View Full Version : Dave Rogers Sacked

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

hoop4life
23/05/2009, 8:44 PM
bit harsh imo, however very stupid on his part.

didn't joey barton moon fans whilst playing for city?? no sacking there, a really professional club would have dealt with it internally with a fine or suspension and that is not a dig at dundalk

brianw82
23/05/2009, 8:45 PM
bit harsh imo, however very stupid on his part.

didn't joey barton moon fans whilst playing for city?? no sacking there, a really professional club would have dealt with it internally with a fine or suspension and that is not a dig at dundalk

City sold Barton for 5million, which probably influenced their decision to hang on to him. No chance of another club paying anything for Rogers. Well, maybe a few packets of Tayto.

Ezeikial
23/05/2009, 8:52 PM
City sold Barton for 5million, which probably influenced their decision to hang on to him. No chance of another club paying anything for Rogers. Well, maybe a few packets of Tayto.

Surely you mean Honky Dorys? Rogers for Drogheda

Maynard
23/05/2009, 9:10 PM
You reap what you sow in this life; appointing Conor, and sacking the gaffer that got them promoted in the first place was an act of a stupendous idiocy. Who else has the feeling that these crazy stories will keep coming out of Oriel until somebody does the decent thing?...

23/05/2009, 9:14 PM
You reap what you sow in this life; appointing Conor, and sacking the gaffer that got them promoted in the first place was an act of a stupendous idiocy. Who else has the feeling that these crazy stories will keep coming out of Oriel until somebody does the decent thing?...

as in nuke the entire town of Dundalk?

Society would win I suppose.

sonofstan
23/05/2009, 10:19 PM
Dublin people simply don't care about the rest of the country enough to screw it

True dat.

23/05/2009, 10:22 PM
Yup, too busy doing heroin and committing crimes to conspire against the rest of us.

SeanDrog
23/05/2009, 10:24 PM
Dont quote the old "what about the children" line.

What did the moral dundalk do about the fan who ran around the pitch butt naked the time before last they got promotion - he ran for the best part of five mins in full view of all the families etc then hoped back over the fence into the shed?

Was he banned for life ?

This would appear to be nothing but an opportunity to cut the wage bill.

I bet legal action is forthcoming .

Celdrog
23/05/2009, 10:39 PM
This would appear to be nothing but an opportunity to cut the wage billMy thoughts too. For a club who condoned the actions of Maxi with the use of the lilywhite lounge for a fundraiser after his antics in Merrion square, Dundalk have suddenly become very moralistic (or is it broke).

Part of Sean Connor's sacking was his mooning in the Brandywell before the LC final a couple of years ago. Never mind the other crap Bohs had on him, he still won his unfair dismissal case

CSFShels
23/05/2009, 10:46 PM
Absolute disgrace, can't stand Rogers, but Dundalk sacking him is actually hilarious given the moral character of most of the players they've signed. I suppose they're going to come out and say that seeing Dave Rogers' arse is a worse influence on kids than seeing Michael Collins start a fight with anything that moves. That said, I do believe what he did gos beyond banter, and he did deserve to be punished, but this is just ridiculous.

cheifo
23/05/2009, 11:41 PM
It would be a comical case if he went down the legal root.

Weeks wages fine and a final warning would maybe have done it.

Blue Man
24/05/2009, 12:25 AM
Bit of banter that got caught by officials is what i see. What about Gary Twigg celebrating in front of Bohs fans last week?? Surely a similar 'offence' in my book. In that atmosphere, 1st big derby in Tallaght and a big 'security' issue?? On the same level if you ask me. (And before anyone starts, I dont see a problem with what Twigg done)

A post was made earlier saying that Rogers gives as good as he gets. Absolutely true. Great character, and a great individual to have a bit of craic (no pun intended) with. Yes it was unprofessional, yes it was wrong but surely was a bit of fun between the player and former employers? It just seems from the outside that Sean Connor is a publicity merchant and will literally do anything to ensure he is in the spotlight (with the rumoured O' Callaghan case). Not having a go at the club here but a fine and a possible suspension would suffice but this decision smacks of desperation for me and surely a legal case. Wage bill cull is what I reckon most non Dundalk fans will see regardless if we love/hate Rogers.

24/05/2009, 12:32 AM
For it to be indecent exposure, his genitals have to be exposed. And his balls aren't THAT big.

Nonesense.

Show your arse to a Gard in the street and you'll see why.

24/05/2009, 12:33 AM
Absolute rubbish.

Show your arse to a Gard in the street and find out the hard way why.

Double entendre or just sheer "not thinking through my post before I post it"?

24/05/2009, 1:17 AM
I think Dundalk were right to sack him. It showed a complete disrepect to the club and their fans and if I was a Dundalk fan, I certainly would not want to be contributing towards the wages of this muppet.

Banter with away fans is grand but Dundalk were losing at the time so there was nothing to be joking around about.

24/05/2009, 1:27 AM
Jesus that's a mental decision. I would find it hard to believe you can get sacked for that.
I see it as a bit of banter and nothing else. Ok it was not the smartest gesture but by fook to get sacked over it is OTT.
Dave is a sound bloke imo and one of the characters in the league, it's not that long ago that he was man of the match in the Randywell for Dundalk.
Dave will have no problem getting a new club imo.

soccerc
24/05/2009, 1:48 AM
Nonesense.

Show your arse to a Gard in the street and you'll see why.

It's not indecent exposure, Section 4 Criminal Justice Act 1994 refers.

Now can any Derry fans stand over the allegations they made against Rogers?

SMorgan
24/05/2009, 8:22 AM
It definitely only was a bit of banter between Rogers and Pats fans. We gave him usual stick, he gave a bit banter. He's one of the few who can take it in fairness to him.

Scandalous decision by Dundalk IMO. It was never a sackable offence. Combined with Dundalk upping prices and the possible sacking of O'Callaghan it screams that money is an issue with Dundalk

I think you've hit the nail on the head!!

LeixlipRed
24/05/2009, 9:41 AM
I hope he sues them and there's an embarrassing settlement :) Like that lad who was sacked from Pats.

RoversHead
24/05/2009, 9:59 AM
Yup, too busy doing heroin and committing crimes to conspire against the rest of us.Shamefull post.
Never a sacking offence ,fine and a short ban imo.

MeathDrog
24/05/2009, 10:09 AM
He really did get a bum deal out of all of this.

24/05/2009, 10:15 AM
It's not indecent exposure, Section 4 Criminal Justice Act 1994 refers.

Now can any Derry fans stand over the allegations they made against Rogers?That he has engaged in repeated. flagrant, willful and heinous acts of badge kissing at clubs the length and breadth of the country?

Yeah, I'll stand over that one :)

As for him fabricating a story that another player stole a considerable sum of money from his kitbag in order to leave the club....who knows?

24/05/2009, 10:36 AM
"And if he asks me, did I play alright?
I'll say Dave, you played wonderful tonight"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2BjJJ-IxiE

24/05/2009, 12:20 PM
Dundalk are obviously stuck for cash, opportunism at it's worst.
I can't wait to see where their newly found moral high ground will bring them....

fined two weeks wages for a yellow card?
fined a month's wages for a red card?
fined a season's wages for not taking a good luck message from steve bruce seriously?

There's loads of savings to be made I'd say.

sonofstan
24/05/2009, 12:54 PM
Yup, too busy doing heroin and committing crimes to conspire against the rest of us.

Eaxactly, we're busy people - we don't have time to hang around watching the bacon slicer in the corner shop and hatching conspiracy theories. We're also considerably brighter than you lot, as I think this shows:

The drop in the Fianna Fáil core vote to just 20 per cent will shock party strategists, particularly as its share of the vote in Dublin is now just 13 per cent.

From the IT last week.

Ezeikial
24/05/2009, 1:38 PM
Wage bill cull is what I reckon most non Dundalk fans will see regardless if we love/hate Rogers.

Dundalk are obviously stuck for cash, opportunism at it's worst.

It is entirely predictable that many non-Dundalk fans on foot.ie would chose to see to see the actions of the Dundalk board in this way.

I suggest that it might be relevant to reflect on how those most affected, (aside from Dave Rogers himself) view it. Like any opinion forum Oriel Web refects various views, but those suggesting that the sacking was motivated by a wage bill cull are in a small minority.

While facts are not necessarily well received by those who enjoy conspiracy theories and negative slants, lets have a quick review:

1) Dundalk are not in any financial crises. The specifics have already been well documented here and elsewhere already.

2) If the club need to reduce wage costs that opportunity is naturally arising as 3 players are out of contract in June.

3) It is almost certain that the club will sign additional players in July.

4) Dave Rogers is actually one of the few who have performed well for the club this season. Dundalk are woefully short of defenders.

