View Full Version : Real Madrid for Tallafornia
Pages :
[
5]
Nearly sure when Madrid announced their pre season plans they said the Confederations cup players wouldn't be reporting back until after the Ireland trip. They might be there but very unlikely to be involved.
That only leaves a possibility of Raul, Ronaldo, Van Nistelrooy (if he's fit and still there), Robben (if he's still there), Huntelaar....
I'm still not convinced of who they'll pick, but I won't care.. :)
20/06/2009, 10:02 AM
Can't understand why anybody would give out about the price? good work carried out behind the scenes.
well some Rovers fans have every right to complain about the price, and it'll cost a dad 120 to bring his son to a Rovers game.
But they're the only people who can complain about it, and none of them are (at least on here). its nothing to do with the rest of us
HulaHoop
20/06/2009, 11:37 AM
Hows your Spanish? :D
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/821-bienvenido-al-real-madrid
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/806-una-historia-breve-del-shamrock-rovers
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/807-club-de-los-socios-del-shamrock-rovers
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/808-el-estadio-de-tallaght
hoops1
20/06/2009, 11:55 AM
Got my 8 this morning:)
stojkovic
20/06/2009, 12:25 PM
Got my 8 this morning:)
I assume you got 4x2 ?
Got two myself.
Booking fee is a biatch 9.60
blackholesun
20/06/2009, 12:54 PM
Reports of tickets now being allocated for North Stand, so it looks like the main stand is totally sold out already by season ticket holders taking up their allocated two tickets.
bhs
20/06/2009, 2:30 PM
I see Rovers' chairman Jonathon Roche is quoted in the Irish Times today as saying that the price is nothing to do with Rovers and they're just getting a flat fee for the game. Fintan Drury of Platinum One is also quoted as saying he and his company would have preferred to bring Madrid to Croke Park or the RDS but they weren't available so putting seats into Tallaght was the next best option. I wonder would Rovers have been the opposition if it wasn't being played in Tallaght?.
srfc-1901
20/06/2009, 2:38 PM
I see Rovers' chairman Jonathon Roche is quoted in the Irish Times today as saying that the price is nothing to do with Rovers and they're just getting a flat fee for the game. Fintan Drury of Platinum One is also quoted as saying he and his company would have preferred to bring Madrid to Croke Park or the RDS but they weren't available so putting seats into Tallaght was the next best option. I wonder would Rovers have been the opposition if it wasn't being played in Tallaght?.
Jesus the bitterness doesn`t end does it.Dont worry I`m sure Longford and Flancare were next on this long list
20/06/2009, 2:43 PM
I thought it might come across as though I was begrudging Rovers. I wasn't actually, I don't really care as Rovers don't particularly affect us these days!. I was genuinely curious as to who the opposition would be if it wasn't in Tallaght?. The rest was all relevant information given the discussion about ticket prices.
HulaHoop
20/06/2009, 3:00 PM
Maybe, maybe not but who cares now? No suprise that Bohs in a dump like Dalymount was not even on the radar of platinum one when they were organising this despite the fact Dalymount has 8000 seats and room to put another few thousand temporary seats in the car park.
Keen2win
20/06/2009, 3:01 PM
Jesus the bitterness doesn`t end does it.Dont worry I`m sure Longford and Flancare were next on this long list
I'm sure we would have been.
You see, Flancare is an actual stadium, whereas Rovers have a stand, a nice one, but it still is 1 stand!
hoops1
20/06/2009, 4:40 PM
I assume you got 4x2 ?
Got two myself.
Booking fee is a biatch 9.60
Ye family ticket 4 x 2:)
Settle down Rovers fans, check Longfordian's previou posts. One of the few genuine posters around here. He was simply asking a question, hy you so defensive about it?
Rιiteoir
20/06/2009, 5:29 PM
Maybe, maybe not but who cares now? No suprise that Bohs in a dump like Dalymount was not even on the radar of platinum one when they were organising this despite the fact Dalymount has 8000 seats and room to put another few thousand temporary seats in the car park.
One of the main factors would have been the small matter of Bohs first games in the Champions League being played either side of the date set aside for the Real Madrid match.
As for Longfordian's questions - you can assume that it may have been Celtic or a large English club for a game in Croke Park (which would be a non-starter due to the GAA fixtures going on around it), the RDS might have been either Rovers or as people have suggested - a League XI.
All moot points really - as this is now all happening to P1's Plan A
20/06/2009, 7:58 PM
Hows your Spanish? :D
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/821-bienvenido-al-real-madrid
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/806-una-historia-breve-del-shamrock-rovers
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/807-club-de-los-socios-del-shamrock-rovers
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/808-el-estadio-de-tallaght
My Spanish lecturer is a big Rovers fan. I wouldn't be surprised at all if he was the one who did that.
On the price, 60 seems like an awful lot and, if anything, it makes me more sceptical of the Platinum One shower. They just seem to be out to line their pockets.
IN fairness what have they ever done to make you think otherwise?
20/06/2009, 8:27 PM
Reports of tickets now being allocated for North Stand, so it looks like the main stand is totally sold out already by season ticket holders taking up their allocated two tickets.
bhs
I got fecking North stand ones and I got them about 12ish this morning, I think it was randomly giving North stand and main stand, I thing it gave me main stand ones first but I thought it might be possible to pick different ones of a seating plan of some sort and started again, I thought it gave me the same ones and only noticed the North stand bit after I paid. I suppose they'll have to do, but would have been nice to be in the main stand.
Looking forward to it now. Seemed to be a big crowd at the game tonight too and a lot were newbies obviously tempted in by the Madrid hype, no doubt it'll sell out quickly Monday.
20/06/2009, 8:28 PM
Anyone who pays €60 to see a meaningless game like this is crazy.
20/06/2009, 8:31 PM
Anyone who pays 60 to see a meaningless game like this is crazy.
In fairness it's not too often Madrid play a game on your doorstep even if it is meaningless. I could understand anyone whose a bit tight for cash not going, from my own viewpoint I'm not going to any big gigs or events this year and I'm not overly hard up at the moment so I reckon as a one off event it's just about worth it.
Ezeikial
20/06/2009, 9:45 PM
Platinum One are a commercial organisation, and therefore have a right (obligation?) to attempt to make a profit on their endeavours (I know this is an alien concept within the LOI fraternity).
stojkovic
21/06/2009, 2:52 PM
I'm crazy so.
Its not often the World's media and 50 or so TV crews turn up for a meaningless game, is it ?
But you know best.
Boh_So_Good
21/06/2009, 4:34 PM
are they still calling Sligo a "city"?
21/06/2009, 4:36 PM
are they still calling Sligo a "city"?
Reasonable question. Some of 'them' still do, but really it's a town;)
21/06/2009, 5:44 PM
Keep it up Sheridan, every time you post a bitter little diatribe on here about Rovers our board proves you wrong. Time and time and time again.
Rovers arent playing Madrid, Tallaght isnt sold out, Gary Twigg was poor business, youre a ****ing sad deluded cun t, **** off an die like that abomination of a club in your avatar
Remember kids, they're a fluffy, family-friendly club really, not violent, vulgar louts! Honest!
60 is disgraceful profiteering in the midst of a recession, but what does one expect from the most right-wing club in the league. I suppose they have to recoup that £25,000 transfer fee somehow.
PS: I admit I was wrong about one thing. It wasn't RM trying to stiff Shams, it was Platinum!
Buller
21/06/2009, 6:12 PM
Remember kids, they're a fluffy, family-friendly club really, not violent, vulgar louts! Honest!
Thank you. We're not all fluffy and friendly though! :p
60 is disgraceful profiteering in the midst of a recession, but what does one expect from the most right-wing club in the league. .
