View Full Version : Clare League 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

The circuspony
23/03/2011, 7:31 PM
Word on the street is Avenue might just have found themselves a new den. Good for the league if they have. The better the facilities in the better the standard of soccer.

On a seperate note......i'd just like to point out the fact that i have never seen or even imagined a sport or a league where 1 team has 13 games played and a rival team only 5, no matter what the circumstances.
Avenue were the best team last year by far, and ill take nothing away from them, but the league was over by christmas.
Newmarket have been great this year, and fair play to them, but the league is over before some teams have played half their games.
Teams have no interest in playing or training when there is nothing at stake. It all turns into a bit of a joke.
What happened to the exciting finishes come May/June for both the league titles and the relegation battles.
It happens in no other junior league in Ireland.

In fact if it happen in the Under 12 'C' camogie league there'd be an uproar.

Wolverine
23/03/2011, 7:47 PM
ah yes those metal containers in ruan. pure bliss.its all abit of friendly banter lads no harm intended,seriously.i hope they bring the music back for the final.and maybe get live commentary on clare fm.its always the gaa that get the county final broadcast live on radio.why not the soccer final too.after all it is a county final too.a bit of exposure for our sport wouldn't do any harm

Wolverine
23/03/2011, 7:58 PM
ah yes those metal containers in ruan. pure bliss.its all abit of friendly banter lads no harm intended,seriously.i hope they bring the music back for the final.and maybe get live commentary on clare fm.its always the gaa that get the county final broadcast live on radio.why not the soccer final too.after all it is a county final too.a bit of exposure for our sport wouldn't do any harm

old git
23/03/2011, 9:42 PM

remember them as well .. and usually bad memories of defeats to avenue on the pitch as well :( league should do their best to attract publicity for final no matter who is in it . this is the showpiece of clare soccer and agree with you clare fm should be approached about broadcasting game and let the public know if they refuse ..

footballfriend
23/03/2011, 10:29 PM
Yea Avenue are looking into playing in Rosleven...the old Doora Barefield gaa pitch...

First
24/03/2011, 8:24 AM
Word on the street is Avenue might just have found themselves a new den. Good for the league if they have. The better the facilities in the better the standard of soccer.

On a seperate note......i'd just like to point out the fact that i have never seen or even imagined a sport or a league where 1 team has 13 games played and a rival team only 5, no matter what the circumstances.
Avenue were the best team last year by far, and ill take nothing away from them, but the league was over by christmas.
Newmarket have been great this year, and fair play to them, but the league is over before some teams have played half their games.
Teams have no interest in playing or training when there is nothing at stake. It all turns into a bit of a joke.
What happened to the exciting finishes come May/June for both the league titles and the relegation battles.
It happens in no other junior league in Ireland.

In fact if it happen in the Under 12 'C' camogie league there'd be an uproar.

I think you'll find that the league is far from over, there are 3 teams that can win it. There are still alot of teams in danger of relegation and no club wants that, so teams will be fighting for points right to the end. The fact that teams from Clare are progressing in the FAI and MJC in my opinion is a good thing for Clare soccer, granted it causes a disparity in the number of league fixtures played but in fairness to the league and the fixtures secretary what can they do, they can't expect teams to sit and wait for a team to exit the FAI and MJC so that teams can be on par on the number of games played in the league. Teams involved in latter stages of FAI and MJC know that the flip side of this is the may have to bridge a big gap in the league. I think it is a nice problem to have, successfully competing at a national level and then playing league games in what will probably be the better of the weather conditions. Add to that the fact that our winters seem to be getting harsher then cancellations of games is another inevitable but as clubs improve their pitches and facilities you will find that some grounds will be playable while others won't. Should all games be cancelled in this case to keep parity of games in the league. No it shouldn't, you prepare all week for a game and find that it is called off due to a blanket cancellation even though you know your pitch is playable so that teams can have the same number of league games played is in my mind just as detremental to the league.

This season we have had Avenue and Rock go well in the FAI and MJC, they have more games to play in the league than others but ask them would they change it that, I doubt it. Teams in Clare are now looking at FAI and MJC as competitions to compete in rather than fixtures to fulfill, remember they don't have to enter them if the sum of their ambitions is Clare League and Cup. Hopefully as Clare soccer progresses we will have more and more clubs competing at the latter stages of these competitions and achieve parity on games played in the league because Clare clubs are playing the likes of St. Micheal's and Pike Rovers regularly. :)

mastermind1
24/03/2011, 9:51 AM
Good post first. Agree that its good to see Clare league clubs playing in the latter rounds of national competitions and against the biggest junior clubs in the country. This can only make the clare league stronger in the future. Although it does leave clubs like Rock and Avenue well behind in games played this year, it should make other teams try to get to the later rounds which will then make for a tighter league in terms of games played.

Ice-man
24/03/2011, 12:59 PM
It has nothing to do with getting to the later stages in the FAI or MJC, its how the league is run.

Just look at Pike who are still in both competitions and they have 13 league games compared to Avenue's 8 - how is this ?

LegendStriker10
24/03/2011, 1:25 PM
It has nothing to do with getting to the later stages in the FAI or MJC, its how the league is run.

Just look at Pike who are still in both competitions and they have 13 league games compared to Avenue's 8 - how is this ?

are you suggesting that every other team in the division stop playing games just because Avenue and Rock stay in the cups a bit longer than others

Avenue were in the position last year of having way more games than anyone played and had even played some teams twice before other teams had played them once . I do not remember anyone complaining then . Now that the mighty Avenue are playing catch up its suddenly a big problem

The circuspony
24/03/2011, 5:21 PM
Good post 'First'......and i understand where you are coming from.

I do believe the league and the fixtures secretary try their best and should be commended for this. I am not suggesting that games should be cancled on a weekly basis. I am merely highlighting the fact that the disparity in the number of league games played exists.

I do take on board your point regarding the harsher conditions and poor facilities adding to the problem. But no other Junior league has this problem. Is it simply a case of Clare Junior Leagues pitches been worse than every other leagues?
Surely some sort of solution can be found? A 2 game difference might be acceptable. But a 7 game difference is ridiculous.

First
25/03/2011, 8:44 AM
Good post 'First'......and i understand where you are coming from.

I do believe the league and the fixtures secretary try their best and should be commended for this. I am not suggesting that games should be cancled on a weekly basis. I am merely highlighting the fact that the disparity in the number of league games played exists.

I do take on board your point regarding the harsher conditions and poor facilities adding to the problem. But no other Junior league has this problem. Is it simply a case of Clare Junior Leagues pitches been worse than every other leagues?
Surely some sort of solution can be found? A 2 game difference might be acceptable. But a 7 game difference is ridiculous.

According to the league table Avenue have 6 games and Rock have 4 games less played than Newmarket, when you think about it that isn't bad considering the FAI and MJC runs, how many games did they play in each?

Also you have to take into account the fact they are renting the Lee's Road facilities and are dependant on the decision of the grounds man whether games can go ahead or not. I don't know if there has been games cancelled there when other league games went ahead elsewhere but I am guessing there has been occasions when this has been the case. Didn't Avenue play Bridge Utd. recently in Doora, so the league are aiding them to fulfill fixtures, probably at a cost but they are paying that in Lee's Road anyway.

The ideal solution would be that all clubs in the Premier had foodlights and midweek games could be played to balance the FAI and MJC weekends.
I wonder is this happening in Limerick?

That is along way off for many clubs with the cost involved but we have to make the most of it as clubs develop their set-ups.

mastermind1
25/03/2011, 2:48 PM
Legend Striker, I think you ll find that Avenue aren t complaining about this situation. we were happy with our good runs in munster and Fai but dissapointed at the same time to be knocked out. We knew we were going to be playing catch up all along. All teams have to play 18 league games no matter when there played and therefore the most consistent team over the season will lift the league.

CousinSylDolan
28/03/2011, 2:26 PM
Avenue Utd A, Rock Rovers & Cratloe Forest in Munster Junior Area draw.

