Page 10 of 33 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Thread: Football in Shannon

Standard of football

Without doubt the standard overall is not a good as it was say 10 years ago.
    There are still lots of good players but just not as many as there used to be.

I played with and against some fantastic schoolboy and youth players but only a handfull continued to play past youths and even less are still playing today.

I could count on one hand the number of players from my youths era that are still playing at "a" team level today.

Every team these days seems to have a majority of young players of under 25 who are still looking to reach their full potential,where as 10-15 years ago it was the opposite. Most teams were full of experienced players with only one or two young lads in the team. I suppose its down to the lifestyle changes over the past 15 years where priorities have changed.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    totally agree nearly every young lad now between 17 and 22 thats in college has to work weekends to pay for lifestyle..thats why not many youths teams anymore too..
    very true it is hard for them to play with financial factor and that. plus they are very detached from the football scene by the time thay get back to shannon if they every come back that is.

[QUOTE=parkfan;638023]ill answer that for ya brutus. . when they reach 18 and go into the junior squads its very hard to push your way into a junior side. only newtown seem prepared to give the young lads a go and look at the benefits. hopefully they will win the league itd be great for them and the young players.

Sorry if i'm mistaken here but i think i remember not so long ago you said the total opposite about Newtown and their younger players...now which one is it.
    They are or aren't giving their young players a chance
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    why should we not expect teams to be in same category as pike / etc.. all teams above with exception of olympic all have good underage set ups... my arguement is were do all these underage players go when they reach 18 .. look around at all the shannon teams how many have players who came through their underage set ups ..currently playing for them ( probally only newtown) all i am saying that standard in shannon & clare has dropped in recent years and cannot understand why .. if a player is half decent you will know even if he is 18-22
    i agree with you about the underage set-up,but to turn around and say there was as many good teams years ago isnt true..tell me this who were an outstanding team ten years ago in your opinion..

Quote Originally Posted by brutus View Post
    old git i think you have just noticed that your playing dayz are over and cant stand the thought of hanging up your boots,also the way you were talking you must have won f.a.i medals and all..or were you a newtown whino all your life...
    neither newtown or a whino all my life ... never won much in my playing career ,, but would still have high hopes for football to get better as most clubs setups / facalities / coaching have improved since i stopped playing.. unfortunatly it does not seem to have happened :

" football is a simple game "

i agree 100% wit hparkfan in that man-management is vital when dealing with young players these days and also with papa-j in that the change in lifestyle over the last 10 years has dramatically changed. to be fair to newtown they have given their young players a fair crack over the last couple of years. theres only noel,glen and stretts over 30 and the now departed davy wall over the age of 25,most of the team were all only 20/21/22 eg. skinny,james mcdade,dave magee,rob wall,ray quigley,cheeky,ryan kelly and they came close to winning the league last year.
    Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.

neither newtown or a whino all my life ... never won much in my playing career ,, but would still have high hopes for football to get better as most clubs setups / facalities / coaching have improved since i stopped playing.. unfortunatly it does not seem to have happened :
    facilities around have improved hugely,but old git the coaching at junior level now in shannon is very poor for alot of A and B teams,thats why we might have found the solution now, for you saying that hasnt improved over the years

Brutus should you not be doing some press ups and trying to get a glimpse of the promised land......or are you saving your energy for the weekend

The problem with standard of football comes from much more than facilities and coaching etc. Problem is too many young lads are class at soccer (FIFA and PRO-EV) rather than actual soccer. Remember when we had park leagues or just siht loads of young lads playing soccer all over shannon? just doesn't happen anymore. Also the creative player that comes from street soccer is missing and coached players dont have same natural ability as natural players i.e. bunny carr

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Brutus should you not be doing some press ups and trying to get a glimpse of the promised land......or are you saving your energy for the weekend
    first wot on gods earth are you on about,are you alright

Quote Originally Posted by Brazil Nut View Post
    i.e. bunny carr
    who got his skills from kicking ball in dublin.
    at least the clubs are trying to have decent set ups for school boys.

i think you could get a good squad to represent shannon. There are a few good players with each club and also a few who have travelled abroad.
    any body want to give the best 4 players from each club and pick 4 players that are playing abroad that would make a nice 20 to take to a game like that !
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    why should we not expect teams to be in same category as pike / etc.. all teams above with exception of olympic all have good underage set ups... my arguement is were do all these underage players go when they reach 18 .. look around at all the shannon teams how many have players who came through their underage set ups ..currently playing for them ( probally only newtown) all i am saying that standard in shannon & clare has dropped in recent years and cannot understand why .. if a player is half decent you will know even if he is 18-22
    are you serious...have you looked at the shannon town team.....i would say nearly all of us have played some if not all our schoolboy/youth football with shannon town.
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Quote Originally Posted by shannonman View Post
    are you serious...have you looked at the shannon town team.....i would say nearly all of us have played some if not all our schoolboy/youth football with shannon town.
    ok i stand corrected .. but on the downside ye have a good underage system. for years and yet still struggle to get out division 1a.. ( not having a dig at you) surely ye should be getting enough players through underage ranks to get you into preimer & keep you there ..

" football is a simple game "

first wot on gods earth are you on about,are you alright
    Have I ever been alright

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    who got his skills from kicking ball in dublin.
    at least the clubs are trying to have decent set ups for school boys.

i think you could get a good squad to represent shannon. There are a few good players with each club and also a few who have travelled abroad.
    any body want to give the best 4 players from each club and pick 4 players that are playing abroad that would make a nice 20 to take to a game like that !
    park(quirkey,shane mccarthy,locks,hedgey)
    shannon town(ger kelly,griffin,the other lad who left park,strong midfielder,pogger carew)
    newtown(derek burn,tom o hare,cheeky,ryan kelly,
    olympic(john ryan,j-regan,jimmy houligan,terry duggan)

there is just a run off of a few stronger players at each club,many good other players i havent mentioned..

park(quirkey,shane mccarthy,locks,hedgey)
    shannon town(ger kelly,griffin,the other lad who left park,strong midfielder,pogger carew)
    newtown(derek burn,tom o hare,cheeky,ryan kelly,
    olympic(john ryan,j-regan,jimmy houligan,terry duggan)

there is just a run off of a few stronger players at each club,many good other players i havent mentioned..
    We playing box goals or last man in or somthing kid?
    Skinny has to get a mention....
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

What about Eddie the estonian lad that played for Park rangers last year or the season before last? Has he Hung up his boots for more hours in Eddie currans?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    We playing box goals or last man in or somthing kid?
    Skinny has to get a mention....
    i was askd to mention four of the best from each squad,so dont be gettn smart young lad,

You were asked,and as i said...you forgot to mention skinny...He's the best keeper in clare so he obviously deserves to be in Newtowns top 4 players.

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    You were asked,and as i said...you forgot to mention skinny...He's the best keeper in clare so he obviously deserves to be in Newtowns top 4 players.
    he is a great keeper but he is not as good as whelers for bunratty young lad,deep down u know yourself...

Page 10 of 33 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast