View Full Version : Pre-season friendlies..

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10

gufc2000
20/02/2009, 10:13 PM
Galway Utd vs UCD
Tomorrow (Saturday) at 2pm in Enfield Park, Marriot Hotel

GalwayRed
20/02/2009, 10:14 PM
That would be David Mulqueen. I agree i was dissapointed that we failed to create any clear cut chances but Madden looked good up front. Can anybody tell me when Drogs signed Chambers. I was under the impression he took a job in england and had signed for Solihull Moors.

Black and White
20/02/2009, 10:16 PM
That would be David Mulqueen. I agree i was dissapointed that we failed to create any clear cut chances but Madden looked good up front. Can anybody tell me when Drogs signed Chambers. I was under the impression he took a job in england and had signed for Solihull Moors.

Think he was on trial, they had a good few trialists playing in that game!

blue til i die
20/02/2009, 11:43 PM
We beat mayfield 4-1 tonight. WJ Kiely hat-trick, Paul McCarthy got the other.

DRDoc
21/02/2009, 1:31 AM
Think he was on trial, they had a good few trialists playing in that game!

chambers not signed - as yet anyway

same with mulquinn/mulqueen

El-Pietro
21/02/2009, 2:38 AM
dont know if its been posted yet

but we beat kildare 3-0 tonight

a goal each for Roberts Mezeckis Dan Murray and Guntars Silligailis

kildare are a poor side, they need some serious work to have any chance at staying up this season based on tonights game

Hairy Bowsie
21/02/2009, 9:27 AM
What did the Drogheda fans make of their crowd at the Shels game? With it being your first game since very nearly going to the wall i was expecting a massive home crowd. A call to arms so to speak but considering what i said i thought it was a poor turn out.

Black and White
21/02/2009, 9:46 AM
What did the Drogheda fans make of their crowd at the Shels game? With it being your first game since very nearly going to the wall i was expecting a massive home crowd. A call to arms so to speak but considering what i said i thought it was a poor turn out.

I thought that myself dude, very poor crowd but still good for a pre seaosn friendly!Shels took a few down, thought there would have been a few more seen as though its like 30 misn down the road!

21/02/2009, 9:56 AM
Shels took a few down, thought there would have been a few more seen as though its like 30 misn down the road!

Friendly!

Black and White
21/02/2009, 10:38 AM
Friendly!

I know that but we're expected to bring a big crowd up to Utd Park on Tuesday night!

ndrog
21/02/2009, 10:59 AM
I know that but we're expected to bring a big crowd up to Utd Park on Tuesday night!

Of course you are its a local derby and football is on a real high in Dundalk with you finally getting out of the graveyard .Last nights crowd was over a 1000 by all accounts , which by our and LOI standards is very good for a friendly is it not ?

Battery Rover
21/02/2009, 11:51 AM
Are there many Bohs fans expected to make the journey to Lissywoollen today?

corkboy360
21/02/2009, 12:00 PM
dont know if its been posted yet

but we beat kildare 3-0 tonight

a goal each for Roberts Mezeckis Dan Murray and Guntars Silligailis

kildare are a poor side, they need some serious work to have any chance at staying up this season based on tonights game
Keeper made some save though.
As for that the rest was poor.

Does anyone know why was there keeper wearing a city jersey?

Drogman.
21/02/2009, 12:39 PM
Chambers played the last 25 minutes or so. The first pre season game ive been to this year. It wasnt a great game. There were hardly any clear cut chances but it was a decent performance from Shels. The drogs will struggle this season.

Chambers hasn't signed, probably on trial, but he was excellent when he came on. Passed the ball very well and got stuck in with his tackles.

As regards us being poor? Well that was the first game that group have played and to hold a settled team like Shels to a scoreless draw was a great achievement.

We may struggle this season, but at least I can see us competing well against the bottom teams IE. Bray, Galway, possibly Sligo

Philly
21/02/2009, 12:44 PM
Keeper made some save though.
As for that the rest was poor.

Does anyone know why was there keeper wearing a city jersey?

We only got told we're in the League on Monday, I'm guessing the new kit is in the post! Perhaps a new team is too!

21/02/2009, 1:54 PM
As regards us being poor? Well that was the first game that group have played and to hold a settled team like Shels to a scoreless draw was a great achievement.

It's just like 3 years ago :)

gufc2000
21/02/2009, 2:20 PM
Galway Utd 2-0 UCD FT
Garry Breen
Declan Edwards (pen)

atfconline
21/02/2009, 2:53 PM
Town 0 - 0 Bohs HT

corkboy360
21/02/2009, 3:00 PM
Galway Utd 2-0 UCD latest
Garry Breen
Declan Edwards (pen)
As in the guy that played with Ireland?
hehehe

gufc2000
21/02/2009, 3:08 PM
As in the guy that played with Ireland?
hehehe
No as in the former Hereford defender who hails from Kilkenny
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garry_Breen

21/02/2009, 3:37 PM
So how long until Galway United adopt the famous chant? :)

atfconline
21/02/2009, 3:55 PM
Town 0 - 1 Bohs FT
Jason Byrne

21/02/2009, 4:06 PM
Derry beat Longford 4-0

Grey, Stewart, Delaney and McCauley.

corkboy360
21/02/2009, 4:12 PM
No as in the former Hereford defender who hails from Kilkenny
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garry_Breen
aahhh

GalwayRed
21/02/2009, 5:05 PM
Chambers hasn't signed, probably on trial, but he was excellent when he came on. Passed the ball very well and got stuck in with his tackles.

We may struggle this season, but at least I can see us competing well against the bottom teams IE. Bray, Galway, possibly Sligo
And i never said you were poor last night. I said you would struggle this season, which I still believe. The performance your team put in was no more than what could be expected for a team that had been together less then a week.

21/02/2009, 5:12 PM
Harps beat Cockhill (yes Cockhill) 1-0. Oisin McMenimen with the goal.

21/02/2009, 5:19 PM
Anyone at Drogs V Shels? heard there was serious trouble in the stand.

The Bovril was a tad too hot and burned the tongue off some OAP, nothing too serious though thank God.

Scrufil
21/02/2009, 5:29 PM
Athlone Town 0 Bohemian 1
Goal scored by Jason Byrne. Athlone coped well with Bohs in the first half and could have scored 3 while Bohs missed 2 sitters from Crowe. In the second period Athlone didn't play half as well but I put this down to all the subs Athlone introduced and Bohs deserved their goal. The pitch was very soft so I think some players held back a bit.

21/02/2009, 5:30 PM
Athlone having a good Pre-Season, well for yas..:o

Scrufil
21/02/2009, 6:07 PM
It is hard to read too much into a friendly, but it does build confidence if the team runs a top side close.

Black and White
21/02/2009, 7:52 PM
Anyone got updates from Sligo tonight??

21/02/2009, 7:56 PM
Wexford Youths 1 - 1 Shamrock Rovers, another good result for the Youths, looking promising for the season ahead.

sligofan4ever
21/02/2009, 8:01 PM
Anyone got updates from Sligo tonight??

Apparently Dundalk are 1-0 up.

dannydundalk
21/02/2009, 8:13 PM
One of my friends text me saying

1 - Nil to Dundalk - Daly

EDIT: Dundalk Line-up
Bennion,
Kelly, Burns, Heary, Rodgers,
Daly, Turner, Collins, Singh,
Mansaram, Barnett.

dannydundalk
21/02/2009, 8:13 PM
thats from a dundalk fan on orielweb

sheao
21/02/2009, 8:21 PM
City are going over to play Reading . http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1326/

21/02/2009, 8:23 PM
thats from a dundalk fan on orielweb

Ya I got it from eamoss..

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=1110308&postcount=3

Black and White
21/02/2009, 8:29 PM
I was there last night, how the hell could that of happened seen as though Shels fans where not aloowed leave until 5 minsafter all Utd supporters had gone!I did see a large Garda presence outside the ground 15 mins after it but that was it.

21/02/2009, 8:31 PM
all Utd supporters had gone!.

No they werent - a few of the kids had to sort out their flags,etc - as i said handbags, not worth a mention - infact our kids actually went back into the ground the first sight of the handbags flying!!

21/02/2009, 9:07 PM
Turner scored for Dundalk, not Daly, finished 1-0. Michael Collins is a nut job. He's going to be entertaining for opposition fans this season. Apart from that, nothing happened.

21/02/2009, 9:12 PM
Michael Collins is a nut job.

I always like collins as a player - really put drink driver georgie in his place in cork a few years ago. A few ports fans I know said he was past it? I know its only a friendly but did he look like he still had it in him sligoman? If he does, hes some signing for craptown!

Black and White
21/02/2009, 9:16 PM
I always like collins as a player - really put drink driver georgie in his place in cork a few years ago. A few ports fans I know said he was past it? I know its only a friendly but did he look like he still had it in him sligoman? If he does, hes some signing for craptown!

But he hasnt signed for ye, hes signed for us!!:p

21/02/2009, 9:45 PM
I always like collins as a player - really put drink driver georgie in his place in cork a few years ago. A few ports fans I know said he was past it? I know its only a friendly but did he look like he still had it in him sligoman? If he does, hes some signing for craptown!Really hard to know Cosmo as the ref told Connor to take him off after a few minutes. He made a terrible tackle on Sean Doherty and then went over giving out to him on the ground. Would have been sent off if it was a league game and also if it wasn't Paul Deering as ref.

21/02/2009, 9:56 PM
Really hard to know Cosmo as the ref told Connor to take him off after a few minutes. He made a terrible tackle on Sean Doherty and then went over giving out to him on the ground. Would have been sent off if it was a league game and also if it wasn't Paul Deering as ref.

Sounds like the collins I know - admit it, you'd all like a tough nut like him in your team :D

21/02/2009, 10:06 PM
Sounds like the collins I know - admit it, you'd all like a tough nut like him in your team :DWe have 2 already, Danny Ventre and Chris Butler:)

dannydundalk
21/02/2009, 10:08 PM
dundalk fc's very own version of vinnie jones :p

DRDoc
21/02/2009, 10:50 PM
Pats will be playing in Birmingham against their reserves on wednesday

oldyouth
22/02/2009, 8:52 AM
Wexford Youths 1 - 1 Shamrock Rovers, another good result for the Youths, looking promising for the season ahead.
Yep, a good game and Rovers probably the best of the 3 teams to visit pre-season. Less substitutions per side for this game, so it had more of a flow. The new faces are great to see. Holden, McGrath, Breen, White. I can't wait to see Sheehan.
The defence was very settled and Gavin was great up front. He is really strong on the ball. We missed one sitter in the 1st half and their keeper made a great save from close range at the end. Dodgy peno for them, but I would think that

Danny Furlong came on for the last 5 minutes, so it will be great to have him back. I hope it is not too soon after the last setback

Rovers brought some 'interesting' fans with them

The Lilywhites
22/02/2009, 10:02 AM
Danny Furlong came on for the last 5 minutes, so it will be great to have him back. I hope it is not too soon after the last setback

What happened to him?

22/02/2009, 11:07 AM
Pats will be playing in Birmingham against their reserves on wednesday

Think its thursday, they're flying out on Wedneday