View Full Version : Limerick Division 2A 2008/09
Pages :
[
13]
Colin Mac with KP has to be a dead cert:D:D:D
svillerovers
21/05/2009, 9:32 PM
Hard luck to Kennedy Park. summerville v aisling will be a good final. reckon aisling might upset summerville on the day, just have that sneaky feeling their name is on the cup
yes hard luck to kp..Played very well ... If they can keep there players for next year i would nearly guarentee them promotion..well done to leslie and his lads....
Yes aisling wil be tough..we got a good result in there place a few weeks ago but defo are a very handy and good footballing side..makes for a good final if u ask me..pity obout the night its on..a monday ..in all fairness
Easy Easy
22/05/2009, 10:49 AM
very good question mysteryman. what players would you nominate?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Would like to give it a shot but i dont no a lot of the players name
mysteryman
22/05/2009, 11:14 AM
Would like to give it a shot but i dont no a lot of the players name
sure just say team and position if dont know their names, cuz id say alot of people dont know each others names from team to team
svillerovers
22/05/2009, 3:24 PM
sure just say team and position if dont know their names, cuz id say alot of people dont know each others names from team to team
if i was to name a few from ours i would have to say colin gorey and john shine at center back..we've the best defence in the league and these 2 have scored about 15 goals between them so that cant be bad..also gary rainsford in the middle of the park..
ross has played well when i played against him for kp and so has joe rooney!
also thought the big guy playing on the left wing for kp last night was handy!
TopperHarley
22/05/2009, 3:38 PM
if i was to name a few from ours i would have to say colin gorey and john shine at center back..we've the best defence in the league and these 2 have scored about 15 goals between them so that cant be bad..also gary rainsford in the middle of the park..
----------------------------------------------------------------------
That was Ray Massy,had a great season for KP and should be in team of the season, John Shine was class last nite as was the Summerville keeper,who was he?
lankyboy26
22/05/2009, 3:43 PM
i'd nominate the kilfinane goalkeeper. he's a nut-job nut a very good keeper.
from athlunkard i'd nominate alan colbert up front, 15 goals and could easily play premier but he's a loyal clubman.
small guy that plays up front for summerville (can't think of his name)
centre-half for balla
Easy Easy
22/05/2009, 3:53 PM
Top 3 players that i played against this season are
1.John Shine,2. Tall lad up front for Balla Frankie i think??,3. Derek up front for Aisling.
lankyboy26
22/05/2009, 4:30 PM
i duno, its a tough one, all teams in 2a have there strong points as a team, like work well together, id jus thought id put it out there to see what everybody says, like maybe nominate a player or two from your club that have been outstanding for you or if someone in the opposition has caught your eye. just one to think about and see what everybody says
the tall guy that plays centre-midfield for pallas is good. he plays football for limerick also
no17 fan
22/05/2009, 6:18 PM
shine,gorey,reinsford,o sullivan for summerville. nash for KP ,the keeper from kilfinane(ger o brien) and the left full, pallas's centre mid, some really good players in the division, if you could nominate a team to be evicted from the division i'd give kilfinane the boot not a sporting team and some of the off the ball stuff they get up to is cowardly.
Top 3 players that i played against this season are
1.John Shine,2. Tall lad up front for Balla Frankie i think??,3. Derek up front for Aisling.
frankie walsh, good player
lankyboy26
22/05/2009, 9:20 PM
frankie walsh, good player
anyone want to nominate any athlunkard players??? i'm biased obviously :)
frank walsh is a fine player, very quick too for a big man.
left back for kilfinane is very good ya
mysteryman
22/05/2009, 10:07 PM
yeh the centre back for balla is good, bit of a physco tho when things dont go his teams way... who are the top goalscorers in the league this season by the way?? i know the limerick soccer hasnt been updated for a while. is all the teams finished by next weekend yeh??
svillerovers
23/05/2009, 3:16 PM
That was Ray Massy,had a great season for KP and should be in team of the season, John Shine was class last nite as was the Summerville keeper,who was he?
That was mona...He is not our keeper..Just a stand in..He plays up front and has 14 goals this season...
Darren o sullivan is the other stricker
That was mona...He is not our keeper..Just a stand in..He plays up front and has 14 goals this season...
Darren o sullivan is the other stricker
you could get in the team of the season in two positions ;)
Beat athlunkard 5-3 went up 3-0 after 20 mins they pulled back 1 be4 the half, then 4-1 up athlunkard fought well to get back in it pulled it back to 4-3, scored with a few minutes to go to make it 5-3 both teams missing aload of players was looking forward to final all week but the injuries are piling up not looking good at the moment but whatever team we put out will give it there best!by the way fair play to ray kerley i think the man is in his 50's and played very well tonight rolled back the years fair deuce to him!
lankyboy26
24/05/2009, 1:25 AM
Beat athlunkard 5-3 went up 3-0 after 20 mins they pulled back 1 be4 the half, then 4-1 up athlunkard fought well to get back in it pulled it back to 4-3, scored with a few minutes to go to make it 5-3 both teams missing aload of players was looking forward to final all week but the injuries are piling up not looking good at the moment but whatever team we put out will give it there best!by the way fair play to ray kerley i think the man is in his 50's and played very well tonight rolled back the years fair deuce to him!
watched this game from the sideline, entertaining game. both sides looked fairly depleted. from our point of view we were missing our 2 centre-halves who have been very good all season, plus 4 others. and we could barely field a team, poor standard of football in fairness. typical game where neither side had anything to play for. aisling were better on the night. best of luck v summerville, ye will have to play a lot better to beat them!
svillerovers
24/05/2009, 12:10 PM
watched this game from the sideline, entertaining game. both sides looked fairly depleted. from our point of view we were missing our 2 centre-halves who have been very good all season, plus 4 others. and we could barely field a team, poor standard of football in fairness. typical game where neither side had anything to play for. aisling were better on the night. best of luck v summerville, ye will have to play a lot better to beat them!
summerville 6-3 hyde
we got promoted last night....cup final tomorrow night in jackman
no17 fan
24/05/2009, 3:59 PM
summerville 6-3 hyde
can't believe hyde are going down so much better than their league position, a big well done to all the lads at summerville fair play to mike and john for the effort this year
mysteryman
24/05/2009, 7:44 PM
any other results from last night?? hospital v kp, kilfinane v castle??
Begrudger
24/05/2009, 8:30 PM
summerville 6-3 hyde
Been a great season congrats to all the summerville lads on promotion and best of luck to hyde in their remaining fixtures i hope they get out of trouble they're a handy team with some good footballers
Grinder64
25/05/2009, 8:59 PM
summerville 2 aisling 0
well done to both teams in a sporting contest, part one of a double completed for summerville well done
mysteryman
25/05/2009, 9:19 PM
poor game i thought, alot of long ball from both teams, both teams could of/should of scored towards end of first half, after that not much happend.
lankyboy26
26/05/2009, 8:34 AM
summerville 2 aisling 0
well done to both teams in a sporting contest, part one of a double completed for summerville well done
well done to summerville. looks like summerville's last game of the season will be against us and if they win they'll win the league??? could be very interesting!!!
no17 fan
26/05/2009, 12:26 PM
well done to summerville. looks like summerville's last game of the season will be against us and if they win they'll win the league??? could be very interesting!!!
long season for the players the sooner it's all done the better, summerville keeper pulled off a super double save when it was one nil, that was the turning point and we pushed on from there,
Easy Easy
26/05/2009, 5:01 PM
Who got the goals last night?
Begrudger
26/05/2009, 5:40 PM
Who got the goals last night?
daz with the first and an o.g for the second, goals comming after 30 minutes and on the hour. good game of football and i think the diference on the night was the strength in depth we made changes at the right time and we were able to replace quality with quality...
Easy Easy
26/05/2009, 5:46 PM
daz with the first and an o.g for the second, goals comming after 30 minutes and on the hour. good game of football and i think the diference on the night was the strength in depth we made changes at the right time and we were able to replace quality with quality...
God Job hope ye go on to do the double!
Begrudger
26/05/2009, 6:19 PM
cheers
svillerovers
28/05/2009, 10:11 AM
can anyone tell me if u get money or some sort of donation if u win a league??? just curious??
Guy Incognito
28/05/2009, 10:27 AM
can anyone tell me if u get money or some sort of donation if u win a league??? just curious??
Afik you receive a full kit for the club from Errea. It can be used for any of the teams i.e. Schoolboys, Juniors, A or B teams.
12 Inf Bn
29/05/2009, 12:03 PM
Afik you receive a full kit for the club from Errea. It can be used for any of the teams i.e. Schoolboys, Juniors, A or B teams.
i heard Errea pulled the plug on that deal this year
Begrudger
31/05/2009, 6:00 PM
Summerviile 4-2 Balla
very close game scored the fourth with the last kick balla are a good side and good luck to them next year......
bald eagle
01/06/2009, 11:43 AM
summerville 2 aisling 0
The three officials had a good game particularly the eagle eyed YOUNG linesman/assistant who flagged the hairline goal.Obviously he learned from the best. Ill say no more on that. Aisling were tough. and had some very good players Left full was excellent.
Jock MIB
01/06/2009, 4:07 PM
The three officials had a good game particularly the eagle eyed YOUNG linesman/assistant who flagged the hairline goal.Obviously he learned from the best. Ill say no more on that. Aisling were tough. and had some very good players Left full was excellent.
He will enjoy reading that :D:D
svillerovers
02/06/2009, 2:45 PM
He will enjoy reading that :D:D
Summerville v Athlunkard tonight at 6.30 in portland..will be a tough game against these boys..and it will be tough for both teams in this weather..Hope we get the win...
lankyboy26
03/06/2009, 6:59 AM
Summerville v Athlunkard tonight at 6.30 in portland..will be a tough game against these boys..and it will be tough for both teams in this weather..Hope we get the win...
Summerville 4 Athlunkard 3
I reckon summerville will be glad to get out of this one with a win. we played very well, had 2 lads who started who were carrying injuries. at 2-2 it could've gone either way, some very questionable decisions by the referee in favour of summerville for 2 of the goals. but we had nothing to play for so we didn't really argue too much about it. a draw probably would've been a fair result. best of luck to summerville for the last couple of games, nice bunch of lads, no bad tackles in the game
lionelhutz
03/06/2009, 10:46 AM
Summerville 4 Athlunkard 3
I reckon summerville will be glad to get out of this one with a win. we played very well, had 2 lads who started who were carrying injuries. at 2-2 it could've gone either way, some very questionable decisions by the referee in favour of summerville for 2 of the goals. but we had nothing to play for so we didn't really argue too much about it. a draw probably would've been a fair result. best of luck to summerville for the last couple of games, nice bunch of lads, no bad tackles in the game
Athlunkard are a good footballing side and should be praised for always looking to play the ball on the ground rather than lump it up and down the field which alot of teams do.
But there were questionable decisions on both sides - the penalties given for each team were fairly dodgy. And Summervilles third goal was onside - the Athlunkard full back kept the Sville player onside.
Easy Easy
03/06/2009, 10:51 AM
Athlunkard are a good footballing side and should be praised for always looking to play the ball on the ground rather than lump it up and down the field which alot of teams do.
But there were questionable decisions on both sides - the penalties given for each team were fairly dodgy. And Summervilles third goal was onside - the Athlunkard full back kept the Sville player onside.
So what does that mean have Ville won the league?
lankyboy26
03/06/2009, 12:03 PM
1st summerville goal, perfect. 2nd goal 50/50. 3rd goal, the header was definitely offside, i was on the sideline watching, ref wasn't even in line with our defenders, he took up a crap position, suppose that was his escuse for not giving the offside. the 4th, the penalty, bit of a joke, none of the summerville players even appealed for it, everyone thought it was an athlunkard free out. i admit our penalty was dubious but the defender definitely had his arm around our player, some you get some you don't. if we were going for the league and those decisions went against us we'd have gone mental!!!
we played good football yesterday but 2 of our players were walking around due to injuries. if summerville have that ref for the last 2 games they'll definitely win the league!!!!!!!
svillerovers
03/06/2009, 12:37 PM
1st summerville goal, perfect. 2nd goal 50/50. 3rd goal, the header was definitely offside, i was on the sideline watching, ref wasn't even in line with our defenders, he took up a crap position, suppose that was his escuse for not giving the offside. the 4th, the penalty, bit of a joke, none of the summerville players even appealed for it, everyone thought it was an athlunkard free out. i admit our penalty was dubious but the defender definitely had his arm around our player, some you get some you don't. if we were going for the league and those decisions went against us we'd have gone mental!!!
we played good football yesterday but 2 of our players were walking around due to injuries. if summerville have that ref for the last 2 games they'll definitely win the league!!!!!!!
we have only one game left and thats against kp on thursday at portland park..That 3rd goal was defo onside...We have scored about 6-7 goals like that and each time the defence have said it was offside..the man just times his run to perfection simple as that....As for our peno,yes i thought he was giving a free out to be honest but i did see our player been pushed but he didn't look for it.. Athlunkard are a very good team and very good at playing the ball on the deck..Should be a force next year if they keep playing like that...here's hopin we can beat kp on thurs and snatch the league from pallas...Wont be easy./...not in this weather and this will be our 3rd game in 5 days!!
lankyboy26
03/06/2009, 12:42 PM
we have only one game left and thats against kp on thursday at portland park..That 3rd goal was defo onside...We have scored about 6-7 goals like that and each time the defence have said it was offside..the man just times his run to perfection simple as that....As for our peno,yes i thought he was giving a free out to be honest but i did see our player been pushed but he didn't look for it.. Athlunkard are a very good team and very good at playing the ball on the deck..Should be a force next year if they keep playing like that...here's hopin we can beat kp on thurs and snatch the league from pallas...Wont be easy./...not in this weather and this will be our 3rd game in 5 days!!
best of luck to ye in 1B anyway next season. ye have some nice players. as for us, we need to sign maybe 3 or 4 players but on yesterdays performance the manager was happy with the way we played
TopperHarley
03/06/2009, 1:57 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------
It KP put out the team they did in there last game ye could beat them 10-0
wingwizard
03/06/2009, 2:06 PM
Was down at the Summerville game last night, the left wing for summerville has a super work rate, considering the heat. Right full belongs in division 4 whoever he was? Think summerville are down for another game on Thursday which is ridiculous in this heat, well done to Summerville on a great season, hope they go on to win the league. They are the best team in the division & should be pushin again next year. Well done to the centre forward who got the hat trick, he's an old guy around 40, he's been playin years and still scorin.
svillerovers
03/06/2009, 4:44 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------
It KP put out the team they did in there last game ye could beat them 10-0
we still have to beat the 11 they put in front of us..simple as that,...and it aint easy in this heat!!
Easy Easy
03/06/2009, 4:56 PM
we still have to beat the 11 they put in front of us..simple as that,...and it aint easy in this heat!!
Should hopefuly have 11,tough getting players to rush in from work for a nothing match for us,we had 3 games in a week 2 weeks ago and it cost us in the end hope it doesnt happin to ye!!
svillerovers
03/06/2009, 10:17 PM
Should hopefuly have 11,tough getting players to rush in from work for a nothing match for us,we had 3 games in a week 2 weeks ago and it cost us in the end hope it doesnt happin to ye!!
i hope not myself..will be tough for us as well..lots on injurys because of that...we will give it a lash anyways!!
wingwizard
05/06/2009, 1:38 AM
I'd like to say well done to Summerville Rovers on a league & cup double. Certainly the toughest side in the league this season & should do well in 1B if they keep that side together. They seem to have had a squad all season which helps! Happy pallas didn't win it as they are not a nice side to play against, WELL DONE SUMMERVILLE..
Easy Easy
05/06/2009, 9:36 AM
i hope not myself..will be tough for us as well..lots on injurys because of that...we will give it a lash anyways!!
----------------------------------------------------
Summerville 3 Kp 1
Congrats to Summerville for completing the double,best of luck in 1b next season lads
svillerovers
05/06/2009, 10:33 AM
----------------------------------------------------
Summerville 3 Kp 1
Congrats to Summerville for completing the double,best of luck in 1b next season lads
thanks...it wasnt easy...won 15 games on the trot...not bad... 1b will be tough!!!