View Full Version : Who will win the 1st division
Pages :
[
9]
The Lep
12/10/2009, 12:23 AM
My point being, Kildare are a diffrent side to the one at the start of the season and it wont be an easy game for shels if come the last match Kildare have closed the gap on mervue and in with a chance of staying up.
GalwayRed
12/10/2009, 12:31 AM
My point being, Kildare are a diffrent side to the one at the start of the season and it wont be an easy game for shels if come the last match Kildare have closed the gap on mervue and in with a chance of staying up.
You were trying to get a rise out of shels fans. You brought up the Kildare game for no particular reason and then started making reference to the end of last season.
Im not saying Kildare will be a pushover. But theyre hardly on a good run of form like you suggested.
The Lep
12/10/2009, 1:27 AM
Thats a bit rich judging by past comments made by shels fans :D.
The Kildare game is relevant to the thread hence why i mentioned it.
they are on a better form than what they were at the start of the season.
12/10/2009, 8:35 AM
The Lep, discuss things properly please. Less of this kind of nonsense.
I notice U.C.D have a superior goal difference,is this the deciding factor should the teams finish level or do head to heads come into play???
davidatrb
12/10/2009, 9:54 AM
That's true Kildare have improved, but probably only to the standard of Athlone, Longford, Harps. We're still a poor team and couldn't put away Mervue two weeks ago. We won't be catching anyone now. We have Monaghan, Wexford, Waterford and Shels to play. Could only really imagine we can pick up points there against Mons and Youths, but even the Mons are going well at the moment. We have 7 points to make up to Mervue plus goal difference, and Mervue might not stay still.
The last game will be meaningless for us. Expect a weakened team even - may be trying to save a few players for the play-offs.
We haven't won a game at home since Wexford Youths sometime in the middle of last season. We've had Mervue over 3 times since and Athlone on a few occasions including the Cup. We've lost all those games - even those games that fell in the Somerville era.
In short, don't count on us beating Shels, expecially not at home!
Enruoblehs
12/10/2009, 9:56 AM
Goal Difference
12/10/2009, 10:01 AM
Goal difference decides. I can see Shels racking up a big win in Kildare on the last day. Kildare were terrible against us 2 weeks ago and have no chance of catching Mervue so they could even rest players for their playoff.
GalwayRed
12/10/2009, 10:27 AM
Right so, pick out the comments I made where I tried to get a rise out of you.
Kildares form is still poor. It has risen from terrible to bad. The might shock us but if I were you I would be looking at our away matches against Harps and Waterford as games where we might drop points.
12/10/2009, 10:31 AM
GalwayRed, The Lep's been warned in thread. Don't encourage him to continue please!
1895ringsend
12/10/2009, 3:45 PM
I think you'd have to fancy UCD to win it. Their in great form and from what i saw against shels 2 weeks ago playing some great football and i can't see them dropping anymore points.
Its still in shels own hands but i don't think we're capable of winning all our remaining games and we tend to gift teams goals. In saying that that the team has plenty of heart and determination and we're certaintly riding our luck at times so maybe our name is on it this year.:rolleyes:
Fingal and waterfords best hope of going up seems to be via the play offs as their both still in the cup and have prob left themselves to much to do in the league. Plenty of twists and turns yet though i'd imagaine.
The Lep
12/10/2009, 7:43 PM
Right so, pick out the comments I made where I tried to get a rise out of you.
Kildares form is still poor. It has risen from terrible to bad. The might shock us but if I were you I would be looking at our away matches against Harps and Waterford as games where we might drop points.
I didnt mention you personally.
The Lep
12/10/2009, 7:53 PM
Agree with all of your post Ringsend.
christo
14/10/2009, 11:22 AM
+1. Limerick in the second half of last season would have been challenging for the title if they had that level of performance all season.
Lads, Kildare in the second last game of last season beat Limerick and we are by far a better side from that day as well.
Going into the Shels match we could be a win away from avoiding the play-off which is a lot more to play for than Limerick had last year. Although we haven't ever beaten shels in a competitive match as far as I know so I wouldn't be too confidant of us actually having a say in the match.
