View Full Version : Who will win the 1st division
Pages :
[
11]
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 6:34 PM
I hadn't realised it was that far back.
But Shelbourne could have played Finn Harps this week instead. However good luck tonight. I hope anyone that wanted to travel to the game was able to.
Yeah this has run on a while. I just think it might have been handled better.
It has cost me the chance to go anyway so I will be sitting in waiting for texts on whats going on. Thankfully the rain in Waterford hasn't affected tonights game so we can finally get this game over with.
Lamper.sffc
27/10/2009, 6:38 PM
Yeah this has run on a while. I just think it might have been handled better.
It has cost me the chance to go anyway so I will be sitting in waiting for texts on whats going on. Thankfully the rain in Waterford hasn't affected tonights game so we can finally get this game over with.
Great to here. Come on Waterford or is it a draw I want or is it shels to win? aaaaaahhhhhhhhh:D
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 6:48 PM
Great to here. Come on Waterford or is it a draw I want or is it shels to win? aaaaaahhhhhhhhh:D
You want a shels win;). You secretly love us.:p
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 6:57 PM
Shels 1 up:D. Griffiths.
Lamper.sffc
27/10/2009, 7:25 PM
Shels 1 up:D. Griffiths.
Just checked the waterford twitter page. Seems like waterford have had plenty of chances to get back into it.
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 7:28 PM
Just checked the waterford twitter page. Seems like waterford have had plenty of chances to get back into it.
Yeah the texts im getting are saying Waterford are all over us. They've had a goal disallowed too.
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 7:34 PM
It's half time now. 1-0 shels. Sounds like we are under a lot of pressure though.
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 8:06 PM
Second half is up and running now. It sounds like its still just Deano Delaney keeping us in it though.
The Lep
27/10/2009, 8:15 PM
I know how you feel :D. Its nerve wrecking when you cant be at the match and you depend on updates and its a close game. I was in spain for the rovers games and the tension was unbearable:D
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 8:17 PM
I know how you feel :D. Its nerve wrecking when you cant be at the match and you depend on updates and its a close game. I was in spain for the rovers games and the tension was unbearable:D
Yeah its terrible. I know how you feel now anyway. 20 mins to go.
The Lep
27/10/2009, 8:19 PM
You should have seen me shouting at errortel when you had limerick and we came from behind at kildare :)
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 8:25 PM
You should have seen me shouting at errortel when you had limerick and we came from behind at kildare :)
My housemates think I'm crazy sure. Sitting in the corner staring at my laptop and nervous as hell. They have the united-barnsley match to distract them though.;)
Apparently we are doing a bit better now. So inevitably waterford will now score.:(
The Lep
27/10/2009, 8:27 PM
Real madrid are losing 2-0 away in the copa del ray :)
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 8:37 PM
Game over.:D Full time. Waterford 0-1 Shels.
I've never been so relieved.
Thats pretty much finished them off now anyway.
brianw82
27/10/2009, 8:39 PM
The Twitter updates sure make it seem like they threw the kitchen sink at ye!
That is a big, big win for Shels, though. Could they clinch 1st place after all? :eek:
1895ringsend
27/10/2009, 8:39 PM
great stuff!!!! that was a big win tonight
roinuj
27/10/2009, 8:43 PM
looks like shels league now:(
1895ringsend
27/10/2009, 8:44 PM
That is a big, big win for Shels, though. Could they clinch 1st place after all? :eek:
It'd be hard to see UCD dropping points considering the form they've been in and we're always capable of throwing points away but you'd never know. Waterford sounded like they played very well tonight and i would'nt fancy playing them on the last day. Hopefully it'l go down to the wire now after that result.
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 8:47 PM
Yeah like I said the texts I was getting made it sound like Waterford were destroying us. Fantastic win though. We certainly aren't out of yet.
Lets just focus on Longford for friday. The game is equally as big.
Buile Shuibhne
27/10/2009, 9:06 PM
It'd be hard to see UCD dropping points considering the form they've been in and we're always capable of throwing points away but you'd never know. Waterford sounded like they played very well tonight and i would'nt fancy playing them on the last day. Hopefully it'l go down to the wire now after that result.
Waterford's season is over - they've nothing to play for against UCD on Saturday week
The Lep
27/10/2009, 9:08 PM
Pride?
GalwayRed
27/10/2009, 9:10 PM
Waterford's season is over - they've nothing to play for against UCD on Saturday week
Limericks season was over when they played us last year.
Longfords season was over when they nearly beat UCD last friday.
I know its not that likely but we shouldn't give up just yet.
27/10/2009, 9:28 PM
Limericks season was over when they played us last year.
Longfords season was over when they nearly beat UCD last friday.
I know its not that likely but we shouldn't give up just yet.
our season has been over for the last two years :D
1895ringsend
27/10/2009, 9:30 PM
As we found out last november football dose'nt work like that. Waterford are an old club with a great tradition. There'l give UCD a game tough game regardless. We've a lot of work to do before next saturday mind.
Buile Shuibhne
27/10/2009, 9:36 PM
Clubs raise their game coming to play Shels in vital games in Tolka.
It's not quite the same going to the UCD Bowl
blue til i die
27/10/2009, 9:46 PM
How we didnt win the game tonight is crazy, but thats football i guess.
And dont worry, we'll be going to UCD on the last day going for a win, nothing else.
1895ringsend
27/10/2009, 10:17 PM
How we didnt win the game tonight is crazy, but thats football i guess.
And dont worry, we'll be going to UCD on the last day going for a win, nothing else.
I heard waterfor really went for it tonight. My brother phoned me on the way back and told me we were hanging on for dear life. I heard waterford hit the bar in injury time?
27/10/2009, 10:20 PM
Players always have something to play for at this time of the season in the LOI, many will still be trying to impress to earn a contract for next season. Also, Waterford will want to prove themselves after faltering towards the end of the season and seemingly been unlucky not to come away with the win earlier tonight.
blue til i die
27/10/2009, 10:33 PM
I heard waterfor really went for it tonight. My brother phoned me on the way back and told me we were hanging on for dear life. I heard waterford hit the bar in injury time?
Yeah, Cummins hit the bar in the last minute, bounced down on/over the line and not given.We gave it a good go, but Delaney kept shels in the game though
**FrOsTy**
28/10/2009, 12:01 PM
A great game to be honest. We should of won it 10 times over but to be fair to Shels they scored early and set there stall out to defend that lead which Deleaney done fantastically. Some top top saves.
28/10/2009, 12:08 PM
Sounds like the worst possible result for us - a game which Waterford should have won (i.e. they're playing well ahead of coming to Belfield next week), but which Shels did win (which is bad) because their keeper was in top form (which I don't know if our keeper can match).
Still, it's still in our hands, and the general consensus on the Shels forum is that they played very badly. If Longford play as well as they did against us, they could snatch a point on Friday. Here's hoping!
CSFShels
28/10/2009, 12:20 PM
Really think the league is wide open now. If we win our 3 games, which we're well capable of and should (if we don't, we hardly deserve to win the league anyway), I think if Waterford play the way they did last night UCD will have their hands full. From what I've seen of the UCD keeper, he wouldn't bail them out the way Delaney did us last night.
Obviously UCD's league to lose, but I think we're in with an excellent chance despite being on some horrible horrible form. Waterford were unreal last night.
The only thing that would worry me if i was a shels fan is that although in theory Waterford will be capable of producing a good display against U.C.D,the fact is they have nothing to play for...Limerick had a score to settle with us and shels last year,whereas waterford after coming a cropper against ourselves and shels then went on to lose tamely against Monaghan on the last day of last season.
Bottom line is if U.C.D have the attitude right on the night they will prob have too much for a waterford side with nothing to play for.
CSFShels
28/10/2009, 12:46 PM
The only thing that would worry me if i was a shels fan is that although in theory Waterford will be capable of producing a good display against U.C.D,the fact is they have nothing to play for...Limerick had a score to settle with us and shels last year,whereas waterford after coming a cropper against ourselves and shels then went on to lose tamely against Monaghan on the last day of last season.
Bottom line is if U.C.D have the attitude right on the night they will prob have too much for a waterford side with nothing to play for.
I think being a part of the drama on the last day of the title race will be plenty to play for. Also, Keely and Henderson hugged after the match, so theres obviously a good friendship there and Henderson will be sending them out to win I'd imagine. UCD are well capable of beating Waterford, but Waterford are also well capable of beating UCD. Somewhere in between will do me.
LeixlipRed
30/10/2009, 11:38 PM
Congratulations to UCD on their league win and promotion. If we'd have come back from 3-0 down to win tonight and some how come 1st it would have been a travesty. They played the game the way it should be and after the most embarrassing and shameful of performances tonight it was clear that we just weren't good enough. Well done.
30/10/2009, 11:44 PM
If only we could play like that every week...
PartySaint
30/10/2009, 11:49 PM
UCD!!!
blue til i die
30/10/2009, 11:59 PM
I think if Waterford play the way they did last night UCD will have their hands full. From what I've seen of the UCD keeper, he wouldn't bail them out the way Delaney did us last night.
Waterford were unreal last night.
If only WE could play like that every week......we might have got out of this division.......:mad:
Ah well, well done UCD, best side to visit the RSC this season by a mile.
Lamper.sffc
31/10/2009, 12:25 AM
The question was posed all those months ago. "who will win the 1st division". We now have the answer. UCD. Fair play.
I really hoped it would be us (obviously) but who can deny that UCD didnt deserved it. Honourable mention goes to Waterford Utd. With a bigger squad and less cup games they would have kept up their challenge.
31/10/2009, 2:13 AM
Thanks for the congratulations, a crazy night getting updates from what must have been one of the most bizarre matches ever in Tolka.
31/10/2009, 8:56 AM
Thanks for the congratulations in this thread and others, particularly from the Shelbourne fans. I can remember the last time we were promoted in 2004 there was a lot of disappointment from other clubs' fans here, attitudes seem to have changed slightly. If we can hold onto Ronan Finn and Kilduff and add a keeper and a couple of other quality players, I think we could make a good impact in the Premier next year.
31/10/2009, 9:02 AM
What odds were UCD before the season started? It's true to say they weren't expected to do that well this season?
31/10/2009, 9:27 AM
What odds were UCD before the season started? It's true to say they weren't expected to do that well this season?
I can't remember the odds but we were expecting top half of the table, probably top four and being in the playoff mix. Sporting Fingal's squad suggested they should have walked the division.
31/10/2009, 12:07 PM
14s. Fingal were 4/6 and Shels were 9/2.
31/10/2009, 12:08 PM
You didn't play well last night. That might sound strange considering you scored 5 but it wasn't a great performance.
31/10/2009, 12:40 PM
You didn't play well last night. That might sound strange considering you scored 5 but it wasn't a great performance.
Believe me, we played very well. You really have no idea the stuff us Town fans have been watching for the last 2 years!
Congrats to UCD. Good side and a superbly well run football club.
31/10/2009, 2:01 PM
I think third, well behind Shels and Fingal, was the club's most optimistic expectation at the start of the season.
Alan McNally - who left us at the end of last season - is on record on his bebo as saying he doesn't think "UCD will be back in the Premier for a long time". Might pass you on the way down, Alan. :)
Have put my views on the title run in the tonight's latest thread.
Congrats to UCD, ruined my double bet of Bohs/Shels, but that was some finish they had, impressive form and getting back up so soon is admirable, it only took us the 7 years !
I backed us aT 8/1 before the start of the season but I know some of the lads got 10