View Full Version : Airtiricity League XI v Manchester United confirmed for Aviva Stadium on August 4
Pages :
[
10]
04/08/2010, 8:46 PM
Sadlier bigging up John and Fran there.
redobit
04/08/2010, 8:47 PM
To think that the kids at this will go home happy knowing that their team hammered an Irish team. And this will live with them as a happy memory of their childhood.
We have just lost another generation of Irish kids to english money grabbing clubs who dont give a funk about them, and the cherry on the cake - it was organised by the FAI in the home of Irish football.
Sickening, really sickening stuff
hedderman
04/08/2010, 8:47 PM
Stop f***ing whinging.
Sure we were badly beaten by a vastly superior side. But there's no shame in that.
I thought the Bohs players all had a good game. The trophy bit was pretty embarassing at the end alright.
hedderman
04/08/2010, 8:51 PM
To think that the kids at this will go home happy knowing that their team hammered an Irish team. And this will live with them as a happy memory of their childhood.
We have just lost another generation of Irish kids to english money grabbing clubs who dont give a funk about them, and the cherry on the cake - it was organised by the FAI in the home of Irish football.
Sickening, really sickening stuff
No we haven't. They were already lost. The trick is to get them back again. How many League of Ireland fans followed Man Yoo, Liverpool etc when they were kids and were converted to the League in their teens.
All this crap about "there's another excuse for the barstoolers not to go to a game." The trick is attracting new fans to the League.
You could easily pick out the barstoolers when Mulcahy scored, doing what they do best, sitting on their arses.
04/08/2010, 8:54 PM
facebook.com/manchesterunited, having to use the NIKE football, attn called at just 250 short of capaciity yet the top tier was never shown and about 20,000 freebie tickets which were given out in the last few days to the clubs and all the affiliates. should have played an under 23 side so if they did get a hammering we could have saved some face. lots of the league players were stars....back when Richardson was last managing
Billy Lord
04/08/2010, 8:57 PM
First post on this cesspit of a site in ages. Delighted with the result in Lansdowne. How any club allowed their players to participate in that charade is beyond me. If any Shamrock Rovers' player got picked I would've personally requested them to score own goals early and often in order to give the FAI and the attendance what they deserved: contempt. :cool2:
04/08/2010, 9:05 PM
If any Shamrock Rovers' player got picked
They would have been if Rovers weren't still in Europe I'm sure.
D.24saint
04/08/2010, 9:06 PM
our lads were imo sold down the river, what did those thicks in abbotstown seriously think would happen it was a XI of mostly part time players that never played together as a team against one the the top teams in the world in the final stages of their pre season, as for giles I didnt expect much from the likes of him but Saddlier should be removed from MNS he did nothing but slated a group of players who I think were thrown to the lions in the arena by John "nero" delaney.
04/08/2010, 9:08 PM
I'm looking forward to the commemorative dvd of this classic encounter. Hope it's narrated by Delaney, just so I can throw my remote a bit harder.
04/08/2010, 9:19 PM
Yes, this is clearly the turning point in Irish football history.
The fact is that neither Rico with his selection nor the players with their performance did themselves an awful lot of justice.
Can't believe he even contemplated making Madden the lone frontman - he was physically dominated the whole night, while Sheppard caused them problems the whole time he was on.
Too many silly errors, trying to overplay when a simple pass was on (2 goals) and no marking on a corner (1). Couldn't do much about the goals on the break as at least we were being positive, but overall I think a lot of the players will be kicking themselves.
Mulcahy's goal was fantastic though. The man is a machine.
CSFShels
04/08/2010, 9:22 PM
Sicker than a bulimics finger.
Hahahahaha quality
hoops1
04/08/2010, 9:27 PM
People here really need to get over the EPL and barstoolers. Tonight just highlighted the divide between customers and fans. The sooner you stop worrying about them the easier it is for our clubs to move forward.
The topic of why people travel to england and dont give a fiddlers about LOI will be the topic on fm104 now ina minute.
SupaJon
04/08/2010, 9:31 PM
- and George Hamilton too "Conor Kenna of Bray Wanderers".)
Yeah apparantley he "retired" from Pats and Eddie Gormley nipped in to sign him before the Shams.
04/08/2010, 9:38 PM
The topic of why people travel to england and dont give a fiddlers about LOI will be the topic on fm104 now ina minute.
Against my better judgment I've tuned in.
D.24saint
04/08/2010, 9:41 PM
Hardly a forum for intelligent discussion its is normally a talking shop for lobotomy wind-up merchants I wouldnt annoy myself by listening to the drivel that will be dished up on that show tonight.
04/08/2010, 9:51 PM
Adrian Kennedy is a c###
04/08/2010, 9:52 PM
Adrian Kennedy is a c###
Yeah, he's not very bright is he? :)
ped_ped
04/08/2010, 9:55 PM
Couldn't open the Media Player for some reason, and though I might regret this (or be able to list each and every given reason myself), could someone gimme a very quick rundown of what reasons FM104 gave?
04/08/2010, 9:56 PM
Just got home from the game. I have to say in my naivety I didn't expect quite that much of the crowd to be made up of United fans. It was sad to see a bunch of players who've never played together before donning the shirt of a non-entity of a team to go out and be slaughted by a well oiled machine of top quality players. I'm not really one to get worked up about bar stoolers, I'll freely admit to the LOI cardinal sin of being a Celtic fan, but there was something so cringeworthy to watch so many Dubliners in unison chanting in a Mancunian accent like some sort of Pavlovian experiment and getting so working up at a missed Wayne Rooney chance in a friendly against an Airtricity XI.
It's not great but it's funny to hear these eejit barstoolers on it sometimes, the young Bray fan is coming across well tbf.
Couldn't open the Media Player for some reason, and though I might regret this (or be able to list each and every given reason myself), could someone gimme a very quick rundown of what reasons FM104 gave?
Its still on, try this link: http://radiotime.com/station/s_25895/FM_104_1044.aspx
Only in this country would you see the away team more supported than the home one .
Shame the game finished with such a comfertable Man Utd win, tonight was a lost oppertunity for the league to try and convince more people to head along to LOI matches .
The LOI is much better than what many people would have see for the first time of LOI players tonight.
Annoyed me seeing nearly everyone there for Man Utd with a mexican wave and chants of ole ole .
04/08/2010, 10:00 PM
Ah man, the LOI sympathizer, a Bray fan, has just admitted that if the match was against Liverpool he'd have been there with his Pool top on shouting for Liverpool - and he could do that because there were no Bray players in the League Select. thats the mentality of it so far. Oh theres also been a Pats fan arguing in favour of the Utd fans at the Aviva - he hasn't been to Richmond park in 2 years mind you. Oh Lord - lol it ain't pretty man.
poster
04/08/2010, 10:01 PM
I'm going on!
04/08/2010, 10:04 PM
the young Bray fan is coming across well tbf.
Retracted.
Im a Pats supporter but havent been to a game in over a year
04/08/2010, 10:04 PM
I'm going on!
Good luck...this discussion is in dire need of intelligence
sheao
04/08/2010, 10:05 PM
I'm going on!
Please shut this tool up on right now who's on about being a proud Man U fan .
poster
04/08/2010, 10:06 PM
Sorry lads didn't do too well.
Vinnie
04/08/2010, 10:07 PM
Least you went on.
Theres no debating with Kennedy anyway
GUFCghost
04/08/2010, 10:11 PM
Awful stream,I downloaded the iphone app as well,also ****.
Against my better judgment I've tuned in.
Adrian Kennedy is a c###
Stop for car crashes as well lads, do ye??;)
I wouldn't bother my hole listening to that.
04/08/2010, 10:14 PM
Good luck...this discussion is in dire need of intelligence
I won't go on then.
04/08/2010, 10:15 PM
Everytime :P
poster
04/08/2010, 10:15 PM
How high is that horse Dong?
04/08/2010, 10:18 PM
This guy said he stopped going to Milltown because of the riots. I told ye Shams were scum
DaveyPats
04/08/2010, 10:18 PM
I hate Rovers as much as anyone but this chap is taking the ****.
blue til i die
04/08/2010, 10:19 PM
Disgusted by the little number of people wearing loi jerseys, only saw a few rovers tho i'm sure there were more. I sat proudly in my blues jersey with people looking at me as if i had three heads on me, but didnt care, Anytime our players got the ball all the fans around me were cheering them on which was great. Great for Dave "goal machine" Mulcahy to get a goal to give it a little credibility.
Match that didnt matter with a result that didnt matter. The players gave all they had and thats all i could have asked of them. Joey Ndo was a pleasure to watch too, and ryan guy's sommersalut throw was a crowd pleaser. If that money goes back to the clubs in some way or form then i'll be happy.
Great to see Johnny Mathews being recognised too! True legend.
Billy Lord
04/08/2010, 10:21 PM
Second post here in ages. Why are LoI fans getting upset about tonight's game in Lansdownne? You get a pile of local lads together for a couple of kickarounds before playing a club of the stature of Manchester United just days before their season starts and you're amazed that they get hammered. Big deal.
99% of the people at that game will never attend a LoI game. They don't care. They only came to see United, and I bet they were pleased before they got bored and went home.
Invest your time and energy into making your club better and you'll eventually reap dividends by gradually gaining converts from those who are curious.
Hoping to win over day tripper event junkies with one exhibition game as irrelevant as tonight's is a pointless exercise.
Billy Lord
04/08/2010, 10:23 PM
This guy said he stopped going to Milltown because of the riots. I told ye Shams were scum
I stopped going because Sligo Rovers' fans turned bitter. It's just no fun anymore.
04/08/2010, 10:24 PM
Shame the game finished with such a comfertable Man Utd win, tonight was a lost oppertunity for the league to try and convince more people to head along to LOI matches .
The LOI is much better than what many people would have see for the first time of LOI players tonight.
I wouldn't worry about the performance, the heavy defeat is no less likely to damage the league than a win would have brought any extra fans to games.
As an aside, I really enjoyed Joey Ndo on the ball tonight. As always he was cool on the ball and retained possession but playing in an unfamiliar team it didn't really work out for him when he released it.
ped_ped
04/08/2010, 10:27 PM
I didn't hear any booing after Mulcahy's goal?
04/08/2010, 10:29 PM
Could have swore it actually raised a cheer from the crowd.
Yer man's blocked in fairness.
ped_ped
04/08/2010, 10:30 PM
Huge cheer, from what I could see and hear on RTÉ.
Think this caller is talking through his hole :)
04/08/2010, 10:31 PM
I stopped going because Sligo Rovers' fans turned bitter. It's just no fun anymore.
Did ya not stop going because u don't get jokes?
Saint_Charlie
04/08/2010, 10:34 PM
Is this Magicme on Adrian Kennedy right now?
PartySaint
04/08/2010, 10:35 PM
Surely this is Magime,
I went on and gave it my best shot, still hate the show
ped_ped
What do you make of the suggestion that the Airtricity XI were told not to go in hard with the EPL season coming up?
For the record, the loudest and longest cheer of the night was for Mulcahy's goal.