Page 17 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7151617

Thread: Barstoolers Love-In

Laddies in Red.

In the spirit of a tragic, deluded, love-sick puppy, woeful dirge about pathetic attraction to an illicit yet questionable love affair. Quite appropriate really. Having gone to Istanbul she was ready to leave and half-time, get dinner and go to bed. Puke inducing muck -- the lot of it.

1,813 Posts
    I see what you did there...

42 Posts
    Maybe a bit off topic, but for some reason I have been asked 'What team do you support?' alot recently and it nearly always ends up with the same converstation. I reply 'Dundalk', they go no really like 'What team do you actually support, like in the Premiership team?'. I usually proceed and say that 'My favourite Prem team is Liverpool, but the team I really support is Dundalk as I actually go to the matches'. Sometimes within this conversation the naive barstooler says 'Sure all the Irish teams are bankrupt and there is always fights after the games'. I give them a reminder that if they actually went to the games of their beloved Premiership teams they would realise that its rife with hooliganism, but sure what would you know when your 'support is confined to the TV screen'.

But then the barstooler always has on answer, like he will say 'how can I get to the matches when they are in Liverpool/Manchester/London/etc. Or maybe something more like sure the football is 'S**t' and all the clubs want to rip you off. Like any LOI fan I will do my best to defend it and tell them to go and check out the league for themselves, but its speaking to deaf ears...

Rant over
    Last edited by Guinney; 18/07/2011 at 11:54 PM.

Tell them if they're scared of violence there are plenty of League of Ireland games for them to watch with the tiny men running around on the telly.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guinney
    the naive barstooler says 'Sure all the Irish teams are bankrupt and there is always fights after the games'.
    Maybe you should answer that with this:

Arsenal 150m Euro
    Chelsea 800m Euro
    Man. City 50m Euro
    other mancs 600m Euro
    Spurs 70m Euro in Debt

I could go on, but Wolves are the only EPL club not in debt. Liverpool are in decent financial health post-takeover. As for the "fights after games", I think he, and they, don't attend any games, unless they're GAA-ones, where everyone can sit together and life is wonderful.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

The Irish Times have a guide to jumping on the Shamrock Rovers bandwagon. I hope it's tongue in cheek, but you can never be sure in this country.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...301054289.html

1,813 Posts
    When you read that quickly, the Una Mullally by-line looks like a key fact about Rovers. Was sitting here wondering what she had to do with anything?

Well I hope your bandwagon swells to the point where Ye are insufferable. Then the awkward success haters (they are out there; losing offers a more authentic experience) will migrate to supporting Bowez to wind up their mates. Then other gangs of lads will decide they aren't supporting the "scum" and will happen upon Pats and Shelbourne. And then of course there's UCD...

The extra crowds at these games mean our national broadcaster will start showing our games in Europe. Of course once they don't clash with the other Irish clubs, Liverpool, Man Utd, Arsenal and Chelsea.

Then there's the other ancillary benefits for Dublin and of course the country. There'll be direct buses and direct flights to every LOI ground. Real fans will have no excuse then.

That's how it'll go I'm sure.

108 Posts
    Was just behind enemy lines in the Waterford forum, it seems some Liverpool "fans" were upset that You'l Never Walk Alone was booed at the RSC. The precious feckers

Why were they playing it over the tannoy anyway? I'm assuming that doesn't happen at Old Trafford or the Emirates.

Quote Originally Posted by Strawberry View Post
    The hilarios thing about the Asian videos is that you'll see a lot of Irish epl fans who somehow manage to find a highground to look down on Asian supporters of English clubs
    Had a conversation with an irish man U fan the other day;

"Those foreign United/Liverpool fans are mental, they're not right..."

"you're a foreign united fan"

"emmmmm"

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cornflakes View Post
    Was just behind enemy lines in the Waterford forum, it seems some Liverpool "fans" were upset that You'l Never Walk Alone was booed at the RSC. The precious feckers
    The same thing happened when they played in Terryland last season.

Page 17 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7151617