View Full Version : Real Madrid for Tallafornia

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8

17/06/2009, 9:34 AM
They paid £25,000 for Twigg? :eek:

He's on a three-year contract too. Jesus!

Yeah What a waste of money

17/06/2009, 9:39 AM
this is quality:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_depth/europe/8102205.stm

"...standard toilets..." :D
Madrid could have a change of heart after seeing the away dressing rooms

Makes you wonder what the Milan lads though of the dressing rooms in Mels!!!!
I've only got togged out in the home ones and to say they were woeful is an
understatement!

17/06/2009, 9:43 AM
Yep, shelling out £2,000 per goal just emphasises what a fine model of sound financial planning they have going there!

17/06/2009, 10:07 AM
Well nothing's confirmed yet so he's obviously playing it down a little in case it doesn't come off for them.He said "It's definitely happening"...hardly a sign that he's playing it down in case it doesn't happen.

17/06/2009, 10:36 AM
Yep, shelling out £2,000 per goal just emphasises what a fine model of sound financial planning they have going there!

How dare you question our whiter than white shining lights and their prudent financial wheeler dealings

They fought in a war don't you know...

Calcio Jack
17/06/2009, 11:19 AM

You actualy believe that we paid that much for Twigg.... as for your plain stupid logic of £2k per goal , so that means that Real Madrid have just paid €90m for a player and he hasn't scored even one goal !!

17/06/2009, 11:39 AM
You actualy believe that we paid that much for Twigg.... as for your plain stupid logic of £2k per goal , so that means that Real Madrid have just paid €90m for a player and he hasn't scored even one goal !!

Actually real madrid have just spent €90m for a player who hasn't scored for them yet...

placid casual
17/06/2009, 11:52 AM

Your funny .:D:D:p
You remind me what internet forums are meant to be all about.
carry on.

HulaHoop
17/06/2009, 12:30 PM
Keep it up Sheridan, every time you post a bitter little diatribe on here about Rovers our board proves you wrong. Time and time and time again.

Rovers arent playing Madrid, Tallaght isnt sold out, Gary Twigg was poor business, youre a ****ing sad deluded cun t, **** off an die like that abomination of a club in your avatar

D24 Hoop don't be calling poor old Shero names (despite it being the truth) or else you will get the post deleted and an infraction from the mods.

Calcio Jack
17/06/2009, 12:56 PM
Actually real madrid have just spent €90m for a player who hasn't scored for them yet...

Most rational thinking folk I'm sure understood that ''for them" was implicit in my comment...but thanks for ensuring there's no confusion.;)

Dalymountrower
17/06/2009, 1:29 PM
Most rational thinking folk I'm sure understood that ''for them" was implicit in my comment...but thanks for ensuring there's no confusion.;)

So..... is anyone any wiser on whether Real will be playing you lot in Tallaght

this Summer?

17/06/2009, 1:35 PM
This is as close to confirmation as there has been so far, Johnathon Roche stated;
"We're waiting on sanction from the Football Association of Ireland and also the temporary seats fire and safety certificates. But Madrid are coming here. They'll be playing us on 20 July."

Keen2win
17/06/2009, 1:58 PM
ah well. at least i've a happy, but wishful memory of it being full. keeno, you're a batty! :D

Ye... And you're wrong

:p

manic da hoop
17/06/2009, 2:53 PM

So Dublin City won't be sending any scouts to Tallaght Stadium to take a look at him on Saturday then?

17/06/2009, 3:02 PM
D24 Hoop don't be calling poor old Shero names (despite it being the truth) or else you will get the post deleted and an infraction from the mods.
If he's wrong, just call him up on it without resorting to ****s.

17/06/2009, 3:14 PM
There is a rumour that Platinum wants Madrid to play celtic in Croke Park instead. Personally I'd prefer if they played Rovers in Tallaght

What are the chances of bogball HQ sanctioning a "sacar" match in Croke Park of all places, in July?? :confused:

17/06/2009, 3:48 PM
No clue, but if you asked 3 months ago what are the chances of Rovers playing real madrid in Tallaght I'd guess the game in croker would've been more likely

L.T.F.C.
17/06/2009, 4:01 PM
What are the chances of bogball HQ sanctioning a "sacar" match in Croke Park of all places, in July?? :confused:

Croke Park was approached about the Champions League Final when they first opened it up, but refused!

17/06/2009, 4:30 PM
if you asked 3 months ago what are the chances of Rovers playing real madrid in Tallaght I'd guess the game in croker would've been more likely

3 months ago, there was no Rovers-Real fixture on the radar, so it wouldn't have been asked.

Even if the GAA allowed the game to be played there, it would be logistically impossible to stage it.

17/06/2009, 6:34 PM
Croke Park was approached about the Champions League Final when they first opened it up, but refused!

Refused to entertain the thought of applying.

its not like they were offered the final

MickNolan
19/06/2009, 3:20 PM
Friday, 19 June 2009 15:00

Shamrock Rovers will play Real Madrid in Tallaght Stadium on Monday July 20th, kick off 8pm. The event is being managed by Platinum One (http://www.platinumonegroup.com/) who are controlling tickets sales and all enquiries. Members and season ticket holders of Shamrock Rovers F.C. have a 48 hour window to purchase match tickets before they go on public sale.

Tickets, costing €60, are limited to a maximum of two per person and you will require the number on your season ticket barcode for authentication purposes. Tickets are on sale online only, from tomorrow, Saturday June 20th at 9am from the link here (http://platinumonegroup.ticketsolve.com/). If you are a member but do not have a season ticket card please contact the club office without delay on 4605948.

General release public sale tickets will be from 9am on Monday morning June 22nd through Platinum One (http://www.platinumonegroup.com/) website. The ticket phone lines will be open to the general public on Monday from 9am on 01 200 3616.

------------

From www.shamrockrovers.ie

http://shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/818-rovers-v-real-madrid-tickets-on-sale?71cce52574d4d86948f2109dfa3ec02e=d7c7e2f2175c 59753f643c1d63eca546

19/06/2009, 3:32 PM
60 quid is pretty steep, but I guess with a limited capacity they have to charge a high price to cover the undoubtedly huge costs.

19/06/2009, 3:39 PM
€60 is very steep, having said that I'll be getting my two tomorrow. If most of the season ticket holders take the option of the two it'll only leave about 6,500 for general sale, if the interest is as high as it seems to be it should sell out very quickly.

blackholesun
19/06/2009, 3:41 PM
I dont think 60 is steep as a one off to see Madrid in Tallaght v Rovers.

Most major international artist gigs in the point / O2 are all more than 60 quid.

I am sure it will sell out easily.

bhs

19/06/2009, 3:43 PM
It's more than a competitive international match, isn't it?

But if there's only 6000 seats, then it'll probably sell out at that.

Do Rovers season ticket holders get a discount?

19/06/2009, 3:44 PM

Most major international artist gigs in the point / O2 are all more than 60 quid.

It is steep, and its out of reach for most families. The very people that Rovers have been excellent in recruiting recently.

Hopefully it won't dent your relationship with these new fans, and they aren't as tired and jaded as most LOI fans who would absolutely love a moan over the price.

The publicity you get from it should help smooth that anyway.

19/06/2009, 3:51 PM
To be honest the reaction from the barstool lads in work suggest they think it's a fair price and let's face it they're the lads being targeted by a game like this.

My main worry would be Madrid fielding a very weak team. They'll definitely be without Kaka, Ramos, Casillas and Villa (if he signs) because they're playing in the Confederations Cup. Then again if Ronaldo sets foot on the field for 10 minutes I doubt too many barstoolers would be too bothered about whoever else plays.

19/06/2009, 3:55 PM
Team should be OK. I'd imagine platinum have it in their contracts that certain players must play. The Barcelona teams to play in Scotland the last few years were very strong.

Blokes in my work think its steep but I've no doubt it'll sell out regardless

srfc-1901
19/06/2009, 3:55 PM
€60 is very steep, having said that I'll be getting my two tomorrow. If most of the season ticket holders take the option of the two it'll only leave about 6,500 for general sale, if the interest is as high as it seems to be it should sell out very quickly.

We`ve the guts of 3k ST holders with 300+ half season tickets being sold with the RM publicity and people wanting to ensure RM tickets.With their only being 9000 seats ,if most ST holders/members bought 2 tickets there will be alot less than 6500 tickets left

19/06/2009, 4:06 PM
~3000 ST holders, 500 members..that's potentially 7,000 seats taken if they all take two which I doubt.

Then again if Ronaldo sets foot on the field for 10 minutes I doubt too many barstoolers would be too bothered about whoever else plays.

If he sits on the bench, there'll be headlines on Jupiter.

I'd say a few Rovers ST/members will have to reset their voicemail message for the next month or so:)

19/06/2009, 4:08 PM
Didn't want to say anything until it was confirmed but fair play to all concerned in making this happen and ensuring a Rovers-Madrid game at Tallagh rather than a Celtic-Madrid game at Croke Park. I'm glad they also got the bit of luck with the biggest transfer in world football history making his debut. I'm very, very jealous.

19/06/2009, 4:12 PM
Didn't want to say anything until it was confirmed but fair play to all concerned in making this happen and ensuring a Rovers-Madrid game at Tallagh rather than a Celtic-Madrid game at Croke Park. I'm glad they also got the bit of luck with the biggest transfer in world football history making his debut. I'm very, very jealous.

the last time we had a big friendly was in 2002 when derry city played barcelona in derry when john hume brought them over!

Candystripe
19/06/2009, 4:18 PM
the last time we had a big friendly was in 2002 when derry city played barcelona in derry when john hume brought them over!

It was 2003.

What a day that was as well.

Ronaldinio making his debut for Barca on European soil and Liam Coyle takin the p1ss outta Puyal. :o

A couple of years earlier Real Madrid played us but with a 2nd string team who were still amazing to watch although not a patch on the full Barca team who played us.

Good luck with it and hopefully you's can make a decent sum outta it, but more importantly this is good publicity for the LOI as a whole.

BTW The amount of press there that day was unbelievable.

19/06/2009, 4:25 PM
It was 2003.

What a day that was as well.

Ronaldinio making his debut for Barca on European soil and Liam Coyle takin the p1ss outta Puyal. :o

A couple of years earlier Real Madrid played us but with a 2nd string team who were still amazing to watch although not a patch on the full Barca team who played us.

Good luck with it and hopefully you's can make a decent sum outta it, but more importantly this is good publicity for the LOI as a whole.

BTW The amount of press there that day was unbelievable.

what big names played for barcelona and real madrid that day besides ronalindho and puyol?

Umberside
19/06/2009, 4:30 PM
Niall Quinn said last year after the friendly with Sunderland was cancelled that they hoped to re-schedule it. Has there been any more news on it since last year?

passerrby
19/06/2009, 4:47 PM
according to the star (so it must be true) the capicty will be 12,000 is that possible.

blue til i die
19/06/2009, 4:54 PM
My main worry would be Madrid fielding a very weak team. They'll definitely be without Kaka, Ramos, Casillas and Villa (if he signs) because they're playing in the Confederations Cup.

Their pre-season camp runs from July 13th to 22nd and the confederations cup ends on the 28th June, so surely they'll be with the squad?? :confused:

Ezeikial
19/06/2009, 4:55 PM
I take my hat of to all concerned at Shamrock Rovers for securing this glamour match.

I have no idea what input (if any) Rovers had in setting the prices, but €60 seems okay to me. I imagine that the sole consideration was to set the price at what the market will bear. If it was thought that the tickets would sell out at €100 a pop, then I suspect that they would be pitched at that price.

Jicked
19/06/2009, 5:29 PM

My word, you really are something else. Everything you post is just cringeworth, really, really awful. Absolutely terrible like.

Rovers effectively swapped Twigg for Ger O'Brien, and if they wanted to sell him today I'd imagine he'd sell for far in excess of £25,000. It would be closer to €100,000. Decent bit of business, especially considering he's been the main difference between Rovers struggling in the bottom half ala Pats, and still being in the top 4 at the mid-season break coming up. So, all things considered, you must surely agree it was a terrific bit of business?

19/06/2009, 5:40 PM

bhs

Seems in line with the asking price for a Premiership game

It's a mid-range ticket price for Chelsea, Newcastle, Spurs and West Ham - and about €5 more than an average priced ticket at any other ground.

Seems fair enough imo - they're targeting the Premier League Barstool Brigade - so charge them an equivalent price.

In other lesser news - Bohs are getting FC Barcelona Atletic (the Barcelona B side) over in August apparently - that could be another "spot the future superstars" game - as former players include Messi, Motta, Iniesta, Ferrer, Bojan, Puyol, Fabregas and Pique to name a few...

Managed by Luis Enrique as welll!

19/06/2009, 5:47 PM
60 quid is a fairly decent price to see some of the best players in the world. Wouldnt pay it myself but it will pull a few "football mad" people outta their armchairs which is the aim of the exercise i suppose.

19/06/2009, 5:56 PM
in other lesser news - bohs are getting (the barcelona b side) - that could be another "spot the future superstars" game

:D:D:D

Our game will sell out by 9.30 on Monday morning. Your game against Barcelona's reserves i.e. La Liga 2, will probably have (many) tickets on sale on the matchnight.

eamo1
19/06/2009, 6:03 PM
Congrats to Rovers for this.I know 3 or 4 barstoolers who have never (almost literally) crossed the road to go to Terryland Pk but they "are definatly quing for tickets on Monday morning" and travelling up.One even asked me "where is Shamrock Rovers home ground?".I should have said its in Cork:p.

Buller
19/06/2009, 6:22 PM
Congrats to Rovers for this.I know 3 or 4 barstoolers who have never (almost literally) crossed the road to go to Terryland Pk but they "are definatly quing for tickets on Monday morning" and travelling up.One even asked me "where is Shamrock Rovers home ground?".I should have said its in Cork:p.

Tell them tickets are on sale at the next Galway Utd match in Terryland! ;)

I was hoping it would be about 60 euro rather than 45, which seemed a little generous. The more money we milk out of this the better. I would imagine P1 are taking a sizable chunk of profits anyway... We have sold a good deal of half season tickets this week in anticipation of these friendlies though (for first preference on tickets) - We must have nearly 3,000 ST's by now.

19/06/2009, 6:48 PM
In other lesser news - Bohs are getting FC Barcelona Atletic (the Barcelona B side) over in August apparently - that could be another "spot the future superstars" game - as former players include Messi, Motta, Iniesta, Ferrer, Bojan, Puyol, Fabregas and Pique to name a few...

Managed by Luis Enrique as welll!

For the love of God, delete this before pineapple stu and his Dundalk nemesis see this and start off again.

passerrby
19/06/2009, 7:09 PM
€60 is i think a fair price ,well done to all concerned hope this helps to show LOI in a positive light

19/06/2009, 7:54 PM
Their pre-season camp runs from July 13th to 22nd and the confederations cup ends on the 28th June, so surely they'll be with the squad?? :confused:

Nearly sure when Madrid announced their pre season plans they said the Confederations cup players wouldn't be reporting back until after the Ireland trip. They might be there but very unlikely to be involved.

oriel
19/06/2009, 10:31 PM
Eur 60 for this ? When the FAI struggle to sell seats @ 50 for croke park for world cup games ?

Would the 2,000 + season ticket holders really pay out this much ?

Cant see anyone else interested for that price

Crazy price

pól-dcfc
19/06/2009, 10:52 PM
Eur 60 for this ? When the FAI struggle to sell seats @ 50 for croke park for world cup games ?

Crazy price
Croke park = 80,000,000,000,000,000 seats.
SDCC Stadium Tallaght (or whatever it's called) = 2 seats.

Supply and demand. They'll sell out.

Fair play to Rovers for getting this sorted.

corkharps
20/06/2009, 12:01 AM

Crazy price
Can't understand why anybody would give out about the price? good work carried out behind the scenes.