View Full Version : Clare League 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

Play_On
14/04/2011, 2:06 PM
Bunratty 0-2 Avenue
rats all but gone now. they battled hard last night and were the better side in the 1st half in a game where there weren't many chances, scales missed a great chance after the break and avenue took control after that. it baffled me as to how davy mc got away card free for his appalling high tackle on the bunratty keeper just before half time, studs into the keepers chest and got nothing on the ball... very lucky to escape a straight red card there

Wolverine
14/04/2011, 4:51 PM
Davy was well in his rights to go for that ball.the keeper was very brave. It was a 50/50 ball. Even the Bunratty lads said it. It's a shame the rats are gone. There a better side than their league position shows.

avenueC
14/04/2011, 7:48 PM
it was in no way a red card and this isnt an avenue perspective on it,,
ball went into the box and davey an the keeper both went for it , both bravely might i add, davey tried to poke it over the keepers head and he connected with the keeper in the chest,, no malice or dirt in it at all,, keeper was very brave , but luckily got up after it and continued.\pity to see bunratty go down, a decent footballing side with some good players,

Buckled
18/04/2011, 8:44 AM
How can you call Bunratty a decent footballing side. They havent won a league game all year. They deserve to go straight down. Who will fill the other two positions!!!

Prem Rep!
18/04/2011, 9:17 AM
Prem Rep your wrong,newmarket are playing a challenge match in tipp and the lads wont be able to play the soccer,but every 1 else will be there and there wont be any fear of Rineanna.It would have being nice to have them i will give ya that thou!!!

Glad to see the Newmarket hurling selectors allowing lads play yesterday :)

twofooted
18/04/2011, 11:54 AM
Glad to see the Newmarket hurling selectors allowing lads play yesterday :)

Ya it was sound of them alright,Its a awful pity that albert Finnan was refing the game.The clare league decide to have lines men at a league game for avenue,but a cup q final is given a ref that...Rineanna rovers were 1 up and alan barrett is past the last man and he is pulled im down,now there was no posssible way the center back can stay on the pitch.Alan is through on goal.The ref thinks for a short while and gives yellow.After that Ronan Mac is hooked in the box while shooting his ankle is all marked,now he had to give a peno very hard to see how it is not a peno.He looks away.Rinanna were done out of it yesterday big time.Fairness is a simple thing to ask for.We didnt see it yesterday.

Play_On
18/04/2011, 12:35 PM
Ya it was sound of them alright,Its a awful pity that albert Finnan was refing the game.The clare league decide to have lines men at a league game for avenue,but a cup q final is given a ref that...Rineanna rovers were 1 up and alan barrett is past the last man and he is pulled im down,now there was no posssible way the center back can stay on the pitch.Alan is through on goal.The ref thinks for a short while and gives yellow.After that Ronan Mac is hooked in the box while shooting his ankle is all marked,now he had to give a peno very hard to see how it is not a peno.He looks away.Rinanna were done out of it yesterday big time.Fairness is a simple thing to ask for.We didnt see it yesterday.

It's no surprise to me that the ref in charge of yesterday's game gave two big calls in the match (one would say the two biggest decisions to be made in the game) in favour of the home side. He has always been a hometown decision ref, easily intimidated and bullyed into decisions.

Have to agree with you on the assistant referees twofooted. From the quarter-finals on there should be assistant referees, especially when there is two played last Sunday and two yesterday. I have to question this bullsh1t of the CDSL appointing assistant referees to that game, like, is this going to happen every single time these two sides meet? Rediculous. But, if the CDSL so desperately want to have assistants at this game why have two of the top refs in the county at it? ie. Yesterday John Murray and Pa Gleeson were there, the Tulla V Lifford QF got a 'high-profile' official in Martin O'Brien yet the other QF didn't...

Prem Rep!
18/04/2011, 12:50 PM
twofooted, apologies if ye lost money in the bookies yesterday. On the two decisions, first one I agree centre half was lucky but the only thing in his favour was that the Rovers player had kicked the ball too far in front of him and keeper probably would have been out on time. Saying that I don't think there would have been any complaints if our player got the line. Second one, your player had the ball taken off his toe, again I've seen them given and believe me we have had enough dodgy decisions against us this season. I guess the balance out over a season. We gifted ye a goal, plus if the referree was booking for late tackles yesterday ye would have been down to 9 - so that balances out.

Instead of having a go at Albert it would be more in your line to control your supporters who were giving him dogs abuse yesterday, a lot of it very personal and nothing to do with what was going on in the game.

twofooted
19/04/2011, 8:27 AM
twofooted, apologies if ye lost money in the bookies yesterday. On the two decisions, first one I agree centre half was lucky but the only thing in his favour was that the Rovers player had kicked the ball too far in front of him and keeper probably would have been out on time. Saying that I don't think there would have been any complaints if our player got the line. Second one, your player had the ball taken off his toe, again I've seen them given and believe me we have had enough dodgy decisions against us this season. I guess the balance out over a season. We gifted ye a goal, plus if the referree was booking for late tackles yesterday ye would have been down to 9 - so that balances out.

Instead of having a go at Albert it would be more in your line to control your supporters who were giving him dogs abuse yesterday, a lot of it very personal and nothing to do with what was going on in the game.

"very personal"it was slagging about his age,he took it very well and he was giving it back to the rineanna crowd.No issue is what he said after the game.The decisions were the big factor and ye are in the semi finals so issue over.

mouldedstuds
19/04/2011, 3:57 PM
fair play to bridge b. another fantastic cup campaign so far... beating prem team is always an achievement,

Wolverine
19/04/2011, 7:51 PM
When is the cup draw. And I bet the 2 prem sides meet in the semi's

onetrickpony
19/04/2011, 10:02 PM
just one for the nof an avenue lads both teams played teams fighting to stay up over the wkn who ye reckon out of the 2 bridge teams will go down

First
20/04/2011, 7:55 AM
just one for the nof an avenue lads both teams played teams fighting to stay up over the wkn who ye reckon out of the 2 bridge teams will go down

I'll take a shot at answering this.

The one with the least points.

Is there a prize?

Prem Rep!
20/04/2011, 8:43 AM
They have to play each other so I guess the winner of that. Big games tonight too.

onetrickpony
20/04/2011, 12:58 PM
Really good input there first keep it up good man u are

footballfriend
20/04/2011, 1:05 PM
I'll take a shot at answering this.

The one with the least points.

Is there a prize?

Good 1....

First
20/04/2011, 3:27 PM
Really good input there first keep it up good man u are

Do you think that anyone from Newmarket or Avenue is going to answer a question like that. Your basically asking us to compare 2 teams and give an opinion on who will be relegated, have you not watched the teams play and formed your own opinion.

Also if you are going to ask a question like that, why not give your own opinion on what you think, that would be an inciteful post.

To answer your question is imo disrespectful.

footballfriend
21/04/2011, 7:47 PM
so anyone wanna predict ave vs nof sun? i reckon ave will have too much.dont think newmarket are defensively up to scratch.

onetrickpony
22/04/2011, 7:51 PM
To ans that question would be disrespectful am I right there first

CousinSylDolan
23/04/2011, 8:01 AM
Looking forward to the Avenue/Newmarket game tomorrow in Lee's Rd. Very hard to call it. Newmarket win tomorrow and they are champions, simple as that for them. I'd imagine they would take a draw though. Avenue have to win tomorrow and then have 3 banana skins and a cup semi thrown in. They are on some run of form though in fairness.

Cup draw...

Avenue A vs Tulla A
Burren vs Bridge B

Kicks
24/04/2011, 4:56 PM
congrats to newmarket, some going only dropping points in 3 games out of 17, good effort by avenue on playing catch up with their games in hand but best team in league are deserved winners

footballfriend
25/04/2011, 3:15 AM
anyone wanna try pick a team of the season from all teams?

Second
25/04/2011, 12:58 PM
That will be tough as alot of good players in league

mastermind1
25/04/2011, 1:29 PM
Congrats newmarket, we gave it our best shot and will have to pick ourselves up for the cup semi next sunday against tulla.

1. John Healy(ave)
2. Mickey joe sullivan(lifford)
3.Eoin O Brien(nwmkt)
4.Rhys phillips(tage)
5. Colin smythe(ave)
6. Pa wilson(ave)
7.Mike o malley(newmkt)
8.Gerry dullaghan(tage)
9.Eoin glynn(rock)
10. Davy wall (nwmkt)
11. alan brigdale(tulla)

There the most consistent players in my opinion over the season. I think you could find places for more nwmkt and ave players but that team represnts 6 teams in the league which is about fair.

mouldedstuds
25/04/2011, 3:43 PM
thats some strange team there mastermind.. wouldnt say its the best one .. everyone has their own opinion!!

footballfriend
25/04/2011, 5:11 PM
My team based on the games i have played against them and other games i have seen:

1. John Healy (Ave)
2. Mickey Joe O'Sullivan (Liff)
3. Eoin O'Brien (Newm)
4. Jason White (Rock)
5. Colin Symthe (Ave)
6. Pa Wilson (Ave)
7. Davy McCarthy (Ave)
8. Gerry Dullaghan (Tage)
9. Daryl Eade (Rock)
10. Davy Wall (Newm)
11. Alan Brigdale (Tulla)

Second
25/04/2011, 6:18 PM
From what I've seen I'd go for

1 J Casey rineanna
2 m Joe o Sullivan lifford
3 e o brien Nof
4 d Murphy Tulla
5 d russell avenue
6 d McCarthy avenue
7 Ryan Kelly bunratty
8 s lawlor Nof
9 d wall Nof
10 d o connell bunratty
11 e glynn rock

Nedge
26/04/2011, 9:28 PM
Would any team be interested in coming to Cork playing a tournament on August bank Holiday weekend being run as part of SpóirtFest 2011 in Cork over the August Bank Holiday Weekend. Give us a shout if you are interested.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sp%C3%B3irtFest/17925670879234 (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sp%C3%B3irtFest/179256708792342)

leftback
26/04/2011, 10:34 PM
Avenue gave it a good shot, the league is very hard to win when you are left with so many games to catch up on.Newmarket are the champions and deserve it,They played well on Sunday but Avenue needed to target certain players from Newmarket to win the game,they failed to do so.Avenue need to plan more next season and understand runs in other areas with effect the league.

Second
27/04/2011, 7:30 AM
What does your last sentence mean leftback " need to understand runs in other areas with effect the league" ...

avenueC
27/04/2011, 11:12 AM
congratulations to newmarket, well deserved over the season,
avenue gave it a great shot after xmas but not to be... hopefully a successful retention of the cup will finish the season off in style., best of luck to the 4 teams left !

studsup
27/04/2011, 1:57 PM
What does your last sentence mean leftback " need to understand runs in other areas with effect the league" ...

He's referring to the Munster Junior and FAI

Second
27/04/2011, 2:04 PM
Cheers studsup

mastermind1
27/04/2011, 3:35 PM
He's referring to the Munster Junior and FAI

I think its in clubs best interests to try and get good runs going in in Fai and Munster, otherwise players will not learn from playing against top class junior sides. I think the fact we reached the last 32 in both competitions and got knocked out by St Michaels (tipperary) who are in both munster and Fai finals will make us a better team in the long run.

studsup
27/04/2011, 4:26 PM
Have to agree, there is something wrong if a club doesn't want to be going as far as possible in the Munster Junior and FAI Junior Cups in my eyes. IMO Avenue progressing in these two competitions didn't hinder their domestic challenge at all. They did win 8 league games in a row up until Sunday's defeat to Newmarket and are in the Cup semi-final

Second
27/04/2011, 11:19 PM
Olympic look to have 1st wrapped up again..

footballfriend
29/04/2011, 2:07 AM
Interesting fight for relegation...some amount of possibilities!

Second
29/04/2011, 7:32 AM
Ya techically anyone from hermitage down could still be in playoff.. Going into last 2 games of season and only 3 teams safe.. Crazy stuff

Nedge
29/04/2011, 12:37 PM
Would any team be interested in coming to Cork playing a tournament on August bank Holiday weekend being run as part of SpóirtFest 2011 in Cork over the August Bank Holiday Weekend. Give us a shout if you are interested.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sp%C3%B3irtFest/17925670879234 (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sp%C3%B3irtFest/179256708792342)

old git
29/04/2011, 9:39 PM
Olympic look to have 1st wrapped up again..

Again i thought you could only wrap it up once !!!

MikeBassett
01/05/2011, 1:42 PM
Avenue 0-0 Tulla AET. Avenue won on penalties. Got out of jail in the shootout, but were camped in Tulla's half for the 2nd half

Wolverine
01/05/2011, 4:28 PM
When is the cup final penciled in, does any body know.

Second
01/05/2011, 6:26 PM
Think 28th may normally last sat in may

Wolverine
01/05/2011, 7:15 PM
cheers. Thought as much. The same day as the heinekin cup and champions league final. I wonder where the crowd will be, pub or doora.

Second
01/05/2011, 7:56 PM
It's the same every year ... But they might have it the 21st.. Depending on what suits avenue :-)

avenueC
02/05/2011, 8:11 AM
Good win and tough tough battle. Tulla are a promising side but felt avenue deserved it over all in the 90 mins n extra time. But! Only for John healy making a brilliant save in the shoot out to keep us in it.
I'm sure the league will fix it for when it's agreeable to both teams n to try n get a crowd out.

Second
03/05/2011, 7:58 AM
cheers. Thought as much. The same day as the heinekin cup and champions league final. I wonder where the crowd will be, pub or doora.

Heineken cup final on 21/05/11 .... Champions league final 28/05/11

mastermind1
04/05/2011, 2:27 PM
5pm on saturday 28th would draw a crowd to the game before the champions league final I think. Well done to Michael Hoey on having the County grounds in great condition last sunday and hopefully will be the same for the final. Alot of games going to be played on it in next few weeks.

footballfriend
04/05/2011, 4:15 PM
Why are Bridge celtic and utd playing next weds and not sunday?any1 know?

MikeBassett
04/05/2011, 5:36 PM
It's because of something to do with youths players.

Digifone was in great nick the last day alright, haven't seen it lookin that well in a few years