View Full Version : Limerick Division 2A 2008/09

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

lankyboy26
09/10/2008, 2:57 PM
They were closer to bottom than top last year
that's because the 2 top teams (janesboro and cals) finished miles ahead of everyone else. athlunkard finished 3rd, 8 or 9 points ahead of kilfinane who finished 4th or 5th can't remember exactly. everyone else finished close to each other

Hyde Man
09/10/2008, 2:59 PM
that's a bit harsh now in fairness. just because they're a tough physical side doesn't mean they don't play good football. they scored a lotta goals last season and didn't concede many. away form cost them in the end. they'll be up there challenging this season

Played out there already this season. They played good football to be honest. Took no chances at the back but played nicely in midfield and upfront

Easy Easy
09/10/2008, 3:09 PM
agree with you on that one.will many games be on if the rain keeps up?
---------------------------------------------------------------
There will be games off this weekend , no douth.
Our pitch is in great shape so we will be on...if a ref shows up!!!

lankyboy26
09/10/2008, 3:15 PM
can't see the kilfinane game being on. the ref somehow allowed us to play them out there last season. at half ten and there was gail force winds, heavy rain and water all over the pitch. finished 0-0. their pitch got wrecked and they were givin out about the ref allowing the game to go ahead. should never have been played. our pitch in the lee estate will be fine for the pallas game

Easy Easy
09/10/2008, 3:19 PM
can't see the kilfinane game being on. the ref somehow allowed us to play them out there last season. at half ten and there was gail force winds, heavy rain and water all over the pitch. finished 0-0. their pitch got wrecked and they were givin out about the ref allowing the game to go ahead. should never have been played. our pitch in the lee estate will be fine for the pallas game
----------------------------------
Was down watching star last sunday,yer pitch looks in great shape!
Theres was terrible!

lankyboy26
09/10/2008, 3:26 PM
Theres was terrible!
we're blessed with the pitch in fairness. the "A" games are never called off. the odd "B" game has been called off because of a match bein played in the morning but very rarely. ye have a decent pitch too. actually hospital's game could be called off. we went out there last season and the ref called it off. weather was fine but there was water on the pitch

Jock MIB
09/10/2008, 3:30 PM

Won't be me anyway i'm off to the sunny weather for a week but will keep an eye on results :D

pedigree
09/10/2008, 3:38 PM
that's because the 2 top teams (janesboro and cals) finished miles ahead of everyone else. athlunkard finished 3rd, 8 or 9 points ahead of kilfinane who finished 4th or 5th can't remember exactly. everyone else finished close to each other
kilfinnane should have been relegated for not fulfilling their final league fixture vs janesboro.them not showing up led to boro getting the 3 points and winning the league which was a bit harsh on cals who had worked so hard all season.both still got promoted but im sure cals would have liked to have their name on the league trophy aswell as the league cup.:ball::ball::ball:

abbeyvale
09/10/2008, 4:05 PM
Theres was terrible!

When you say "theres" i assume you mean Stars pitch?
In fairness it had one or two puddles of water on it, but the rest of our pitch was in great nick!!!!
You'll get a closer look at it when we play ye in the MJC.

pedigree
09/10/2008, 4:13 PM
When you say "theres" i assume you mean Stars pitch?
In fairness it had one or two puddles of water on it, but the rest of our pitch was in great nick!!!!
You'll get a closer look at it when we play ye in the MJC.
what he meant i think was that stars pitch looked good and kilfinnanes was terrible.star and kennedy park have met in cups over the last couple of seasons and have always been very enjoyable games.hope the mjc game will be no different.:ball:

abbeyvale
09/10/2008, 5:47 PM
what he meant i think was that stars pitch looked good and kilfinnanes was terrible.star and kennedy park have met in cups over the last couple of seasons and have always been very enjoyable games.hope the mjc game will be no different.:ball:

should be a good game, and hopefully we'll have our suspended players back by then (all going well)

oscar
09/10/2008, 9:12 PM
kilfinnane should have been relegated for not fulfilling their final league fixture vs janesboro.them not showing up led to boro getting the 3 points and winning the league which was a bit harsh on cals who had worked so hard all season.both still got promoted but im sure cals would have liked to have their name on the league trophy aswell as the league cup.:ball::ball::ball:

who says their name would of been on it,so are you saying if the game went ahead Kilfinnane would of won???
Boro won the league and deserved to,simple as that

Jock MIB
09/10/2008, 9:21 PM
Ok i am going to nipe this one in the bud :ball:, No more talk about last year..... keep it to this year campaign please :ball:

this is 2a league talk about 2a teams please :)

Begrudger
10/10/2008, 7:58 AM
I think those hyde lads would agree that hyde are the underdogs with kennedy haven TAKEN 6 of hyde best players.Love to see hyde beat them just to sicken all the former hyde players now with the park.:p Cant see it happen do.Reserve ask the lads who have hyde got if they have any desent strikers will cause them problem there defence is poor.I THINK the hyde lads will know all bout kennedy players.;)

If im not mistaken arent those former hyde lads now with kp
all x summerville players aswell definately 5 of them

Roadend
10/10/2008, 8:22 AM

That wasn't the only match they no showed for last season

Easy Easy
10/10/2008, 8:43 AM
should be a good game, and hopefully we'll have our suspended players back by then (all going well)
---------------------------------------------------
Which Players have ye to come back that starts that didnt play v Southend?

TopperHarley
10/10/2008, 11:04 AM
----------------------------------------
Know 1 definately played,dont know about 5??

pedigree
10/10/2008, 11:32 AM
who says their name would of been on it,so are you saying if the game went ahead Kilfinnane would of won???
Boro won the league and deserved to,simple as that
i said they would have liked their name on it.who wouldn't.weren't kilfinnane leading in the original fixture with only 5 minutes left when the game was abandoned.

pedigree
10/10/2008, 11:36 AM
who would the 5 be?flash flanagan yes,maybe the nashs and higgins,who else?

lankyboy26
10/10/2008, 12:31 PM
i said they would have liked their name on it.who wouldn't.weren't kilfinnane leading in the original fixture with only 5 minutes left when the game was abandoned.
kilfinane were winning 2-1 with only seconds remaining. cals were robbed of the league title. i was even talkin to one of the boro players and he said they were lucky to win it. cals were the best team in the division i don't care what the league table said. but that's just my opinion!!!

Gerry the ferry
10/10/2008, 2:11 PM
kennedy park 5 0 hyde
kilfinane 1 0 sville
hospital 5 0 balla
athlunkard 0 1 pallas

Jock MIB
10/10/2008, 2:15 PM
kilfinane were winning 2-1 with only seconds remaining. cals were robbed of the league title. i was even talkin to one of the boro players and he said they were lucky to win it. cals were the best team in the division i don't care what the league table said. but that's just my opinion!!!

This is the last post on this topic both teams are now in 1b so talk about it in there ... :ball:

lankyboy26
10/10/2008, 2:24 PM
kennedy park 5 0 hyde
kilfinane 1 0 sville
hospital 5 0 balla
athlunkard 0 1 pallas
hospital 5 balla 0 ???

first of all i'd say the match will be called off, and secondly i can't see balla losing any match this season by 5 goals!!! their defence isn't great but they have good forwards

Easy Easy
10/10/2008, 3:58 PM
hospital 5 balla 0 ???

first of all i'd say the match will be called off, and secondly i can't see balla losing any match this season by 5 goals!!! their defence isn't great but they have good forwards
--------------------------------------------------------------
Cant really see them losing by 5 either,but then again a trip out to Hospital on a wet sunday morning night not be to everybodys likeing......

abbeyvale
11/10/2008, 2:32 PM
---------------------------------------------------
Which Players have ye to come back that starts that didnt play v Southend?

Not sure who will start, but we had myself, Eddie Wallace, Keith Ryan, Derek Hannon & Johnathan Griffin, all non starters v Southend.

lankyboy26
11/10/2008, 3:24 PM
Not sure who will start, but we had myself, Eddie Wallace, Keith Ryan, Derek Hannon & Johnathan Griffin, all non starters v Southend.
how come ye have no match this sunday? ye supposed to be playin st. pats?

Easy Easy
12/10/2008, 1:02 PM
Kennedy Park 6 Hyde 0

G.Nash 3
R Flanagan
J Rooney
S Rooney

Could of easily been 12,Scored some very good goals with J Rooney and G Nash linking up brilliant for there first game together this season,nice to get the clean sheet too.

untouchable
12/10/2008, 2:56 PM
The flash flanagan,dave nash,gar higgins all played for us.Yer been smart i take it when ye call ross the flash.

TopperHarley
12/10/2008, 3:04 PM
Any other scores this morning lads?

Begrudger
12/10/2008, 5:01 PM

killfinane 0-2 Summerville B good physical game
gary rainsford wit the first and a peno fom daz at the end

both teams worked hard pitch was poor not much football played

lankyboy26
12/10/2008, 5:34 PM
athlunkard 2 pallas 4
Fair play to pallas. They're a good side. 2-1 to athlunkard at half time, thought we were gonna go on and win it with the 3rd goal but we gave away a silly penalty and then a soft 3rd. 4th came when they caught us on the break at the end. Flattering scoreline but they deserved the win. Wanted it more

Irishjon25
13/10/2008, 9:35 AM

There is actually six pedigree.

G Nash
D Nash
G Higgins
J Rooney
R Flanagan
J Flanagan

And the KP manager L Whelan also payed with Hyde for a couple of seasons.

TopperHarley
13/10/2008, 11:19 AM
Kennedy Park 6 Hyde 0

G.Nash 3
R Flanagan
J Rooney
S Rooney

Could of easily been 12,Scored some very good goals with J Rooney and G Nash linking up brilliant for there first game together this season,nice to get the clean sheet too.
----------------------------------------------
Ouch....... all the goals were scored by former Hyde players!!!

Irishjon25
13/10/2008, 12:06 PM
Topper,

Hyde started with ten men. They soon had eleven but it didnt make a bit of difference. They then had a men sent off at three nil and another send off at six nil. They also had a player forced off through injury so they finished the game with eight or nine players.

In saying that the score was flattering to Hyde as on the day their keeper could have won MOTM.

Relegation is almost a certainty for Hyde this season.

TopperHarley
13/10/2008, 12:17 PM
Topper,

Hyde started with ten men. They soon had eleven but it didnt make a bit of difference. They then had a men sent off at three nil and another send off at six nil. They also had a player forced off through injury so they finished the game with eight or nine players.

In saying that the score was flattering to Hyde as on the day their keeper could have won MOTM.

Relegation is almost a certainty for Hyde this season.
Cheers Irishjon

Did KP look any good with there new signings?
Meant to get up to watch but couldnt pull myself outta bed?

lankyboy26
13/10/2008, 1:03 PM
Cheers Irishjon

anyone get the result from the hospital v balla game?
by the way i would like to congratulate the ref who refereed the athlunkard v pallas game, did an excellent job. so Jock MIB we can applaud and criticise refs if we like so you have to accept that. certain referees are consistently average while others are excellent, thats the way it is. there was talk of pallas being a dirty side after recent games but i can assure you they are a good footballing side and the game was played in great spirits which is a credit to the referee

TopperHarley
13/10/2008, 5:22 PM
by the way i would like to congratulate the ref who refereed the athlunkard v pallas game, did an excellent job. so Jock MIB we can applaud and criticise refs if we like so you have to accept that. certain referees are consistently average while others are excellent, thats the way it is. there was talk of pallas being a dirty side after recent games but i can assure you they are a good footballing side and the game was played in great spirits which is a credit to the referee
------------------------------------------------------------
Balla game was off the weekend,

Only 1 game down for this weekend

Summerville v Aisling

untouchable
13/10/2008, 8:41 PM
Cant agree more about the ref thing.We should applaud a ref when he has a good game.But i havent seen a ref have a good game in a long time.Heard they want to strike over the ref been punched at last weekends game between star and southend.Now i no that no one deserves to be punched over a game of ball but this ref made some shocking choices during the game.In saying that he doesnt need that to happen.

Hyde Man
13/10/2008, 11:44 PM
Cheers Irishjon

Difficult to say how good KP will be as Hyde were terrible. Hyde are in serious trouble, they had a bare 11. Two of them hadn't played a match in years. They now have 2 players suspended as well.

Irishjon25
14/10/2008, 10:07 AM
Topper KP played very well but it is hard to say as Hyde were no match for them. It looks like J Rooney & the new signing G Nash could do some damage up front.

I also spotted a few of their better players on the sideline but wether they are injured or not i am not sure. G Higgins and D Nash were not playing and i'm sure they both would add a lot of pace and also offer a lot of width on the wings. Their starting full backs i dont think were playing either so its hard to judge the team performance.

From what i seen they did very well but with the addidtion of the few players who did not play on the day i reckon with a full strength team KP would be a match for anyone in the league.

reccos
14/10/2008, 1:17 PM
I would just like to add that the young referee that was in charge of the KP Vs Hyde game at the weekend was very good also. He kept completely on top of things and it was a breath of fresh air to see a ref that actually knew how to play offside, and not give the benefit of the doubt to the defending side the whole time.

lankyboy26
14/10/2008, 1:30 PM
I would just like to add that the young referee that was in charge of the KP Vs Hyde game at the weekend was very good also. He kept completely on top of things and it was a breath of fresh air to see a ref that actually knew how to play offside, and not give the benefit of the doubt to the defending side the whole time.
it's very difficult for referees to call offside in matches, feel sorry for them sometimes. fair play to the ref if he had a good game.
only one game in 2A on sunday, summerville vs aisling. i'm going for a home win, summerville got a great result out in kilfinane, reckon they'll win 3-1 at portland

pedigree
14/10/2008, 2:37 PM
There is actually six pedigree.

G Nash
D Nash
G Higgins
J Rooney
R Flanagan
J Flanagan

And the KP manager L Whelan also payed with Hyde for a couple of seasons.
joe stephen and ross only played with hyde for a short time.all have played most of their junior football with kp.and we were on about kp players that have played with summerville.we went over ex hyde players with kp already.

FootballFan
14/10/2008, 2:59 PM
it's very difficult for referees to call offside in matches, feel sorry for them sometimes. fair play to the ref if he had a good game.
only one game in 2A on sunday, summerville vs aisling. i'm going for a home win, summerville got a great result out in kilfinane, reckon they'll win 3-1 at portland

Where can I find a league table lads?...and the upcomin fixtures...?

pedigree
14/10/2008, 4:23 PM
Where can I find a league table lads?...and the upcomin fixtures...?
www.limericksoccer.com:ball:

pedigree
14/10/2008, 4:29 PM
why were the five non starters v southend?

abbeyvale
15/10/2008, 8:10 AM
why were the five non starters v southend?

3 injured, 2 suspended.
Of the 5, 4 were back v Carew last Sunday, and the 5th is back Sunday week.

Roadend
15/10/2008, 12:02 PM
Last edited by svillerovers; 15/10/2008 at 11:31 AM.

I'd hate to think what it looked like the first time.....

lankyboy26
15/10/2008, 1:52 PM
I'd hate to think what it looked like the first time.....
anyone know why there's only one 2A fixture this weekend??? must say the standard in 2A has gone up a good bit compared to the last 2 or 3 seasons. last season janesboro and cals were the 2 best teams by a long shot and they are both doing well in 1B. this season you have 5 or 6 teams in with a chance of promotion

pedigree
15/10/2008, 4:23 PM
anyone know why there's only one 2A fixture this weekend??? must say the standard in 2A has gone up a good bit compared to the last 2 or 3 seasons. last season janesboro and cals were the 2 best teams by a long shot and they are both doing well in 1B. this season you have 5 or 6 teams in with a chance of promotion
who do you reckon the 5 or 6 will be?at the moment i think the top 8 in the division will be i with a shout.but who knows with the weather and christmas breaks to come a lot of teams might find it hard to keep players interested,hence dropping points in matches they'd expect to win.:ball: