View Full Version : Real Madrid for Tallafornia

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8

hoops1
22/06/2009, 8:18 PM
I dont know but he has a major hard on for us.

22/06/2009, 8:21 PM
Hmm, you're the ones who start disgorging sexually explicit swearwords whenever you encounter my views. I would suggest that any tumescence is to be found within your own nether-regions (and I don't just mean Tallaght.)

22/06/2009, 9:30 PM
Lads, why would Sheridan be bitter about Rovers?

Last time Dublin City played them they relegated Rovers.
You can't deny he doesn't have biased views though.

22/06/2009, 10:10 PM
You can't deny he doesn't have biased views though.

we all do, and I wouldn't dare speak for him

But it makes me laugh when one poster decides he's "bitter" and everyone follows in

He might despise them, but I still don't buy it as bitter

hoops1
22/06/2009, 10:30 PM

fergalr
23/06/2009, 12:48 PM

So why is he so obsessed?

placid casual
23/06/2009, 1:42 PM
Arguing about senor sheridan is a bit like arguing about the opinions of the maker of wooden tennis rackets.
The world has moved on. He unfortunatley has yet to make that journey.
Wish him luck on his way, I say.

Tipp Top
23/06/2009, 11:39 PM
Anyone who pays €60 to see a meaningless game like this is crazy.

€60 Most of us would spend that in a few hrs on a night out and have no recollection of it the next day. So €60 is great value to see some of the best players in the world and something you will remember for the rest of your life..

29/06/2009, 4:19 PM
1200 extra tickets available tomorrow.

http://www.platinumonegroup.com/PRESS_RELEASE/Default.664.html

29/06/2009, 6:55 PM
1200 extra tickets available tomorrow.

http://www.platinumonegroup.com/PRESS_RELEASE/Default.664.html

So €60 to sit amongst a building site - it's true what they say though - "If you build it - they will come"

Olander
29/06/2009, 6:58 PM
So €60 to sit amongst a building site - it's true what they say though - "If you build it - they will come"A begrudging Bowez fan - shock horror! :eek:

29/06/2009, 7:04 PM
This will make it a four sided stadium. Should look good.

29/06/2009, 7:08 PM
A begrudging Bowez fan - shock horror! :eek:

I'm just distracted by our upcoming Champions League trip to Austria :p

30/06/2009, 12:09 AM
So €60 to sit amongst a building site

And people watch games on building sites when there is demand. Other people watch games in half-full, outdated, crumbling "stadiums".

The Champions League starts for real in September, but Salzburg will have long since seen off their opponents in the humble qualifiers by then.

Calcio Jack
30/06/2009, 8:54 AM
So €60 to sit amongst a building site - it's true what they say though - "If you build it - they will come"

Actually if you build it they'll come to see Rovers !!...1200 extra seats are already sold out.

Hibs4Ever
30/06/2009, 9:01 AM
Actually if you build it they'll come to see Rovers !!

Yeah, people are going to the match to see Shamrock Rovers ;) Almost as deluded as the Shels fans who thought everyone was in Lansdowne to see them and not Deportivo :rolleyes:

Duggie
30/06/2009, 9:05 AM
so will rovers get all the money from the game or does dublin city council or whoever get some or what guys ? looking at 600 - 700 grand.

30/06/2009, 9:25 AM
so will rovers get all the money from the game or does dublin city council or whoever get some or what guys ? looking at 600 - 700 grand.

Platinum1 get all the money and pay Rovers a fee afaik.

Calcio Jack
30/06/2009, 9:26 AM

The game is being managed by Platinum One, so all costs associated with it are paid for by them. The SDCC will receive a fee for the hire of the stadium and Rovers will be also receive an appearence fee , in addition we'll make money from merchandise associated with the game.... all in all a risk free venture for Rovers and a chunky amount of money which is coming to us during the July transfer window which is very useful.

30/06/2009, 10:17 AM
Seems the world must be full of crazy people...the match is now sold outI'd re-phrase that. It would seem that the economic depression hasn't impacted the late lamented Homo Irlandus Event Junkius quite as much as expected.

Good business by Rovers to boost short-term cashflow.

Long-run impact? Nada.

Calcio Jack
30/06/2009, 10:27 AM
I'd re-phrase that. It would seem that the economic depression hasn't impacted the late lamented Homo Irlandus Event Junkius quite as much as expected.

Good business by Rovers to boost short-term cashflow.

Long-run impact? Nada.

Our cash flow is already fine...what the Madrid game and indeed the friendly with Newcastle (nearly 2,000 tickets already sold) does is provide us with an injection of funds which if used well during the July transfer window could have a major impact on where we finish in the league and cup this season, especially as most if not all of the teams around us most likely will be realeasing players .. so to say 'nada' IMO is very premature.

marinobohs
30/06/2009, 10:33 AM
And people watch games on building sites when there is demand. Other people watch games in half-full, outdated, crumbling "stadiums".

The Champions League starts for real in September, but Salzburg will have long since seen off their opponents in the humble qualifiers by then.

Did'nt think hoops had fans old enough to remember playing in the Champions League :). As for Dalyer - how quickly you forget not owning a ground since 1985 ! enjoy your friendly in your one stand (latest) halting site and leave REAL football to the big club.

30/06/2009, 10:42 AM
Fair play to Rovers for the effort.

The ease that these tickets were sold shows there is no limit to the Irish public ability to latch onto an event.

The Midget Gem
30/06/2009, 11:10 AM
So basically Platinum One are getting all the money. Rovers are making tupence? Shams are gaining more from the publicity so.
One question: Are the temporary stands put in are being paid for by Platinum One, Does that mean they'll be taken down straight away, or left up like Pats one?
So the Newcastle game will actually be more profitable to the club than this Madrid match.

Calcio Jack
30/06/2009, 11:19 AM
So basically Platinum One are getting all the money. Rovers are making tupence? Shams are gaining more from the publicity so.
One question: Are the temporary stands put in are being paid for by Platinum One, Does that mean they'll be taken down straight away, or left up like Pats one?
So the Newcastle game will actually be more profitable to the club than this Madrid match.

Platinum One are receiving the money from the ticket sales, which they'll use to pay Madrid, cost of temp stands, rent to SDCC, and a fee to Rovers...which is a lot more than 'tupence'.... I actually find it bizarre as to how you could extrapolate from limited knowledge and then state as a fact that Rovers " are gaining more from the publicity so" or that we'll earn more from the Newcastle game.

One of the temp stands will remain in place (at least) for the game against Hibernian at the end of July.

30/06/2009, 11:36 AM
Are the temporary stands put in are being paid for by Platinum One, Does that mean they'll be taken down straight away, or left up like Pats one?
Pats one was designed to be that way. it wasn't just put up and then left. it was put up to last

fergalr
30/06/2009, 12:46 PM
Long-run impact? Nada.
Such negativity.

I'll wager that in 10 years time you'll see that there are lots of young fans in Tallaght who will be able to say that they got hooked on Rovers from the first time they went to see them play against Real Madrid in 2009.

Duggie
30/06/2009, 12:50 PM
i doubt there will be much of an impact from the game in fairness, ya its great and everything and i hope rovers make all the money they can out of it but in reality the majority of people are going to see madrid. once there gone so will the other seven odd thousand. but it seems good what rovers are creating in tallaght, hope they keep it up.

30/06/2009, 12:54 PM
So €60 to sit amongst a building site

Yeah, people are going to the match to see Shamrock Rovers ;) Almost as deluded as the Shels fans who thought everyone was in Lansdowne to see them and not Deportivo :rolleyes:

Long-run impact? Nada.

Rovers are making tupence?

but in reality the majority of people are going to see madrid. once there gone so will the other seven odd thousand. but it seems good what rovers are creating in tallaght, hope they keep it up.

Dear me, aren't you all little rays of sunshine?

http://www.megsplace.com/Eeyore/eeyore12.jpg

Duggie
30/06/2009, 12:58 PM
sad but true im afraid

30/06/2009, 12:59 PM
Such negativity.

I'll wager that in 10 years time you'll see that there are lots of young fans in Tallaght who will be able to say that they got hooked on Rovers from the first time they went to see them play against Real Madrid in 2009.

I think tbhis match is a good thing - but I'm not convinced it'll convert a lot of kids who are there to see Real Madrid/Ronaldo, not Rovers being completely outclassed by them.

Out of curiousity - how many reading this got into the LOI through a Friendly ? It was the atmosphere at a very mundane league game (vs EMFA) thats got me hooked - not one of City's numerous glamour friendlies at the time.

If big name friendlies were all that was needed to get kids hooked on the LOI, we'd have crowds double what they are already.

30/06/2009, 1:04 PM
Out of curiousity - how many reading this got into the LOI through a Friendly ? It was the atmosphere at a very mundane league game (vs EMFA) thats got me hooked - not one of City's numerous glamour friendlies at the time.

I know plenty of Pats fans whose first game was a friendly. For some going to this, whose parents etc weren't club supporters, they won't be even be aware there are league teams in Ireland. Next month they will.

The only downside to the crowd attendign the game for Rovers is that the tickets were sold on the internet and therefore the geographical spread of attendees mightn't be as Tallaght based as they like.

But if they get 5 extra fans it'll have been worthwhile

Duggie
30/06/2009, 1:07 PM
come on lads get real. its one thing going out to see rovers v real madrid, its another going out on a rainy fri evening in dec to see rovers v bray. this friendly has absolutely no impact on future supporters IMO. make as much out of it and move onwards and upwards.

30/06/2009, 1:20 PM
come on lads get real. its one thing going out to see rovers v real madrid, its another going out on a rainy fri evening in dec to see rovers v bray. this friendly has absolutely no impact on future supporters IMO. make as much out of it and move onwards and upwards.

I can only speak from Pats experience.

It mightn't bring even 5% of the crowd, but if it brings back ANYONE its a good thing. ANd it has certainly brought people back to Inchicore

30/06/2009, 1:22 PM
Can't believe anyone's suggesting the friendly will attract no new supporters at all.

30/06/2009, 1:26 PM
There's plenty of people out there who's first game was a friendly or big European night, Shels might not have seen the immediate impact of the bumper Deportivo crowd, but, I'd bet if you go across to Shelsweb and ask you'll find a few who'll admit it was their first game. It might not make an immediate noticeable impact but it imprints the League of Ireland in the minds of younger fans, I'd defnitely credit hearing about Liverpool and other big teams coming over for pre season games as bringing the league to my attention far more than any of the occassional games or highlights that were on the telly. The other thing that took my interest was players from the successful underage teams like Colin Hawkins and Thomas Heary signing for Pat's. For people outside of traditional League of Ireland areas I don't think you can underestimate the importrance of big name friendlies and signings in terms of raising general awareness of the league and potential future supporters.

marinobohs
30/06/2009, 1:36 PM

While I doubt it will lead to all or even most of the fans who attend the Madrid game going every week it will heighten the profile of Sham Rovers (and indeed the League) and therefore it is a good thing. Irrespective of how much they make (money or new fans) it is a good and imaginative initiative by Shams.

30/06/2009, 1:40 PM
Irrespective of how much they make (money or new fans) it is a good and imaginative initiative by Shams.

I'll have to preface this and point out that I've said this is a good thing for Rovers all along BUT

It didn't require any initative on their part at all. They were approached by platinum long after it was agreed that Madrid were coming, and even after Platinum couldn't agree a deal for the use of another non LOI ground

marinobohs
30/06/2009, 1:49 PM
I'll have to preface this and point out that I've said this is a good thing for Rovers all along BUT

It didn't require any initative on their part at all. They were approached by platinum long after it was agreed that Madrid were coming, and even after Platinum couldn't agree a deal for the use of another non LOI ground
No aurgument so.Shams INVOLVEMENT and PROMOTION of Madrid game and Hibs and Newkie games are good for them and the League (good publicity) irrespective of where the initiative came from.

Duggie
30/06/2009, 2:03 PM
it would also be great if it wasnt a 10-0 massacre aswell.

seand
30/06/2009, 2:39 PM
it would also be great if it wasnt a 10-0 massacre aswell.

Well if Real aren't going to play their big guns that's a chance they take. Gary Twigg is on fire, after all.

30/06/2009, 4:04 PM
Did'nt think hoops had fans old enough to remember playing in the Champions League :).

Well we do. Many years ago admittedly, but at least it was when there was no pre-qualifying involved. :)

enjoy your friendly in your one stand.

We will enjoy the game in our sold out 4-sided stadium. You can enjoy your game too, in front of rows and rows of empty seats/terraces.

in reality the majority of people are going to see madrid. once there gone so will the other seven odd thousand.

Are they? At least half of the ground, if not more, is full of home fans only. Most of those go every week.

rerun
01/07/2009, 10:25 AM
I'll preface this by saying I think that Rovers getting well established (again) and having a massive glamour friendly is a fantastic thing, but here's how I think it will play out...

Tallaght stadium sells out for the game, and continues to get decent crowds for the year; Game ends 7 - 1 to Real (no surprise there...)

12 months from now Rovers discover that the friendly actually COST them money and they are on the verge of bankruptcy (again) with most of the money being sucked up by the ground owners, promoters and other hangers on. Be very careful hoops, be very careful...

I hope I'm wrong.

01/07/2009, 10:30 AM
12 months from now Rovers discover that the friendly actually COST them money and they are on the verge of bankruptcy (again) with most of the money being sucked up by the ground owners, promoters and other hangers on. Be very careful hoops, be very careful...

I hope I'm wrong.

Rovers are being paid a fee. Their only outlay will be merchandise which i assume the fee will cover.

So basically, your wish has come true and you're wrong

marinobohs
01/07/2009, 10:32 AM
[quote=mypost;1184963]Well we do. Many years ago admittedly, but at least it was when there was no pre-qualifying involved. :)

We will enjoy the game in our sold out 4-sided stadium. You can enjoy your game too, in front of rows and rows of empty seats/terraces.

Obviously shams have invented glamour friendlies in Ireland ! The fact that you appear to favour a glamour friendly over Champs Lge qualifier shows the minnows you have become. Do'nt forget to doff your cap to the nice men from Madrid :rolleyes:

rerun
01/07/2009, 12:18 PM
Rovers are being paid a fee. Their only outlay will be merchandise which i assume the fee will cover.

So basically, your wish has come true and you're wrong

Wouldn't be the first time I was wrong :) but this is Ireland and in this country we seem to have the ability to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory or find some way to end up paying over the odds for something...

Let's wait and see. You're assuming that after the game some besuited gentleman will call by with a big cheque and that will be that. Will the temporary increased capacity incur any unforeseen expenses, insurance, etc. that the hoops will end up having to fork out for?

fergalr
01/07/2009, 12:43 PM
Will the temporary increased capacity incur any unforeseen expenses, insurance, etc. that the hoops will end up having to fork out for?
No.

For the umpteenth time - this event is being run by Platinum 1.

01/07/2009, 12:44 PM
In fairness, if ther's a contract there, it seems a clear case of Platinum 1 run the whole event, take on the whole risk and cut Rovers an agreed cheque at the end of it.

01/07/2009, 1:39 PM
you appear to favour a glamour friendly over Champs Lge qualifier.

Well the nation seems to prefer glamour friendlies too. The 1200 extra tickets sold out in roughly an hour yesterday morning.

Still haven't seen too many sold out reports of the "big" CL qualifiers yet.

01/07/2009, 1:47 PM
mypost once again speaks for the nation.