic
T.Guilfoyle 11.00
Liscannor: Moher Celtic V Newmarket Celtic A
D.McCarthy 11.00
Rineanna: Rineanna Rovers A V Lifford
J.Stanford 11.00
Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penalties if necessary.
Husquarna Maloney Garden Machinery Premier Division League
Fairgreen: Hermitage A V Tulla United A
J.Murray 11.00
Sixmilebridge: Bridge United A V Rock Rovers
A.Murphy 11.00
some decent games there, cant see too many shocks , though you never know
out red
23/09/2010, 4:13 PM
Odds Supplied By Lets Bet Bookmakers
Newmarket-On-Fergus
Clares Leading Sports Bookmaker
Sunday 26/09/10Munster Junior Cup Preliminary Round