Page 12 of 33 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: Football in Shannon

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    fair play shannonman... i thought brutus was taking de p*ss about pogger carew. shows you how many matches he has seen
    bit of a laugh old git smile will ya

Quote Originally Posted by parkfan View Post
    try reading the post again and using your head. hes rite about the two players i mention and then i lead on saying that he obliously doesnt watch much football in the town. how does that confuse you go back and play with your blocks.
    It confuses me because.......... how can he be right as u clearly say he is and then say he obviously doesn't watch too much football???? What's worse is u wrote it twice and it still makes sense in your head

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    Lads it is a bit strange that Noel Donnellan hasn't been mentioned in this along with Jason Stretton. They have been rock solid this year for Newtown. Noel hasn't put a foot wrong all year and is Probably the reason Newtown are doing so well.Jason has done great stuff aswell but he can only do so much as Noel seems to leave him with little or nothing to do. Speaking to a few of Newtown apponents and they reckon the to lads are the best center half/ sweepers they have played against.
    2 fabalous players smellyfeet,noel excellent in the air,jay reads the game very well from the games i have seen down in ballycasey this year,alot of the youngsters will learn from both men

Quote Originally Posted by brutus View Post
    2 fabalous players smellyfeet,noel excellent in the air,jay reads the game very well from the games i have seen down in ballycasey this year,alot of the youngsters will learn from both men
    Don't know about the youngsters learning from them
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Don't know about the youngsters learning from them
    who else down in the newtown camp can teach them,apart from andy o mahony

Quote Originally Posted by Brazil Nut View Post
    It confuses me because.......... how can he be right as u clearly say he is and then say he obviously doesn't watch too much football???? What's worse is u wrote it twice and it still makes sense in your head
    sorry if your still confused. i can smell the rope burning from here. poor old skin....

who else down in the newtown camp can teach them,apart from andy o mahony
    hopefully not andy teaching .. i played against andy a few times

he would give you a good kicking on the pitch

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    hopefully not andy teaching .. i played against andy a few times

he would give you a good kicking on the pitch
    wel from talking to one individual, andy couldnt teach this fella anything he hadnt learned since under-10 with peter webb,
    is there a better man for the job does anyone have any opinion on this.

Best man for the job would be Jimmy Rocks. Whatever you dont learn from him wouldnt be worth knowing.

is j.rocks doing anythin with the club at the moment?

i think he might be still knocking about with the Bteam. The newtown lads would know more

wel from talking to one individual, andy couldnt teach this fella anything he hadnt learned since under-10 with peter webb,
    is there a better man for the job does anyone have any opinion on this.
    Seems to be doing an ok job this year.
    Any, theres no point in trying to teach fella's something if they are not willing to learn,in one ear and out the other. Especialy when they know everything there is to know about the game
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

Talking

try reading the post again and using your head. hes rite about the two players i mention and then i lead on saying that he obliously doesnt watch much football in the town. how does that confuse you go back and play with your blocks.
    Parkfan, any chance of some punctuation or even a few capital letters at the start of each sentence?

In my opinion, and its only an opinion, you couldn't pick a best 4 from Olympic without including Kelly, Fogarty(last sundays match excepted) & B O'Connor. I'd go for John Ryan to make up that 4 for consistency of performance. Jimmy is a class player, one of the best around on his day, but not consistent. Jay Reagan, good, but again inconsistent. I've picked my players based on influence on the outcome of the match, not skill. Obviously, there's be no place for Fogarty if I had.............

did jay try his luck with shannon town and not succeed? i don't hink he would be one of the bnest midfielders in shannon... or an i wrong.
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    did jay try his luck with shannon town and not succeed? i don't hink he would be one of the bnest midfielders in shannon... or an i wrong.
    Your a bit out of date. Jay is playing at Central Defence.Great stuff i might add.
    He did play with Shannon Town at youths and was a great player for them from what i have heard. He also played with them in the Premier in Limerick
    but i don't know about not succeeding.What was he meant to achieve.

Seems to be doing an ok job this year.
    Any, theres no point in trying to teach fella's something if they are not willing to learn,in one ear and out the other. Especialy when they know everything there is to know about the game
    theres alot of players out there always wanting to learn more,but a good percentage of the managers or coaches just arent goods enough and that why i think people are always posting saying theres a lack of quality in shannon..my opinion is if you want to coach a team go get your badges first then come back to the club,how many managers or trainers in shannon at this moment looking after teams have badges?

Last edited by Spudd; 08/03/2007 at 1:59 PM. Reason: wrong
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

theres alot of players out there always wanting to learn more,but a good percentage of the managers or coaches just arent goods enough and that why i think people are always posting saying theres a lack of quality in shannon..my opinion is if you want to coach a team go get your badges first then come back to the club,how many managers or trainers in shannon at this moment looking after teams have badges?
    I wonder did Bill Shankley or Brian Clough have badge's......
    You don't need badge's to teach a player the game, only need a player listen and not hear you.

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Great comment there spudd. If only everyone could make more sensible comments like this one.
    "1 day i will start hand.ie"
    Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.
    Hibs goin up!

Quote Originally Posted by 2legged tackle View Post
    Great comment there spudd. If only everyone could make more sensible comments like this one.
    Many major's ya Rob off your dad this morning then...?
    That good enuff comment for ya?
    Last edited by Spudd; 08/03/2007 at 2:19 PM.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Page 12 of 33 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast