View Full Version : Limerick Division 2A 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

lankyboy26
11/11/2008, 3:21 PM
What happining to Atlunkard? How many games lost this season already?
lost 5 matches. extremely disappointing. especially after doing so well last season and had a chance of promotion with 3 games left to play. lost to st. pats sunday. not a bad side but very beatable. don't have the players this season. only hope now is for pallas to run away with it and everybody else fights out for 2nd place

untouchable
13/11/2008, 8:35 AM
lost 5 matches. extremely disappointing. especially after doing so well last season and had a chance of promotion with 3 games left to play. lost to st. pats sunday. not a bad side but very beatable. don't have the players this season. only hope now is for pallas to run away with it and everybody else fights out for 2nd place
Thats a big change to what was been said about ye at the start of the season.Did ye lose players or something.After ye beat kp(lucky so i heard:rolleyes:)the talk was about ye pushing to win the league.Pallas cant be all that good,dont get me wrong good side but are they unbeatable.Like last season they will fall away after christmas.If you look at the league table pallas are on 18points with 7games played,if anyone around them are with in 6points and same games played they have a great chance of going up.

Irishjon25
13/11/2008, 9:13 AM
The Hyde lads who signed this year are forwards. Flanagan's best position is centre half but I watched the game against Star and he played well at left full.

What people dont realise is that Star apparently had the so called quickest player in town playing on the wing that day. I was at the match and to be honest i thought it was a tactical decision by KP to play Flanagan at full back to combat this.

Was this so called quickest player in town playing that morning? If he was i certainly didnt see him. With the exception of one missjudgement in the second half Flanagan had the winger in his pocket the entire game.

May i also add that it is extremely disrespectful to any player to have his name posted up here and for derogatory comments and remarks to be made against it. Its just not on.

abbeyvale
13/11/2008, 9:55 AM
What people dont realise is that Star apparently had the so called quickest player in the division playing on the wing that day. I was at the match and to be honest i thought it was a tactical decision by KP to play Flanagan at full back to combat this.

Was this so called quickest player in the division playing that morning? If he was i certainly didnt see him. With the exception of one missjudgement in the second half Flanagan had the winger in his pocket the entire game.

May i also add that it is extremely disrespectful to any player to have his name posted up here and for derogatory comments and remarks to be made against it. Its just not on.

Just to answer some queries above on Star.......No they didnt have that quick player available for that game along with 4 other regulars, and that winger that did play, that you say "Flanagan had in his pocket", scored 1 and set up another of the 4 goals.

Irishjon25
13/11/2008, 10:05 AM
Just to answer some queries above on Star.......No they didnt have that quick player available for that game along with 4 other regulars, and that winger that did play, that you say "Flanagan had in his pocket", scored 1 and set up another of the 4 goals.

Did they score two goals from corners/crosses, one penalty and one from an error made by KP at the back? Not sure what he could have done to stop them.

For a guy playing out of position he was one of KP's better players on the day imho. Not going to get into a tit for tat here abbey i just dont understand how people can come on here and make derogatory remarks about the bloke when they are clearly not correct.

abbeyvale
13/11/2008, 10:09 AM
Did they score two goals from corners/crosses, one penalty and one from an error made by KP at the back? Not sure what he could have done to stop them.

For a guy playing out of position he was one of KP's better players on the day imho. Not going to get into a tit for tat here abbey i just dont understand how people can come on here and make derogatory remarks about the bloke when they are clearly not correct.

Not looking for a tit for tat, just stating facts.
I dont know the bloke playing with KP, just giving you the facts from Star.

And I agree with you, remarks are uncalled for.

untouchable
13/11/2008, 9:36 PM
[quote=Irishjon25;1057483]What people dont realise is that Star apparently had the so called quickest player in town playing on the wing that day. I was at the match and to be honest i thought it was a tactical decision by KP to play Flanagan at full back to combat this
I could not agree more about people coming on passing remarks.But if you were honest they would have done better with a more normal line out.Look anyway they done ok,manager done what he taught was best for the team,and really it doesnt matter were any of the back 4play.My god Irishjon you must be the last of the kp lads.Any other teams with players that can use the net.Am i the only castle man on this.

Hyde Man
13/11/2008, 10:54 PM
Playing Abbey at the weekend. First time playing down there, how is the pitch normally?

lankyboy26
14/11/2008, 12:57 PM
Thats a big change to what was been said about ye at the start of the season.Did ye lose players or something.After ye beat kp(lucky so i heard:rolleyes:)the talk was about ye pushing to win the league.Pallas cant be all that good,dont get me wrong good side but are they unbeatable.Like last season they will fall away after christmas.If you look at the league table pallas are on 18points with 7games played,if anyone around them are with in 6points and same games played they have a great chance of going up.
ya we lost 4 players, 4 excellent players at that. a few lads from the B's have been brought up to the A team and don't get me wrong they're talented players but it's a big step up from 4A to 2A and they're very young too. we had a great pre-season and we beat kennedy park 3-1 away in the league (far from lucky). we were the better team on the day despite what you might've heard. we were 2-1 up on pallas at half-time in the league. they scored 3 goals in the second half and beat us 4-2. in my opinion they're the best team we've played in the league yet, but in saying that if we'd scored the 3rd goal we would've beaten them. it's all if's and but's i know. but the reality is we're only a shadow of the team last season. for example we beat cals last season 3-0, beat aisling twice scoring 10 goals against them, lost to them this season. all's not right at present

Easy Easy
14/11/2008, 1:38 PM
ya we lost 4 players, 4 excellent players at that. a few lads from the B's have been brought up to the A team and don't get me wrong they're talented players but it's a big step up from 4A to 2A and they're very young too. we had a great pre-season and we beat kennedy park 3-1 away in the league (far from lucky). we were the better team on the day despite what you might've heard. we were 2-1 up on pallas at half-time in the league. they scored 3 goals in the second half and beat us 4-2. in my opinion they're the best team we've played in the league yet, but in saying that if we'd scored the 3rd goal we would've beaten them. it's all if's and but's i know. but the reality is we're only a shadow of the team last season. for example we beat cals last season 3-0, beat aisling twice scoring 10 goals against them, lost to them this season. all's not right at present
-----------------------------------------------------
Why did you lose 4 players?did they pack it in or transfer?

lankyboy26
14/11/2008, 5:51 PM
-----------------------------------------------------
Why did you lose 4 players?did they pack it in or transfer?
our left midfielder is playing rugby, our right back moved to dublin, one of the strikers packed it in, another striker got transferred abroad at work and our centre midfielder has to get a knee operation, hasn't played all season. on top of all that our goalkeeper gave up soccer altogether. we only had 11 players on sunday vs st. pats and 4 of them were B players. it's gonna be a long season

lankyboy26
15/11/2008, 12:31 AM
predictions for sunday 16/11/08 :

castle rovers 2 aisling/annacotty 1
abbey rovers 0 kennedy park 3
hyde rangers 1 hospital 4

TopperHarley
16/11/2008, 12:10 PM
Abbey 1 Kennedy Park 3

Only result i heard anybody got any other?

crusader
16/11/2008, 5:49 PM
Abbey 1 Kennedy Park 3

Only result i heard anybody got any other?

hyde rangers-1 hospital -2
good open game with hospital creating plenty of chances. Fair play to Hyde they never gave up the cause.

lankyboy26
16/11/2008, 10:54 PM
hyde rangers-1 hospital -2
good open game with hospital creating plenty of chances. Fair play to Hyde they never gave up the cause.
i take it you're a Hospital man? ye are going well this season

Dkid
17/11/2008, 1:52 PM
a good game played yesterday,castle against aisling,aisling winning 6-4, aisling went up 2-0 within 20 mins,castle came back to make it 2-2 by half time,castle went up 3-2 shortly after the break aisling replied through a penalty and went on to score 3 more goals, castle got a late goal,lots of chances in this game could have ended up any score,1 part of the pitch was very bad couldnt play at all both teams found it very hard to defend on it,ref was very bad gave castle soft frees all through the match,castle have a few handy players,1 really good player up front,think he played premier at 1 stage,derek o'hurley for aisling was very good cause all problems for castle center halfs,aisling are getting better but still conceading far 2 many goals.

untouchable
17/11/2008, 6:59 PM
a good game played yesterday,castle against aisling,aisling winning 6-4, aisling went up 2-0 within 20 mins,castle came back to make it 2-2 by half time,castle went up 3-2 shortly after the break aisling replied through a penalty and went on to score 3 more goals, castle got a late goal,lots of chances in this game could have ended up any score,1 part of the pitch was very bad couldnt play at all both teams found it very hard to defend on it,ref was very bad gave castle soft frees all through the match,castle have a few handy players,1 really good player up front,think he played premier at 1 stage,derek o'hurley for aisling was very good cause all problems for castle center halfs,aisling are getting better but still conceading far 2 many goals.
Every free kick castle got they deserved.And yes castle striker played premier.just one game were really if your honest the ref gave the game to aisling.:eek:

Dkid
18/11/2008, 4:47 PM
Every free kick castle got they deserved.And yes castle striker played premier.just one game were really if your honest the ref gave the game to aisling.:eek:

who the striker play premier with, was it star? were you playing or watching the match, or were you watching another match,even 3 or 4 castle players was saying the ref was on castles side,they were laughing about some of the frees ye were getting:eek:

lankyboy26
18/11/2008, 6:19 PM
who the striker play premier with, was it star? were you playing or watching the match, or were you watching another match,even 3 or 4 castle players was saying the ref was on castles side,they were laughing about some of the frees ye were getting:eek:
well the ref didn't do much good if castle still lost and conceded 6 goals?!

untouchable
19/11/2008, 8:15 PM
well the ref didn't do much good if castle still lost and conceded 6 goals?!
Your spot on the ref was shocking,but to be honest our midfield was just as bad.

untouchable
19/11/2008, 8:19 PM
No the striker played for fairview.all the free kicks we got were spot on.You were playing in the castle goal yes or no?:rolleyes:

lankyboy26
19/11/2008, 11:09 PM
predictions for sunday:

athlunkard villa 1 summerville rovers 2
st. pat's 2 balla 1
abbey rovers 1 castle rovers 3
pallasgreen 4 hyde rangers 0
kilfinane 2 aisling/annacotty 0

i'd like to predict a hme win for athlunkard but i think summerville will be too strong for us and we're missing key players for sunday

Easy Easy
20/11/2008, 10:37 AM
athlunkard villa 1 summerville rovers 3
st. pat's 2 balla 1
pallasgreen 2 hyde rangers 0
kilfinane 1 aisling/annacotty 1

Dkid
20/11/2008, 2:11 PM
my predictions

athlunkard vs summerville 2
st. pats vs balla X
abbey vs castle 2
pallas vs hyde 1
killfinane vs aisling X

athlunkard vs summerville could be a good game if athlunkard can field a good team! castle and palls should win handy enough no offense to abbey or hyde, and the other 2 games should be tight enough.

lankyboy26
20/11/2008, 2:18 PM
my predictions

st. pats vs balla X
abbey vs castle 2
pallas vs hyde 1
killfinane vs aisling X

athlunkard vs summerville could be a good game if athlunkard can field a good team! castle and palls should win handy enough no offense to abbey or hyde, and the other 2 games should be tight enough.
we are due a good result one of these days, been workin hard at training all of us. beat summerville last season, a repeat of that performance would be nice. missing our centre-half though

abbeyvale
20/11/2008, 5:04 PM
we are due a good result one of these days, been workin hard at training all of us. beat summerville last season, a repeat of that performance would be nice. missing our centre-half though

One player doesnt make a team and even with a full side I'd still fancy Summerville to beat ye.

They are a good decent side and I fancy them for promotion.

abbeyvale
20/11/2008, 5:04 PM
Predictions

st. pats vs balla 1
abbey vs castle 2
pallas vs hyde 1
killfinane vs aisling 1

lankyboy26
20/11/2008, 11:58 PM
One player doesnt make a team and even with a full side I'd still fancy Summerville to beat ye.

They are a good decent side and I fancy them for promotion.
what makes you think that? i guarantee you if athlunkard had their full strength 11 players playing evey sunday they'd be in the top 2. summerville avoided relegation last season. athlunkard finished 3rd. apparently some of summerville's "A" players have dropped down 2 divisions to play with the "B" team, that doesn't mean they'll get promoted from 2A. as regards your other comment about "one player doesn't make a team". of course it doesn't but when you are missing your best defender and organiser at the back it's always detramental to how the team plays. it's up to the other players to stand up and show what they're made of

TopperHarley
21/11/2008, 9:50 AM
guarantee you if athlunkard had their full strength 11 players playing evey sunday they'd be in the top 2.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Think every team in the league can say that,and with Abbey getting 4-5 new players ye would want to get a few wins together or else you could be bottom 2!

lankyboy26
21/11/2008, 11:56 AM
guarantee you if athlunkard had their full strength 11 players playing evey sunday they'd be in the top 2.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Think every team in the league can say that,and with Abbey getting 4-5 new players ye would want to get a few wins together or else you could be bottom 2!
we definitely need a win badly there's no denying that. confidence is low. but i honestly feel our A team are a bunch of really talented players. just need to start playin for each other and stop all the giving out!

didn't hear about abbey. but they had no choice but to do something or they'd be in 2B after bein Premier not so long ago

untouchable
21/11/2008, 4:02 PM
athlunkard villa 1 summerville rovers 3
st. pat's 2 balla 1
kilfinane 1 aisling/annacotty 1
Athlunkard villa 2 Summerville rovers 2
Abbey rovers 2 Castle rovers 1
St.pat's 2 Balla 1
Pallasgreen 3 Hyde rangers 3
Kilfinane 2 Aisling annacotty 1
Its true about abbey getting 4 new players,it could be too late.

Dkid
22/11/2008, 10:03 AM

definately think if ye had same team as ye had last year ye would be there abouts and would have a great chance of beating summerville,yere badly missing yere center half at da moment,and a couple of players from last season,the player who is gone playing rugby is a big loss for ye he's a quality player and would get on must premier teams,best of luck to ye tomorrow hope ye prove abbeyvale wrong.

oscar
22/11/2008, 12:22 PM
which player is that

reccos
22/11/2008, 8:30 PM
predictions for this weekend:

athlunkard villa 2 summerville rovers 2
st. pat's 1 balla 2
abbey rovers 2 castle rovers 1
kilfinane 2 aisling/annacotty 1

pedigree
23/11/2008, 1:43 AM
kp need to be getting matches weekly.we need a run of games and the top teams will see we are gonna push for promotion.still training hard and getting good numbers.we are only getting games every second or third week its not on.any other teams feel that way?

bald eagle
23/11/2008, 4:19 PM
Athlunkard Villa v Summerville Rovers 'B' Summerville won 5 1. The pitch was excellent.
The two ex sligo rovers players were on the field together today for the first time.
Very difficult for a young Athlunkard side.
One of the Summerville players Dad who has been unwell for some time,was down at the match today,and it was great to see him.There's only one D.E.

oscar
23/11/2008, 5:38 PM
Castle beat Abbey 7-2
any other results

FootballFan
24/11/2008, 8:17 AM
Pallas Utd 7-1 Hyde

lankyboy26
24/11/2008, 10:27 AM
definately think if ye had same team as ye had last year ye would be there abouts and would have a great chance of beating summerville,yere badly missing yere center half at da moment,and a couple of players from last season,the player who is gone playing rugby is a big loss for ye he's a quality player and would get on must premier teams,best of luck to ye tomorrow hope ye prove abbeyvale wrong.
good win for summerville over our A team yesterday. summerville are a good side. although it has to be said we were missin 3 of our best players who would've made a big difference. ended up fielding a young inexperienced side, 4 or 5 B players.

any results from the st. pats v balla game and the kilfinane v aisling game?

the snake
24/11/2008, 12:28 PM
Errea Sport Div 2A League
Hospital v Abbey Rvs, 10.30, Hospital,
Kennedy Park v Castle Rvs, 10.30, Kennedy Park,
Ballynanty Rvs C v Summerville Rvs B, 2.00, Bateman Park,

TopperHarley
25/11/2008, 12:37 PM
Hospital 7 v Abbey Rvs 1
Kennedy Park 3 v Castle Rvs 1
Ballynanty Rvs C 1 v Summerville Rvs B 1,

kingpin1
25/11/2008, 12:43 PM
Hospital 5 0 Abbey Rvs
Kennedy Park 3 2 Castle Rvs
Ballynanty Rvs C 1 v Summerville Rvs B 3

hospitals a tough place to go...

kp should beat castle...

think summerville will have a bit too much for a good balla team and a bad pitch, but theyre getting results on their travels

lankyboy26
26/11/2008, 7:53 PM
Hospital 7 v Abbey Rvs 1
Kennedy Park 3 v Castle Rvs 1
Ballynanty Rvs C 1 v Summerville Rvs B 1,
hospital 3 abbey 0
kennedy park 2 castle rovers 2
balla 1 summerville 2

abbeyvale
28/11/2008, 7:18 PM
hospital 1 abbey
kennedy park 1 castle rovers
balla 2 summerville

Easy Easy
30/11/2008, 11:49 AM
K.P 3 Castle 1

Good 3 points for us this morning could of scored a few more but a good win

svillerovers
03/12/2008, 8:22 PM
K.P 3 Castle 1

Good 3 points for us this morning could of scored a few more but a good win

where are hyde playing there match's this year..Are they using the barracks or there own place??

Easy Easy
03/12/2008, 9:46 PM
where are hyde playing there match's this year..Are they using the barracks or there own place??
--------------------------------------------------
Still up in the barracks

svillerovers
04/12/2008, 8:47 AM
--------------------------------------------------
Still up in the barracks

thats great cheers easy easy....Changing rooms up there or are they just for the home team??

lionelhutz
05/12/2008, 2:17 PM

Hospital 2 v 1 Ballynanty Rvs C, 10.30, R McCann

Castle Rvs 3 v 1 Kilfinane, 10.30, T Mannion

Abbey Rvs 0 v 4 Pallasgreen, 10.30, I O’Reilly

Hyde Rgs 1 v 1 Summerville Rvs B, 10.30, K O’Driscoll

Any other predictions?

Easy Easy
05/12/2008, 3:06 PM

Hospital 2 v 1 Ballynanty Rvs C, 10.30, R McCann