View Full Version : Airtiricity League XI v Manchester United confirmed for Aviva Stadium on August 4
Pages :
[
14]
05/08/2010, 9:10 PM
But at Sligo Rovers our supporters are born not manufactured. We do not choose, we are chosen. Those that understand need no explanation. Those that don't understand don't matter.
That's it, I'm moving to Sligo.
Bottom line is that people can and will "support" whoever they choose. That's their right. The rest of us have the right to view them with anything from bemusement to contempt. I think the reason people get so defensive (ManWho fans and the like) is that they recognise the inherent contradication in their stance, but can't bring themselves to admit it. And by the way, supporting your local team isn't a chore, to be suffered so that you can feel superior. Does anyone really think people would go if that was the case ? The people who go to Pats, Rovers,Derry Sligo etc every week do so because it's their team and they love it. Like supporters of every team in the world I'm sure, there are games that are poor and times when it's desperately disappointing/frustrating. But then, every so often, your team scores a 92nd minute equalizer in a local derby to stay on top of the league, or a last minute winner in a cup tie, and you honestly can't buy that feeling.
sparky12345678
05/08/2010, 9:16 PM
I dont have much to say on this as ive already vented to anyone who would listen.
But as a relatively new LOI follower (and still a Man U supporter) Im just so annoyed about what happened. Building up to this fixture I had been complaining about how sad it is that at the opening of the national stadium the majority would be supporting an english team....disgraceful. But to see it all in action (i had tickets but had to work....not sure whether this is good or bad., would have liked to have been one of the few supporting the LOI team), the shameless in the man u jerseys cheering on their team and in despair when one of the heroes missed....the cheers they got as they walked out onto the pitch etc etc.
I had hoped/expected that the LOI team wouldnt lose this much but in fairness Man u are one of the best football teams in the world, with players trying to prove themselves, players trying to gell properly etc.
Buti dont see how the FAI could have made things worse. Its as if they looked at all the choices they had before them and picked the one least likely to benefit irish players (bar the 2 on uniteds team), irish league or irish football.
The scoreline has only further justified english football fans in following their english team., the manu fans got to see a goal fest "wasnt it great etc etc" and if i ask "would you think about following a local LOI team" theyll dismiss it condescendingly because they just saw the "best" of our league get hammered.
it is so ironic that rico said this was an oppurtuninty to right the wrongs of the bohs hammering, or the dundalk hammering, and lift the Loi in the eyes of the irish people....
it has done the opposite.
Well done FAI
(i know this is all been said before and most loi fans know how much the fai likes to **** on the loi but im a relativly new fan and im just disgusted about it all....lol).
05/08/2010, 9:20 PM
I think the reason people get so defensive (ManWho fans and the like) is that they recognise the inherent contradication in their stance.
Do you not think there is a contradiction in the stance of many LOI fans also?
On the one hand, we recognise that we need to attract fans to games in order to improve, but on the other hand, if people just don't 'get' following their local team, they're barstoolers who can **** off as we don't want them at out games anyway.
05/08/2010, 9:35 PM
People are way over-analysing this.
Nobody who wore a Manchester United shirt to the game yesterday was ever going to be won over - if they'd have lost, it would only have strengthened their resolve ("we'll beat Chelsea to the league title anyway").
What it has done is helped some of our best players test themselves against the best. Paddy Madden had a really tough evening in a role he's not suited for against world class defenders... but he acquitted himself well. Karl Sheppard came on and they found it very hard to deal with him. Conor Powell was given a lesson in defending by one of the best wingers in the business, but he didn't let it get him down and produced some wonderful attacking play to compensate (as well as improving in his defending as the game went on). Brian Shelley did his bit and made sure Park had to come inside every time he got the ball and kept Evans quiet. Ken Oman was brilliant at times. Other players raised their stock too.
They might have been spanked and it might have been embarrassing for some people, but I guarantee every one of the Airtricity players walking off the pitch was ruing a particular mistake he made and will be itching to make up for it in his next game. Which is how players improve.
bullit
05/08/2010, 9:49 PM
In all honesty Charlie Darwin both sides had made changes by the time Sheppard had come on so its hard to compare like for like(paddy madden et-al)
The bar stoolers are a lost race imo,its the youth of today that LOI clubs should be chaseing.
ped_ped
05/08/2010, 9:59 PM
In all honesty Charlie Darwin both sides had made changes by the time Sheppard had come on so its hard to compare like for like(paddy madden et-al)
The bar stoolers are a lost race imo,its the youth of today that LOI clubs should be chaseing.
Many of whom, impressionable as they are, have just seen Man Utd thrash 'the League' 7 - 1.
Though I do agree with your main point.
05/08/2010, 10:03 PM
Back four was unchanged, wasn't it? (Not entirely sure on this point, actually)
On the one hand, we recognise that we need to attract fans to games in order to improve, but on the other hand, if people just don't 'get' following their local team, they're barstoolers who can **** off as we don't want them at out games anyway.
I've only really read it on internet forums, rather than in the real world. If that was genuinely the reaction, then half the people in grounds wouldn't be there - not everyone is brought up to go. In my experience LoI fans are welcoming to newcomers. Compare that to the utter contempt the "day trippers" are held in Old Trafford, for example, and I don't think it's a valid excuse anyway.
The only time you'd get that reaction was if someone was being agressive (as witnessed in this thread tbf) about hating the league. In such a case a reaction is completely understandable, and it's imperative such arseholes get a few home truths back.
But in real terms the only people we (existing fans) would try and coax to games are our mates or at least people we'd know. If one them states they've no interest, I'm pretty sure it'd just be dropped and we'd still remian friends. its not like we'd be telling them to eff off
peadar1987
06/08/2010, 10:40 AM
But in real terms the only people we (existing fans) would try and coax to games are our mates or at least people we'd know. If one them states they've no interest, I'm pretty sure it'd just be dropped and we'd still remian friends. its not like we'd be telling them to eff off
I've told one of my friends to eff off after his particularly long and sickening speech about how he had no LOI club near him (he lives in Templeogue), how he'd be better than most of the players anyway, how he couldn't understand why I'd pay to watch "that ****e", and that I should be a proper Inter Milan supporter(!) like him. We're still friends, but...
06/08/2010, 5:21 PM
Inter Milan?! Is he part Italian or something?
Buller
06/08/2010, 5:56 PM
I've told one of my friends to eff off after his particularly long and sickening speech about how he had no LOI club near him (he lives in Templeogue), how he'd be better than most of the players anyway, how he couldn't understand why I'd pay to watch "that ****e", and that I should be a proper Inter Milan supporter(!) like him. We're still friends, but...
Hahaha!! Are you serious? In that case I have no LoI club either. Myabe I'll call in for him next time when I'm walking up to the match!! :p
He's just regurgitating what most people who dont go to matches say. Generally their opinion is entirely invalid as it's based on nothing! People dont realise how high the standard is when you compare even the LoI first division to say the best LSL teams. Double digits is usually the difference.
peadar1987
06/08/2010, 6:25 PM
His uncle worked in Milan for a year, and brought him back a scarf AFAIK. I'm fairly sure he's never set foot in Italy. The thing is, a lot of people in my year admired him for it, they reckoned he was being a "proper fan", because he didn't just pick a team in the English League, like all of them. Out of my entire group of friends from growing up and going to college in Dublin, the city where there is the least excuse not to follow a team, I am the only one who takes any interest in the league. I've given up arguing with the idiots at this stage, they only tie themselves in knots trying to tell me how Manchester United is somehow more Irish than a club that actually play in Ireland.
06/08/2010, 6:36 PM
If you want to really annoy him you could tell him that there's not actually a team called "Inter Milan"
06/08/2010, 6:40 PM
Are most barstoolers part-English?
06/08/2010, 6:50 PM
Nope, but fandom is a community activity and if you can't experience actually attending local fixtures with other fans then most people will pick their team because friends or family members are already fans. An Irish person supporting Inter is probably going to find it very difficult to find people to discuss the games with. Then again, that might be the point.
MeathDrog
06/08/2010, 6:53 PM
West Brits the lot of them. :)
WoodquayBoy
06/08/2010, 11:01 PM
It's just the difference between football fans and football consumers.
Football fans like watching football. If they're living somewhere, they'll check out who the local team is and take some sort of interest in them - usually going to at least one game. If they're on holiday somewhere - it doesn't matter where really - they'll take the chance to go to a game if one comes up. And it's not just about the football - they're also curious about the fan culture, the stadium, the overall experience. The more obcsure the club or the league the better. Because football fans love football.
Perfect example of that in Terryland tonight - bunch of German lads wearing Frankfurt jerseys who popped up for a look and spent most of the game chanting and singing Galway United songs. Hats off to the, brought a splash of colour and noise
Straightstory
07/08/2010, 10:52 AM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4044/
Maybe the last word on this before a dispiriting chapter in Irish football is put to bed: a great piece on Extra Time. Don't agree with absolutely everything, but a brilliantly argued piece.
07/08/2010, 1:24 PM
First post on this cesspit of a site in ages. Delighted with the result in Lansdowne. How any club allowed their players to participate in that charade is beyond me. If any Shamrock Rovers' player got picked I would've personally requested them to score own goals early and often in order to give the FAI and the attendance what they deserved: contempt. :cool2:
Agree, really have to wonder why anyone involved with Irish football got involved in this. Damo Richardson is a joke, FAI puppet.
Also wonder why any LOI fan would attend this game, was obvious that it would all pan out like this. A nothing match.
I haven't even seen the goals from it, or am likely too - zero interest in silly friendlies
Stupid reasons from bar stoolers not to support our league
1) The LOI is rubbish
Wrong, its not so bad, I enjoy most of the games I attend. Good effort, good goals, good games. If you like football then any match should be enjoyable, there is something in all games that one can get worked up about. And Christ the standard of some of the EPL with Wigan, Blk, Stoke, etc isnt upto much either.
2) No atmosphere
Wrong. I actually find the atmosphere in LOI games brilliant, great banter, witty songs, real fans with real passion.
3) No club close by
So you support Man Utd or Chelsea. But why not Bolton, Or cardiff? Not really random but more bandwagon
Anyway i miss the LOI now Im in London.
No excuses - live football on your doorsteps - thats what its all about, you dont have to try and sell that to football fans.
Anyway heres me supporting Hayes (my nearest team) from next week;)
(bath city at home, maybe I might see Ken Loach!!)
peadar1987
07/08/2010, 1:27 PM
And Christ the standard of some of the EPL with Wigan, Blk, Stoke, etc isnt upto much either.
Shup! Stoke are brilliant! ;)
Can only speak for myself, but absolutely not. I think people need to be encouraged, not alienated. I've been going to Pats regularly for about 16 years (was very sporadic before that.) Like anyone else I grew up watching english footie and Man City were "my" team for a while. I gradually came to realise that they had absolutley nothing to do with me and lost interest. I didn't get hooked on Pats straight away either. I'd say it took the guts of a season, by which time I'd gotten to know who they players were, etc, etc. So it's not impossible to attract people, at least those who are not openly hostile, which I don't really think most people are. Most are just apathetic. (And, to slightly contradict myself, whose who are openly hostile can fook right off.)
Dixie Dean
07/08/2010, 6:46 PM
The so called barstoolers are people that the LOI will never win over. Its the kids that we should be trying to attract.
I support a EPL team and im a season ticket holder at rovers. Reason been as a child my dad brought me to games and got me hooked. I support an EPL team not because of jumping on a bandwagon but as a kid i was introduced to them by an adult. My point is we are targeting the wrong group if we want to ultimately increase attendances. You are "given" your club as a kid and you are then stuck with it.
I dont get this fascination with "barstoolers"
danthesaint
07/08/2010, 8:17 PM
The so called barstoolers are people that the LOI will never win over. Its the kids that we should be trying to attract.
I support a EPL team and im a season ticket holder at rovers. Reason been as a child my dad brought me to games and got me hooked. I support an EPL team not because of jumping on a bandwagon but as a kid i was introduced to them by an adult. My point is we are targeting the wrong group if we want to ultimately increase attendances. You are "given" your club as a kid and you are then stuck with it.
I dont get this fascination with "barstoolers"
its gonna be hard, because as soon as a barstooler kid is born they always put their kid in a man ure liverpool jersey
peadar1987
07/08/2010, 8:33 PM
Can only speak for myself, but absolutely not. I think people need to be encouraged, not alienated. I've been going to Pats regularly for about 16 years (was very sporadic before that.) Like anyone else I grew up watching english footie and Man City were "my" team for a while. I gradually came to realise that they had absolutley nothing to do with me and lost interest. I didn't get hooked on Pats straight away either. I'd say it took the guts of a season, by which time I'd gotten to know who they players were, etc, etc. So it's not impossible to attract people, at least those who are not openly hostile, which I don't really think most people are. Most are just apathetic. (And, to slightly contradict myself, whose who are openly hostile can fook right off.)
In my experience, there are very few people who are openly hostile to the league. Those are the ones who usually have realised they have no excuse not to go, and are internally railing against it, it reminds me how sometimes the most homophobic people can be closet homosexuals.
Most people are just disinterested, and need a bit of a push to get them going (and they'll resist initially, because they won't want to admit they've been missing out all these years!). 25000 wouldn't have turned up to watch Shels against Deportivo if they actively hated the league.
DeNiro
08/08/2010, 5:15 PM
Anyone got a copy of the game on DVD? Will cover costs of course. Thanks.
sparky12345678
08/08/2010, 10:16 PM
i posted the extratime.ie article on facebook and this was the response i got;
I'll tell you why, because most clubs and the FAI for a long period have been run by individuals who were in it for themselves rather than the club. There was a time in the 60's and 70's when Irish run clubs attracted big crowds-not anymore. The Charlton era while it gave us a taste of what its like to play with the big boys did nothing to bridge the gap between English and Irish footbal-hence the phenomena of the Irish passionately supporting Liverpool, Man U etc.
so thats his excuse. Not much i can say though because im too young and new to talk about the history of the league.
Did anyone see the bit in the irish indo yesterday about a scunthorpe united fan (alsso a finn harps fan apparently) who followed them because he wanted to be "different" from the manu's and liverpool fans in class
TheBoss
08/08/2010, 10:59 PM
I'll tell you why, because most clubs and the FAI for a long period have been run by individuals who were in it for themselves rather than the club. There was a time in the 60's and 70's when Irish run clubs attracted big crowds-not anymore. The Charlton era while it gave us a taste of what its like to play with the big boys did nothing to bridge the gap between English and Irish footbal-hence the phenomena of the Irish passionately supporting Liverpool, Man U etc.
so thats his excuse. Not much i can say though because im too young and new to talk about the history of the league.
Did anyone see the bit in the irish indo yesterday about a scunthorpe united fan (alsso a finn harps fan apparently) who followed them because he wanted to be "different" from the manu's and liverpool fans in class
I think this applies to Manchester United and Liverpool at present, does that mean their support will slowly drift now ?
bingoballs
09/08/2010, 6:53 AM
The popularity of any sport is totally dependant on its media exposure. Look at the coverage that will be given to hurling semi finals today. Compare the ammount of column inches it will recieve to the fai cup semi finals. No contest. Likewise the premier league, all the papers will have booklets, wall charts, game planners etc. The ammount of coverage a sport gets in the press will be reflected in the gates that sport recieves. I was travelling from Galway to Sligo yesterday and it was the hurling game live, followed by post match analysis followed by a phone in show for the fans. A brief mention of the Shams Bohs game on the headlines which could be a defining result in the outcome of the pemier league! Same thing on Today fm for the premiership. Its media led and until such times as our leagues get the coverage they deserve in our national press, loi gates will not increase. People today are puppets to the media and need to be told what to do, what is fashionable, whats hot and whats not. Its the way of the world we live in i'm afraid.
09/08/2010, 10:40 AM
He's right that the FAI squandered the riches garnered by the Charlton era. It was hugely short-sighted, but considering that the country did it on a grand scale for the last 15yrs vis-a-vis the riches of the Celtic Tiger, it becomes a little more understandable. I'm fairly sure the FAI would struggle to account for all the Charlton era money though.
He's wrong, however, to link the Charlton era with Irish people supporting foreign football. It was very deeply ingrained by then already, and the Charlton era income wouldn't have changed that even if it had all ended up in the league.
And let's not forget that a lot of Irish people didn't support the ROI either up until the glory years. Attendances and merchandise sales made that clear. Many of them viewed Glasgow Celtic as the equivalent of an Irish national team, so all the Charlotn era really did was to give many Irish people a national team to support for the first time. It could never have addressed the club-level support issue.
Real ale Madrid
09/08/2010, 2:16 PM
Does anyone think that a type of LOI all-star game similar to the MLS version could be played every year to showcase the talent in the League?
Maybe if we had the Shamrock rovers players available and Rico had 7-10 days to prepare a team the homegrown players could have given it a better go.
Perhaps a space in the calender ( a weekend ) could be set aside for it ?
I think it would be a nice reward for the players. A chance to play a game at the aviva in front of a big crowd against a Chelsea / Barca / Milan type team, perhaps even invite South American opposition. A well prepared LOI team could beat Celtic imo.
Can't help but feeling this has more benefits then downsides if the quality of opposition can bring in a large crowd. Perhaps the gate reciepts could be ploughed back into the league in its entirety.
There is a large potential for this type of game to really help the league.
Lots of ole ole brigade / barstoolers etc, but clubs themselves have been exploiting these kind of revenues for years, I think its about time the FAI did the same on behalf of the league.
Does anyone think that a type of LOI all-star game similar to the MLS version could be played every year to showcase the talent in the League?
Personally, no. If you play 'glamour friendlies' like the one last week against Man Utd all you get are hordes of red shirts shouting against the Irish team. However, I do think that the league should hold a double or triple-header of games at the Aviva Stadium on a sunny* Saturday in the summer. Make it a competitive regular league game and pitch rivals against each other. It would attract league fans like us no doubt, but I'd say you could attract loads of others if the tickets were pitched at somewhere around €10 or €15 rather than the ridiculous €45 last week. Maybe a bit like Rugby League's Magic Weekend.
*I'm not sure how to guarantee sun!
CuanaD
09/08/2010, 2:58 PM
Nope, but it's something I always ask:
Sheep: 'Did you see the match last night/the goal/ the ref/ whatever'
Me: what game? I didn't know there was a match last night.
Sheep: 'Wha? the Pool/Manu/Chelsea/whatever game, blah blah'
Me: 'I didn't know you are from Pool/Manu/Chelsea/whatever? You don't have the accent'
Sheep: '?'
It makes me feel a tiny bit better
:ball:
09/08/2010, 3:07 PM
There is a large potential for this type of game to really help the league.Delaney has said he plans on having a tournament every summer now with 3 'big' teams and a LOI XI.
It doesn't help the league, it helps the FAI.
Straightstory
09/08/2010, 3:12 PM
Personally, no. If you play 'glamour friendlies' like the one last week against Man Utd all you get are hordes of red shirts shouting against the Irish team. However, I do think that the league should hold a double or triple-header of games at the Aviva Stadium on a sunny* Saturday in the summer. Make it a competitive regular league game and pitch rivals against each other. It would attract league fans like us no doubt, but I'd say you could attract loads of others if the tickets were pitched at somewhere around €10 or €15 rather than the ridiculous €45 last week. Maybe a bit like Rugby League's Magic Weekend.
*I'm not sure how to guarantee sun!
Agree. This Delaney plan for a tournament must be stopped. HE must be stopped!!