But don't base your opinion of a club based on the few games you saw them play, that way I could say that Fingal (bar C Byrne) and UCD (especially Kilduff) are a poor team as well
seand
14/10/2009, 11:47 AM
Let's not forget that Kildare pulled out all the stops at the end of last season and held Dundalk to a mere 6-1 win on the final day. Not that it mattered of course, Shels just had to beat Limerick at home.
14/10/2009, 11:49 AM
And also let's not forget that Fingal were denied a Premier Licence this season because of their pitch. I don't expect that to be a problem next year if they go up (for fudging reasons if nothing else), but you never know.
marinobohs
14/10/2009, 2:28 PM
I think you'd have to fancy UCD to win it. Their in great form and from what i saw against shels 2 weeks ago playing some great football and i can't see them dropping anymore points.
Its still in shels own hands but i don't think we're capable of winning all our remaining games and we tend to gift teams goals. In saying that that the team has plenty of heart and determination and we're certaintly riding our luck at times so maybe our name is on it this year.:rolleyes:
Fingal and waterfords best hope of going up seems to be via the play offs as their both still in the cup and have prob left themselves to much to do in the league. Plenty of twists and turns yet though i'd imagaine.
Hope our (soon to be tenants) make it back up ;) UCD or waterford also welcome. still have my doubts about Sporting Franchise although I understand a lot of players (especially those out of contract) hope they come up as they will be the only club splashing out next season.
passerrby
14/10/2009, 3:08 PM
. Could only really imagine we can pick up points there against Mons and Youths, but even the Mons are going well at the moment. We have 7 points to make up to Mervue plus goal difference, and Mervue might not stay still.!
ever the optimist david, personnally hope UCD go up as it will mess up the fai belief that if they can keep the so called weeker clubs out of the premier div it will help to promote a full time professional league also sorry but great to have shels remain in the graveyard with us undead plus slows down fingals plan for world domination
GalwayRed
14/10/2009, 6:10 PM
And also let's not forget that Fingal were denied a Premier Licence this season because of their pitch. I don't expect that to be a problem next year if they go up (for fudging reasons if nothing else), but you never know.
Fingal have plans for a stadium in Lusk dont they? I reckon once the show the FAI that they will have their premier licence secure regardless of whether they follow through on them or not. Not saying they wont by the way.
GalwayRed
14/10/2009, 6:12 PM
Lads, Kildare in the second last game of last season beat Limerick and we are by far a better side from that day as well.
Going into the Shels match we could be a win away from avoiding the play-off which is a lot more to play for than Limerick had last year. Although we haven't ever beaten shels in a competitive match as far as I know so I wouldn't be too confidant of us actually having a say in the match.
But don't base your opinion of a club based on the few games you saw them play, that way I could say that Fingal (bar C Byrne) and UCD (especially Kilduff) are a poor team as well
If I remember rightly Limerick played a weakened team against you though. Anyway im not saying you cant get a result or anything but its unlikely and we do have more worrying games is all.
15/10/2009, 12:13 AM
If I remember rightly Limerick played a weakened team against you though. Anyway im not saying you cant get a result or anything but its unlikely and we do have more worrying games is all.
They did field a weakened side against Kildare alright. I remember it well, as I assumed then that they'd do the same in Tolka a week later..
1895ringsend
15/10/2009, 12:36 PM
Hope our (soon to be tenants) make it back up ;) UCD or waterford also welcome. still have my doubts about Sporting Franchise although I understand a lot of players (especially those out of contract) hope they come up as they will be the only club splashing out next season.
if we are to be your tenants maybe we're better off staying in the graveyard division considering the stick we'll get off our landlords next season;) could'nt see us being tenants for long mind as i don't think we'd survive.
Sporting would be serious force to be reckoned with next season if they come up. Quality side as it stands so i'd imagine they'd raid most of the clubs for their best players. I reckon they'l win the cup so they might have europe to offer players to.
shelsfan1
15/10/2009, 1:47 PM
Goals from the fingal game
http://vimeo.com/7079737
15/10/2009, 9:33 PM
Perhaps you should practise what you preach? :)
16/10/2009, 9:26 AM
I think he's saying that if he were to do that, these are the conclusions he would reach, and is using how silly those conclusions are to show the problem with it.
marinobohs
16/10/2009, 10:29 AM
if we are to be your tenants maybe we're better off staying in the graveyard division considering the stick we'll get off our landlords next season;) could'nt see us being tenants for long mind as i don't think we'd survive.
Sporting would be serious force to be reckoned with next season if they come up. Quality side as it stands so i'd imagine they'd raid most of the clubs for their best players. I reckon they'l win the cup so they might have europe to offer players to.
As now everyone knows, yes, Shels are close to signing a deal for the use of Dalymount in the future. not sure the duration but I gather it will be more than a year to year basis (details expected soon, as part of bigger announcement) ;)
Doubt there would be any great problems with the arrangement and it will suit both clubs given the current situation(s) and is hardly a big move distance wise.
Ideally Shels would develop a new home of their own but in the current climate that is not a short term reality.
Still hope ye come up though :)
1895ringsend
16/10/2009, 11:48 AM
As now everyone knows, yes, Shels are close to signing a deal for the use of Dalymount in the future. not sure the duration but I gather it will be more than a year to year basis (details expected soon, as part of bigger announcement) ;)
Doubt there would be any great problems with the arrangement and it will suit both clubs given the current situation(s) and is hardly a big move distance wise.
Ideally Shels would develop a new home of their own but in the current climate that is not a short term reality.
Still hope ye come up though :)
Do ya reckon theres any chance the original deal whereby shels and bohs would share a new redeveloped dalyer and play out out of tolka till the ground is completed is still on the table? I know the FAI and the council were on board with that but as you say in the current climate i'd imagine a landlord tenant situation is most likely.
marinobohs
16/10/2009, 2:52 PM
Do ya reckon theres any chance the original deal whereby shels and bohs would share a new redeveloped dalyer and play out out of tolka till the ground is completed is still on the table? I know the FAI and the council were on board with that but as you say in the current climate i'd imagine a landlord tenant situation is most likely.
No. My very clear understanding is that Bohs will retain ownership of Dalymount Park. I also doubt that Shels (or the FAI - also stakeholders) currently have the money to restart the original proposal, although it would still be unlikely to get the backing of Bohs memebership.
placid casual
16/10/2009, 3:03 PM
No. My very clear understanding is that Bohs will retain ownership of Dalymount Park. .
:D:):D
That ground has been bought & sold more times than a monto whore.
shels- If you do end up playing there next season, make sure you ask albion properties if you can use their 6 yard box at the shopping centre end.
KevB76
16/10/2009, 4:38 PM
We played a load of A-Championship and U20's in that match, it wouldnt be at all representative of our typical squad of the latter half of last season.
However, thats irrelevant to this season and I have to agree Kildare is by far a better side now than it was then, or at the start of this season, as we found out in our last 2 matches with ye :(
CSFShels
16/10/2009, 10:13 PM
UCD's to throw away now.
GalwayRed
16/10/2009, 10:16 PM
UCD should win it. I dont fancy us to win the rest of our matches never mind them dropping points.
Lamper.sffc
17/10/2009, 1:03 AM
Great results for us:D Can we take advantage? This is one crazy league.
CSFShels
17/10/2009, 11:20 AM
Great results for us:D Can we take advantage? This is one crazy league.
Think it'd be asking a bit much. Even a win for yous tonight, would put yous a point behind us, with us having a game in hand, never mind UCD. Not impossible though, especially with the way things have gone.
Lamper.sffc
17/10/2009, 11:31 AM
Whos talking about winning the league. Im just talking about taking advantage of the slip ups. If we win tonight then we have done that.
To be honest the main thing im looking at now is putting as much distance between us and waterford. After that I hope we can nick second place to get home advantage for the playoff. As for the league title, well ill just have to hope.
17/10/2009, 8:12 PM
We've obviously moved into the position of favourites now, four points clear and three wins away from the title. Shels have a came in hand but we've got points in the bag. However, we're only one slip up away from losing the title if Shels win their four games. Waterford do look to be out of it at this stage. Fingal could still nick second if Shels undergo a total collapse at the end. At the very least we've practically guaranteed a playoff spot now.
17/10/2009, 8:57 PM
We've obviously moved into the position of favourites now, four points clear and three wins away from the title. Shels have a came in hand but we've got points in the bag. However, we're only one slip up away from losing the title if Shels win their four games. Waterford do look to be out of it at this stage. Fingal could still nick second if Shels undergo a total collapse at the end. At the very least we've practically guaranteed a playoff spot now.
There's not a hope you'll drop anymore points. You've the league sewn up.
CSFShels
17/10/2009, 9:54 PM
Think that might be underestimating Waterford just a little.
The Lep
17/10/2009, 10:24 PM
UCD seems to have it in the bag with Fingal and that other lot playing for second. Fingal 6 points ahead of Waterford so i cant see them getting third but anything can happen :).
Fingal now only a point behind them lot now and a win on tues puts us in second at 2 points clear with them lot having 2 games in hand.
17/10/2009, 10:49 PM
Nice try. :D
17/10/2009, 11:55 PM
Nice try. :D
You have 3 sides that'll be playing for nothing. Longford up next for you and in 8 games -v- the top (I use this term lightly) 4 so far this season they have lost 7 and drew 1. That point coming against in Tolka. You'll be 7 points clear of us by the time we play next.
18/10/2009, 12:58 AM
This is all too true though the scoreline tonight was a little misleading. We should have been 2 or 3-1 up at half time, missed a peno, hit the bar, keeper made a terrific save, McKenna fluffed a shot in front of goal. Fingal's second goal arising from bad marking at a a corner killed us. At that stage it became obvious we had nothing to play for. Probably our best defender McCarthy was missing as well which didn't help matters at all.
The Lep
18/10/2009, 1:18 AM
Misleading? Longford was brutal :) The penalty was awarded after a longford chap decided to go to ground from the slightest of challenge. The peno was poor and easily saved. You hit the woodwork once, players kept slicing the ball in front of goal and Fingal wasnt even at half speed :)
18/10/2009, 6:56 AM
You have 3 sides that'll be playing for nothing. Longford up next for you and in 8 games -v- the top (I use this term lightly) 4 so far this season they have lost 7 and drew 1. That point coming against in Tolka. You'll be 7 points clear of us by the time we play next.
Sadly we're not immune to slip ups either. We found it difficult to put away Mervue and Athlone, who we still have to face, proved a banana skin on Friday night for you. We're a single mistake from losing this title. Our squad only have experience of being relegated or no LOI experience at all.
Keen2win
18/10/2009, 10:38 AM
Misleading? Longford was brutal :) The penalty was awarded after a longford chap decided to go to ground from the slightest of challenge. The peno was poor and easily saved. You hit the woodwork once, players kept slicing the ball in front of goal and Fingal wasnt even at half speed :)
Good man! Should easily have been winning at half time! For Paisley's goal the assistant signalled a free out! And ha, in the lead up to getting promoted ye are only playing at half pace? Can't wait to see your progression in the next two years! Lose the play-off, second/third next year, going bust the year after!:D
And get a few fans will ye?
18/10/2009, 10:42 AM
UCD no more have the title in the bag than Shels did a few short games ago. We've already dropped points to Athlone and Waterford for a start. Last night was the most nervy I've seen us play in a long while (although the Mervue keeper did keep them in the game; we ended up with 34 shots to Mervue's 5).
That said, I still think Shels have dropped points in them, and the ideal position for us would obviously be for the last game against Waterford to be irrelevant. Two more wins for us, and one draw for Shels would all but mathematically be enough for that (even allowing that Shels have to play Kildare on the last day)
The Lep
18/10/2009, 1:55 PM
Good man! Should easily have been winning at half time! For Paisley's goal the assistant signalled a free out! And ha, in the lead up to getting promoted ye are only playing at half pace? Can't wait to see your progression in the next two years! Lose the play-off, second/third next year, going bust the year after!:D
And get a few fans will ye?
We played at half pace and still beat you 4-0 :)
We will be around for a long time yet so dont get your hopes up of us going bust, longford would be in more danger of that than us seeing that they have to use old programmes :)
You are not in a position to tell anyone to get a few fans now are you.
18/10/2009, 5:15 PM
We played at half pace and still beat you 4-0 :)
We will be around for a long time yet so dont get your hopes up of us going bust, longford would be in more danger of that than us seeing that they have to use old programmes :)
You are not in a position to tell anyone to get a few fans now are you.
Honestly, what makes you so confident about that?
18/10/2009, 5:56 PM
Less of the slagging Longford and Fingal fans, keep it on-topic please.
The Lep
18/10/2009, 6:11 PM
Honestly, what makes you so confident about that?
Because i have info that you dont have :)