Without doubt the standard overall is not a good as it was say 10 years ago.
There are still lots of good players but just not as many as there used to be.
I played with and against some fantastic schoolboy and youth players but only a handfull continued to play past youths and even less are still playing today.
I could count on one hand the number of players from my youths era that are still playing at "a" team level today.
Every team these days seems to have a majority of young players of under 25 who are still looking to reach their full potential,where as 10-15 years ago it was the opposite. Most teams were full of experienced players with only one or two young lads in the team. I suppose its down to the lifestyle changes over the past 15 years where priorities have changed.
you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.
[QUOTE=parkfan;638023]ill answer that for ya brutus.. when they reach 18 and go into the junior squads its very hard to push your way into a junior side. only newtown seem prepared to give the young lads a go and look at the benefits. hopefully they will win the league itd be great for them and the young players.
Sorry if i'm mistaken here but i think i remember not so long ago you said the total opposite about Newtown and their younger players...now which one is it.
They are or aren't giving their young players a chance
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT
neither newtown or a whino all my life ... never won much in my playing career ,, but would still have high hopes for football to get better as most clubs setups / facalities / coaching have improved since i stopped playing.. unfortunatly it does not seem to have happened :
" football is a simple game "
i agree 100% wit hparkfan in that man-management is vital when dealing with young players these days and also with papa-j in that the change in lifestyle over the last 10 years has dramatically changed. to be fair to newtown they have given their young players a fair crack over the last couple of years. theres only noel,glen and stretts over 30 and the now departed davy wall over the age of 25,most of the team were all only 20/21/22 eg. skinny,james mcdade,dave magee,rob wall,ray quigley,cheeky,ryan kelly and they came close to winning the league last year.
Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.
Brutus should you not be doing some press ups and trying to get a glimpse of the promised land......or are you saving your energy for the weekend![]()
The problem with standard of football comes from much more than facilities and coaching etc. Problem is too many young lads are class at soccer (FIFA and PRO-EV) rather than actual soccer. Remember when we had park leagues or just siht loads of young lads playing soccer all over shannon? just doesn't happen anymore. Also the creative player that comes from street soccer is missing and coached players dont have same natural ability as natural players i.e. bunny carr
who got his skills from kicking ball in dublin.
at least the clubs are trying to have decent set ups for school boys.
i think you could get a good squad to represent shannon. There are a few good players with each club and also a few who have travelled abroad.
any body want to give the best 4 players from each club and pick 4 players that are playing abroad that would make a nice 20 to take to a game like that !
'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'
ok i stand corrected .. but on the downside ye have a good underage system. for years and yet still struggle to get out division 1a.. ( not having a dig at you) surely ye should be getting enough players through underage ranks to get you into preimer & keep you there ..![]()
" football is a simple game "
park(quirkey,shane mccarthy,locks,hedgey)
shannon town(ger kelly,griffin,the other lad who left park,strong midfielder,pogger carew)
newtown(derek burn,tom o hare,cheeky,ryan kelly,
olympic(john ryan,j-regan,jimmy houligan,terry duggan)
there is just a run off of a few stronger players at each club,many good other players i havent mentioned..
What about Eddie the estonian lad that played for Park rangers last year or the season before last? Has he Hung up his boots for more hours in Eddie currans?
Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..
Hail Hail!!