We didnt actually set the price. If I had my way it would have been be 80 for the general public barstoolers, as there's little doubt about them not selling. Unfortunately we only get a set fee from P1 and they recieve the entire gate reciepts.
I suppose they have to recoup that £25,000 transfer fee somehow.
You'll be glad to know we recouped that pretty much instantly through the sale of GerOB to Derry for £20,000. You seem to be portraying Gary Twigg as a negative signing when its clearly quite the opposite. The player is now worth at least 100,000+ and was the best signing and bit of business any LoI club has done in a while.
21/06/2009, 6:21 PM
I don't have any beef with you, Buller (or with most Rovers fans, believe it or not), and while I disagree with some of your assertions above, you make some good points.
L.T.F.C.
21/06/2009, 9:06 PM
oh i hear ya! i used to wonder why every ground they went to was crawling with cops with alsations and set up like a prison!
21/06/2009, 10:52 PM
Your point might have more validity if you could list the dates when
every ground they went to was crawling with cops with alsations and set up like a prison!
MickNolan
21/06/2009, 10:58 PM
I don't have any beef with you, Buller (or with most Rovers fans, believe it or not)
...what? :confused:
gufcfan
22/06/2009, 7:52 AM
Newstalk doing a bit about the game in a few mins before 9am.
L.T.F.C.
22/06/2009, 10:59 AM
Your point might have more validity if you could list the dates when
well lets see, alot of fans from other clubs commented to me about it, and every time ye played longford it was like that at flancare. every else was let out of the ground before ye to avoid trouble!
manic da hoop
22/06/2009, 12:00 PM
Another classic fool.ie thread about Rovers. Carry on.....
L.T.F.C.
22/06/2009, 12:16 PM
Another classic fool.ie thread about Rovers. Carry on.....
oh my god they're geniuses too! look at
fool.ie
comedy gold this!
peadar1987
22/06/2009, 1:29 PM
But anyone who can get 6000+ people to pay you 60 to effectively watch an advertisement for your football club is doing pretty well for themselves. Well done Rovers!
HulaHoop
22/06/2009, 2:37 PM
well lets see, alot of fans from other clubs commented to me about it,
Who are these mystery fans I wonder? I'm genuinely interested to know the lots of fans from other clubs that told you their grounds were set up like a prison. Any pictures of these football ground prisons? Maybe just maybe you are referring to the fact that practically every football club in the world has a designated part of their ground for away fans and generally restricts away fans access to other parts of the ground.
every time ye played longford it was like that at flancare. every else was let out of the ground before ye to avoid trouble!
You mean the standard worldwide practice of keeping aways fans in for a few minutes after the match and let the home fans out first?
22/06/2009, 3:09 PM
well lets see, alot of fans from other clubs commented to me about it, and every time ye played longford it was like that at flancare.
So now, it's restricted to one ground. Major climbdown there. :o
Mind you, I'm sure you're enjoying having the whole stadium stand to your own fans these days.
Anyone else see the irony of Rovers fans pointing out the difference between a stand and a stadium?
pσl-dcfc
22/06/2009, 3:11 PM
So now, it's restricted to one ground. Major climbdown there. :o
Idiot!
22/06/2009, 3:16 PM
Anyone else see the irony of Rovers fans pointing out the difference between a stand and a stadium?
There is a reason for that.
Which won't last much longer.
rebelarmyexile
22/06/2009, 3:40 PM
When are the temp stands going in? Will there be seats behind the goals?
They really should maximise every square inch of the place and get as many in as safely possible. 60 is very fair considering the crap I would spend with 60 a night out.
Also how much of the gate are Rovers getting?
Obviously take away P1's Cut, SDCC's Cut, and cost of seating. How much will they make from this venture?
RoversHead
22/06/2009, 3:41 PM
I remember a few yrs ago Longford built a cage for us only to be told the game would not go ahead unless they took it down.My sister was with us 6months pregnant and was denied access to the stand when the rain came,not too fluffy down there either.Thankfully we wont have to make that trip too often in the future.
pσl-dcfc
22/06/2009, 3:44 PM
There is a reason for that.
Which won't last much longer.
You consistently make Rovers fans look bad on this forum. You didn't even have a stadium until about 5 minutes ago, so stop belittling clubs worse off than yourselves.
Calcio Jack
22/06/2009, 3:47 PM
Seems the world must be full of crazy people...the match is now sold out
manic da hoop
22/06/2009, 3:55 PM
oh my god they're geniuses too! look at
comedy gold this!
Cheers!
L.T.F.C.
22/06/2009, 5:54 PM
Maybe just maybe you are referring to the fact that practically every football club in the world has a designated part of their ground for away fans and generally restricts away fans access to other parts of the ground.
I'm not talking about the world. I'm talking about the LOI. I was in every ground in the country except youths, oriel, and bray over 9 years and i was never restricted from other parts of the ground. on the subject of the wide world, i was in old trafford, the reebok, craven cottage, and villa park and some more where i never seen alsations to control fans.
You mean the standard worldwide practice of keeping aways fans in for a few minutes after the match and let the home fans out first?
I was never subjected to that in my life.
L.T.F.C.
22/06/2009, 5:58 PM
I remember a few yrs ago Longford built a cage for us only to be told the game would not go ahead unless they took it down.My sister was with us 6months pregnant and was denied access to the stand when the rain came,not too fluffy down there either.Thankfully we wont have to make that trip too often in the future.
what? longford had a huge fence built for the setanta cup. before there was only the netting on the seats with stewards.
what has being pregnant got to do with football?
oooohhh the sly one at the end of that post! that got me hard man!
22/06/2009, 6:06 PM
I'd tend to agree with the Rovers fans up to a point here, they've an element who are no angels at times but we definitely didn't help matters by going over the top with security on numerous occasions. It didn't do anybody any good but also the Gardai were the ones who would have insisted on the dogs etc that wouldn't have been the club's call even if they did have to pay for it. There was a game where there was a metal barrier placed in front of their section and the FAI made the club move it before the game. It's all in the past now anyway so just leave it go. It's pointless arguing about it three or four years later on here. This thread's about the Real game I reckon we should just stick to talking about that.
HulaHoop
22/06/2009, 6:56 PM
I'm not talking about the world. I'm talking about the LOI. I was in every ground in the country except youths, oriel, and bray over 9 years and i was never restricted from other parts of the ground. on the subject of the wide world, i was in old trafford, the reebok, craven cottage, and villa park and some more where i never seen alsations to control fans.
I was never subjected to that in my life.
I don't mean this to sound disrespectful but you support Longford. There does only be a handful of you at away games, it's an entirely different scenario when you go to away games with a club that travels in large numbers e.g. there was 500 Rovers fans up in Drogheda last Tuesday night. It's ok to have 20 away fans walking around but it isn't realistic to have 500 away fans walking around the whole ground although there are a couple of exceptions in the LOI - Bray for example. Those grounds you mention in England - theres no way away fans are let mingle with home fans there and I'm sure you would have seen police on horseback around and riot police are always on standby. The fact you have never been asked as an away fan to stay behind after a game kind of proves my point about the difference between supporting Longford and supporting some of the bigger clubs in the league.
hoops1
22/06/2009, 8:14 PM
60 is disgraceful profiteering in the midst of a recession, but what does one expect from the most right-wing club in the league. I suppose they have to recoup that £25,000 transfer fee somehow.
PS: I admit I was wrong about one thing. It wasn't RM trying to stiff Shams, it was Platinum!
Your bitterness is highly amusing. Expunged!:D oh that feels good expunged, expunged, expunged.
Lads, why would Sheridan be bitter about Rovers?
Last time Dublin City played them they relegated Rovers.