Real ale Madrid
09/08/2010, 3:13 PM
Delaney has said he plans on having a tournament every summer now with 3 'big' teams and a LOI XI.
It doesn't help the league, it helps the FAI.
It would help the league if reciepts were put back into the league. That's all I'm saying. An all star league selection v a top European side with proper prearation would go down well with barstooler and domestic league follower alike imo, IF the funds were redirected to the league itself.
09/08/2010, 3:26 PM
The FAI subsidises the league to the tune of millions every year - the money IS re-directed into the league.
marinobohs
09/08/2010, 3:28 PM
It would help the league if reciepts were put back into the league. That's all I'm saying. An all star league selection v a top European side with proper prearation would go down well with barstooler and domestic league follower alike imo, IF the funds were redirected to the league itself.
Not a hope in hell of funds going back into the LOI. Given the financiai liabilities taken on by the FAI over the "new" lansdowne any cash will be diverted to cover that cost - no doubt the reason the game(s) are being mooted.
Not adverse to the idea of a one off game personally as long as it doesn't interfere with the LOI programme but not convinced it would be something I would attend either.
tippex
09/08/2010, 3:38 PM
I still think there should be a weekend where all scheduled premier league games are played in lansdowne and have a blitz. You are talking about one game friday and then 2 on each of saturday and sunday. Then the gate receipts should be equally distributed among all clubs (possibly incl 1st division clubs) This way it would benefit the league as a whole and not one or two individual clubs.
If we ever go back to a 33 game seaosn (12 team premier), it'd be a handy way of getting rid of the odd numbered home/away game
tippex
09/08/2010, 3:50 PM
If we ever go back to a 33 game seaosn (12 team premier), it'd be a handy way of getting rid of the odd numbered home/away game
It would but surely even the FAI have learnt from the mistake that was a 12 team league. The way to go is 16 teams (in fairness its the only hope we have of staying up unless another club goes the way of cork/derry)
09/08/2010, 3:54 PM
You'd have to play an entire round of matches in Lansdowne for that to work. That'd lose its novelty appeal very quickly.
09/08/2010, 4:04 PM
You'd have to play an entire round of matches in Lansdowne for that to work. That'd lose its novelty appeal very quickly.
Three games on Saturday, Three on a Sunday. 2pm, 5pm, 8pm kick offs.
Would work well imo
09/08/2010, 4:07 PM
I'm thinking of clearing all cases where Club A plays Club B twice at home and once away. I suppose having all clubs play 16 times at home, 16 times away and once in a neutral venue is a start alright.
Real ale Madrid
09/08/2010, 4:13 PM
Three games on Saturday, Three on a Sunday. 2pm, 5pm, 8pm kick offs.
Would work well imo
Fans would only show up for thier own game - meaning a 80 - 90 % empty stadium for most of the day. obviously there are a few who would hang around. But the majority won't.
Not a bad idea either IMO - but I just don't think its as lucrative as an All-star game played as part of the domestic calender.
tippex
09/08/2010, 4:15 PM
Fans would only show up for thier own game - meaning a 80 - 90 % empty stadium for most of the day. obviously there are a few who would hang around. But the majority won't.
Not a bad idea either IMO - but I just don't think its as lucrative as an All-star game played as part of the domestic calender.
I know I'd go for the whole day depending on when we were scheduled to play. it could get expensive though in the bars:)
09/08/2010, 4:19 PM
The GAA does something similar for the All-Ireland qualifiers when there is more than one game going on in succession. Seems most people only show up to see their team then **** off.
The bumper-fixture idea might work better for FAI cup semis or something.
Dave Barry is a barstooler.
:clap:
WoodquayBoy
09/08/2010, 6:57 PM
I'm thinking of clearing all cases where Club A plays Club B twice at home and once away. I suppose having all clubs play 16 times at home, 16 times away and once in a neutral venue is a start alright.
Surely if it was a 16-team division, each team would play 15 times at home and 15 times away? Tsk tsk, and you a Student, just what are the rest of us paying grants for, I ask ya!!!