View Full Version : Airtiricity League XI v Manchester United confirmed for Aviva Stadium on August 4
Pages :
[
5]
02/06/2010, 11:35 PM
Can't see any Rovers, Dundalk or Shams players being released for this now they're in the league cup semi's 2 days before-hand and also have league games that weekend.
And Bohs in the Champions' League. So it'll be a UCD/Pats select then?
03/06/2010, 1:52 AM
Probably no Monaghan players either?Yeah, but not for that reason...
marinobohs
03/06/2010, 8:48 AM
Kind of like the way all LOI fans are smug?
.......not smug, just naturally superior ;)
03/06/2010, 8:51 AM
And Bohs in the Champions' League. So it'll be a UCD/Pats select then?
UCD v Dundalk on the Friday is shaping up to be a title decider. I want our players well rested for that one. :)
marinobohs
03/06/2010, 8:56 AM
UCD v Dundalk on the Friday is shaping up to be a title decider. I want our players well rested for that one. :)
........ so thats man ure ressies versus St Pats Ath. Delaney will be creaming himself :rolleyes:
sparky12345678
04/06/2010, 12:02 PM
Can't see any Rovers, Dundalk or Shams players being released for this now they're in the league cup semi's 2 days before-hand and also have league games that weekend.
Maybe they expect the clubs to put out weakened reserve teams....it is *only* the league cup lol
seriously though how can they be so silly as to arrange a game that already clashes with stuff and then arrange semi final of a cup competition. Its like delanay wants a crap team to play man u so that man u can hammer them and make the english league look all the better....its just so galling that the humiliation of our national league will take place our new national stadium
marinobohs
08/06/2010, 9:53 AM
Maybe they expect the clubs to put out weakened reserve teams....it is *only* the league cup lol
seriously though how can they be so silly as to arrange a game that already clashes with stuff and then arrange semi final of a cup competition. Its like delanay wants a crap team to play man u so that man u can hammer them and make the english league look all the better....its just so galling that the humiliation of our national league will take place our new national stadium
I would not read too much into the timing to be honest as I suspect it had more to do with the availibility of Man ure and absolutely nothing to do with LOI. Lets face it this is not about a competitive match (half the crowd would pay to see man ure V 11 traffic cones and the other half to see the new stadium - even if no game was on :o).
I suspect that the FAI found man ure available on that date and figured they will scrath together a "team" from here/somewhere/anywhere. The reputation of the League is not a consideration compared to Delaney having a photograph taken with Alex !
Ezeikial
15/06/2010, 10:07 PM
Sparky - the power of your post is amazing! Seems like FAI are doing a re-think and want to postpone the two EA Sports Cup semis.
I can't wait to read their press release on this one!!!!
15/06/2010, 10:51 PM
Sparky - the power of your post is amazing! Seems like FAI are doing a re-think and want to postpone the two EA Sports Cup semis.
I can't wait to read their press release on this one!!!!If this turns out to be true it's an absolute joke altogether...all clubs should refuse to release players. Let Manchester play a junior league selection.
15/06/2010, 10:53 PM
If this turns out to be true it's an absolute joke altogether...all clubs should refuse to release players. Let Manchester play a junior league selection.
Well the Sligo/Rovers game is definitely moved. You can speculate on the reasons...
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1402-ea-sports-cup-semi-moved-to-august-17th
15/06/2010, 11:30 PM
Well the Sligo/Rovers game is definitely moved. You can speculate on the reasons...
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1402-ea-sports-cup-semi-moved-to-august-17th
Let me consider this
http://www.fotosearch.com/bthumb/FSD/FSD358/x17467468.jpg
Nah Nah Nah Nah
16/06/2010, 7:51 AM
What a shower of muppets. Having it on a Tuesday evening as opposed to a Bank Holiday Monday will result in a big drop in attendance I would imagine. I presume we'll get compensated for the loss in revenue!
They're probably just thinking that if Shams fans go to Sligo on Monday they're less likely to go to Lansdowne on the Wednesday
Ezeikial
16/06/2010, 9:13 AM
I presume we'll get compensated for the loss in revenue!
The height of the compensation is likely to be an extra "glamour" game for some players and a disruption to club squad training for the week of the "representitive match" (all use of the word "friendly" to be dropped from the FAI lexicon).
passerrby
16/06/2010, 1:19 PM
this cant be true not even the fai would be so silly as to move competitive games to suit a friendly.. is someone winding
oh and before someone says its not a friendly if its not a competitive then it must be a .......
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101043&catid=74&Itemid=147
The Football Association of Ireland today (June 16) confirmed that they will broadcast the first ever football match to take place in the new Aviva stadium as an Airtricity League XI take on Manchester United. The match will take place on Wednesday, 4 August and will be broadcast live on RTÉ Two television and streamed live on RTÉ.ie within the island of Ireland. RTÉ Television and RTÉ.ie has increased its live Airtricity League coverage by 50% this season as part of RTÉ Sport's commitment to domestic Irish soccer, broadcasting 15 live games from the Airtricity League, the FAI Ford Cup semi-finals and the final itself plus MNS.
Ryle Nugent, Deputy Head of Sport, RTÉ Television said: "As the national broadcaster RTÉ is proud to be showing this historic match so that football fans throughout the country will get to enjoy the best of the Airtricity League players in action against one of the biggest football clubs in the world. We are delighted to continue our commitment to Irish domestic soccer with our live coverage of the first ever football game in this fantastic new stadium."
John Delaney, Chief Executive of the FAI added: "This game will provide a good opportunity for Damien Richardson and his Airtricity League XI to showcase the best of the Airtricity League to a wide audience. We thank RTE for their commitment to broadcasting domestic football which is demonstrated by Monday Night Soccer and their continually increasing output of live Airtricity League matches."
16/06/2010, 5:06 PM
Tx for that Ryle Nugent, but to be honest I wud much rather prefer see the Cup semi finals on TV!!!!
16/06/2010, 5:23 PM
Or a potential Champions League tie for the League of Ireland Champions
16/06/2010, 5:31 PM
Could you just imagine Bohemians playing in the Champions League while RTÉ show Manchester United in a friendly. I feel like crying.
its just not surprising or shocking anymore. Still sickening though to read Nugents and Delaney's comments in trying to spin this as a positive for the League and its players. Yet bullsh1t friendles taking precedent over domestic games and possibly Euro ties too. So transparent, so ridiculous. What farce irish footie is.
TheBoss
16/06/2010, 5:48 PM
Its got to the stage that you cannot be surprised by the FAI anymore.
What makes it more sickening is to think that last summer not one European club game was shown live. It was hilarious to have to watch streams of Pat's v Steaua and Bohs v Salzburg (both in Dublin) on the internet with foreign commentaries. Using threads here last summer, the services of myp2p.eu and the various online listings, I discovered that RTE and BBC NI were the only public service broadcasters not to show even one live game involving one of their clubs - even people in Andorra, Malta and San Marino got a live game.
16/06/2010, 10:33 PM
Welcome to Ireland, where village idiots run everything......
Says more about the people who elect/select these idiots
Arnold Layne
17/06/2010, 9:17 AM
Are these the prices for this game?
Upper tier / behind the goals 45 euro
lower tier 60 euro
premium behind the goal 75
premium corner area 85
premium wing 95
premium centre 100
cullenswood
17/06/2010, 9:18 AM
Yep, they are correct
Arnold Layne
17/06/2010, 9:20 AM
Yep, they are correct
Thanks, a bit pricey aren't they?
Did they come in the FAI letter to Block Bookers. Can't find any other confirmation of them.
cullenswood
17/06/2010, 9:22 AM
Yeah they were included in yesterdays letter. FAI will obviously milk it for as much as they can!
Ezeikial
18/06/2010, 10:44 PM
The Monaghan V Dundalk EA Cup semi has also been confirmed as moved to the same date - Tuesday 17 August.
http://www.monaghanunited.com/page2.htm
This will also result in a big drop in attendance on a Tuesday evening as opposed to afternoon of a Bank Holiday Monday. But of course it is important that the little LoI clubs don't interfere with the milking of the gullibles at Aviva for the Man U farce.
This re-arrangement paves the way for Philly Hughes to scare the bejayus out of Vidic and Ferdinand (or whoever their youth team replacements will be)
18/06/2010, 10:50 PM
FAI website hasn't changed the dates yet.
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101021:sligo-host-shamrock-rovers-in-ea-sports-cup-semi-final-&catid=22:ea-sports-cup&Itemid=52
I can't wait to read their press release on this one!!!!
Why would they want to draw attention to something that would otherwise go unnoticed outside of LOI fans?
bullit
19/06/2010, 1:01 AM
The movement of the Mons/Dundalk fixture will have a big impact on the attendance.A bank holiday fixture at 3 bells Versus a Tuesday fixture at 8 will,imo,half the travelling fans.
Will the FAI be compensating the mons for the loss on the gate?And Dundalk for their percentage?
Buller
19/06/2010, 1:14 AM
Twigg, Kuduzovic
Brennan, Keegan, Chambers, Ndo
D Murphy, Oman, Sives, Shelly
Mannus/Murphy
Squad Subs:
Powell
McGuinness
Ger OB
Dennehy
O Donnell
Quigley
Faherty
Amond
19/06/2010, 3:40 AM
The movement of the Mons/Dundalk fixture will have a big impact on the attendance.A bank holiday fixture at 3 bells Versus a Tuesday fixture at 8 will,imo,half the travelling fans.
Will the FAI be compensating the mons for the loss on the gate?And Dundalk for their percentage?
Seems like an arbitrary estimate. No real LOI fan would skip a cup game for this monstrosity.
bullit
19/06/2010, 4:02 AM
i would reckon its close enough,if i was the chairman of Monaghan Utd. i would be well ****ed off.I know a lot off people that Cant travel because of the switch
19/06/2010, 4:05 AM
I can't imagine a huge number of people are affected. Not a lot of businesses these days actually take bank holidays off anyway.
Ezeikial
19/06/2010, 9:35 AM
Seems like an arbitrary estimate. No real LOI fan would skip a cup game for this monstrosity.
I can't imagine a huge number of people are affected. Not a lot of businesses these days actually take bank holidays off anyway.
Its not a question of "real LoI fans" choosing the farce over the Semi.
It is very obvious that far more people would attend on a Bank Holiday Monday afternoon (when most people are off work) then on a mid week night.
If you are so far out of touch with reality, I suggest that you look for the next available position in the FAI - your thinking is very well aligned
passerrby
19/06/2010, 12:10 PM
of course it will have an large impact on the attendance, bank hol over a tues evening is a no brainer .i would guess a loss of about 6 to 8 grand.
Pats crowds on bank holidays are no different than crowds on a Tuesday evening. I'd imagine others are the same. IN saying that every game I've attended on a bank holiday in the last 2/3 years has been in the evening
passerrby
19/06/2010, 5:10 PM
thats because everyday is a bank hol in south dublin ..... only kidding
fionnsci
19/06/2010, 6:37 PM
Pats crowds on bank holidays are no different than crowds on a Tuesday evening. I'd imagine others are the same. IN saying that every game I've attended on a bank holiday in the last 2/3 years has been in the evening
Last year's league cup game against Rovers was at about 3 on a monday bank holiday. Only about 500 Pat's fans at a home game.
19/06/2010, 7:32 PM
Its not a question of "real LoI fans" choosing the farce over the Semi.
It is very obvious that far more people would attend on a Bank Holiday Monday afternoon (when most people are off work) then on a mid week night.
If you are so far out of touch with reality, I suggest that you look for the next available position in the FAI - your thinking is very well aligned
Calm down, I misread the first post I quoted, which is why I said something completely different in my second.
And it's far from true that most people are off work on bank holidays.
Last year's league cup game against Rovers was at about 3 on a monday bank holiday. Only about 500 Pat's fans at a home game.
Yeah, maybe I should've wrote "no better on bank holidays" rather than no different.
League Cup games everywhere get brutal crowds too
**FrOsTy**
19/06/2010, 11:59 PM
Twigg, Kuduzovic
Brennan, Keegan, Chambers, Ndo
D Murphy, Oman, Sives, Shelly
Mannus/Murphy
Squad Subs:
Powell
McGuinness
Ger OB
Dennehy
O Donnell
Quigley
Faherty
Amond
Can't see Sligo, Shams, Bohs, Pats, Dundalk releasing any of their first team players for the game with league, league cup and or european fixtures all within a short space of time.
20/06/2010, 5:40 PM
are these tickets for this game on sale yet and at what price?
Can't see Sligo, Shams, Bohs, Pats, Dundalk releasing any of their first team players for the game with league, league cup and or european fixtures all within a short space of time.
They all released them in a very busy league period (most playing 2 games a week) for the Ireland/LOI u23s
danthesaint
21/06/2010, 10:37 AM
are these tickets for this game on sale yet and at what price?
cant remember where is seen it, but cheapest is 45blips and dearest is 100
derrymac
23/06/2010, 7:45 PM
They were running a competition on Moncrieffe on newstalk yesterday for a mascot for the game... he had to keep reminding people that even though the winner would be an airtrictiy LOI team mascot they'd get a full Man U rig as well.... quite embarrassing really
23/06/2010, 11:43 PM
Says more about the people who elect/select these idiots
goes without saying..
tippex
09/07/2010, 11:59 AM
cant remember where is seen it, but cheapest is 45blips and dearest is 100
Where in the name of jesus are they going with setting exorbitant prices like that.
A mate who has block booked for the international games requested 1 adult and 2 kid tickets and has just got a letter to say that will be 3 adult tickets at €45 each.
And he is one of those who would not get off his arse to watch an airtricity game if it was on in his front garden. but he would have gone if the kids tickets were a tenner like the form said.
The numpties in the FAI really have no clue about trying to bring people into the league games. Priced right this could have brought some barstoolers in the games aftwerwards.
Tip.
09/07/2010, 12:13 PM
Proof will be in the attendance, really. We all know the FAI are useless at pricing things but occasionally they actually get these things right.
peadar1987
09/07/2010, 12:29 PM
If the prices haven't been dropped yet, I'd assume they're still on course for a full house. It's more than a little depressing tbh