5) There is a sweeping assumption here that Dave Rogers will not have the balance of his contract paid up. This is a strong possibility, either as a result of negotiation or legal action. It is not plausible that a board with strong business experience, would not have considered this possibility in reaching its decision.

For what it is worth, I think that the sacking is harsh and an extreme reaction to the unacceptable levels of indiscipline that have been tolerated up to now. In that sense Dave Rogers is unfortunate, but is the author of his own misfortune.

The board have shown remarkable moral courage in their decision (whether you agree or disagree with it), and jibes about the moral character of players and other jibes are trite and miss the point.

SMorgan
24/05/2009, 2:31 PM
NAMA

If you don't know what I am on about now, in time you will.

24/05/2009, 4:04 PM
Shamefull post.

Banter on football forum SHOCK!

I can only assume you were too off your tits on heroin to see it for what it was though.

SwanVsDalton
24/05/2009, 4:15 PM
Don't think it was sacking tbh but it's yet another entertaining chapter in the Newcas..I mean Dundalk yearbook.

Celdrog
24/05/2009, 4:30 PM
The board have shown remarkable moral courage in their decisionIf your board had any moral courage then Maxi would not be allowed inside Oriel Park, never mind being allowed to ponce about behind the dug out on match nights.
They also would have taken action over Connor's rant when he said Bohemians tolerated racism.

Mind you, I am surprised at Gerry Matthews -he is a very decent fella

Enruoblehs
24/05/2009, 9:58 PM
By the way did all ye miss Kyle Moran running over to the shed when ye scored and giving 2 fingered gestures to our fans? Think thats a red card offence too but sure the old saying comes to mind, Dubliners look after Dubliners!

No doubt, when your video goes up on DFC TV, it will include that incident and perhaps it will be brought to the attention of the powers that be!

baddebt
25/05/2009, 9:09 AM
what Rogers done on Friday was indefenceable , its lack of respect for his team , the Pat's Team , and both sets of Fans............................he deserves to be sacked.
Its obvious that he had not got the interest of his team on the forefront of his mind.
You go to work today and pull a Mooner .................................................. and see what the consequences would be.

peadar1987
25/05/2009, 9:35 AM
Did anyone see the RTÉ report (http://foot.ie/forums/www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0523/dundalk_rogersd.html)? It said he "allegedly" dropped his shorts! I don't see what exactly is "alleged", when he did it in front of several thousand witnesses, RTÉ's own TV cameras, and a whole load of photographers!

25/05/2009, 9:45 AM
You go to work today and pull a Mooner .................................................. and see what the consequences would be.

In my part time job as a male stripper, it's actually rewarded.

jinxy lilywhite
25/05/2009, 10:25 AM
I think the board where entirely correctly in dispensing of his services. However this is being appealed and my hope is that everything was done by the book so rogers and the pfai don't have a leg to stand on.

Though there is a further outlying issue here and its club discipiline. Connor can talk about agenda against us by refs and people in control and everything else but 7 red cards in 13 games tells its own story. Dicipline starts from top down and our manager has instill this in his players.

CMcC
25/05/2009, 11:23 AM
I think the board where entirely correctly in dispensing of his services. However this is being appealed and my hope is that everything was done by the book so rogers and the pfai don't have a leg to stand on.

Though there is a further outlying issue here and its club discipiline. Connor can talk about agenda against us by refs and people in control and everything else but 7 red cards in 13 games tells its own story. Dicipline starts from top down and our manager has instill this in his players.

The match was Friday wasnt it? And he was sacked over the weekend. Seems too quick for correct process to be followed. He should have been suspended pending an investigation, then invited to a disciplinary hearing with an option of union representation and a decision made after that. If that decision was to dismiss at that point, so be it. That process would normally take at least a week.

Worryingly for Dundalk supporters, I think he may have a good case when it goes to court for unfair dismissal. Not on the grounds of wether mooning is a sackable offence or not, but on the grounds of was correct process followed for dismissal.

Ceirtlis
25/05/2009, 11:26 AM
Might have a bad effect on team morale at Dundalk if Rogers was liked in the dressing room.

He only did it for a laugh and in fairness its not all that offensive to do it in front of a few hundred away fans but he should of known he would be a sent off for it and from that point of view it was completely unprofessional and stupid.

disabledrog
25/05/2009, 11:38 AM
Moran never gave the fingers,he threw his hands in the air towards the shed and can you blame him after connor promised him a contract and gave him his word only to show him the door.

SeanDrog
25/05/2009, 11:52 AM
The match was Friday wasnt it? And he was sacked over the weekend. Seems too quick for correct process to be followed. He should have been suspended pending an investigation, then invited to a disciplinary hearing with an option of union representation and a decision made after that. If that decision was to dismiss at that point, so be it. That process would normally take at least a week.

Worryingly for Dundalk supporters, I think he may have a good case when it goes to court for unfair dismissal. Not on the grounds of wether mooning is a sackable offence or not, but on the grounds of was correct process followed for dismissal.

Thats a very fair point regarding the timescale.

Ezeikial
25/05/2009, 12:35 PM

Certainly there are plenty of cases of unfair dismissal claims being upheld because of flawed proceedure by the employer, along the lines that you outline above.

While I am no employment expert, I understand that there are some cases where instant dismissal is deemed to be reasonable and legal. Gross indecency may well be one of these.

Either way, I agree with you, it would have been more prudent of the Dundalk board to suspend him pending a disciplinary hearing.

It will also be revealing to hear Sean Connor's comments on this episode. If the board reached this action withour his approval/agreement, in my view it makes his position untenable, as it erodes his authority.

While I would not necessarily place much store in the veracity of the Irish Independents' Neil Ahern reportage, his speculation in todays edition is worrying

" Rogers was unavailable for comment yesterday but he, and some of his former team-mates, are said to be disillusioned at the decision"

Black and White
25/05/2009, 12:36 PM
Moran never gave the fingers,he threw his hands in the air towards the shed and can you blame him after connor promised him a contract and gave him his word only to show him the door.
How in the name of god do you know all this...oh wait you must be Morans father who exaggerates alot!

25/05/2009, 12:39 PM
Moran's a tosser anyway, always has been.

Ezeikial
25/05/2009, 12:45 PM

You don't know what your blathering on about!

Kyle Moran was offered and accepted a trial at Dundalk pre-season, after he was turfed out at Newry City FC. (The Newry manager had some pretty damming things to say about his attitude). The trial at Oriel did not last long! Poor Kyle is a legend in his own lunchtime.

Surely you have enough ammunition for slagging Sean Connor without inventing new stuff.

25/05/2009, 12:50 PM
Promised a contract me backside, he done a bit of training and wasn't good enough, end of. The Newry manager had a right go at him, something along the lines of.."He think's he's Pele, we don't want that sort of attitude around our club"...:D

Ezeikial
25/05/2009, 12:56 PM
Belfast Telegraph - 02 January 2009

"Newry City boss Gerry Flynn launched a blistering attack on his striker Kyle Moran ......
However, the steam was coming from Flynn’s ears as he explained why former Derry City frontman Moran had slipped off his Christmas card list.
“There is one particular player who will not be here come Saturday – Kyle Moran,” said Flynn. “I’ll be making a decision and speaking to the board. His attitude absolutely stinks and I don’t want him anywhere near the club.
“Come Monday at the latest he won’t be here because he’s not the sort of player I want here. I would be surprised if another club come in for him, especially after they hear what I have to say. He was at Manchester United and he thinks he’s Pele but I don’t want him near the club. "

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/local/moran-thinks-hersquos-pele-slams-newry-city-boss-flynn-14126434.html

LeixlipRed
25/05/2009, 1:18 PM
Moran has one of the worst attitudes I've ever seen. And he's ****e

LukeO
25/05/2009, 3:11 PM
How in the name of god do you know all this...oh wait you must be Morans father who exaggerates alot!

Well if true, it wouldn't be the first time that Sean Connor has promised players contracts and then gone back on his word. Ask Dessie Byrne (and others).

LukeO
25/05/2009, 3:14 PM
Part of Sean Connor's sacking was his mooning in the Brandywell before the LC final a couple of years ago. Never mind the other crap Bohs had on him, he still won his unfair dismissal case

Never heard about him mooning at the League Cup final. Not say it's not true, just that I've never heard that alleged before.

There were, however, complaints from players about him mooning in training.........

Ezeikial
25/05/2009, 3:32 PM
Well if true, it wouldn't be the first time that Sean Connor has promised players contracts and then gone back on his word. Ask Dessie Byrne (and others).

You are really gullible if you think there is even the remotest possibility of there being a shred of truth in this Kyle Moran yarn.

CMcC
25/05/2009, 4:05 PM
Never heard about him mooning at the League Cup final. Not say it's not true, just that I've never heard that alleged before.

There were, however, complaints from players about him mooning in
training.........

Think this is one and the same. Allegedly the day of LC final on the Brandy pitch during a training session if you believe the stories.