Avenue Utd will play Rock Rovers or Bunratty in FAI area final.

studsup
28/03/2011, 10:43 PM
POS P W D L PTS
Newmarket Celtic 14 11 2 1 35 (Max 47)
Hermitage 14 6 3 5 21 (Max 33)
Tulla Utd 15 6 2 7 20 (Max 29)
Avenue Utd 9 6 1 2 19 (Max 46)
Rock Rovers 10 6 1 3 19 (Max 43)
Lifford 14 5 3 6 18 (Max 30)
Rineanna Rovers 13 5 2 6 17 (Max 32)
Bridge Celtic 14 3 5 6 14 (Max 26)
Bridge Utd 12 3 2 7 11 (Max 29)
Bunratty 13 0 5 8 5 (Max 20)

Remaining fixtures:
Newmarket Celtic: Avenue Utd (away), Bridge Utd (home), Rineanna Rovers (home), Rock Rovers (home)

Avenue Utd: Bridge Celtic (home), Bridge Utd (away), Bunratty (away), Hermitage (away), Newmarket Celtic (home), Rineanna Rovers (home), Rock Rovers (home & away), Tulla Utd (away)

Rock Rovers: Avenue Utd (home & away), Bridge Utd (home), Hermitage (home), Lifford (home), Newmarket Celtic (away), Rineanna Rovers (away), Tulla Utd (away)

ginge lyndz
28/03/2011, 11:52 PM
Looks like Rock will have a big say on where the title goes this season.

First
29/03/2011, 10:55 AM
Looks like Rock will have a big say on where the title goes this season.

Alot of football to be played yet, Rock are working away quietly and will definately be there or thereabouts.

Newmarket won't have a game for 2 weeks at least, not ideal. This is another side to the fact teams have to play more games than others at this time of the year.

footballfriend
29/03/2011, 3:11 PM
Think the league will be decided on the games between Avenue v Rock this week and next week...Rats for relegation i reckon too

Planners
30/03/2011, 9:17 AM
Surly the Reds arent going to go without a match for 2 weeks -there are plenty of teams out there to provide a challange -Rats to go back to D1 , maybe not a bad thing , they can re build and return to the elite

First
30/03/2011, 10:26 AM
Surly the Reds arent going to go without a match for 2 weeks -there are plenty of teams out there to provide a challange -Rats to go back to D1 , maybe not a bad thing , they can re build and return to the elite

With all the mid week games no one is available for a game.

Planners
31/03/2011, 8:42 AM
With all the mid week games no one is available for a game.

Good runout lastnight first ?

mouldedstuds
31/03/2011, 10:39 AM
rock and avenue tonight should be interesting by all accounts going on rumours of a few incidents at eire og training last night

any one hear anything?

studsup
31/03/2011, 1:45 PM
rock and avenue tonight should be interesting by all accounts going on rumours of a few incidents at eire og training last night

any one hear anything?

cant see rock doing anything tonight. they wont keepo it kicked out for avenue

Giveitalash
31/03/2011, 8:27 PM
any update from Avenue and Rock this evening?? how did it finish??

CousinSylDolan
01/04/2011, 7:14 AM
Anyone give us a report on the Avenue game lads!!!!!!

Play_On
01/04/2011, 7:33 AM
Anyone give us a report on the Avenue game lads!!!!!!

Avenue 3-2 Rock
missed the first half an hour, mccarthy put avenue ahead from a free kick. 1-0 at the break. rock started the 2nd half well and were on top for a while during which con collins was lucky not to have gotten a straight red for a tackle in the centre of the pitch. Rock missed 2 good chances to level early in the half and after the 2nd miss avenue hit them on the counter attack, rock keeper parried a shot and mccarthy tapped it in. at 2-0 it looked game over but credit to rock they kept going at avenue. The introduction of niggles did rock no harm, Hickey was taken down in the box by russell and darryl eade scored the penalty. A neat move by Rock got niggles clear through on goal to make it 2-2 with 15 remaining. Avenue went up the pitch and con collins' header won the game for them, rock piled on the pressure but avenue held out for the win. Perhaps darryl eade couldve caused more problems in a central role. all in all it was a good game between two good sides

01/04/2011, 11:36 AM
Fair assessment of the game. Avenue dominated the first half and Rock the second. Mccarthy scored a cracking free kick. Game was played at a great pace with plent of excitement and a great atmosphere. It was a good ad for summer football as a big crowd turned out which you wouldnt have gotten on a sunday morning in January.

CousinSylDolan
04/04/2011, 10:09 AM
Just want to say well done to the Clare Youths team on getting to the Inter lg Cup semi final. Lost 3-2 to Kilkenny yesterday. With only 4 teams in the Clare youths lg its a great achievement to get so far with such a small pool of players...

onetrickpony
05/04/2011, 10:01 PM
whats new another bad tackle from con more than likely to get red if he was playin for the rats. Another big decision going avenue's way

Planners
06/04/2011, 8:49 AM
What else would you expect - AVE are the no 1 team in Clare , and after representing Clare so well in the national leagues they deserve a break !

footballfriend
06/04/2011, 8:47 PM
Any report on Ave v Rock game?what changed from last week?

studsup
07/04/2011, 9:41 AM
TITLE RACE
Newmarket Celtic A: Bridge Utd A (H), Rock Rovers (H), Rineanna Rovers (H), Avenue Utd (A)

Avenue Utd A: Bridge Celtic (H), Newmarket Celtic (H), Rineanna Rovers (H), Bridge Utd (A), Bunratty (A), Hermitage (A), Tulla Utd (A)

RELEGATION RUN-IN
Bunratty A: Avenue Utd (H), Lifford (H), Bridge Celtic (A), Bridge Utd (A), Rineanna Rovers (A)

Bridge Utd A: Avenue Utd (H), Bridge Celtic (H), Bunratty (H), Lifford (H), Newmarket Celtic (A), Rock Rovers (A)

Bridge Celtic A: Bunratty (H), Hermitage (H), Avenue Utd (A), Bridge Utd (A)

Rineanna Rovers A: Bunratty (H), Hermitage (H), Rock Rovers (H), Avenue Utd (A), Newmarket Celtic (A)

Lifford: Tulla Utd (H), Bridge Utd (A), Bunratty (A), Rock Rovers (A)

First
07/04/2011, 2:27 PM
TITLE RACE
Newmarket Celtic A: Bridge Utd A (H), Rock Rovers (H), Rineanna Rovers (H), Avenue Utd (A)

Avenue Utd A: Bridge Celtic (H), Newmarket Celtic (H), Rineanna Rovers (H), Bridge Utd (A), Bunratty (A), Hermitage (A), Tulla Utd (A)

RELEGATION RUN-IN
Bunratty A: Avenue Utd (H), Lifford (H), Bridge Celtic (A), Bridge Utd (A), Rineanna Rovers (A)

Bridge Utd A: Avenue Utd (H), Bridge Celtic (H), Bunratty (H), Lifford (H), Newmarket Celtic (A), Rock Rovers (A)

Bridge Celtic A: Bunratty (H), Hermitage (H), Avenue Utd (A), Bridge Utd (A)

Rineanna Rovers A: Bunratty (H), Hermitage (H), Rock Rovers (H), Avenue Utd (A), Newmarket Celtic (A)

Lifford: Tulla Utd (H), Bridge Utd (A), Bunratty (A), Rock Rovers (A)

Studsup are Rock out of it?
Are Tulla and Hermitage safe?

I haven't time to do the math.

studsup
07/04/2011, 4:03 PM
Studsup are Rock out of it?
Are Tulla and Hermitage safe?

I haven't time to do the math.

I just copied and pasted this from claresoccer.net. After a quick glance at the table, mathematically Rock are not out of it as they can still reach 37 points but they'd need a lot of results to go their way as well. Similarly Tulla and Tage are not mathematically safe as only 7 points seperates 8th and 3rd

Planners
10/04/2011, 6:53 PM
was talking to newmarket super star last night there is panic in the camp and a bit of upheaviel in the dressing room is this going to hand the league to avenue.?????????????

Planners
11/04/2011, 8:59 AM
Bunratty must be regrettin shafting big daddy and lettin a manager who got the B team relegated take the job.Not so long a go they were up there with the best.You cant take it from big daddy ye are gone down badly since he was shafted.

First
11/04/2011, 9:32 AM
was talking to newmarket super star last night there is panic in the camp and a bit of upheaviel in the dressing room is this going to hand the league to avenue.?????????????

Bunratty must be regrettin shafting big daddy and lettin a manager who got the B team relegated take the job.Not so long a go they were up there with the best.You cant take it from big daddy ye are gone down badly since he was shafted.

Ye are in good form. :).
This thread wouldn't be the same without yere humour.

Planners
11/04/2011, 10:15 AM
I like you all to join me in welcoming a new member to the consortium - lets hope its posts are keeping with the rules and regulations and good humour they are meant !!

CousinSylDolan
11/04/2011, 11:04 AM
lets hope its posts are keeping with the rules and regulations and good humour they are meant !!

Good humour indeed Planners...Always await and enjoy your contributions...

Rovers for the Cup!!!!!!

Planners
11/04/2011, 11:45 AM
Rovers for the Cup!!!!!!

Why not !!

twofooted
11/04/2011, 11:59 AM
Rovers for the Cup!!!!!!

Why not !!

Ya but there is one big problem, Rovers will be missing at least 5 prob 6 players(Hurling) for the Quarter final against the bridge.So it will be hard but you never no the beauty of the cup sure!!

First
11/04/2011, 1:32 PM
Lees Road: Avenue United A V Bridge Celtic A
Referee: J.Murray 11.00
Asst. Referees: P. Gleeson D.McCarthy

What is this about or is it just a mistake on CDSL?
Is it because of recent history between the 2 clubs?

out red
11/04/2011, 2:12 PM
Lees Road: Avenue United A V Bridge Celtic A
Referee: J.Murray 11.00
Asst. Referees: P. Gleeson D.McCarthy

What is this about or is it just a mistake on CDSL?
Is it because of recent history between the 2 clubs?

no mistake just Clare league taking no chances.

First
11/04/2011, 2:17 PM
no mistake just Clare league taking no chances.

Fair enough, I think !!!!

Planners
11/04/2011, 2:17 PM
Good humour indeed Planners...Always await and enjoy your contributions...

Rovers for the Cup!!!!!!

Good humour or is just bad management as i said look what happened to bunratty since ye shafted big daddy in fairness ye are gone right down.Why did ye let it happen when ye had a good set up

Planners
11/04/2011, 2:21 PM
Last year the clare league wanted to bring in the old fella"s with the white caps standing behind the goals.We call them officals in football dont know the word in GAA

mouldedstuds
12/04/2011, 3:19 PM
umpires id say planners

why would nof be panicking, they are streets ahead in the league, and almost have it won?

Prem Rep!
13/04/2011, 10:30 AM
Ya but there is one big problem, Rovers will be missing at least 5 prob 6 players(Hurling) for the Quarter final against the bridge.So it will be hard but you never no the beauty of the cup sure!!

Mind games already :)
No hurling this weekend, think its football right??

twofooted
13/04/2011, 11:17 AM
Mind games already :)
No hurling this weekend, think its football right??

Prem Rep your wrong,newmarket are playing a challenge match in tipp and the lads wont be able to play the soccer,but every 1 else will be there and there wont be any fear of Rineanna.It would have being nice to have them i will give ya that thou!!!

Prem Rep!
13/04/2011, 1:34 PM
Thats a pity considering ye are in a q final with a great chance of getting to a semi final. Still have a great chance. Think both squads down to the bones for Sunday.

studsup
14/04/2011, 1:36 PM
POS P W D L PTS
Newmarket Celtic 15 11 2 1 38 (Max 47)
Avenue Utd 12 9 1 2 28 (Max 46)
Hermitage 15 6 4 5 22 (Max 31)
Rock Rovers 14 7 1 6 22 (Max 34)
Lifford 15 6 3 6 21 (Max 30)
Tulla Utd 16 6 2 8 20 (Max 26)
Rineanna Rovers 14 5 3 6 18 (Max 30)
------------------------------------------
Bridge Utd 14 4 2 8 14 (Max 26)
------------------------------------------
Bridge Celtic 14 3 5 6 14 (Max 26)
Bunratty 15 0 5 10 5 (Max 14)

Newmarket Celtic: Avenue Utd (away), Bridge Utd (home), Rineanna Rovers (home)
Avenue Utd: Bridge Celtic (home), Bridge Utd (away), Hermitage (away), Newmarket Celtic (home), Rineanna Rovers (home), Tulla Utd (away)
Hermitage: Avenue Utd (home), Bridge Celtic (away), Rock Rovers (away)
Lifford: Bridge Utd (away), Bunratty (away), Rock Rovers (away)
Tulla Utd: Avenue Utd (home), Rock Rovers (home)
Rock Rovers: Hermitage (home), Lifford (home), Rineanna Rovers (away), Tulla Utd (away)
Rineanna Rovers: Avenue Utd (away), Bunratty (home), Newmarket Celtic (away), Rock Rovers (home)
Bridge Utd: Avenue Utd (home), Bridge Celtic (home), Lifford (home), Newmarket Celtic (away)
Bridge Celtic: Avenue Utd (away), Bridge Utd (away), Bunratty (home), Hermitage (home)
Bunratty: Bridge Celtic (home), Lifford (home), Rineanna Rovers (away)