View Full Version : Who will win the 1st division

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Lamper.sffc
26/06/2009, 1:23 AM
I think 5 of the players that would have featured that night will have left by the time this fixture is played.

Is that a good or a bad thing

26/06/2009, 8:34 AM
Is that a good or a bad thing

Yes :ball:

26/06/2009, 9:49 AM
I think 5 of the players that would have featured that night will have left by the time this fixture is played.

which of yer players are going so that I can let gareth cronin know! :p

Youths4Ever
30/06/2009, 10:46 AM
from the games I have seen so far this year I reckon Shelbourne will go up as then are getting results without playing well so far and reckon then will start playing well as people always say that's its the sign of chamions to be able win games when not playing well and without playing well then are a point ahead of the rest with a game in hand.

Between Fingal, Waterford and UCD one of them will hopefully keep it interesting till the end as the rest hope Wexford can hold onto 5th

30/06/2009, 11:58 AM
depending on who comes in and out gareth cronin has set the team a target of seventh or eighth place by season end. dont think its feasible myself as the gaps big to the other teams..

Lamper.sffc
30/06/2009, 12:28 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/loi/news.asp?n=36656

Madden heading back to Bohs. This is bad news for shels and good news for the rest of the league. Im sure they will bring in another player to replace him but will he be as good? Their challenge could hinge on who they get to replace him because Hynse wont be the answer if they are looking to win the league.

CSFShels
30/06/2009, 5:42 PM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/loi/news.asp?n=36656

Madden heading back to Bohs. This is bad news for shels and good news for the rest of the league. Im sure they will bring in another player to replace him but will he be as good? Their challenge could hinge on who they get to replace him because Hynse wont be the answer if they are looking to win the league.
To be fair, Flood has been our big matchwinner this season up front, not Madden. Madden is a loss, but not one that should have the rest of the league thinking they'll be better than us now.

30/06/2009, 5:47 PM
I think the point is more that you have two players who've scored more than one league goal - Flood (9) and Madden (6). Unless you can replace him, you're looking at turning some of those 2-1s into 1-1s. And if anything happens to Flood...

Lamper.sffc
30/06/2009, 9:08 PM
I think the point is more that you have two players who've scored more than one league goal - Flood (9) and Madden (6). Unless you can replace him, you're looking at turning some of those 2-1s into 1-1s. And if anything happens to Flood...

Agreed

All iv heard from a lot of the Shels lads including CSF is how great Madden has been and what a loss he will be. So a good replacement should be and probably is high on Shels list.

30/06/2009, 9:11 PM
And if anything happens to Flood...

Sounds like you have a plan. ;)

Lamper.sffc
30/06/2009, 9:14 PM
Sounds like you have a plan. ;)

Leeds are coming to town again :)

Lamper.sffc
03/07/2009, 12:31 PM
All the top 4 are playing teams they would expect to get 3 points from.
Id say its likely that at least one of the 4 will mess up though.

Nice to be back.

03/07/2009, 12:34 PM
All the top 4 are playing teams they would expect to get 3 points from.
Id say its likely that at least one of the 4 will mess up though.

Nice to be back.
I don't think there's any chance of you or Waterford slipping up. Small chance that us or Shels could.

What sort of formation will you be going with tonight? Want to know who to pick for first goalscorer.:)

CSFShels
03/07/2009, 5:04 PM
Agreed

All iv heard from a lot of the Shels lads including CSF is how great Madden has been and what a loss he will be. So a good replacement should be and probably is high on Shels list.
Of course, I wasn't debating that he needed to be replaced with someone good. Just saying that its not something thats going to tear our season apart or anything.

Lamper.sffc
03/07/2009, 5:41 PM
Of course, I wasn't debating that he needed to be replaced with someone good. Just saying that its not something thats going to tear our season apart or anything.

Agreed

But could it be the difference between 1st place or a playoff spot.

Lamper.sffc
03/07/2009, 5:50 PM
I don't think there's any chance of you or Waterford slipping up. Small chance that us or Shels could.

What sort of formation will you be going with tonight? Want to know who to pick for first goalscorer.:)

Have not seen anything official yet. I hope its Zayed and O neil up front in a 4-4-2. If so whats the odds on O Neil getting his first goal for the club tonight.

Maher and Paisley at least 3 weeks away from full fitness. Byrne back tonight in defense (thank god) but our only other fit Centre back Whelan is out due to suspension so is Shaun Williams. Robbie Doyle is doubtful due to knee trouble.

03/07/2009, 5:56 PM
Have not seen anything official yet. I hope its Zayed and O neil up front in a 4-4-2. If so whats the odds on O Neil getting his first goal for the club tonight.

Maher and Paisley at least 3 weeks away from full fitness. Byrne back tonight in defense (thank god) but our only other fit Centre back Whelan is out due to suspension so is Shaun Williams. Robbie Doyle is doubtful due to knee trouble.

You mean tomorrow night don't you?

OneForTheFuture
03/07/2009, 9:16 PM
Important boost to the Goal Diff tonight!

CSFShels
03/07/2009, 10:59 PM
Agreed

But could it be the difference between 1st place or a playoff spot.
I don't think so, beginning to think this season is ours.

Lamper.sffc
04/07/2009, 12:07 AM
You mean tomorrow night don't you?

yeah sorry about that

I don't think so, beginning to think this season is ours.

:D A little premature methinks.

CSFShels
04/07/2009, 12:26 AM
yeah sorry about that

:D A little premature methinks.
Premature to be beginning to think something? Im beginning to think not:D

oriel
04/07/2009, 11:52 AM
I think Shels would be a great addition to the premier next season, impressive win last night, they def deserve to go up.

Hairy Bowsie
04/07/2009, 11:53 AM
Cliche as it is, there is still a long way to go and a lot will depend on transfer dealings.

04/07/2009, 1:11 PM
I think Shels would be a great addition to the premier next season, impressive win last night, they def deserve to go up.

Agreed. Actually miss the trips to Tolka and the Cat and Cage.;) And if they do go up I can see a certain Mr.Gill taking over the reins.

04/07/2009, 6:24 PM
Agreed. Actually miss the trips to Tolka and the Cat and Cage.;) And if they do go up I can see a certain Mr.Gill taking over the reins.

I see that john gill was asst to keely for the previous two games before last night as the shels asst mgr was away on honeymoon for two weeks..so I wonder will gill get the job next season regardless if shels go up or not?

Infadel
04/07/2009, 6:32 PM
I see that john gill was asst to keely for the previous two games before last night as the shels asst mgr was away on honeymoon for two weeks..so I wonder will gill get the job next season regardless if shels go up or not?
I wonder if he patched things up with Bisto and Hynes after he sacked the 2 of them from us.

04/07/2009, 6:37 PM
I wonder if he patched things up with Bisto and Hynes after he sacked the 2 of them from us.

Flood played crap last night apparently. With the Keeley/Gill partnership they will come up. Pity for them it's only for a few weeks.

the-blue-harp
04/07/2009, 9:44 PM
hows that for a spanner in the works, the weakest harps team in years is starting to gel...:D

CSFShels
05/07/2009, 10:23 AM
hows that for a spanner in the works, the weakest harps team in years is starting to gel...:D
We don't hate yous so much anymore:D:DForgiven.

Lamper.sffc
11/07/2009, 2:19 AM
Would have hoped for a UCD win or a draw. Unfortunatley for us that didnt happen. I think we need to win next week at tolka.

I think Shels would be happy with a draw, while a win for them would make it very difficult for us to catch them at the top.

CSFShels
11/07/2009, 2:01 PM
Would have hoped for a UCD win or a draw. Unfortunatley for us that didnt happen. I think we need to win next week at tolka.

I think Shels would be happy with a draw, while a win for them would make it very difficult for us to catch them at the top.
To be honest a draw would it even make it very difficult. Even a win would still leave it pretty difficult considering how few points we're dropping against the lower teams in the league.

Darkglasses
11/07/2009, 5:54 PM
Certainly looks like Shels have gotten a degree of dominance. Kildare deserve a mention for recording their first win, 4-1 over Mervue :o

Lamper.sffc
12/07/2009, 2:04 AM
To be honest a draw would it even make it very difficult. Even a win would still leave it pretty difficult considering how few points we're dropping against the lower teams in the league.

Would find it hard to disagree.

The win is important to us.
Regardless of the result, Shels still have a great chance of going up automatically. Its up to us to make it a two horse race.

cheech
12/07/2009, 11:46 AM
Harps will lose very little games between now and the end of the season...won't win the league but will have a big say in who does...

Lamper.sffc
17/07/2009, 1:39 PM
Big one tonight. This is our biggest and most important game of the season. If we lose this one then i guess its play offs for us at best. Hopefully Wexford can do us a favour too.

DRDoc
17/07/2009, 2:03 PM
Synott is a great buy for Shels, will be interesting who else they will bring in. As they stand they could do with some extra bodies I think

Fingal seem to be getting the big guns back from injury of late - ONeill few weeks ago, maybe Paisley tonight

Waterford have brought in three quality players in fairness - Warren, Grant and Walsh, and maybe one more to come if rumours are to be believed

Big night tonight

Ezeikial
17/07/2009, 2:12 PM
Synott is a great buy for Shels, ....

Michael Synott is a loan deal. and for sure is an excellent player. I just can't understand why was not retained at Dundalk!

christo
17/07/2009, 2:27 PM
The problem with Fingal seems to be some of the players don't really care if they win the division or not, they've made their name and regardless they'll get there money, just something a few of us have noticed when they've played us. No doubt they have great players though.

DRDoc
17/07/2009, 3:44 PM
Michael Synott is a loan deal. and for sure is an excellent player. I just can't understand why was not retained at Dundalk!

Loan deal or buy, doesnt make much difference, his contract is up at end of the season at oriel

Surprised he wasnt kept also

The Lilywhites
17/07/2009, 4:00 PM
He hasn't been cleared for tonight, not sure it will make a massive difference to Shels though.

Ezeikial
17/07/2009, 4:47 PM
Loan deal or buy, doesnt make much difference, his contract is up at end of the season at oriel

Surprised he wasnt kept also

Agreed that the net effect is the same. I was simply clarifying your original assertion that it "was a great buy" for Shelbourne.

I wonder what was the last transfer within the league that actually carried a fee? Ger O'Brien from Shamrocks to Derry perhaps?

DRDoc
17/07/2009, 6:20 PM
Agreed that the net effect is the same. I was simply clarifying your original assertion that it "was a great buy" for Shelbourne.

I wonder what was the last transfer within the league that actually carried a fee? Ger O'Brien from Shamrocks to Derry perhaps?

Top man Ezeikal - thanks for the clarification

Yeah Obrien I think - how about the last one before him?

forza
17/07/2009, 7:44 PM
Top man Ezeikal - thanks for the clarification

Yeah Obrien I think - how about the last one before him?

Dave Rodgers Derry to Pats maybe.

GalwayRed
17/07/2009, 9:02 PM
After that win tonight i suppose we have to be favourites to go up now. We need to keep this run going though. We dont want to follow up beating Fingal with dropping points to Harps or Athlone.

corkharps
17/07/2009, 9:21 PM
After that win tonight i suppose we have to be favourites to go up now. We need to keep this run going though. We dont want to follow up beating Fingal with dropping points to Harps or Athlone.

Early days,early days!:cool:

Lamper.sffc
17/07/2009, 10:05 PM
Fair play to shels. Deserved it tonight.

OneForTheFuture
18/07/2009, 11:40 AM
That was an important win but we are still only 4 ahead of second place. We need to keep it up......nerves were jangling in the last 15mins but i thought it was a great game to watch. Ref was poor as is the norm.

On a side note I thought the chant:

"Shelbourne do football teams...Fingal do wheelie-bins"

was very witty. the simple ones are always the best!

Hairy Bowsie
18/07/2009, 12:01 PM
I believe it was actually "Shelbourne do 1 nil wins, Fingal do wheelie-bins" to go with "Why the f*ck do you exist?", "5 miles and you brought 10 fans" and "Where were you 3 years ago?"

18/07/2009, 12:31 PM

It's Shels' to throw away now. They should win the division if they don't drop many silly points against the lower teams.

Joey Killester
18/07/2009, 12:50 PM
I believe it was actually "Shelbourne do 1 nil wins, Fingal do wheelie-bins" to go with "Why the f*ck do you exist?", "5 miles and you brought 10 fans" and "Where were you 3 years ago?"

Also "1-0..to the football club".