View Full Version : Who will win the 1st division

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12

19/10/2009, 4:43 PM
Rubbish moved to the rubbish forum. What part of this -

Less of the slagging Longford and Fingal fans, keep it on-topic please.

is confusing people?

Keen2win
19/10/2009, 6:29 PM
Rubbish moved to the rubbish forum. What part of this -

is confusing people?

Less!

Lamper.sffc
21/10/2009, 6:16 PM
Up to second now with 2 games in hand over shels. Do Shels fans think they can do enough in the next two games to take back second or are they more interested in our attendances than winning the league. :D (Just a joke lads)

21/10/2009, 6:28 PM
Up to second now with 2 games in hand over shels. Do Shels fans think they can do enough in the next two games to take back second or are they more interested in our attendances than winning the league. :D (Just a joke lads)

Eh, is it not Shels who have two games in hand over Fingal? :confused:

CSFShels
21/10/2009, 6:29 PM
Yeah we'll get second at the least.

The Lep
21/10/2009, 8:11 PM
I think Finn harps will get a result on saturday and waterford on tues and that will bring it down to the last game.

21/10/2009, 8:13 PM
Dammit Lep, you've jinxed us to feck.

The Lep
21/10/2009, 8:15 PM
Hope not, i'll be sending loads of positive energy your way;)

CSFShels
21/10/2009, 8:51 PM
I think Finn harps will get a result on saturday and waterford on tues and that will bring it down to the last game.
You don't think these things. You hope these things.

Are Carey, Devine and Kiely suspended for the cup game or the game against us, could a Waterford fan or someone who knows the rules particularly well confirm this?

GalwayRed
21/10/2009, 9:00 PM
I'm more confident of us beating Harps now. We're no longer the team being chased and I think that will suit us.

blue til i die
21/10/2009, 9:47 PM
You don't think these things. You hope these things.

Are Carey, Devine and Kiely suspended for the cup game or the game against us, could a Waterford fan or someone who knows the rules particularly well confirm this?

Cup game. All players back for Shels game.

CSFShels
21/10/2009, 9:50 PM
Crap.

22/10/2009, 12:16 AM
Yay. :)

The Lep
22/10/2009, 5:05 AM
[QUOTE=CSFShels;1255553]You don't think these things. You hope these things.

No,

I know they will :rolleyes:

Lamper.sffc
22/10/2009, 3:58 PM
Eh, is it not Shels who have two games in hand over Fingal? :confused:

oops:o thats what I meant to say. Wishfull thinking on my part.

23/10/2009, 9:32 PM
Tonight's game proved just how easy it could be for us to blow it. As long as Shels keep winning this is far from over.

Lamper.sffc
24/10/2009, 1:25 AM
Tonight's game proved just how easy it could be for us to blow it. As long as Shels keep winning this is far from over.

Seriously:eek: Its yours. Nothing short of an absolute catastrophe would hand it to someone else. I understand not wanting to admit its yours but stating what you said is ridiculous IMO.

24/10/2009, 1:49 AM
Seriously:eek: Its yours. Nothing short of an absolute catastrophe would hand it to someone else. I understand not wanting to admit its yours but stating what you said is ridiculous IMO.

We could very easily have lost that game, there were less than 10 minutes left when we equalised. We can't take anything for granted yet. If Shels drop points, I can't see us losing it but two wins from the last two games are far from guaranteed.

Lamper.sffc
24/10/2009, 1:55 AM
We could very easily have lost that game, there were less than 10 minutes left when we equalised. We can't take anything for granted yet. If Shels drop points, I can't see us losing it but two wins from the last two games are far from guaranteed.

Agree with your point about losing points before the end but so will shels and thus hand yous the title. Of course it not guaranteed but its hard to see past UCD not winning it now.

You dont have to agree because if it was me I wouldnt. :)

GalwayRed
24/10/2009, 3:54 PM
Agree with your point about losing points before the end but so will shels and thus hand yous the title. Of course it not guaranteed but its hard to see past UCD not winning it now.

You never know. Now that we aren't expected to win it we might be more dangerous. We have a great record against waterford, we should be able to get past longford and kildare and beating harps is not out of the question. Look at the run we went on last season once we seemed out of it.
I dont expect us to go up automatically to be honest and its probably wishfull thinking but I dont think you can rule us out.

24/10/2009, 4:35 PM

Yeah, it's a lot easier to be sure about these things when you're not involved. :)

The Lep
24/10/2009, 5:25 PM
Post of the month schumi, well done.

The Lep
24/10/2009, 5:28 PM
Hows it working now? If shels win all their remaining games can they win the title even if ucd win all theirs?
I know ucd only need 3 points out of their last 2 games to stop us from winning if we win ours.

CSFShels
24/10/2009, 5:33 PM
Hows it working now? If shels win all their remaining games can they win the title even if ucd win all theirs?
I know ucd only need 3 points out of their last 2 games to stop us from winning if we win ours.
No we're relying on UCD to draw one of the 2 games. More likely the Waterford 1 I suppose.

The Lep
24/10/2009, 6:21 PM
Lets hope they win them all so :)

GalwayRed
24/10/2009, 7:03 PM
Lets hope they win them all so :)
You wont feel that way when we knock you out of the play-offs;):)

The Lep
24/10/2009, 11:40 PM
Just hope it doesnt go to penos and doyle boots it into santry again :D

GalwayRed
25/10/2009, 12:31 AM
Just hope it doesnt go to penos and doyle boots it into santry again :D
http://www.vimeo.com/824351 :)

Lamper.sffc
25/10/2009, 12:40 AM
Yeah, it's a lot easier to be sure about these things when you're not involved. :)

Not sure. Realistic;)

25/10/2009, 9:28 AM

We have to work under the assumption that Shels will win their games in hand. If they go into the final day one point behind us playing a Kildare side, who will probably be resting players for a vital playoff, and us having to play Waterford then it gives Shelbourne a good bit of hope going into the final day. Obviously I'd rather be in our position, on top and with games played and points on the board, but it's far from over.

On the other side of the coin, in a best case scenario for UCD if Shels did go into meltdown, we could win the title on the Monday night if Shels lose to Harps without us even kicking a ball.

passerrby
25/10/2009, 11:18 AM
really hope the students do it easlly the best team ive seen this season.

The Lep
25/10/2009, 12:20 PM
http://www.vimeo.com/824351 :)

Thats a low blow :D

CSFShels
26/10/2009, 2:45 PM
Waterford-Shels looking in doubt due to the weather. Surely this game is gonna have to be played tomorrow at a neutral venue. No other time to play it really, and it'd be justice to Waterford to be fair considering they've cancelled this fixture numerous times for cup replays that didn't have to be played til weeks after.

blue til i die
26/10/2009, 3:11 PM
Waterford-Shels looking in doubt due to the weather. Surely this game is gonna have to be played tomorrow at a neutral venue. No other time to play it really, and it'd be justice to Waterford to be fair considering they've cancelled this fixture numerous times for cup replays that didn't have to be played til weeks after.

It'll be played tomorrow.

CSFShels
26/10/2009, 3:26 PM
It'll be played tomorrow.
Thats good news, all reports on weather there are telling me otherwise, but then again you'd know better actually being there.

blue til i die
26/10/2009, 3:35 PM
Thats good news, all reports on weather there are telling me otherwise, but then again you'd know better actually being there.

Only misty today, no real rain. Was playing on a pitch this morning and it was grand. So should go ahead, barring disasterous weather tomorrow/

Lamper.sffc
26/10/2009, 3:36 PM
Hopefully this will end in a draw or a win for waterford.

CSFShels
26/10/2009, 3:36 PM
Thats what the forecast is for though.

**FrOsTy**
26/10/2009, 4:24 PM
Hopefully this will end in a draw or a win for waterford.

Thats what the forecast is for though.

Yup, i'd agree :D. Waterford win really does stick that small bt of pressure on Shels. I know it's very very unlikley but Harps isint an easy place to go to and win so who knows. We've got nothing to lose anyway!

27/10/2009, 12:07 AM
Yup, i'd agree :D. Waterford win really does stick that small bt of pressure on Shels. I know it's very very unlikley but Harps isint an easy place to go to and win so who knows. We've got nothing to lose anyway!

Just the small matter of a play-off is all.

**FrOsTy**
27/10/2009, 12:46 AM
That's out of our hands. All we can do is go all out to win 3 from 3 and hope ye and/or fingal **** up majorly

27/10/2009, 9:50 AM
and it'd be justice to Waterford to be fair considering they've cancelled this fixture numerous times for cup replays that didn't have to be played til weeks after.
WTF?

You are aware that replay dates are set by the FAI, not the club, and are set before the first game?

stann
27/10/2009, 9:59 AM
To be honest, I couldn't be arsed replying to that when I saw it before.
WTF just about sums it up though.

GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 4:22 PM
WTF?

You are aware that replay dates are set by the FAI, not the club, and are set before the first game?
The one thing I would say on that though is that I dont think the FAI should schedule first division matches for the weekend of the FAI cup quarter finals. Its always very likely that first division teams will make it that far. They could easily schedule one round of first division fixtures for midweek.

27/10/2009, 4:24 PM
But sure it's even more likely that most of the First Division teams won't make it that far.

Why punish all the teams by making them play a midweek round (with lower crowds and attendant problems for part-time players) when you need only postpone one or, at most, two games?

GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 4:31 PM
But sure it's even more likely that most of the First Division teams won't make it that far.

Why punish all the teams by making them play a midweek round (with lower crowds and attendant problems for part-time players) when you need only postpone one or, at most, two games?
Fair point. I think there was a 6 week gap between the quarters and last 16 though. I dont know why the FAI wouldn't sort it out then. Rather than re-fix the match for a date clashing with cup replays.

27/10/2009, 4:37 PM
That is true though.

(And twice at that)

HarpoJoyce
27/10/2009, 4:45 PM
Fair point. I think there was a 6 week gap between the quarters and last 16 though. I dont know why the FAI wouldn't sort it out then. Rather than re-fix the match for a date clashing with cup replays.

You don't seem to have a problem.
The first re-sheduled date was October 6th. Both clubs would have agreed to this. Waterford Utd were preparing for League Cup Final(s) before that.

GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 5:06 PM
You don't seem to have a problem.
The first re-sheduled date was October 6th. Both clubs would have agreed to this. Waterford Utd were preparing for League Cup Final(s) before that.
No it was originally re-fixed for the 15th of September which was the same date as the cup quarter final replays were set for. It was then set for the 6th of October because Waterford went to a replay. My problem is that it should never have been set for September 15th in the first place. It should have been arranged for another date.
To make matters worse when the game was postponed on the 6th of October(which was nothing but bad luck) the match was set for today. Had Sligo and Waterford drawn than this match would have been postponed again tonight for the semi-final replay. That would leave us with nowhere to put the Waterford match.

HarpoJoyce
27/10/2009, 6:30 PM
No it was originally re-fixed for the 15th of September which was the same date as the cup quarter final replays were set for. It was then set for the 6th of October because Waterford went to a replay. My problem is that it should never have been set for September 15th in the first place. It should have been arranged for another date.
To make matters worse when the game was postponed on the 6th of October(which was nothing but bad luck) the match was set for today. Had Sligo and Waterford drawn than this match would have been postponed again tonight for the semi-final replay. That would leave us with nowhere to put the Waterford match.

I hadn't realised it was that far back.
But Shelbourne could have played Finn Harps this week instead. However good luck tonight. I hope anyone that wanted to travel to the game was able to.