Page 19 of 47 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast

Thread: Terry Venables

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    He was brilliant! Pure passion and he had done some serious amount of homework on El Tel too. Gift Grubs sketch a la Only Fools and Horses is fecking hilarious too!
    yeah, but - i wanna see it damn it!

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    You said Englands euor 96 team "wasn't a good one". It was an excellent team with the likes of Seaman, Neville, Adams, Southgate, Ince, Shearer, Sherringham all in great form. Fowler couldn't even get a sniff and he was banging in 30 goals a season at the time. I know this doesn't exactly show Venables is a good manager but you said they were a bad team - implying it was his fault.

You also said Scotland were unlucky - besides the penalty miss they were totally outplayed. Go back and watch it again. You said the Swiss and spanish should also have beaten them - again, the Swiss was match just a poor game overall with neither side playing great and although the Spanish kept possession well, they didn't create anything of note.

After that you said England performed above themselves against Germany - which you gave no credit to Venables because "every recent England team goes out on a high besides Eriksson's". Not true - Keegans team in 2000 went out without a whimper and Taylor didn't even qualify in '94.

I'm just citing his England team as an example, as it would be most relevant as it's an international team
    Hope you meant the pun underlined above.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    He's 64, none of the guys arrested were.
    Sorry, don't know what made me post football / corruption / London in a Venables thread

1,928 Posts
    The headline should be more like,
    Shocker, teflon Venables not amongst 4 arrested for football corruption

The RTE panels discussion is up on the RTE website at the moment. Dunphy is spot on about Venables.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Seemingly Giles gave El Tel a qualified endorsement on Newstalk.
    As did Paul McGrath (unqualified). Reckons he's the man.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    The RTE panels discussion is up on the RTE website at the moment. Dunphy is spot on about Venables.
    I can see the photo but there's no arrow to click to get it to play. Am I missing something?

386 Posts
    I can see the photo but there's no arrow to click to get it to play. Am I missing something?
    Click on the photo

2,796 Posts
    I clicked on the photo & the text underneath, nothing happens on my PC.

386 Posts
    I clicked on the photo & the text underneath, nothing happens on my PC.
    A new window should open. See if you are blocking pop-ups from rte.ie.

I think its Dunphy's best performance on the RTE panel and he is spot on. Fair play to him on this, and I think he is dead right to try to shoot down the kite that has been flown with the aid of a few guys in the written media.
    In Trap we trust

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    A new window should open. See if you are blocking pop-ups from rte.ie.
    Yep, i get an Information bar saying pop ups are blocked. I'll wait until I get home. Thanks.

386 Posts
    Yep, i get an Information bar saying pop ups are blocked. I'll wait until I get home. Thanks.
    No worries. This is the link for the pop-up.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/1127/soccer_av.html

2,796 Posts
    Thanks

1,928 Posts
    It's not that Dunphy does not make good points, it's that he is as usual irrational and biased in his argument. He reduces the argument against Venables to populist tabloid screamers in the guise of I care
    Giles and Souness are more rational and if I did not have any information beforehand I would dismiss about 3/4 of Dunphy's rant and take what the other 2 as having more cred.
    The main argument for Venables is that if he is focussed on the job he can do it well.
    That if is too big imo, the nature of International football is such that Venables can easily get unfocussed.

214 Posts
    I love RTE's analysis (just watching it now for first time). Brilliant!!!
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

I've never agreed with Dunphy about pretty much anything up until his article in The Star on Monday last. He's spot on about Venables, and fair play to him, he's speaking up against just about every media hack in the country. Plus he had a little pop at Roy Keane too
    Thursdays are Oriel

102 caps - legend

El-Tel

have just seen lads in action on rte for the first time and although scrumpy can be a bit of a pain ,he is fighting supporters corner !afterall nobody else listens to us !This venereal!eh sorry Venables thing is getting up steam ,please let there be some justice and this ******* does not get the job !

161 Posts
    The FAI (Delaney?) called Venables on Saturday. A journalist who has just been on newstalk106 said he was sitting down in a restaurant with TV on Saturday when TV got a call from the "FAI".

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    The FAI (Delaney?) called Venables on Saturday. A journalist who has just been on newstalk106 said he was sitting down in a restaurant with TV on Saturday when TV got a call from the "FAI".
    do you think there's the possiblity that delaney's gonna end up being deposed from within the fai because of his behaviour?
    we all know delaney wants venables.
    even thought delaney was supposed to stay out of the process.
    he now seems to be selecting selectors on the basis that they're in the venables camp.

Page 19 of 47 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast