View Full Version : Limerick Division 2A 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24

mogus
30/04/2010, 6:51 PM
round 48 pts should get a team promoted so long way to go. wouldnt rule out anybody lots on unhappy players still going to transfer yet.,

i must say im a genius, thats how i roll old school. that was posted in september

mundener
30/04/2010, 7:11 PM
i must say im a genius, thats how i roll old school. that was posted in september

I dont think your a genius.... but it was a good guess.;)

Fairkop
30/04/2010, 10:45 PM
enjoyed the game last night,aisling did well early on but once the new champs scored they dominated and deserved to win.good idea to have linesmen too and given villas form inthe last 9-10 games they proved worthy winners,at different stages both knocklong and caherconlish looked certs to win league,so villas surge up the table merits great praise.well done too to caherconlish promoted and cup winners.

mogus
01/05/2010, 5:52 PM
if mike curran (athlunkard) doesnt get on team of the yr. its a joke, he scored in every game he played in exept corbally, some goal poacher

Fairkop
01/05/2010, 9:31 PM
turning point of our season was 2 things a last minute penalty save against st pats and coming back from 1 down to beat kp with 9 men. 10wins in a row and balla premier the only team to beat us in 2010 is some achievement, couldnt see that happening at christmas, fair play to everyone on this thread it gives me something to do in the evenings,if theres anyone looking for me in august ill be in the 1b threadsorry to spoil the post but...was,n there a drubbing by holycross?

mogus
01/05/2010, 11:14 PM
sorry to spoil the post but...was,n there a drubbing by holycross?

selective memory, forgot bout that, they gave a good hiding that day alright, 6 players that started thurs were missin or suspended for that 1 and b players couldnt play either which is a stupid rule

briancool21
02/05/2010, 2:59 PM
Yeah fare play to Athlunkard we beat ye twice in the League and ye recovered brilliantly each time and capitilised and ourselves and knocklongs slip ups fair play to ye and we'll see ye in 1B next season and best of luck to the rest of ye next year too some really tough sides in this league and best of luck with Moyross coming up for 2b next year seemed unstoppable in that League

villain10
02/05/2010, 8:39 PM
every league game... couple of cups (hcross & corbally a). been a great year for us. went right to the wire but the big thing was getting out of the league. 3 strong teams have gone up, but aisling will be back next year stronger than this term i reckon. moyross have come up and we all know how well they are doing, and the lads from the soap opera say they'll be stronger so it would hve been a nightmarish prospect.. 1b beckons for us thank god and i cant wait to give that a crack.

mogus
02/05/2010, 10:36 PM
'm new on this site, but been watchin limerick soccer for the last 15 years, used to plat in 2B, 2A And 1B.Have watched a few games this year, stroll around catchin as many as possible, Mainly 2A for the past few years as I'm from st marys parish, had abbey and athlunkard last year, corbally this year, anyway my 2pence worth fpr this season on games seen and results so far.
My top 3 are 2 new boys Caherconlish, Knocklong and a really old scholl 2A side Athlunkard V. Dont know enough about the new boys to commit fully, but Athlunkard are possible one of the nicest footballing sides outside the premier, but maybe get punished for that exact reason, they lost their way last year too and I think they lost players. but manager Ray Kerley will get them playing football and if the team is any way strong, they'll be hard to beat (not hard to score against but hard to beat) my other neigbouring club Corbally came up to quick I think and are not ready (bottom 5 i'd say), Aishling- cup final last season, could be anything really, a big chance if they improve, dont know much of St Pat and herbertstown but the results speak for them selves I think on them. Kennedy Park, castle and Killfinan are 2A old boys too but always seem to be mid table, I'll stick with that again. Shels and Holycross - NO - just NO. SO neck on the line and neighbours in mind I'll opt for Athlunkard to top the table. with Knocklong and Caherconlish to fight it out for 2nd. If I'm any good I should get 90% of the results (not Scores) right for tomorrow, so here goes: Holy0 v Kil2 Knock5 v st pat0, Ath V 3 v Kp1, AA2 v castle2, shels2 v Herb2, caher4 v corbally1.
Dont worry I'll never write this much again. MM some man for predictions, jesus, have u lotto numbers for wednesday

AllBalls
03/05/2010, 11:07 AM
some man for predictions, jesus, have u lotto numbers for wednesday

5, 13, 25, 28, 33, 42 bonus 6

Good alright!

Well done to Athlunkard, ye deserved it.
great run to finish. best of luck next season.

kk11
03/05/2010, 6:09 PM
Would like to thank all my lads with Athlunkard Villa, cheers for the great effort pre-season, in training and in the games, after christmas you were excellent and you got what you deserved. looking forward to next year in 1B lets try do it all again. Well done to mikey for finishing top scorer (look at me now WH) and to all the lads, slán to Camille whos back to france. And lads ive been reading this all season, and Kennedy Park craic me up, best of luck to them next year, i mean that. and as far as the team of the season go's.... no debating.... there's only 1 team of the season :) cheers KK11

villain10
04/05/2010, 5:38 PM
jesus lads, thread has gone very quiet the last few days!! well done knocklong and conlish for gettin promoted and pushin us right to the last kick of the season, see ye in 1b next year. 10 points ahead of us this at christmas says we have to start better next year to keep up with ye. but where did it all go wrong for everyone this year, k'long looked like they were gonna run away with it after 7/8 games. why did conlish draw so many?

Vision
05/05/2010, 3:32 PM
Have to say I really enjoyed the league this year, right down to the wire. I think Athlunkard will do well in 1b, we play great football and have a very solid back 4 that allows the rest of the team to attack. Role on August, the ambition is to get Villa to the Premier and beat Star Rovers along the way, though age is coming against a lot of us, we never had a lot of pace so it wont affect us too much I hope. (Where are you now WH and PB!!!!)
Good luck to the teams in 2A next year, I hope Aisling get promoted, a very good footballing side...not like the majority of long ballers who should all be put in their own league where the person who can kick the ball the furthest wins a a tractor or something, I think Holycross keeper would win that easily.
Caherconlish, we will want revenge for the defeats this time around:mad:
Come on the Villa!!!!!!!

wild forest
08/05/2010, 11:25 AM
Have to say I really enjoyed the league this year, right down to the wire. I think Athlunkard will do well in 1b, we play great football and have a very solid back 4 that allows the rest of the team to attack. Role on August, the ambition is to get Villa to the Premier and beat Star Rovers along the way, though age is coming against a lot of us, we never had a lot of pace so it wont affect us too much I hope. (Where are you now WH and PB!!!!)
Good luck to the teams in 2A next year, I hope Aisling get promoted, a very good footballing side...not like the majority of long ballers who should all be put in their own league where the person who can kick the ball the furthest wins a a tractor or something, I think Holycross keeper would win that easily.
Caherconlish, we will want revenge for the defeats this time around:mad:
Come on the Villa!!!!!!! must say vision ye had the best organised defence this year in 2a and will do pretty well next year who knows even promotion again because i cant see why not surely your not referring kilfinane as one of those long ball experts:)!! aisling just lacked that extra edge in game against ye and it showed but also in defence and midfield they were very tidy.. now must go through another summer trying to sign a few new players cause towards the end of the season was a joke for us lads going on the lash letting us down and also gaa which affects alot of the country sides so in an ideal world would love to get three or four new players dedicated to just football and no other sport ie gaa would be delighted.. alot of the team lost interest towards the end and its very hard playing alongside fellas that you know dont care about winning a match as much as you do..:( so vision send us on any of the athlunkard lads on free transfers this year and well look after them free accomodation etc free drink ...

3 Heroes
13/05/2010, 7:45 AM
Well done to Athlunkard and Caherconlish on promotion to 1B, St Pats and Castle to play off to see who gets relegated
Any news on the relegation play-off? I'd have my money on Pats to stay up

Roadend
13/05/2010, 8:09 AM
Nothing yet, paper seems to show castle as being on 15 and pats on 18 after 22 played which isn't right

briancool21
13/05/2010, 11:26 AM
I'd say Castle would scrape they got a good attack, very very poor defence though

3 Heroes
13/05/2010, 11:38 AM
I'd say Castle would scrape they got a good attack, very very poor defence though
My reasoning in for going for Pats is form, Castle have lost their last 10+ i'd say(apart from their final game), and Pats have been picking up quite a few points in the last few games, confidence plays a huge part

blueboy2
13/05/2010, 10:09 PM
I think that match was played last sunday morning dont know who won it though.

villain10
21/05/2010, 2:53 PM
Top goalscorers and team of the year is as follows, according to the Limerick Leader and limericksoccer.com:

Div 2A
Champions; Athlunkard Villa
Runners Up; Caherconlish
Relegated Castle Rvs and Herbertstown B
Lipper Cup; Caherconlish
Division’s Top Scorers
Mike Curran (Athlunkard) 25
Billy Hayes (Knocklong) 25
Derek O'Hurley (Aisling) 19
Team of the Season
Ray O'Connell (Caherconlish)
Mark O'Connor (Caherconlish)
Paul Loughrane (Corbally)
Sean Kiely (Caherconlish)
Darren Bridges (Athlunkard)
Gary Murphy (Caherconlish)
Ray Kerley (Athlunkard)
Philip Clancy (Athlunkard)
Brendan Hourigan (Caherconlish)
Derek O'Hurley (Aisling)
Mike Curran (Athlunkard)

Reserves; Barry Guerin (Kennedy Park), Conor O'Driscoll (Corbally), Matt Costello (Athlunkard), Joe Power (Caherconlish), Roy O'Connell (Athlunkard)

12 Inf Bn
21/05/2010, 7:14 PM
jesus lads someone forgot the Kennnedy Park players...theres going to be war!!!!! lol

3 Heroes
21/05/2010, 7:51 PM
jesus lads someone forgot the Kennnedy Park players...theres going to be war!!!!! lol
Weren't they in the Premier League team of the year;)

mogus
21/05/2010, 9:32 PM
Weren't they in the Premier League team of the year;)

say wat ye like lads but they were the only team to beat caherconlish in the league, and that team of the year thing is a joke, wats it based on. must say ill miss the banter on this thing for the summer, its great to pass the day

3 Heroes
21/05/2010, 11:37 PM
say wat ye like lads but they were the only team to beat caherconlish in the league, and that team of the year thing is a joke, wats it based on. must say ill miss the banter on this thing for the summer, its great to pass the day
Maybe we can have some transfer rumours to keep you occupied over the off-season

mundener
25/05/2010, 3:20 PM

well in your case its based on a bench

wild forest
26/05/2010, 9:53 AM
lads has anyone heard anything about knocklong getting promoted as well this year ?????

villain10
28/05/2010, 11:18 AM
3rd place got promoted this year because herbertstown were pulled out of 1A. thus, 3 from 1B go up to 1A, and 3 from 2A go up to 1B. Herberstown A gave too many walkovers and were relegated to 2B (or beyond) as a result I think. So ye had a lot to play for out in Kilfinane toward the end of the season.

wild forest
28/05/2010, 4:19 PM
3rd place got promoted this year because herbertstown were pulled out of 1A. thus, 3 from 1B go up to 1A, and 3 from 2A go up to 1B. Herberstown A gave too many walkovers and were relegated to 2B (or beyond) as a result I think. So ye had a lot to play for out in Kilfinane toward the end of the season.
cheers for that villian disgusted now after that a pity we didnt know during the season:(

mogus
28/05/2010, 4:32 PM
cheers for that villian disgusted now after that a pity we didnt know during the season:(
hyde st pats and hospital all went up in 3rd in the last 8 yrs in 2a and kp finished 4th in 2b (i think) when they came up so its worth playin right to the end just in case

old git
30/05/2010, 8:06 PM
hyde st pats and hospital all went up in 3rd in the last 8 yrs in 2a and kp finished 4th in 2b (i think) when they came up so its worth playin right to the end just in case

when do league announce about teams finishing 3rd/4th going up to higher divisions :confused: i assume they advise clubs involved

irishboy
30/05/2010, 9:07 PM

kp finished 3rd that year

wild forest
01/06/2010, 9:54 PM
it would be handy alright if the league informed us of an extra team getting promoted we lost interest when we thought there was nothing to play for and its fairly annoying that the ldmc surely had an idea about it would have made a good end for teams challenging for promotion .. ah well next season well have to do it all again :D

TopperHarley
02/06/2010, 1:31 PM
Heard KP, Lish and Knocklong are looking for new managers for the new season?
Any teams getting in new players?

Solid
02/06/2010, 4:34 PM

KP need a new manager for sure.if they get someone to take over again thats involved with the team its gonna be another season of shambolic nonsense and from what i hear some players will leave if thats what the case may be.

wild forest
02/06/2010, 5:54 PM
well only speaking on our behalf we will have alot of players back this year because the gaa is nearly over for them so will be pretty strong again this year also two lads from north cork league who are supposed to be pretty good and the usual comebacks from one or two but lose interest after few games.. any of the k.p players looking for a club your more than welcome out here well look after ye:)

mogus
02/06/2010, 6:05 PM
well only speaking on our behalf we will have alot of players back this year because the gaa is nearly over for them so will be pretty strong again this year also two lads from north cork league who are supposed to be pretty good and the usual comebacks from one or two but lose interest after few games.. any of the k.p players looking for a club your more than welcome out here well look after ye:)

we have some good young fellas on our b team and the bulk of last years squad to pick from so hopefully with the same training (from xmas ) we'll give it a good go in 1b, as for the gaffer, the fella we had this year done alright so we'll stick with him, surprised to hear those teams looking for managers,but managing a team in this town you need a degree in phscology aswell

wild forest
02/06/2010, 9:04 PM
we have some good young fellas on our b team and the bulk of last years squad to pick from so hopefully with the same training (from xmas ) we'll give it a good go in 1b, as for the gaffer, the fella we had this year done alright so we'll stick with him, surprised to hear those teams looking for managers,but managing a team in this town you need a degree in phscology aswell
brilliant:):D:D

