Page 9 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstoolers Love-In

1,553 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    just out of interest, why do you think it is odd?
    Because many of the LOI people I know are clean mental.

It's a good laugh though.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    It reminds me of a guy I knew who had heart problems and was advised to give up cigarettes......so he took up cigars instead!
    Wasn't that Uncle Buck?

Top notch postage.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    Carlsberg don't do forum posts, but...
    ...they do make exceedingly good cakes!

I often see lads whittling wood outside Dalyer.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    They escaped from the Joy's woodcraft shop.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    I do often see lads outside Oriel whittling away at the wood.

Hold on......... thats not whittling !!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    This is a most spectacular piece of barstooling, I have to say.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...297546760.html

He can't support Man United *anymore* because they've become too commercial and corporate. But he won't go to a League of Ireland game because his friends won't approve and they're not going to win the Champions League anyway. So he'll just stick with Barcelona because they have both the community links and billions of euro he needs to truly throw his support behind a football team. Mad stuff.
    Is that Brian O Connor the racing correspondent? If it is, I remember a couple of years ago, in the early new year, some IT sports journos had their predictions fof the coming year (GAA winners, Derby winners, 6Nations winners) and one of the questions was for the EPL and LOI winners. His answer was something like "Chelsea for one, and who cares about the other?"

I sent an email of complaint to his editor about it (and the fact that it wasn't edited out) but never got a reply.

Not sure this is the right place, but sweet jeez, what self respect has this country left ?! Last nights herald back page, a big pic of Man Utd. What chance has any sport to attract people when the only (I think) national evening paper fawns all over a foreign team ?

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Is that Brian O Connor the racing correspondent?
    It gets worse.
    Seems like he's from Cork too
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

138 Posts
    What more would you expect from the West Brit media in Ireland?
    Usual drivel.
    Now I would love to see Eamonn Sweeney taking that article apart bit by bit and slaughtering him, it would help restore some sanity to the world.

20 Posts
    And I thought I come out with comple sh1t. That article takes the biscuit.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Is that Brian O Connor the racing correspondent? If it is, I remember a couple of years ago, in the early new year, some IT sports journos had their predictions fof the coming year (GAA winners, Derby winners, 6Nations winners) and one of the questions was for the EPL and LOI winners. His answer was something like "Chelsea for one, and who cares about the other?"

I sent an email of complaint to his editor about it (and the fact that it wasn't edited out) but never got a reply.
    That is tragic.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    That is tragic.
    Not tragic CD but indicitive of the cretinous attitude of the muppet that wrote it. i would suggest if he wrote that about any bogball sport (GAA stick fighting, womens stickfighting (chicks with .....), handball)it would have disappeared long before publication. many journo's are idiots that think themselves funny, its the editors job to weed out the crap.
    The fact that the idiot that penned that joke article puts himself forward as a serious sports journalist says it all.

20 Posts
    Anyone see what the M.I.B. lads did to the jurnos did when they were outside Giggs's house? Direct action...

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Army View Post
    Anyone see what the M.I.B. lads did to the jurnos did when they were outside Giggs's house? Direct action...
    I dig what your saying

Just read through this thread and I am not sure but is the general concensus that LOI fans should not support an English team as well or is it just knocking the English supporting ones that dont go to LOI games . Really my question is are ye making any distinction or are they all sc*m. I love my English team even when they dropped to the 3rd div and noticed that lots of the smaller teams in that division (which I would think would be one higher than LOI premier) followed premier teams too . Sligo rovers would of course be my team and would never suffer cos of LEEDS so Im not seeing the problem following a foreign team. I remember coming down from the Showgrounds and upon entering the bar being asked the score to which I always said you should have gone to the game . Was I being an ass**le? In hindsight maybe I should have told them and then explained what a good night it was and good atmosphere and all that to encourage them. Also while the ground has undergone many improvements it was ,to be fair, very uninviting at that time . I think whoever (I forget) earlier said if you have an interest in football you can be swung over to LOI is possibly on the right track.

Jesus harleyleeds, why do you care?

Some fans of Irish teams have no interest in the English game, some have a huge interest in it. There's no uniform thought. Enjoy supporting your Irish team, and do what you like with your spare time

Brian O'Connor, on the other hand, is clearly an idiot. Sadly though, he's closer to most football fans in Ireland than those of us who go to games each week. The fact that himself and <superinjunction>phile Tom H<superinjunction> were allowed write such anti Irish football drivel shows that the mainstream doesn't care about us

Their loss

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Jesus harleyleeds, why do you care?

Some fans of Irish teams have no interest in the English game, some have a huge interest in it. There's no uniform thought. Enjoy supporting your Irish team, and do what you like with your spare time

Brian O'Connor, on the other hand, is clearly an idiot. Sadly though, he's closer to most football fans in Ireland than those of us who go to games each week. The fact that himself and <superinjunction>phile Tom H<superinjunction> were allowed write such anti Irish football drivel shows that the mainstream doesn't care about us

Their loss

Thanks for response , appreciate it . Whats the" Jesus harleyleeds, why do you care? "
    for though. Why would I not care how the LOI is going?

It was 'why do you are what a bunch of Irish football fans on the internet think of you?'

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    It was 'why do you are what a bunch of Irish football fans on the internet think of you?'
    Of course I dont care what you think of me I got the feeling from reading several of the posts that many had an almost snobby notion about their support of their local team and no affiliation twoards an english one, and that they felt that to watch english football on tv was taboo. I was trying to understand the mentality here. Your explanation was good but I was curious as to why you felt the need to say "why i care" and now Im wondering would you not class me as a LOI fan because I live here and support an english team as well . Again Im just curious to understand mindset thats all . I contribute about 5-800 euro to Sligo rovers each year , not alot I appreciate but all helps so does my non attendance disqualify me (I dont go to Elland road either)? Still I am only curious as I said to understand more the thought process of the younger fans . Thanks again.

Page 9 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast