View Full Version : Limerick Division 2A 2009/10
briancool21
20/07/2009, 4:43 PM
We played lisnagry in our 1st pre season game yesterday morning beat them 5-1 we ahad 18 players everyone got a game
da bishop
20/07/2009, 5:39 PM
We played lisnagry in our 1st pre season game yesterday morning beat them 5-1 we ahad 18 players everyone got a game
hardly a major test for yee Bc ,are,n they div4 or are they higher,did you get a run,have ye signed all last years team ,and any new signings playing.
briancool21
20/07/2009, 6:19 PM
3b or 4 i thikn ya dey were fairly poor alright but it was all about getting everyone a run out and getting some match practice..yeah more or less everyone has signed and we have a good few new lads signing theres even talk of us having a b team this year
Easy Easy
22/07/2009, 10:25 AM
Kp 0 Corbally 2
Nice run out last night for both teams,gave away to sloppy goals in the first half but all in all a good match that was well needed.
lankyboy26
22/07/2009, 12:54 PM
Kp 0 Corbally 2
Nice run out last night for both teams,gave away to sloppy goals in the first half but all in all a good match that was well needed.
were corbally any good
Easy Easy
22/07/2009, 2:51 PM
were corbally any good
---------------------------------------------------------------
Think they will struggle in the Premier
lankyboy26
25/07/2009, 12:08 AM
played hermitage fc from clare yesterday won 5-1 and we're playing shelbourne tomorrow evening @7.00 in shelbourne
how did ye get on against shels
lankyboy26
25/07/2009, 12:10 AM
---------------------------------------------------------------
Think they will struggle in the Premier
have ye made many signings, according to the 1A thread a couple of Balla's B players have joined ye
how did ye get on against shels
got beat 3-1 was a good game with aload of chances for both teams,if shelbourne have the same team for the season, as they had the other day that played against us they will deffinately be up there!
they had a couple of players from balla b and balla c team playing,was talking to a ex balla player after the game he was saying alot of them might not sign!but its great to see shelbourne up and running again pitch is in great nic and best of luck to them this season!
kingofkillteely
26/07/2009, 9:31 PM
Any news from Coonagh? Is it true Weston Villa hammered them 8-0 during last week?:(
briancool21
26/07/2009, 10:18 PM
Well i heard aswell that the manager ****ed off half the squad and requested to go down to 2a..Now it's probaly bull as someone already said but you never know
lankyboy26
26/07/2009, 10:59 PM
Well i heard aswell that the manager ****ed off half the squad and requested to go down to 2a..Now it's probaly bull as someone already said but you never know
the manager didn't p=iss anyone off he just left. and a lot of the senior players left too, so what they have now is a young bunch of players with little or no experience in junior soccer, that's what i've heard from an ex-coonagh player. didn't hear anything about them losing 8-0 to weston villas, would be surprised at that, weston are useless
lankyboy26
26/07/2009, 11:06 PM
got beat 3-1 was a good game with aload of chances for both teams,if shelbourne have the same team for the season, as they had the other day that played against us they will deffinately be up there!
they had a couple of players from balla b and balla c team playing,was talking to a ex balla player after the game he was saying alot of them might not sign!but its great to see shelbourne up and running again pitch is in great nic and best of luck to them this season!
shels will always attract players because they are a very well run club with good facilities and lovely pitches, been around for years. and it's close for anyone living on the north side of the city. hope thay do well this year
the quiet 1
27/07/2009, 8:12 AM
Who is the Manager of Shelbourne this year ?
ray o halloran, he was over balla b last season
the quiet 1
27/07/2009, 9:46 AM
ray o halloran, he was over balla b last season
That explains why they have signed so many balla players from what i hear..
27/07/2009, 10:21 AM
so what they have now is a young bunch of players with little or no experience in junior soccer, that's what i've heard from an ex-coonagh player. didn't hear anything about them losing 8-0 to weston villas, would be surprised at that, weston are useless
Pretty much the same story as Caherdavin B last season. They will be just getting used to playing junior for the first season which will be tough but in the long run it will be good for Coonagh if they can keep the team together for a few years. If they did lose 8-0 thats a tough start for them.
Easy Easy
27/07/2009, 11:35 AM
-----------------------------------------------------------------
They would have to go down to 4a if they want it handy,this is the worst league in town for a "YOUNG" team!
kingofkillteely
27/07/2009, 4:15 PM
the manager didn't p=iss anyone off he just left. and a lot of the senior players left too, so what they have now is a young bunch of players with little or no experience in junior soccer, that's what i've heard from an ex-coonagh player. didn't hear anything about them losing 8-0 to weston villas, would be surprised at that, weston are useless
Your spot on Lankyboy. New manager came in. Was an ex B squad player. Got a group of young lads and decided he wanted to enter a b team. The A team manager left and all the players from last year decided to retire or go to other clubs as nobody, including myself would take over as manager. At the AGM it was put to the new b team manager if he would be prepared to let someone else manage and mix both teams to form a strong team. He declined as he knew he wouldn't get a game and so the B team was formed. Because of no manager and a slight shortage of bodies, the A team dispanded and long serving players like myself were forced to leave. I joined Coonagh as a 17 year old when they were in 3A. Myself and many other lads played in every pitch around, even reaching 1A a few years ago. It leaves a bad taste in my mouth to think "My" club would relegate themselves after all the years it took to get those promotions. They will struggle this season. If they had remained in 1b and the chairman got up off his backside and found a proper manager then they would seriously challenge in 1B. Now i fear they will become a laughing stock, but i wish them all the best and hope im wrong:ball:
mysteryman
27/07/2009, 6:15 PM
surely they cant just be asked to be relegated to the division below to give themselves a better chance, if anything they should be relegated all the way down if they want it easy, or have some balls and stay where they are and learn the hard way. or the league should keep shelbourne up and relegate coonagh.
Begrudger
27/07/2009, 10:56 PM
i think knocklong will surprise alot of people top 2 finish on the cards
Knocklong 1-4 Summerville B a pretty poor game of ball the scoreline doesn't reflect the game knocklong were on top for long periods but couldn't convert any chances we took every chance we got but we played very poorly with a half a team. Knocklong will do ok safe enough from relegation but a bit young and trips to Kp and Killfinan will be tough on the young guys.
briancool21
27/07/2009, 11:14 PM
Summerville b fairly handy so yeah? Knocklong wer a very tough side to beat last year we only got a point out of our two games against them
28/07/2009, 9:27 AM
I know Coonagh have worked hard to make it up the Divisions but if its a case of most the players are now gone and they are starting fresh again maybe they should start lower down and give themselves some chance. Even Division 4 or 3B are tough to start in but it would be alot better than starting in 2A and struggling all season. Alot of players will lose interest very easily if they are finding it tough and getting beaten alot, it might be hard to get players down for matches at 10:30 in the morning too, especially if they are all young. At least in the lower divisions they might have alot of 2:00 kick offs so its a little easier to get players out (i have found the younger players are easier to get down for 2:00 kick offs), it also gives the manager more time to make sure he has the numbers.
surely they cant just be asked to be relegated to the division below to give themselves a better chance, if anything they should be relegated all the way down if they want it easy, or have some balls and stay where they are and learn the hard way. or the league should keep shelbourne up and relegate coonagh.
think ur spot on whats the point of relegating shelbourne,they should keep em up,but if coonagh are gona be as bad as ppl are saying put them down to 4a,and put newport up to 2a as they finished 3rd in 2b!
so does anyone know when the fixtures are out and whats teams will be in 2a?
kingofkillteely
29/07/2009, 9:51 AM
think ur spot on whats the point of relegating shelbourne,they should keep em up,but if coonagh are gona be as bad as ppl are saying put them down to 4a,and put newport up to 2a as they finished 3rd in 2b!
so does anyone know when the fixtures are out and whats teams will be in 2a?
Shels were relegated for a reason. Certain players ruined what was a decent and sporting club. I know that they have a good team this year and it would be great to see old shels back up to where they belong. All the bad eggs are now gone. Coonagh should of stayed in 1b. That is where they belong. Some shower of muppets involved in the committee.
briancool21
29/07/2009, 4:54 PM
I agree they should stay in 1b there isn't too much diffrence between the divisions anyway. If they wanted a fresh start they should go way down a couple more divisions
Final Frontier
29/07/2009, 8:40 PM
Your spot on Lankyboy. New manager came in. Was an ex B squad player. Got a group of young lads and decided he wanted to enter a b team. The A team manager left and all the players from last year decided to retire or go to other clubs as nobody, including myself would take over as manager. At the AGM it was put to the new b team manager if he would be prepared to let someone else manage and mix both teams to form a strong team. He declined as he knew he wouldn't get a game and so the B team was formed. Because of no manager and a slight shortage of bodies, the A team dispanded and long serving players like myself were forced to leave. I joined Coonagh as a 17 year old when they were in 3A. Myself and many other lads played in every pitch around, even reaching 1A a few years ago. It leaves a bad taste in my mouth to think "My" club would relegate themselves after all the years it took to get those promotions. They will struggle this season. If they had remained in 1b and the chairman got up off his backside and found a proper manager then they would seriously challenge in 1B. Now i fear they will become a laughing stock, but i wish them all the best and hope im wrong:ball:
Well said and 100% accurate !!
Maybe the committee need this kick up the hole to make them see what idiots they are...
Too good a club to be run by people who currently only care for the schoolboy set up..there should be a clear line running between schoolboy minor and Junior...
Reckon it will take a few years before the real club men return and sort it out !!!!!!!!!
kingofkillteely
30/07/2009, 9:22 PM
coonagh 1 caherdavin b 6. Enough said.
kingofkillteely
30/07/2009, 9:24 PM
Think he'll make a great manager now!
briancool21
30/07/2009, 9:37 PM
There talks of us getting a b team aswell due to the turnout we've been having where will that team be put div 4 i suppose is it?
lankyboy26
30/07/2009, 9:47 PM
coonagh 1 caherdavin b 6. Enough said.
if the ldmc are reading this site they will hardly let coonagh play in 2A, not when they are getting hammered at home by 3B sides (and that's no disrespect to caherdavin), but a 2A side shouldn't be losing 6-1 at home to a side 3 divisions below them...
lankyboy26
30/07/2009, 9:52 PM
There talks of us getting a b team aswell due to the turnout we've been having where will that team be put div 4 i suppose is it?
3B or 4A. and if there's enough teams (which i doubt) ye will go into 4B. normally they ask the 4A teams if they want to move up to 3B because a new team is being brought in, if they are happy to stay in 4A then they can put ye into 3B
Easy Easy
31/07/2009, 8:56 AM
if the ldmc are reading this site they will hardly let coonagh play in 2A, not when they are getting hammered at home by 3B sides (and that's no disrespect to caherdavin), but a 2A side shouldn't be losing 6-1 at home to a side 3 divisions below them...
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Its to late now anyway because the leagues were finalised last thursday and should be on Mondays paper
31/07/2009, 9:03 AM
and to make it worse i heard 3b is going to only have 9 teams again this year. Its ridiculous. The games are played way too far apart because of this. Coonagh should be in 3B. That divsion needs more games.
lankyboy26
31/07/2009, 2:46 PM
Its to late now anyway because the leagues were finalised last thursday and should be on Mondays paper
where did you hear that? there's still another 3 weeks before the season starts. they'll hardly be bringing out fixtures this early will they
31/07/2009, 2:54 PM
where did you hear that? there's still another 3 weeks before the season starts. they'll hardly be bringing out fixtures this early will they
Well ive heard the leagues have been made too. A little re-jig with a few teams and divsions they are in but i'm not 100% on that yet. A couple of new teams in but also a couple gone.
Easy Easy
31/07/2009, 3:27 PM
[QUOTE=lankyboy26;1203533]where did you hear that?
From the LDMC
lankyboy26
31/07/2009, 4:17 PM
[QUOTE=lankyboy26;1203533]where did you hear that?
From the LDMC
coonagh and kennedy park for relegation!!!!!!!!!! :)
pedigree
31/07/2009, 4:30 PM
coonagh and kennedy park for relegation!!!!!!!!!! :)[/QUOTE]
i doubt it.how do you think ye will do?
lankyboy26
31/07/2009, 6:09 PM
coonagh and kennedy park for relegation!!!!!!!!!! :)
i doubt it.how do you think ye will do?[/QUOTE]
i know ya i was only messin. i think kennedy park will do better this season. doesn't look good for coonagh though. athlunkard have signed a few new faces, also lost a couple, i'd say they will do well, i won't be involved with them this season, hope they push for a promotion spot
briancool21
31/07/2009, 8:48 PM
So are the league make ups defo going to be on mondays paper?
lankyboy26
31/07/2009, 10:20 PM
So are the league make ups defo going to be on mondays paper?
if the divisions and fixtures come out on monday i can guarantee you 100% they will be chopped and changed before the season starts so i wouldn't be too dependant on monday's paper, in fact i wouldn't depend on it at all because there won't be a paper til tuesday over the bank holiday :)
20legend
31/07/2009, 10:21 PM
i doubt it.how do you think ye will do?
i know ya i was only messin. i think kennedy park will do better this season. doesn't look good for coonagh though. athlunkard have signed a few new faces, also lost a couple, i'd say they will do well, i won't be involved with them this season, hope they push for a promotion spot[/QUOTE]
i think that kennedy park could struggle this season, i hhave heard that they had a friendly the other night and had only 11 player's.there manager had to play,i know you can't judge team's on pre-season friendlies.but i also heard that they have a very small squad there this year.could be a long season for them.
lankyboy26
31/07/2009, 10:27 PM
i know ya i was only messin. i think kennedy park will do better this season. doesn't look good for coonagh though. athlunkard have signed a few new faces, also lost a couple, i'd say they will do well, i won't be involved with them this season, hope they push for a promotion spot
i think that kennedy park could struggle this season, i hhave heard that they had a friendly the other night and had only 11 player's.there manager had to play,i know you can't judge team's on pre-season friendlies.but i also heard that they have a very small squad there this year.could be a long season for them.[/QUOTE]
i heard they signed a few new players, couple from Balla etc. wouldn't know much about them. holycross will struggle unless they have signed new players, some very average teams in the division. my bet for promotion would be shels and hospital, with athlunkard coming close
Begrudger
31/07/2009, 10:39 PM
i think that kennedy park could struggle this season, i hhave heard that they had a friendly the other night and had only 11 player's.there manager had to play,i know you can't judge team's on pre-season friendlies.but i also heard that they have a very small squad there this year.could be a long season for them.
i heard they signed a few new players, couple from Balla etc. wouldn't know much about them. holycross will struggle unless they have signed new players, some very average teams in the division. my bet for promotion would be shels and hospital, with athlunkard coming close[/QUOTE]
Hospital promoted to 1B for 3rd place finish last year
lankyboy26
31/07/2009, 10:44 PM
i heard they signed a few new players, couple from Balla etc. wouldn't know much about them. holycross will struggle unless they have signed new players, some very average teams in the division. my bet for promotion would be shels and hospital, with athlunkard coming close
Hospital promoted to 1B for 3rd place finish last year[/QUOTE]
in place of coonagh. forgot about that
briancool21
01/08/2009, 12:32 AM
Hospital are gone up?? sickened we were lukin 4ward to playing them
20legend
01/08/2009, 3:38 PM
Hospital are gone up?? sickened we were lukin 4ward to playing them
ye must have a strong squad of player's this season,especialy that ye can put in two team's.so ye must fancy yer chances of going up again
briancool21
01/08/2009, 6:48 PM
Well we'll be trying our best to go up again it'll be very tough though id say then again from what i've heard there isn't too much diffrence between ere and 2b nad we're in the habit of winning which will stand us good plus we've lost hardly any of the squad we ad last year
i heard they signed a few new players, couple from Balla etc. wouldn't know much about them. holycross will struggle unless they have signed new players, some very average teams in the division. my bet for promotion would be shels and hospital, with athlunkard coming close[/QUOTE]
in my opinion everyone should stop club hoppin and stick to the clubs that showed faith in them. then there would be none of this nonsense of some teams only having 11 players while others have 20 with some good players just warming benches