TopperHarley
03/06/2010, 8:40 AM
KP need a new manager for sure.if they get someone to take over again thats involved with the team its gonna be another season of shambolic nonsense and from what i hear some players will leave if thats what the case may be.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Last seasons manager was not a player?it would be no harm anyway some players leaving, the team is gone stale now they need 3- 4 new players to freshin things up.

pedigree
03/06/2010, 10:36 AM
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Last seasons manager was not a player?it would be no harm anyway some players leaving, the team is gone stale now they need 3- 4 new players to freshin things up.

both played in some games.and we would want all players to stay and add 3 or 4.too many players turnin up and walking onto the field.a bit of competition would go a long way.plus training drastically needs to improve.

allab
03/06/2010, 5:11 PM
we(moyross) are hoping to add 2-3 players for next season and hopefully keep what we have, tough division to get out of by all accounts??

irishboy
03/06/2010, 8:11 PM
Last seasons manager was not a player?it would be no harm anyway some players leaving, the team is gone stale now they need 3- 4 new players to freshin things up.[/QUOTE]

kp need 4-5 players for the new season and if a few were to leave then they would have to be replaced so that would leave kp finding a whole new team.they would seriously want to strenghtn and keep there players or they will be playing catch up from the start to the end

wild forest
03/06/2010, 9:10 PM
we(moyross) are hoping to add 2-3 players for next season and hopefully keep what we have, tough division to get out of by all accounts??
very tough just when you think your walking away with the league other teams claw there way back in lots of tough places to go holycross very sticky at home kennedy park on their day are a match for anyone in this league also corbally pretty good at home dont forget aisling who barely missed out on promotion which was a bit harsh on them.. all i say is dont come into this league thinking you will walk it as that every team in it will say very hard to get out of it like us weve been in it for the last three years !!!! ye will get a good game off everyone one of the teams what are the other team promoted with ye like?

allab
04/06/2010, 9:41 AM
very tough just when you think your walking away with the league other teams claw there way back in lots of tough places to go holycross very sticky at home kennedy park on their day are a match for anyone in this league also corbally pretty good at home dont forget aisling who barely missed out on promotion which was a bit harsh on them.. all i say is dont come into this league thinking you will walk it as that every team in it will say very hard to get out of it like us weve been in it for the last three years !!!! ye will get a good game off everyone one of the teams what are the other team promoted with ye like?

we definately dont expect to walk it, its gonna be another long hard season! the other team that came up is newport i think they are a handy side very sticky at home!

3 Heroes
04/06/2010, 2:52 PM
we definately dont expect to walk it, its gonna be another long hard season! the other team that came up is newport i think they are a handy side very sticky at home!

If I was a betting man, my money would be on Moyross to win it by about 3 or 4 points, wide open for second, just my opinion...

wild forest
04/06/2010, 10:36 PM
If I was a betting man, my money would be on Moyross to win it by about 3 or 4 points, wide open for second, just my opinion...
well 3 heroes everyones opinion counts but to be honest just dont see it being that simple aisling will push all the way also kennedy park if they get whatever problems they have sorted will be very strong . by all means i heard moyross are strong but as you know yourself well all want to knock back the previous champions a peg or two just to welcome them to 2a:) im not too sure who came down from 1b but whoever it is should be ok as well.. and ye came good towards end of season as well when it mattered so no doubt ye should be well improved as for us not just saying it but we have got back at least 7 players from the gaa who are very good soccer players so we might give it a right crack but then again could be coming back to you in jan or feb saying they have all disappeared again ;)

3 Heroes
05/06/2010, 8:17 AM
im not too sure who came down from 1b but whoever it is should be ok as well.
Summerville and Hill Celtic. The teams who get relegated wouldn't usually go straight back up, in Limerick if you're not good enough to stay in the division then you're not good enough to get promoted from the division below either

Red devil
07/06/2010, 1:02 AM
were does it say in allabs post that moyross are gonna walk the league wild forest he only asked for an opinion on the league

wild forest
07/06/2010, 8:42 AM
were does it say in allabs post that moyross are gonna walk the league wild forest he only asked for an opinion on the league
no where at all i was giving a general view on the league as a whole.. and how tough it is on all teams not just moyross so noone is getting singled out.

svillerovers
07/06/2010, 12:32 PM
Summerville rovers Have a new website for all summerville information.. www.summervillerovers.com .........Also Astro Turf available to rent for 30 euro per hour for the months of June,July and August..

wild forest
13/06/2010, 8:06 PM
so lads anyone want to take a crack at predicting on how the league table will finish up next season??