View Full Version : Limerick Division 2A 2009/10
was that ye behind the goal dkid? should have come over and said hello!!!sorry pal i will the nxt time, podge can be a bit scary at times tho!tell me this has trevor mckenna been playn much for ye,he's a handy player!
have to say this 2a league has been the best for yrs wit 4 to 5 games left and theres still 5 teams who can win the league brill stuff some massive games coming up in the nxt wk or so,ye'll hav a tough job tryn to come away wit 3 points on thurs if it goes ahead and athlukard to go there sun two big matches!if ye win thurs and athlunkard sun really puts the pressure on us to beat kp which i think will be a very close match kp do alot of talkn but there a good team!so exciting times ahead!
irishboy
30/03/2010, 2:40 PM
lads get yere managers to ring about those games we are down to play holycross next tues and aisling next thursday but it is actually we are playing holycross this thursday the 1st and aisling next tuesday
Roadend
30/03/2010, 2:43 PM
When did you find this out?
12 Inf Bn
30/03/2010, 2:51 PM
as long as the lish dont win the league i dont care.theres nothing worse than a bad team winning a league.looking forward already to playing them in 2A again next year.they're easy.EASY EASY EASY EASY
u sad little man, explain how a bad team wins a league??? think you must be 1 of them old fella's who cant hack it anymore...
12 Inf Bn
30/03/2010, 2:55 PM
sorry pal i will the nxt time, podge can be a bit scary at times tho!tell me this has trevor mckenna been playn much for ye,he's a handy player!
have to say this 2a league has been the best for yrs wit 4 to 5 games left and theres still 5 teams who can win the league brill stuff some massive games coming up in the nxt wk or so,ye'll hav a tough job tryn to come away wit 3 points on thurs if it goes ahead and athlukard to go there sun two big matches!if ye win thurs and athlunkard sun really puts the pressure on us to beat kp which i think will be a very close match kp do alot of talkn but there a good team!so exciting times ahead!trevor has been carring a few injuries and got a red a few wks ago... yeah some finish to the season,to be honest i cant call it but i do think the 2 teams who handle the pressure best in the next 2 wks will go up
TopperHarley
30/03/2010, 3:05 PM
Lads will everybody have full sqauds availble for these midweek games?
Must be tough if you work in town and have to get out to kilfinane in time ect??
Easily the most competive divsion and fair play to ye all .
irishboy
30/03/2010, 3:23 PM
sorry pal i will the nxt time, podge can be a bit scary at times tho!tell me this has trevor mckenna been playn much for ye,he's a handy player!
have to say this 2a league has been the best for yrs wit 4 to 5 games left and theres still 5 teams who can win the league brill stuff some massive games coming up in the nxt wk or so,ye'll hav a tough job tryn to come away wit 3 points on thurs if it goes ahead and athlukard to go there sun two big matches!if ye win thurs and athlunkard sun really puts the pressure on us to beat kp which i think will be a very close match kp do alot of talkn but there a good team!so exciting times ahead!
i agree with going to be very interesting 2 weeks espically with the midweek fixtures.not fair on the teams pushing for the league and promotion having to play mayches midweek if they are going to be struggling for players if they are working etc etc.so as i said previously best of luck to the teams who have it all to play for
irishboy
30/03/2010, 3:25 PM
When did you find this out?
last nite road the fixtures secretary rang us to confirm
howsheref
30/03/2010, 3:54 PM
u sad little man, explain how a bad team wins a league??? think you must be 1 of them old fella's who cant hack it anymore...
one of those old guys that ye couldnt hack more like.its only a bit of banter pal.no need for the insult.ive feelings too ya know:p:).and ye've nothing won yet by the way.
Roadend
30/03/2010, 4:07 PM
last nite road the fixtures secretary rang us to confirm
Sounds like an April fool's joke to me!!
irishboy
30/03/2010, 5:33 PM
Sounds like an April fool's joke to me!!
why would i want to say something like that honestly it is true
Super Rovers
30/03/2010, 6:41 PM
Its coming to squeaky bum time now but has anyone got their team of the season in mind. there are good players all over this division so this should be interesting. Havent seen or played much myself but definately thought the big fella up front for caherconlish was good aswell as their centre midfielder(captain i think). was also impressed but holycross's centre forward another big powerful lad. definately a few good players in aisling, not many individuals but a good team that works very well together. havent seen many defences on top(or put to the test) in the games i played or saw so whats yere opinion lads.
villain10
30/03/2010, 6:51 PM
you cant complain about having midweek matches. they've been an important part of the season for years now, its like tradition. its where the league title, promotion and relegation is decided... if the rule is you cant have 3 games in a week, avail of it. i think the rule is you are entitled to 48 hrs rest between games. redcaerdrory might come along to share his 2 cents on this?
12 Inf Bn
30/03/2010, 8:14 PM
Its coming to squeaky bum time now but has anyone got their team of the season in mind. there are good players all over this division so this should be interesting. Havent seen or played much myself but definately thought the big fella up front for caherconlish was good aswell as their centre midfielder(captain i think). was also impressed but holycross's centre forward another big powerful lad. definately a few good players in aisling, not many individuals but a good team that works very well together. havent seen many defences on top(or put to the test) in the games i played or saw so whats yere opinion lads.the keeper for kp had a great game against us,dont no if it was a 1 off or if he's decent? and massey looked good.
12 Inf Bn
30/03/2010, 8:16 PM
you cant complain about having midweek matches. they've been an important part of the season for years now, its like tradition. its where the league title, promotion and relegation is decided... if the rule is you cant have 3 games in a week, avail of it. i think the rule is you are entitled to 48 hrs rest between games. redcaerdrory might come along to share his 2 cents on this?
think it makes for a better end of season,games comming thick and fast,everything to play for,keeps it interesting?
howsheref
30/03/2010, 8:35 PM
Its coming to squeaky bum time now but has anyone got their team of the season in mind. there are good players all over this division so this should be interesting. Havent seen or played much myself but definately thought the big fella up front for caherconlish was good aswell as their centre midfielder(captain i think). was also impressed but holycross's centre forward another big powerful lad. definately a few good players in aisling, not many individuals but a good team that works very well together. havent seen many defences on top(or put to the test) in the games i played or saw so whats yere opinion lads.
ya Rooney up front for lish is very handy.played against him a few times over the years and he's always a threat.philip clancy for athlunkard would be in it too.good player.havent played against holycross nor aishling this season myself so cant comment.have to say our goalkeeper Barry Guerin has improved a huge amount this season and would IMO definitely be on it.others i think would be on it from KP going on form this season would be Ray Massey and Joe Rooney.
villain10
30/03/2010, 8:41 PM
think it makes for a better end of season,games comming thick and fast,everything to play for,keeps it interesting?
oh def!! much faster pace to the end of season. teams will be missin a few players, thats the downside of it. its part and parcel of it tho. should be an interesting 3/4 weeks to say the least. best of luck to everyone! just not to those that play us ;)
3 Heroes
30/03/2010, 9:01 PM
Division 2A - April 4th
Kilfinane v Athlunkard Villa, 11.00, P J Walsh
St Pats v Holycross, 11.00, M Kavanagh
Castle Rvs v Knocklong, 11.00, T Mannion
Div 2A Cup - April 4th
Corbally Utd v Aisling Annacotty, 2.30, J Carey
Shelbourne v Caherconlish, 2.30, G Clancy
O’Neill Soccer Div 2A - April 6th
Kennedy Park v Holycross, 6.30, R Hennessy
Corbally Utd v Shelbourne, 6.30, A Keogh
O’Neill Soccer Div 2A - April 8th
Aisling Annacotty v Kennedy Park, 6.30, D Matusaik
Shelbourne v Knocklong, 6.30, M Bourke
Caherconlish v Holycross, 6.30, J Carey
Corbally Utd v Athlunkard Villa, 6.30, R Broe
Castle Rvs v St Pats, 6.30, J McNamara
TopperHarley
30/03/2010, 9:13 PM
O’Neill Soccer Div 2A - April 6th
Kennedy Park v Holycross, 6.30, R Hennessy
That Game has been changed to this Thursday,spoke to a few KP guys while watchin the match a few minutes ago
as long as the lish dont win the league i dont care.theres nothing worse than a bad team winning a league.looking forward already to playing them in 2A again next year.they're easy.EASY EASY EASY EASY
so does that mean ye wont show up to play us;);)could do wit it kid never mind them c'lish lads slagging ye all season bad form;)
irishboy
31/03/2010, 10:13 AM
so does that mean ye wont show up to play us;);)could do wit it kid never mind them c'lish lads slagging ye all season bad form;)
we will be turning up alright and turning up to beat ye over those smart remarks u left on the previous page so they werent the only ones that slagged us were they
Roadend
31/03/2010, 10:18 AM
Can't we all just get along :rainbow:
new boy
31/03/2010, 10:41 AM
rooney 2 centre halfs from the lish massey and j.rooney and keeper from kp centre mid of knocklong(under 16 international i think)other positions cnt say..................................is the kp game going ahead thurs nite for kp
TopperHarley
31/03/2010, 12:16 PM
Iv seen mostly KP matches so not sure of the guys names
But here i go
Top team of 2a 4-4-2
Keeper Kilfinanes
Right back Aisling
Centre Back Aisling
Centre Back Knocklong (Tall guy)
Left back Knocklong(some whack of a ball)
Right mid Clancy Atlunkard
Centre Knocklong Bald guy...he is class!
Center J Rooney KP
Left Mid Caherconlish big guy that takes there frees
Forward Aislings Derek
Forward Rooney Caherconlish
IMO!
new boy
31/03/2010, 2:11 PM
topper that is a good team but how could you leave massey out of that team imo he should make team of season pace finishing and good on the ball...........if you watch kps games you will see how you cnt leave him out and he would be the only changeid make to your team imo
Roadend
31/03/2010, 2:17 PM
Is it team of the 2A season or team of the coming back from Hill cetlic before it fell apart season?
mundener
31/03/2010, 2:21 PM
But here i go
Top team of 2a 4-4-2
Keeper Kilfinanes
Right back Aisling
Centre Back Aisling
Center J Rooney KP
Forward Aislings Derek
IMO!
clancy will never make a right mid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and I tell him latter.
TopperHarley
31/03/2010, 2:43 PM
Is it team of the 2A season or team of the coming back from Hill cetlic before it fell apart season?
-------------------------------------------------------------
Did any guy on that team ever play with Hill celtic?
And on Massy the 2 games i say him play since he came back he wasnt great,he would be a great player if he played for team a bit more than himself ,IMO
Roadend
31/03/2010, 3:10 PM
-------------------------------------------------------------
Did any guy on that team ever play with Hill celtic?
And on Massy the 2 games i say him play since he came back he wasnt great,he would be a great player if he played for team a bit more than himself ,IMO
I wasn't taking about your team
mundener
31/03/2010, 4:01 PM
I think the team of the Year shouldbe decided when the season has finished............. the next 5 games are the biggest for the top 6 so maybe the players who put in crucial perfomances and score vital goals will push for a place on team of the year. corbally and holycross have a lot to say and have some nice players maybe they can get a mention in the next few weeks.
12 Inf Bn
31/03/2010, 4:34 PM
But here i go
Top team of 2a 4-4-2
Keeper Kilfinanes
Right back Aisling
Centre Back Aisling
Center J Rooney KP
Forward Aislings Derek
IMO!only the mid from the k'long team would make it,
TopperHarley
31/03/2010, 4:42 PM
only the mid from the k'long team would make it,
I was impressed with the Knocklong defenders Sunday,
Let discuss lads throw out a few names that we are forgetting,especialy from your own teams!!
stevieg
31/03/2010, 5:37 PM
william hourigan left mid and gary murphy caherconlish centre mid wud be in with a decent shout
irishboy
31/03/2010, 5:46 PM
topper that is a good team but how could you leave massey out of that team imo he should make team of season pace finishing and good on the ball...........if you watch kps games you will see how you cnt leave him out and he would be the only changeid make to your team imo
massey hasnt played enough games in 2a this season to get a mention no matter how good he is thats my opinion
we will be turning up alright and turning up to beat ye over those smart remarks u left on the previous page so they werent the only ones that slagged us were they
il have to get rid of the corner flags so!are we playn ye tues nite instead of thurs would be nice for the ldmc to notify us, should be a close match how does 50 sound not to show up;)
irishboy
01/04/2010, 12:13 PM
il have to get rid of the corner flags so!are we playn ye tues nite instead of thurs would be nice for the ldmc to notify us, should be a close match how does 50 sound not to show up;)
good one.make it a 100 and i will have a chat with the lads lol
mundener
01/04/2010, 9:03 PM
Kilfinanne 1 -1 Caherconlish.
watched the 2nd half. Big crowd down to watch for both teams. I heard lish were on top in 1st half hour then kilfinanne come back into it. the 2nd half kilfinanne were on top and got an early goal, good finish from the no 10 after a flick on. both teams pressed hard in a very direct game.... there are some nice views out in kilfinanne from what I often looked up at following the game.!!!:D but the pitch was not in the best condition in fairness. lish had a good chance when ball was crossed in there forward had a tap in but it just got away from him. kifianne pressed on and the momentum was with them, they had a great chance to make it 2 nil but not long after lish got back into the game and put 3 up front. They got level with less than 10 on the clock, with a good header from a free kick. From then on it was all lish, with a late red card from the home team u thought lish were gonna nick it.....kifinanne may feel hard done by but prob a fair result in the end..... this make things even tighter up the top. I still think 5 teams can go up..... Kp are having a good run as well i bet if they had got a few more points in the earlier stages of the season they would be fighting as well I think they are 3/4 points to far back tho. holycross walkover didn't help in the 1st game..... I heard they won 3-0 tonite.
Fairkop
01/04/2010, 9:23 PM
thats pretty accurate account ,i arrived just before halftime and in fairness to kilfinane they were the better team though they seemed very indisciplined.great finish by cf for the goal and though caherconlish came into it abit late on it was hard to see them scoring bar a setpiece and thats how the equaliser came.two very lively sidelines there too ,ref had a fulltime job watching everything going on.exciting enough game but poor on quality hard pitch to play on.i suppose caherconlish will be happier,having played poorly and got a point,though given they are top of the league points are being lost.have kilfinane any chance lads?
stevieg
01/04/2010, 9:36 PM
thats pretty accurate account ,i arrived just before halftime and in fairness to kilfinane they were the better team though they seemed very indisciplined.great finish by cf for the goal and though caherconlish came into it abit late on it was hard to see them scoring bar a setpiece and thats how the equaliser came.two very lively sidelines there too ,ref had a fulltime job watching everything going on.exciting enough game but poor on quality hard pitch to play on.i suppose caherconlish will be happier,having played poorly and got a point,though given they are top of the league points are being lost.have kilfinane any chance lads?
i dont think caherconlish played poorly they had a lot of the first half kilfinnane would probably have been better off to concentrate on soccer because they certainly werent concentrating on it tonight but in fairness i thought caherconlish battled well playing uphill in the second half they had enough chances to win it but goals seem hard to come by at the moment
irishboy
01/04/2010, 9:53 PM
kp 3 - 0 holycross.good win for us 2 up at the break had a few more chances in the second half to kill off the game completely got our third with d last kick of the game.fair play to holycross kept battling away untill the end some handy players on there team.ur rite mundener if we hadnt given them the walk over and threw away the games against athlunkard kilfinnane and knocklong which we were leading each game we would be top.no one to blame only ourselves
hav to say thats another good win for ye! ye must be kicking ye're selfs in the arse from the walkover and the games ye threw away,well maybe nxt season mite be ye're yr, if ye can keeep the same squad from the start,we'll have to be tuned in from the start if we are to get a result off ye can anyone from kp confirm if we ar playn ye tues or thurs evening?
mogus
01/04/2010, 10:57 PM
i dont think kp are outta this league yet the way things are going
villain10
01/04/2010, 11:24 PM
Div 2A P W D L F A Pts
Caherconlish 19 12 4 2 46 22 41
Aisling Annacotty 18 12 2 4 55 23 38
Athlunkard Villa 17 11 2 4 47 26 35
Knocklong 17 10 4 3 51 28 34
Kilfinane 18 10 3 4 35 30 34
Kennedy Park 19 9 3 6 35 26 33
Corbally Utd B 17 7 3 7 27 27 24
Holycross 18 6 2 9 23 30 20
Castle Rvs 17 4 3 10 42 49 15
Shelbourne 17 4 2 11 20 62 14
St Pats 17 3 5 9 14 31 14
Herbertstown B 22 0 3 19 7 34 3 (R)
irishboy
01/04/2010, 11:33 PM
hav to say thats another good win for ye! ye must be kicking ye're selfs in the arse from the walkover and the games ye threw away,well maybe nxt season mite be ye're yr, if ye can keeep the same squad from the start,we'll have to be tuned in from the start if we are to get a result off ye can anyone from kp confirm if we ar playn ye tues or thurs evening?
kicking ouselfs in the arse aint the word man raging i would put it.ya we are def playing ye next tuesday should be a good game we caint wait make sure ye dont put up any corner flags lol
TopperHarley
02/04/2010, 12:01 AM
kicking ouselfs in the arse aint the word man raging i would put it.ya we are def playing ye next tuesday should be a good game we caint wait make sure ye dont put up any corner flags lol
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Who scored for ye 2nite Irishboy,if ye beat Aisling on Tuesday it will be squeaky bum time!
12 Inf Bn
02/04/2010, 9:19 AM
Kilfinanne 1 -1 Caherconlish.
watched the 2nd half. Big crowd down to watch for both teams. I heard lish were on top in 1st half hour then kilfinanne come back into it. the 2nd half kilfinanne were on top and got an early goal, good finish from the no 10 after a flick on. both teams pressed hard in a very direct game.... there are some nice views out in kilfinanne from what I often looked up at following the game.!!!:D but the pitch was not in the best condition in fairness. lish had a good chance when ball was crossed in there forward had a tap in but it just got away from him. kifianne pressed on and the momentum was with them, they had a great chance to make it 2 nil but not long after lish got back into the game and put 3 up front. They got level with less than 10 on the clock, with a good header from a free kick. From then on it was all lish, with a late red card from the home team u thought lish were gonna nick it.....kifinanne may feel hard done by but prob a fair result in the end..... this make things even tighter up the top. I still think 5 teams can go up..... Kp are having a good run as well i bet if they had got a few more points in the earlier stages of the season they would be fighting as well I think they are 3/4 points to far back tho. holycross walkover didn't help in the 1st game..... I heard they won 3-0 tonite.
yeah thats pretty much how it went, very hard to play ball on that pitch,there was no holding bk in the tackle and got abit tasty at times, kilfinane have 2 or 3 handy players mainly up front and on the wings, but the defence can be got at. thay have a small centre half who spends more time "trying"to entertaine the crowd and conning the ref then actually playing ball,he's a very limited player.think a draw was probably the right result but both teams might fell different?
12 Inf Bn
02/04/2010, 9:22 AM
how would ye be top? if ye had won games ye lost,if thats the case 10 teams could be on top.
irishboy
02/04/2010, 9:53 AM
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Who scored for ye 2nite Irishboy,if ye beat Aisling on Tuesday it will be squeaky bum time!
colin mc inerney steve rooney and mike phelan with the goals topper good win for us played well
mundener
02/04/2010, 9:59 AM
Div 2A P W D L F A Pts
Caherconlish 19 12 4 2 46 22 41
Aisling Annacotty 18 12 2 4 55 23 38
Athlunkard Villa 17 11 2 4 47 26 35
Knocklong 17 10 4 3 51 28 34
Kilfinane 18 10 3 4 35 30 34
Kennedy Park 19 9 3 6 35 26 33
Corbally Utd B 17 7 3 7 27 27 24
Holycross 18 6 2 9 23 30 20
Castle Rvs 17 4 3 10 42 49 15
Shelbourne 17 4 2 11 20 62 14
St Pats 17 3 5 9 14 31 14
Herbertstown B 22 0 3 19 7 34 3 (R)
Them colleges in cork must be crap villain!!!!! do they teach you at all?? conlish points don't add up rite:confused: p19 12 5 2 looks better;)
irishboy
02/04/2010, 10:01 AM
how would ye be top? if ye had won games ye lost,if thats the case 10 teams could be on top.
if we beat athlunkard and kilfinnane thats 6 points if we didnt conced a last minute equaliser against knocklong thats another 2 points we are on 33 so add um up or can u not add.dont worry we cant change the past. seems to me that ye are losing yere bottle and starting to panic and are getting worried because teams below ye have games in hand